View Full Version : Ireland V Bosnia-Herzegovina - Monday, 16th November 2015 Euro 2016 Play Off 2nd Leg

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Candystripe
18/11/2015, 1:03 AM
My highlight was getting a ticket off a Finn Harps fan.

Now the search begins for the tickets for France. Hopefully I'll be as lucky as I was for the euros in Poland :)

18/11/2015, 2:12 PM
Just back from probably the best 6 days of my life. Very depressed.

I think Bosnia were not the team we believed they were. I think we certainly showed a maturity of experience, and no real naivety in the last two games, we have grown.

I thought all the time with trap we were always a game away from a whopping. I do NOT feel that now. I think we can play decent football and have the motivation to prove that in the Euros. I do think this will only last so long, but the players were so elated to qualify it was nothing like Euro 2012, these are mates, playing for and with eachother, and playing football they enjoy playing, so qualifying means that much more.

We have actually shown through(i didn't jump on the bandwagon after oshea in germany) that we can score technically good goals, even if going via route 1. I would like to see us try and play and score from other positions or tactics but generally i am happy with what has gone on. They're is a resilience and a belief in this team, a belief that now stems to the fans. They're is excitement. And the country has got their team back. I am so proud, as always I am, if aged drastically and my face actually showing this :D, of this team. I hope we can get a world cup out of them, and Martin leaves then with a decent swansong. He has shown how infectuous the world cup in brazil was for him and would love to be at one.

My big worry is that we have proven big games as more one offs, but our world cup campaign is against slightly better opposition than us but not world class, and we will struggle again, i hope not as bad as the points return against Poland and Scotland.

It would be amazing if a couple more guys played their way into the squad between now and June.

I completely screwed up an interview today, but leaving I didn't care. The last few days have one again shown me what life is really about.

18/11/2015, 2:22 PM
Good man Paul, albeit a needless reference to the Gelsenkirchen bandwagon. You just have to add a "I'm different from ye lot" to everything!

Yes, there is a togetherness about this squad and MON has them believing. It took a while and sometimes I feel it was a bit of luck rather than MON's judgment. Shay going off v Germany actually was a bonus, and a long term one too.

There are definitely players with ability to play their way in to key roles.

And yes, we've got our team back.

I'd just like to add, fair play to Richard Keogh. He brings positivity, leadership and controlled aggression and let's all admit it (I'll exempt Kingdom) he is worth his place.

I said the other day that Monday was a bit like a Mick home win (better team, lose the plot for a bit, but end up handy winners) but it was also the type of home win MON used to deliver regularly in Celtic’s CL games. Big crowd, high tempo, dig deep, score from set pieces. I always feel we are going to score in any game now. When MON took the job this is what I hoped he'd bring. It took a while but maybe we're at that point now. Also, I had hoped MON would continue his ability to make the most of respectable but limited centre-backs. Recent games have probably delivered this too.

Olé Olé
18/11/2015, 2:25 PM
http://www.balls.ie/football/watch-you-know-weve-qualified-when-the-irish-players-are-singing-in-a-dublin-pub/316405

Four proper heroes in this. Brady looks to be having the time of his life and Long is very handy on the six string. Lovely performance.

18/11/2015, 2:35 PM
No Stutts, i meant the goal, everyone was like oh it was top class and i was like its a bit of luck.

I am saying i was wrong. We have proven that we can take high balls down, control them, and in some cases create goals off of them.

BUt on that whole thing, i am the only one on here, who can admit I am wrong, and gladly so. Now whose hat do i have to eat. And i think i said I'd make a donation if we qualified so I am happy to stick to that if it was you name the charity and I'll do it. :D

Keogh has that real passion and like Walters he genuinely cherishes his shirt, he has good pace on him and good in the air, so against Bosnia it worked, but I am not sure it will work against a tactically superior team who have players who drop off a lot and move around a lot, he is not used to that in the championship and like Dzekos goal he loses the concentration/man from time to time.

