View Full Version : Review of the Year

Pat O' Banton
30/12/2004, 5:46 PM
Okay as everyone else every where is having reviews of things that didn't really matter to you and that you don't remember anyway its time for the foot.ie review of the year. Just copy and paste the list below, and add in your own bits as well.

Best/worst match

Best goal

Best pub (pre- post match and to watch a match)

Best ground.

Best/ worst fans

favourite moments

low points

Other bits;

Pat O' Banton
30/12/2004, 6:06 PM
Best/worst match; Arsenal v Liverpool 4-2 at Highbury was a pleasure to be at (well the second half was) the Czech Republic v Holland game in the Euros was one that will take a long time to forget; great goals, saves and football.

Best goal; Henry's 2nd in the Arsenal v Liverpool game mentioned above.

Best pub (pre - post match and to watch a match) Not speifically a pub but had to love the beer stalls at the Christmas Market in Manchester selling real German Lager.
Still love O' Rafferty's in Wood Green for an Ireland match (£1.60 a pint Sunday to Thursday)

Best ground. Stad de France is something else and has a load of pubs near by, special mention to the City of Manchester stadium, which seems to have a great view from everywhere and is very impressive.

Best/worst fans; first trip to Solitude this year and the Cliftonville fans were some of the most welcoming I have ever come across, certainly back again next season.
Man Utd's lot were as usual driping in smuggness and arrogance and still seem unable to hold a conversation on football without getting it back to how wonderful Ferguson is.

favourite moments; Arsenal/Celtic/Harps championships, the French national at the Stad de France, the last two minutes of France v Ingerland (couldn't happen to nicer bunch)

low points; for Arsenal loses to Chelsea and Man Utd in the Champions League and FA Cup.

Other bits; that the beer at Hendon and Harrow is better than that of Arsenal and Man Utd, that for the fifth time in my life I was sold non alcoholic beer in a football ground, after about seven years of watching Stoke with Mrs O' B I have finally stopped being scared of their fans, the memories of drinking champers on the train from Troyes to Paris for the Ireland game.

30/12/2004, 10:16 PM
Best/worst match: has to be beating Nijmegen 1-0 at the cross.

Best goal: Its between the signficance of Doyler's goal in the above game and the quality of Fenn's away to SPA. I'll go with Doylers.

Best pub (pre- post match and to watch a match) Pre match and post-match I'd go for any pub in Longford ;) with a special mention to the Anvil. The Horseshoe as well. Dunno about watching a match, as I haven't watched a match in a pub for 2 or 3 years!

Best ground. Overall- Nijmegen. in the league- the flansiro.

Best/ worst fans: Longford fans in general are great craic. Most fans in the league are fine IMO, but always feel welcome in Longford. Honourable mentions to the likes of Rovers and limerick, who must have amazing faith to stick with their clubs thru so much shít.
Hard to say who the worst fans are, but within the league its a toss up between Bohs (for being so arrogant and never making any noise) and Home Farm (for being non-existent) I'll go with Bohs. Overall worst fans though, are Irish Sky fans. the ones who have never been at an eircom League game and still feel able to lecture you on how "cráp" it is.

favourite moments: the whole european odyssey (TM) and seeing tolka full of city fans was a special moment as well.

low points: the FAI's continuous messing giving our league an even worse image than it already has. Every time the clubs make strides, the administrators **** it up for them

Other bits: More vocal support at different clubs and better atmospheres all around the league. Improvement in the travelling support to City's away games. Clubs doing well in Europe.

31/12/2004, 7:59 AM
Overall worst fans though, are Irish Sky fans. the ones who have never been at an eircom League game and still feel able to lecture you on how "cráp" it is.

Jeez, give it a rest Eanna, we all know how you feel on that topic. No need to keep subjecting us to it. ;)

31/12/2004, 9:08 AM
Best/worst match:Best was Bray 2-2 U.C.D Great game and plus we equalised in the dying seconds. Worst was losing 2-0 to kilkenny in the 2nd round of the fai cup.

