View Full Version : overall stats for appearances and goalscoring 1984-2015
01/11/2015, 9:45 PM
I was updating our alltime stats earlier and just thought would share these with ye!
Appearances 1984-2015
305-Stephen O Brien
264-Alan Kirby
238-Vinny Perth
229-Sean Prunty
212-Pat Hackett
195-Alan Murphy
186-Stephen Kelly
175-Mark Salmon
154-Eric Lavine
153-Wes Byrne
151-Leo Devlin
149-Sean Dillon
148-Anthony Keenan
147-Paul McNally
142-Dessie Baker
140-Shay Zellor
134-Barry Ferguson
130-Enda Kenny
129-Gary Shaw
122-Mark Devlin
116-Stephen Gavin
115-Davy Flaherty
111-Eamonn Synnott
110-John Martin
109-Keith O Connor
107-Shane Barrett
106-David O Sullivan
Goalscorers 1984-2015
59-David O Sullivan
43-Richie Parsons
37-Stephen Kelly
34-Eric Lavine, Keith O Connor
32-Mark Salmon,Gary Shaw
29-Dave Mooney, Alan Kirby
25-Dessie Baker
20-Sean Francis
18-Clive O Neill, Shay Zellor
17-Pierce Walsh, Mark Devlin, Derek Glynn
16-Pat Hackett, Gavin Drummond, Stephen Gavin, Barry Ferguson, Darren McKenna
15-Dax Kealy
14-Vinny Perth,Shane Barrett, Don Cowan
01/11/2015, 10:09 PM
Brilliant Marty fair play
01/11/2015, 10:26 PM
That's excellent altogether. Such a shame Sean Pruntys career was cut short so early. Didn't realise he had made that many appearances. Lovely fella and an excellent footballer.
Town Legend
01/11/2015, 11:18 PM
Is that Enda Kenny from Ballyleague who played right back for us Marty? Or is it our greatest ever Taoiseach? ;)
02/11/2015, 7:31 PM
Is that Enda Kenny from Ballyleague who played right back for us Marty? Or is it our greatest ever Taoiseach? ;)
ah Enda from Ballyleague will be not happy about that Town Legend!
02/11/2015, 7:41 PM
A piece of history has being made. Davy O Sullivan is the first town player to be top scorer three seasons in a row. Previously Clive O Neill, Richie Parsons,Keith O Connor and Eric Lavine were top scorers two seasons on the trot. heres the proof!
Top scorers 1984-85 to 2015
84-85 Tony O Kelly 7
85-86 Martin Smyth 13
86-87 Derek Carthy 5
87-88 Clive O Neill 10
88-89 Clive O Neill 8
89-90 Gavin Drummond 7
90-91 Alan Weldrick 7
91-92 Mark Devlin 9
92-93 Richie Parsons 15
93-94 Richie Parsons 14
94-95 Dax Kealy 9
95-96 Paul Newe 8
96-97 Damien Dunleavy 9
97-98 Conor Frawley,Alan Doherty 4
98-99 Paul Perth 7
99-00 Keith O Connor 21
00-01 Stephen Kelly, Keith O Connor 8
01-02 Eric Lavine 14
02-03 Eric Lavine 10
03 Sean Francis 15
04 Dessie Baker 13
05 Andy Myler 9
06 Alan Kirby 6
07 Dave Mooney 22
08 Darren McKenna 13
09 Derek Glynn 15
10 Peter Hynes 7
11 Mark Salmon 10
12 Colm James 6
13 Davy O Sullivan 27
14 Davy O Sullivan 24
15 Davy O Sullivan 8
Town Legend
02/11/2015, 7:51 PM
Sully did well to end up top scorer considering he didn't start a good few games this year.
02/11/2015, 8:02 PM
Sully did well to end up top scorer considering he didn't start a good few games this year.
at the start of the season Gary Shaw was way ahead of him then Salmo drew level with him.only for Gary Shaws drought he wouldnt have stood a chance!
02/11/2015, 8:17 PM
8 isn't a great return for your top scorer it has to be said but as said above he didn't start a lot of games. Would expect him to do better next year and hopefully it's for us..
L.T.F.C.
02/11/2015, 10:34 PM
Ah there's my old fav Derek Glynn!
03/11/2015, 12:21 AM
Any chance we can remove the 2012 players name from the record books
03/11/2015, 7:40 PM
Another record that needs to be changed is that Finn Harps have broken away from Waterford Utd and are now the most played team since we first met in the 84/85 season.
79- Finn Harps
77-Waterford Utd
76-Athlone Town
69-Monaghan Utd
65-Drogheda Utd
62-UCD
56-Bray Wanderers
53-Kilkenny City
51-Shels,Limerick
47-Derry City
46-St Pats Ath
45-Home Farm,Cobh Ramblers
43-Cork City
40-Bohs
39-Galway Utd
38-Shamrock Rovers
28-Dundalk
27-Wexford Youths,Sligo Rovers
22-St James Gate
21-Mervue Utd
17-St Francis
15-Newcastlewest,Salthill Devon
9-Kildare Co
8-Sporting Fingal
5-Dublin City
4-Shamrock Rovers 'B'
3-Ballyfermot Utd,Wayside Celtic
2-Lusk Utd,FC Lovech, FC Vaduz, Glentoran,Linfield, Carmarthen Town, Sheriff YC
1-Pegasus, TEK Utd, Connacht Senior League, Castlebar Celtic, Avondale, Whitehall Rangers, Portmarnock,CIE Ranch, Tolka Rovers, Leeds FC, Waterford Crystal, Mayo League, Celbridge Town, Fanad Utd, Killester Celtic, Cherry Orchard, Pike Rovers, St Kevins Boys, Shamrock Rovers(Enniscorthy), Cockhill Celtic
04/11/2015, 9:06 PM
right a few new records that our players broke or equalled.