I am almost 100% with Shaker, the fluffer Trap should have been gone ages ago, and had we we might have enjoyed a real world cup down in Brazil.

18/11/2015, 2:38 PM
waitaminute. Paul was wrong about something, and he's admitting it??

18/11/2015, 2:42 PM
Tets you have some listeners on my posts that get triggered via "I" "wrong" "am" in any order that was too quick.

18/11/2015, 2:59 PM
I'd just like to add, fair play to Richard Keogh. He brings positivity, leadership and controlled aggression and let's all admit it (I'll exempt Kingdom) he is worth his place.

Credit where it is due, he is deserved of his spot. Did you hear that JByrne????

Sometimes with Centre-backs, it is as much about the partnership, as it is about the individual. Part of this teams downfall in the past couple of campaigns, has been the eagerness of a centre-half - Marc Wilson I'm looking at you - to hoof the ball at option 1, and when playing the ball never really have an intention to properly work the ball out from the back.
Keogh does not do this. When he plays the ball to full-back, centre-half, midfield or keeper, he is immediately moving into a position to receive the ball again as an out-ball. He's a big unit too, but very quick.

I like the partnership, it's grown on me. I'm not sure we've had a partnership before where both are good on the ball, good in the air defensively, but both offer an attacking threat in the opposition box.
If it is O'Neill's intention to use these two lads in tandem, then they really need to work on set-pieces: Keogh, Clark, Walters and Long are all very good in the air (or offer a threat). Whelan, Mac, Hendrick, Coleman, not so much, and with Brady seemingly posted to set-piece duty, I'd like to see it worked on, because they can really make a difference.

18/11/2015, 3:08 PM
Credit where it is due, he is deserved of his spot. Did you hear that JByrne????

loud and clear.

although I did compare his running style on Monday night to someone running for a bus

18/11/2015, 3:14 PM
The "phoebe" I believe it's called in 'Murica

18/11/2015, 3:44 PM

Sometimes with Centre-backs, it is as much about the partnership, as it is about the individual. Part of this teams downfall in the past couple of campaigns, has been the eagerness of a centre-half - Marc Wilson I'm looking at you - to hoof the ball at option 1, and when playing the ball never really have an intention to properly work the ball out from the back.
Keogh does not do this. When he plays the ball to full-back, centre-half, midfield or keeper, he is immediately moving into a position to receive the ball again as an out-ball. He's a big unit too, but very quick.

I like the partnership, it's grown on me. I'm not sure we've had a partnership before where both are good on the ball, good in the air defensively, but both offer an attacking threat in the opposition box.
If it is O'Neill's intention to use these two lads in tandem, then they really need to work on set-pieces: Keogh, Clark, Walters and Long are all very good in the air (or offer a threat). Whelan, Mac, Hendrick, Coleman, not so much, and with Brady seemingly posted to set-piece duty, I'd like to see it worked on, because they can really make a difference.

Kingdom I am seeing one of these things where you and I will go further away again on this.

I like Keogh, but he has shown in the poland away and bosnia away game that on the ground(being intricate play, fast ball moving men in tight areas) and man to man marking he just isnt good enough.

18/11/2015, 5:23 PM
Any sightings of the Doc on here?

18/11/2015, 7:37 PM
Any sightings of the Doc on here?

He's off to knock off Clarky at this stage I'd say.

DeLorean
18/11/2015, 9:21 PM
I just watched the match back there. It really has been an amazing roller coaster that got better and better as it approached it conclusion, even if the three crucial late equalisers were in the first half of the campaign.