Best goal: Collie 'daz' Tressons 40 yard lob up in monaghan on the final day....

Best pub (pre- post match and to watch a match) The sports bar in letterkenny, have no clue what it is called...

Best ground:Best ground i visited this season was Stade de France, it was quality and the atmosphere was great.

Best/ worst fans: Best this season were finn harps, they are just quality.. Worst were probably kildare, some of them are racist and they only got 1 song' County(clap,clap,clap,) County(clap,clap,clap) plus when they are losing they never sing...

favourite moments: Dublin city being relegated!!! ;) And Under the eifel tower on match day... What a moment!!!

low points:Bray Wanderers not going up as champions!!!

Other bits; Getting promoted was a joyous occasion and again the paris trip..... :)

31/12/2004, 12:42 PM
Jeez, give it a rest Eanna, we all know how you feel on that topic. No need to keep subjecting us to it. ;)
he asked about worst fans. i answered

sylvo
31/12/2004, 1:09 PM
Best/ worst fans: Best this season were finn harps, they are just quality.. Worst were probably kildare, some of them are racist and they only got 1 song' County(clap,clap,clap,) County(clap,clap,clap) plus when they are losing they never sing...

I never knew the Stadio Via Stazione (aka Station Road ;) ) was such a powerhouse to the extreme far right, next there'll be Bray fan's telling us that we're wearing pointed head gear the same colour as our home shirt. :D
I know I am not able to speak for other's but on any of my many time's at the Stadio Via Stazione and my odd trip away, i've found the County fan's to have a family apmosphere which the supporters club and County website's are trying to further build on.

Does this mean we're up there with like Lazio and Real Madrid. :D

31/12/2004, 1:23 PM
They racially abused wes charles....

sylvo
31/12/2004, 1:44 PM
Best game, Ireland beating Holland 1-0 in the friendly in may, it was a fantastic all round team performance also not forgetting the performance v France in october. (thirrey Henry yer having a laugh).

Worst, a 0-0 draw Rochdale V Bristol Rovers plus the whole Unity cup lark more so Ireland v Nigeria.

Best goal, Portugal's goalie's peno in euro 2004. ;)

Best pub, O'Donoghue's Baggott street for atmosphere when Ireland are at home. (pint could be better though)

Best ground, Amsterdam arena.

Best fans, the Dutch, who once again were in their normal fantastic form back in May.

Worst fans, A big load of the native's over here, who really knew how to party when their team won or lost plus they gave me an insight into what it must have been like to live in part's of Germany in the late 1930's, and those Irish fan's who let themselves and the country down in Paris.

Fave moment's, getting to see Ireland playing a great game and getting a great result V the world champions, County beating Boh's in the cup, also a team we can't mention beating there rival's in every game last season.

Low pionts, County not being able to get that 3rd promotion place over Tarzan's mob.

Other bit's, the performance's of Cork City and Shelbourne in Europe, both were a credit to Irish football, well done to both of them.

sylvo
31/12/2004, 2:11 PM
They racially abused wes charles....

If that is the case regarding Wes Charles then I can only apologise as a County fan for any abuse that he got, I personally would not tolarate Racial abuse being dished out by fellow fan's toward's anyone, but I can and will back up that County's support is very much a family one that has been that way since we were accepted into the EL back in 2002.
If a couple of low life's make racially abusive comments to a player that can hardly be reflective of the whole of County's support, more of a reflection on a couple of sad and sick individual's.
I can personally vouch that I have never heard anything of a racist nature being shouted at anyone by County fan's, and am sorry that any abuse was dished out to Wes Charles of this nature by a what I can only say would be proberly a very small number of skanger's, and I can assure you that Kildare County fan's are not racist fan's.