It's just as well we're not hosting the Euros, disorganised chaos on the way into the stadium. We got the DART out to Lansdowne and crossed to the other side of the ground through the alley way. We were meeting a few more in Mary Mac's so we were heading away from security, well actually we were heading towards security but they had their backs to us as they were checking for tickets and frisking those on the way in! Those who reached the ground on the DART could have had bazukas on them for all security would have known about it! Getting into the stadium itself was tricky too as a couple of the gates were so crowded with heavy queues it was extremely difficult to pass through to get to our own particular gate. In fairness we should have got to the ground earlier anyway but I felt sorry for those trying to manoeuvre their kids through the heavy crowds.

Staying on a slightly negative theme, and I know I've complained about this in the past, it really annoys me that they've planked the away supporters behind the goals. They could scarcely pick a more prominent location to make their presence felt. I accept that from every other aspect other than giving our opponents a competitive lifeline in terms of support, it probably makes a lot of sense, but there are so many other parts of the stadium where their impact would be greatly reduced. Just look a the lengths the Borsnian F.A. are willing to go to in order to give their team the best chance, including taking a significant financial hit by playing it in a smaller stadium. Luckily enough we got our penalty at the right end and Walters made the most of it.

I thought the Bosnian supporters were fantastic, despite the minority who made a holy show of themselves during the minute not so silent. The section with the dark hoodies were particularly impressive, showing an unbreakable enthusiasm regardless of what was happening on the pitch. They also appeared to be the chief instigators of the really classy appreciation they showed for our players during their lap of honour. I was so impressed, I looked them up. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BHFanaticos)

The game itself was intriguing, as it gradually dawned on me that we are an incredibly difficult team to break down, especially at home. I think POSH made a good point that under Trap we always looked a game away from taking a hiding. Although I wouldn't be remotely as critical of Trap as Paul or some others, I know exactly what he's saying. Our defensive record was pretty good for the most part, but it was often down to the miraculous. Given or Dunne often performed out of their skin while midfield was being completely overrun and offering little protection, despite this being their solitary function. What struck me on Monday is how little Keogh and Clark actually had to do, despite being competent to excellent in almost everything they did. The protection offered to them, in particular, by the trio of Whelan, McCarthy and Hendrick was incredible when they were flung in at the deep end. All of the others show a great desire and work ethic to help out but I think the system revolves around those three knowing their primary jobs inside out.

There is still so much room for improvement in possession though, can you imagine the difference it would make if McCarthy really stepped up to the plate in terms of 'linking the play' as Johnny Giles calls it. It's so frustratingly obvious that he has the ability to do more and what a player he would be if he did, because his athleticism and footballing intelligence is top class. I don't think Whelan is going to really improve in that area at this stage, although he did play one lovely pass to Shane Long with his weaker foot. Hendrick, actually, produced a moment which is exactly what Giles has been expecting from McCarthy, when he demanded the ball in a bit of space in the middle of the pitch, before setting McClean on his way with a brilliantly executed long range pass.

I'm really glad that Hendrick produced that moment against Georgia, because I think he's been a bit of an unsung hero otherwise, particularly the other night and against Germany.

It's kind of funny that Brady was such a popular man of the match selection, in a way, given how poor his set pieces were and he was caught in a way not too dissimilar to McClean on Friday for Bosnia's best chance of the game, pre-injury time anyway. If it was Dzeko at the end of it, I suspect it would have been 1-1. It would have been utterly cruel on a guy that gave us so much though.

While watching the analysis after the game, I was thinking to myself what an emotional mess Dunphy is, but five minutes later there was a lump in my own throat the size of an apple watching Robbie Brady's interview, it's overwhelming how much it means to these guys, they're the complete opposite to the stereotypical modern day footballer and we're lucky to have them.

We were obviously all thrilled when we qualified four years ago, but in hindsight that team had probably peaked two years earlier in Paris, I get a better feeling about that trajectory of this side.

As for Martin O'Neill, I don't buy into some of the comments about proving people wrong and that sort of talk. I was probably one of his biggest critics after the Scotland away game. What he's gone on to achieve hasn't diluted the balls he made of things that evening in my opinion, but it's brilliant to see he looks like a guy that's got his grove back. Is it just me or has his whole body language changed over the past couple of months? He really seems like a guy living the job now, a guy with an emotional attachment and trust in his players that wasn't always there. He even seems better educated when discussing their club situations, etc. Maybe I'm reading too much into things though, things always appear rosier in victory.

DeLorean
18/11/2015, 9:55 PM
Fun reading (http://tartanarmyboard.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=7195)

DannyInvincible
19/11/2015, 12:23 AM
Just look a the lengths the Borsnian F.A. are willing to go to in order to give their team the best chance, including taking a significant financial hit by playing it in a smaller stadium.

Bosnia played all their home games this campaign in Zeneca. The play-off wasn't an exception. The last time they actually played in Sarajevo was for a friendly in August of 2013. The last competitive game there was a Euro 2012 qualifier against France in September of 2010.

I thought the Bosnian supporters were fantastic, despite the minority who made a holy show of themselves during the minute not so silent. The section with the dark hoodies were particularly impressive, showing an unbreakable enthusiasm regardless of what was happening on the pitch. They also appeared to be the chief instigators of the really classy appreciation they showed for our players during their lap of honour. I was so impressed, I looked them up. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BHFanaticos)

They were indeed. Their impressive synchronisation was very much visible on TV. They might well have had a capo leading with a megaphone, as is typical of these types of groups. Supporter culture is a different beast and much more collective/organised/partisan in places like Italy, the Balkans, Greece and Turkey where ultras groups are very popular and are a kind of lifestyle for many. Creating displays and atmosphere are as much part of the experience as what's happening on the field, and they go to basketball games and the like as well to hone their skills of intimidation. They often tie politics in with the support of their team, although that seems to be a bit of a taboo in Britain, and Ireland seemingly by extension.

They also amount to sort-of lobby groups for the promotion of supporters' rights and interests. When games are delayed/called off due to flares being thrown on-pitch or whatever, you'll usually find that the motivation isn't simply to cause mindless trouble; often, it's a means of protesting against particular aspects of the commercialisation of football or against something the hierarchy of their own club or association has implemented to the perceived detriment of supporters. Our singing section is a great idea but we could probably take lessons from these guys in terms of how to create a truly intimidating atmosphere. John Delaney wouldn't last a minute with them!

As for the Bosnian heckler during the minute's silence, the rest of his comrades gave him a beating, if this Bosnian report (translated via Google) is to be believed: http://www.source.ba/clanak/Fudbal/385359/Nekoliko-navijaca-BiH-pretuklo-pijanog-bh-navijaca-koji-je-tokom-minute-sutnje-uzvikivao-Palestina-Palestina

One of the fans of the Bosnia and Herzegovina last night found the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, was beaten by a number of fans of the national team in one of the hotels in Dublin, unofficially Source.ba portal.

Specifically, one of the supporters of our national team was chanting "Palestine, Palestine" during the minute of silence, which was organized for the victims of recent attacks in Paris. Therefore protested Irish fans Aviva stadium, but also a protest and fans of our national team.

"I do not know who the guy, what's his name. I only know that he was drunk and that he was the only one in the stadium during the minute of silence chanting" Palestine, Palestine '. Several fans met him at the hotel after the game and asked him whether he did it. He confirmed that he is in a higher pitch. And then it was our fans hit a few times," says a source Source.ba portal in Dublin.

I'm really glad that Hendrick produced that moment against Georgia, because I think he's been a bit of an unsung hero otherwise, particularly the other night and against Germany.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHDpdyvPWAs

Lest we forget! :D

Hendrick had a brilliant campaign. Really impressed me throughout and deserves to be playing at a higher level than Derby.

While watching the analysis after the game, I was thinking to myself what an emotional mess Dunphy is, but five minutes later there was a lump in my own throat the size of an apple watching Robbie Brady's interview, it's overwhelming how much it means to these guys, they're the complete opposite to the stereotypical modern day footballer and we're lucky to have them.