31/12/2004, 2:53 PM
If that is the case regarding Wes Charles then I can only apologise as a County fan for any abuse that he got, I personally would not tolarate Racial abuse being dished out by fellow fan's toward's anyone, but I can and will back up that County's support is very much a family one that has been that way since we were accepted into the EL back in 2002.
If a couple of low life's make racially abusive comments to a player that can hardly be reflective of the whole of County's support, more of a reflection on a couple of sad and sick individual's.
I can personally vouch that I have never heard anything of a racist nature being shouted at anyone by County fan's, and am sorry that any abuse was dished out to Wes Charles of this nature by a what I can only say would be proberly a very small number of skanger's, and I can assure you that Kildare County fan's are not racist fan's.

Fair enough, but the abuse he got that day was outrageous, as was the abuse eamonn zayed got to. The County fans were even throwing punches at charles as he left the pitch down the tunnel tingy.... :eek:

31/12/2004, 2:54 PM
Low pionts, County not being able to get that 3rd promotion place over Tarzan's mob.

:D :D :D :D
Don't worry... Division 1 is a great division for travelling...... ;)

sylvo
01/01/2005, 1:56 PM
Don't worry... Division 1 is a great division for travelling...... ;)

Well you'll be back in it soon. ;) If we don't get promoted this year with John Ryan maybe we could get Ron Atkinson to replace him, that i'm sure would please our hardcore support. ;)

01/01/2005, 7:51 PM
Best match 1-0 win away to Harps.

Worst match Either Cobh at home or Kildare at home.

Best goal Seán Finn v Limerick

Best pub Les Freres Hargadans

Best ground. Sligo I suppose though there was **** all competition this year.

Best fans Harps

favourite moments Hammering Bray in the first game of the season because I wasn't really sure that we'd be at the top of the division before that.

low points Missing the cup quarter final replay

02/01/2005, 1:39 PM
Best match Away to Holland

worst match Away to Poland, think i fell asleep twice

Best goal Robbie Keane vs Holland or Andy Reid vs Cyprus

Best pub (pre- post match and to watch a match) Haven't really watched games in the pub this year, usually in a mate's or at the game itself

Best ground. Was at the City of Manchester Stadium for Man City vs Birmingham in February, it really is fantastic

Best fans Faroes fans never stopped chanting, have to give them credit for that

Worst fans Spanish fans for the England game in Madrid

favourite moments Being in the stadium when Robbie Keane equalled and broke Niall Quinn's record was something special. Standing behind the goal to watch Ronaldo mark Andy O'Brien for corners was just surreal.

low points The whole FAI management fiasco rumbles from disaster to disaster

02/01/2005, 2:25 PM
Best match: Shels 4-1 or FAI Cup Final

Worst match: Losing 2-1 to Dublin City

Best goal: Prunty v. Shels or Dillon v. Drogs (Cup semi replay)

Best pub: McDowells (Pats) or the Windmill (Drogs)

Best ground: Apart from Flansiro, Turners X

Best fans: Derry

favourite moments: Winning the Double Cup, beating Shels 4-1

low points: Missing the cup semi final replay

02/01/2005, 4:20 PM
Best/ worst fans: Longford fans in general are great craic. Most fans in the league are fine IMO, but always feel welcome in Longford. Honourable mentions to the likes of Rovers and limerick, who must have amazing faith to stick with their clubs thru so much shít.
edit on that- I'm adding Derry fans to the list because of their amazing hospitality every time we go up there. And for the offer of a spare drumstick ;)

Karlos
04/01/2005, 3:31 PM
Best match: Arsenal Vs Lecester City at Highbury - the sun shining, the captain grabbing the winner, getting the premier league trophy and winning the league without losing a game - will never have another day like that, felt like hanging up my boots there and then!

Best goal: Vieira Vs Spurs at White Hart Lane - team goal summed up the season (71, doing it again!)