Very much so. Nothing wrong with being an emotional mess now and again, ha. I saw post-match interviews with Keogh, Walters and McClean as well; all of them so delighted, proud and very much conscious of the privilege they were in the process of experiencing.

We were obviously all thrilled when we qualified four years ago, but in hindsight that team had probably peaked two years earlier in Paris, I get a better feeling about that trajectory of this side.

As pleasing as 2012 was, I think there'll be greater general/national excitement and anticipation in the build-up to the finals this time. I have a real feeling that the buzz is back and the good will of the broader public is well and truly behind the team again. Trap's approach really sucked the life out of it and made supporting the team feel like a chore for many but O'Neill has recaptured the imagination. I'll back the team either way, but this campaign has certainly been more enjoyable and inspiring than campaigns under Trap.

Is it just me or has his whole body language changed over the past couple of months? He really seems like a guy living the job now, a guy with an emotional attachment and trust in his players that wasn't always there. He even seems better educated when discussing their club situations, etc. Maybe I'm reading too much into things though, things always appear rosier in victory.

Ditching the formal suit on the touch-line of earlier games and donning the tracksuit/football boots combo has been a sign of that more hands-on, "really getting stuck into it" approach. His getting deeper and deeper into the role was noticeable as the campaign went on. He has clearly gotten to know the players better and they trust him in return. I've noticed he has also embraced using "we" more in interviews, whereas he had been a bit hesitant to so so at the outset. Having experienced his playing days with the IFA, maybe he was a bit reluctant to appear to be jumping in head first or felt like he was a semi-outsider, but he seems to have well and truly shed any fears of that nature now.

Ha, so McCarthy is "that wee ######" McGeady's "ginger bigot arsehole pal"?... Bitter. What did McCarthy ever do to warrant such an accusation? Does having pride in one's heritage equate to bigotry now?

DannyInvincible
19/11/2015, 12:37 AM
http://giant.gfycat.com/NeighboringLastingHare.gif

Just looking at this again and both Wes and Seamie signal for a hand-ball straight away. I'm pretty sure Wes can't see the tucked-in arm from where he is standing so must have thought the ball came off the out-stretched left arm. It looks like it hit that arm in the main camera view but it's very difficult to tell from the behind-goal view. Am I correct in thinking people at the game thought it hit both arms? I'm trying to look for two changes in the spin of the ball, but only one change is obvious. It definitely touched the arm that was tucked in, but very harsh to give a penalty for that.

19/11/2015, 5:29 AM
Reading that, the most striking this is many of them think Scotland failed because they played too much football rather than the more pragmatic stuff Ireland played. I wonder how anyone could say that having watched them play.

19/11/2015, 7:27 AM
Patrick Barclay, a top football writer in my opinion, on our qualification.

http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/internationalfootball/patrick-barclay-ireland-will-enhance-the-party-in-france-after-lady-luck-shines-emerald-green-a3116581.html

I don't always agree with him but he has interesting opinions on stuff.

Glenn Moore on Jon Walters, and our qualification in general

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-how-jonathan-walters-battled-back-to-represent-motherland-a6738231.html

Good article, but in each of the above I can't help but feel they're saying "Ireland are at it again, relying on [Brits] to qualify" as their main message. Maybe based on previous comments down the years. Maybe I'm a bit too sensitive too.

That Scots forum is hilarious. And speaking of lumps in throat, DeLorean's post above did that to me!

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 8:14 AM
Reading that, the most striking this is many of them think Scotland failed because they played too much football rather than the more pragmatic stuff Ireland played. I wonder how anyone could say that having watched them play.

Yeah, in fairness they showed glimpses at times but they were unable to create many significant chances when it mattered most. We had far more moments of individual brilliance and I think that was the difference in the end. I thought this comment was gas seeing as it's the complete opposite of what was being said here pre-September!

"Strachan could learn some lessons from both O'neils on how to get the best from scant resources." (http://tartanarmyboard.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=7195&p=240737)

19/11/2015, 8:28 AM
I dunno, I think Strachan was a bit unlucky. I think they played quite well in the campaign overall, only their Georgia performances disappointing. Sure, we were more pragmatic and they were more open and attacking, and arguably more cohesive, but ultimately it was a close thing between us and them. In a results business the end-assessment often becomes extreme in both directions.

19/11/2015, 10:39 AM
Saw an article recently on BBC's website that Strachan should have focussed more on getting results, instead of developing players. Can't find it now. If I do, I'll post it.

19/11/2015, 11:13 AM
Georgia were an underestimated entity, on their day they could put it up to the best teams, even to Germany when they had to win that last game.
It was no shock that they would take precious points off Scotland and as it turned out, who were poorly prepared for that crucial game.
Our performance of despair was in Scotland where we were looked disjointed and a primitive hoofball team.

Nevertheless I felt our home game against them marked a sea change in the team, the formation that day, the approach of the players, the first time there was an evident connection between O'Neill and the team on the pitch. There was a fresh energy about.
Post Celtic Pk, we got stronger as the group progressed and Scotland had not got the wherewithal to take their campaign to the wire.

I see Bosnia and Hertz were in the first seeds for the orig Euro qual draw, 3 from the top seeds didn't make it, Greece, B&H and Netherlands.
All 2nd seeds made it, except for Denmark.

19/11/2015, 11:16 AM
Football, its definitely more than a game for some of us, I'm still buzzing. Still getting teary eyed reading and seeing some of the things. I don't normally wear my heart on my sleeve but for the football i definitely do. It doesn't galvanise the country like anything else does or can.

@Delorean - they've played in Zenica for ages, it has nothing to do with financial gain or any such thing. They are actually very superstitious about the Olympic stadium.

I haven't done a tap of work, and completely demotivated, which needs to change drastically but I am going to enjoy this for a little while longer.

Ya those ultras, remind me of some of the biker gangs or metal communities, without the violence, its a way of life. Met a few of them, disappointed I didn't get a picture with them. I was out Sunday with a few bozzas, had a great time, they insisted on paying for the taxi, paying for drink, and paying me into COPPers, ya coppers :P - which i felt bad about as I am well aware of the average salary, but I did the same out in Bosnia although it sure as hell didn't cost as much. I was really impressed with the place and the people in general, 11541 people died, over 44 months, of which 1061 were children(the tour guide we got thought I had been on wiki when i regurgitated this to him at the end of the tour :D), and they are not bitter, have a great resolve and say "its about having a good time, enjoying life and getting on with it, we all live together in harmony". I heard that from all different backgrounds. We had a great time with a load of croats too, who said the Bosnians are known to be the friendliest out of all of them and don't have half as much trouble with their fans as say croatia from split particularly. I've been to all save Serbia, and I have to say that's exactly my impression, although slovenians are hit and miss, i was never gone on the croatians, but nothing but respect for and enjoyment with every bosnian i met. I have to say personally I perfer going to these places completely ignorant or almost so, i mean i had a fair idea about the ethnicity and the make up of the balkans by territories but that's just about touching the surface, you leave yourself open to learn far more, and also understand the people and sometimes their agenda.

I'm like OwlsFan, I hate watching the matches, i was thinking at half time will i just go to the toilet and sit there till the end - i would never do it but these thoughts are constantly in my head, and everyone messing and having the craic around ye, and all I can think is how you are enjoying yourself. I'm sure for most of them it means just as much, but I don't have their resolve. At least I know Owlsfan hasnt had a heart attack yet after all these years so I don't need to worry on that front hopefully. :D

I really do feel sorry for people who don't get to experience this in the same way I and others do. And I am not being condescending or smug saying that.

19/11/2015, 11:39 AM

This is my favourite. I don't think he gets it.