Best pub: Searsons, Baggot Street

Best ground: Stadt de France

Best/ worst fans: Leceister City - when confronted with the 'going down' chant singing 'so are we!' at the top of the lungs!! briliant! Worst fans, good oul Spurs with their welcoming party outside the Arsenal end of White Hart Lane before and after the game, pleasant it was not!

favourite moments: Winning the league at White Hart Lane, doing something no other premiership club has ever done, Wenger saying 'i think we can go the whole season unbeaten' and all the jorno's laughing!!! Irish fans in Paris, great two days!

low points: Spanish Fans & Real Madrid in general!

04/01/2005, 8:37 PM
Best Match: Cork City .v. Malmo in Malmo. Kearney's goal. The 90 minutes of singing afterwards. Some poor Swedish nerd giving out about Notts Forrest in an Irish Bar after the match. Not only did they beat Malmo in the final years ago but they released Liam Kearney to City:D Mocking some English fella about Sol Cambell's "goal" the same night.

Best Ground: Stade de France by a country mile. Nijmagen was very impressive too

Best Goal: Cardiff City's Langly against Mick McCarthy's Sunderland in the 4-0 home win.

Best Pub: O'Shea's Nijmagen/Horseshoe

Best/Worse Fans: The 30,000 Greek fans we met in Brussels on the way back from Nijmagen. Who would have though so many Greeks live in Belgium! They'd beaten Portugal in some match. See here for a flavour http://www.corkcityfc.ie/gallery/displayimage.php?album=40&pos=142
Worse: Bohs/Sunderland. Bohs for the reason Éanna mentioned. Sunderland for singing Inngeeerrrlanndd at the top of their voices during a minutes silence for John Charles

Fav Moment: Full time against Nijmagen. 30,000 Paddies invading the Paris Metro and the sing song outside the Mounlin Rouge!

Low Points: City's post Euro slump. Cardiff's general crapiness in 2004

liam88
04/01/2005, 9:28 PM
Best match: Ireland vs France/ Cobh vs Dublin City at home

Worst match: Celtic loosing to Range*s in the Cup/ England vs Spain from a neutral view

Best goal: Neil Lennons penalty vs Fulham, Zidanes against Englan

Best pub: The cottage (Fulham) Ryans (Cobh)

Best ground: St. Colemans

Best fans: Celtic / Northern Ireland (vs Wales)

favourite moments: First Cobh win of the season, Celtic doing the Greenwash, Drawing to France, Celtic vs Fulham with the foot.ie exiles!

low points: Being in work getting tecxt messages that we were loosing the Old Firm clash

06/01/2005, 12:11 PM
Best ground: St. Colemans
:eek: You haven't been to too many grounds have you? ;)

06/01/2005, 12:26 PM
Best match: City vs Nijmegen

Worst match: Losing at home to Shels X 2

Best goal: Doyle vs Nijmegen

Best pub: Beer Garden after Nijmegen game

Best ground: Stade de France

Best fans: Cork Citys travelling army

Worst Fans: Certain factions of the green Army in Paris, neanderthals

favourite moments: Citys european odyssey

low points: Nantes equalising against the run of play when we had them on the rack / failing to score against Shels when we outplayed them at Tolka.

06/01/2005, 1:17 PM
Best match: City vs Nijmegen
Worst match: The away loss to UCD in the Cup
Best goal: Fenn in Inchicore -v- Pat's
Best pub: O'Shea's in Nijmegen, McDowells in inchicore
Best ground: Stade de France by a considerable distance. Nijmegen was nice though.
Best fans: Derry & Rovers (and the Longford lads who shouted CCFC on at the cross in the Inter-toto ;) )
Worst Fans: Bohs were pretty quiet in games against us as has been mentioned, though the French in Paris were worse.
Favourite moments: Citys (and Shels :o ) european odysseys
Low points: Shels late equaliser in tolka followed by Dolan being hit by Water Baloons, Nantes undeserved equaliser at the Cross.

06/01/2005, 1:19 PM
Best fans: Derry & Rovers (and the Longford lads who shouted CCFC on at the cross in the Inter-toto ;) )

Thanks tiktok :)