Don't understand why the euros were expanded and looking at a poor Ireland team in the mix I'm more puzzled than ever. With a nearly 1 in 2 chance of qualification the tournament has been devalued for me. I suppose Bosnia for this one as it would be nice to see Dzeko at a finals.
http://tartanarmyboard.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=7195&p=239950

19/11/2015, 12:13 PM
As for Martin O'Neill, I don't buy into some of the comments about proving people wrong and that sort of talk. I was probably one of his biggest critics after the Scotland away game. What he's gone on to achieve hasn't diluted the balls he made of things that evening in my opinion, but it's brilliant to see he looks like a guy that's got his grove back. Is it just me or has his whole body language changed over the past couple of months? He really seems like a guy living the job now, a guy with an emotional attachment and trust in his players that wasn't always there. He even seems better educated when discussing their club situations, etc. Maybe I'm reading too much into things though, things always appear rosier in victory.

You're not, that's an excellent summation of my feelings too.

19/11/2015, 12:36 PM
You're not, that's an excellent summation of my feelings too.
DeL is spot on.

I'm glad we don't have to rue that night in Glasgow.
It was a low night.

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 12:54 PM
Bosnia played all their home games this campaign in Zeneca. The play-off wasn't an exception. The last time they actually played in Sarajevo was for a friendly in August of 2013. The last competitive game there was a Euro 2012 qualifier against France in September of 2010.

@Delorean - they've played in Zenica for ages, it has nothing to do with financial gain or any such thing. They are actually very superstitious about the Olympic stadium.

I knew they had played Wales in Zenica as well and beyond that I wasn't too concerned. My point was that they play in the smaller stadium as they feel it would be a more hostile environment and would benefit the team, or at least that's what the various commentators had us believe? I didn't know about the superstition thing though.

Cymro
19/11/2015, 1:05 PM
Hard not to feel sorry for Scotland. For the next 8 months, literally every other country in these islands is going to be awash with anticipation for the finals, whilst they will have a friendly against Macedonia or Latvia to look forward to (where, going by the comments of some of their fans on the aforementioned TA forum, they will be paying £35+ for the privilige).

Joe Jordan's cheating is finally coming back to haunt them :D

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 1:24 PM
Hendrick had a brilliant campaign. Really impressed me throughout and deserves to be playing at a higher level than Derby.

I think he deserves to play at a higher level than the Championship too but Derby could be a club going places. He seems very content there and it could be a far more stable environment than any potential PL move he might get. I know there's no guarantees that they'll get promoted but they now have a chairman who has sole control and loves the club, Mel Morris, who made a significant amount of his fortune through that Candy Crush game. He's actually from Derby himself and seems extremely dedicated to getting them back to the PL and keeping them there. I think that would be the ideal scenario for Hendrick in the short term.

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 1:47 PM
Patrick Barclay, a top football writer in my opinion, on our qualification.

http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/internationalfootball/patrick-barclay-ireland-will-enhance-the-party-in-france-after-lady-luck-shines-emerald-green-a3116581.html

I don't always agree with him but he has interesting opinions on stuff.

Glenn Moore on Jon Walters, and our qualification in general

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-how-jonathan-walters-battled-back-to-represent-motherland-a6738231.html

Good article, but in each of the above I can't help but feel they're saying "Ireland are at it again, relying on [Brits] to qualify" as their main message. Maybe based on previous comments down the years. Maybe I'm a bit too sensitive too.

I think Glenn's article is fine, just some indisputable facts that are relevant to his piece. Patrick's article is a bit... meh... some of the possible digs seem a bit forced and less necessary.

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 1:48 PM

I think Glenn's article is fine, just some (almost) indisputable assumptions that are relevant to his piece. Patrick's article is a bit... meh... some of the possible digs seem a bit forced and less necessary.

19/11/2015, 3:06 PM
I knew they had played Wales in Zenica as well and beyond that I wasn't too concerned. My point was that they play in the smaller stadium as they feel it would be a more hostile environment and would benefit the team, or at least that's what the various commentators had us believe? I didn't know about the superstition thing though.

I knew what you were saying, and i was saying the financial aspect doesn't come into it for them. Yes we heard from a lot they don't like playing in the stadium. The running track and the history behind it they dont really like it and feel it brings bad luck. For me i thought it was more about being as awkward as possible for the away fans and opposing teams. Bused in and out ruining my Friday night drinking :D

19/11/2015, 3:09 PM
I think Glenn's article is fine, just some indisputable facts that are relevant to his piece. Patrick's article is a bit... meh... some of the possible digs seem a bit forced and less necessary.

Patrick is woeful I think, every article i read of his no the standard i think is woeful and i never find myself agreeing with anything he says. It always feels like they need to fill a piece last minute and ask him to write a few half thought out paragraphs. He is rehashing a lot of jokes etc that came out about Scotland (not )and Ireland quailifying.

seanfhear
19/11/2015, 3:24 PM
Hard not to feel sorry for Scotland. For the next 8 months, literally every other country in these islands is going to be awash with anticipation for the finals, whilst they will have a friendly against Macedonia or Latvia to look forward to (where, going by the comments of some of their fans on the aforementioned TA forum, they will be paying £35+ for the privilige).

Joe Jordan's cheating is finally coming back to haunt them :D
Time to let it go after all this time……..:D

19/11/2015, 9:41 PM
I think Glenn's article is fine, just some (almost) indisputable assumptions that are relevant to his piece. Patrick's article is a bit... meh... some of the possible digs seem a bit forced and less necessary.
There was one glaring error in Glenn's otherwise fine article.

DeLorean
19/11/2015, 10:14 PM
What was that Geysir?

A great bunch of lads! (http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-ireland-stars-robbie-keane-shane-long-and-robbie-brady-lead-pub-singsong-during-euro-celebrations-34212983.html)

20/11/2015, 8:16 AM
Tricky will like this

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/how-stats-technology-helped-ireland-navigate-way-to-euro-2016-365824.html

Quite interesting actually

20/11/2015, 2:29 PM
What was that Geysir?

A great bunch of lads! (http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-ireland-stars-robbie-keane-shane-long-and-robbie-brady-lead-pub-singsong-during-euro-celebrations-34212983.html)

You'll have to read it (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-how-jonathan-walters-battled-back-to-represent-motherland-a6738231.html) yourself, but any veteran Irish fan should spot it easily.

DeLorean
20/11/2015, 3:19 PM
You'll have to read it (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-how-jonathan-walters-battled-back-to-represent-motherland-a6738231.html) yourself, but any veteran Irish fan should spot it easily.
Lawrenson missed Euro 88... it was actually slightly before my time tbh.

20/11/2015, 3:46 PM
Lawrenson missed Euro 88... it was actually slightly before my time tbh.

you have to wonder about some journalists. it wouldn't be that difficult to google Ireland euro 88 squad

20/11/2015, 4:03 PM
you have to wonder about some journalists. it wouldn't be that difficult to google Ireland euro 88 squad
That's not the issue. He should have known Lawro didn't play because
if Lawro had been playing in the Finals we would have won Euro 88............ and Stuttgart88 would be called Munich88.

Drumcondra 69er
25/11/2015, 8:08 PM
Bit later than normal due to holidays with herself to regain the brownie points after heading to Bosnia but have finally finished the blog on the home game and the qualification for anyone interested.

Link to the podcast of Baldrick's radio interview with myself and Freewheeler of YBIG (think they post here as well) is also included.

http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/2015/11/irelands-having-party_23.html

DeLorean
19/05/2016, 9:46 PM
Bump.

DeLorean
29/08/2016, 1:42 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zFT9r75E7A

DeLorean
13/09/2016, 8:52 AM
Closed thread.