1. Gary Shaw is now our top goalscorer versus Galway Utd with 3 goals along with Fergal Coleman.
2. Gary Shaw is also our joint top goalscorer versus Drogheda Utd with 4 goals along with Eric Lavine.
3. Lorcan Shannon is top goalscorer versus Sheriff YC with 2 goals.
04/11/2015, 9:51 PM
Haha loving these stats Marty keep it up. Great to see you get a mention on ET as well.
L.T.F.C.
05/11/2015, 8:18 AM
right a few new records that our players broke or equalled.
1. Gary Shaw is now our top goalscorer versus Galway Utd with 3 goals along with Fergal Coleman.
2. Gary Shaw is also our joint top goalscorer versus Drogheda Utd with 4 goals along with Eric Lavine.
3. Lorcan Shannon is top goalscorer versus Sheriff YC with 2 goals.
These remind me of those ridiculous stats you do hear on the football commentary, especially in the US.
05/11/2015, 10:13 AM
Lorcan Shannon has described this news as "the proudest moment of my career".
05/11/2015, 7:55 PM
These remind me of those ridiculous stats you do hear on the football commentary, especially in the US.
some people might not find them relevant but I am the sort of person that always believes there are people out there interested in that sort of stuff!
05/11/2015, 8:04 PM
right more stats.
2015 stats
No of clean sheets 10 most games unbeaten 5(2014,2015), most games without a win 7
most wins in a row 3 most draws in a row 2 most losses in a row 2
Biggest win Drogheda Utd 0-3 Longford Town 29.4.15
Drogheda Utd 0-3 Longford Town 26.10.15
Biggest loss St Pats Ath 3-0 Longford Town 1.7.15
Longford Town 1-4 Cork City 22.7.15
Derry City 3-0 Longford Town 5.8.15
Longford Town 0-3 St Pats Ath 30.9.15
Highest draw Limerick 3-3 Longford Town 19.8.15
Most goals scored in a match Longford Town 4-2 Longford Town 2.11.15
Most goals conceded in a match Longford Town 1-4 Cork City 22.7.15
Galway Utd 4-2 Longford Town 9.9.15
Amount of no score draws 3
Played 41 won 12 drawn 12 lost 17( penalties not included)
Amount of games scored 27 most games in a row scored 7(2014,2015)
Most games without a goal 2(5 times) No of clean sheets in a row 2(twice)
05/11/2015, 8:19 PM
One record equalled in the alltime stats from 1984/85 to date.
No of clean sheets 21- 2014
Most games unbeaten 12-2004,2014
Most games without a win 15-90/91
Most wins in a row 9-2014
Most draws in a row 4-2001/02
Most losses in a row 9-86/87, 90/91
Biggest win Longford Town 6-0 Shamrock Rovers 'B' 2014
Biggest loss Waterford Utd 8-1 Longford Town 89/90
Dundalk 7-0 Longford Town 90/91
Highest draw Longford Town 3-3 Kilkenny City 90/91
Kilkenny City 3-3 Longford Town 92/93
Finn Harps 3-3 Longford Town 94/95
Longford Town 3-3 Finn Harps 95/96
Limerick 3-3 Longford Town 96/97
Longford Town 3-3 St Pats Ath 01/02
Longford Town 3-3 Monaghan Utd 09
Limerick 3-3 Longford Town 15
Most goals scored in a match Longford Town 7-2 Cobh Ramblers 13
Most goals conceded in a match Waterford Utd 8-1 Longford Town 89/90
Amount of no score draws in a season 8-2006
Most wins in a season 23-99/00,14 Least wins in a season 4- 84/85,89/90
Most draws in a season 16-2004 Least draws in a season 3-84/85
Most defeats in a season 28-84/85 Least defeats in a season 7- 2014
Most Amount of games scored in a season 41-99/00 Least amount of games scored in a season 12-89/90
05/11/2015, 9:10 PM
Challenge for you Marty. Which season has had the highest number of different players score for us?
05/11/2015, 9:21 PM
Challenge for you Marty. Which season has had the highest number of different players score for us?
now thats a challenge Longfordian I have so many stats to update. Off the top of my head I think 99/00 season but 2014 season wasnt far off! leave it with me and I will get back to you on it! Super question!
DRDoc
05/11/2015, 10:08 PM
only 22 or 23 in 2014 surely marty?
thats not a crazy amount really?
05/11/2015, 10:17 PM
only 22 or 23 in 2014 surely marty?
thats not a crazy amount really?
why wot do you mean DRDoc?
05/11/2015, 10:56 PM
right Longfordian got an answer! I simply went onto our website and counted the no of scorers for each season individually!
Surprisingly enough it is 2003 season with 19 individual goalscorers!
heres the list!
http://ltfc.ie/club-history/club-stats/2000s/2003-2/
Closely followed by 2013,2012 and 2004 with 18!
DRDoc
05/11/2015, 11:34 PM
why wot do you mean DRDoc?
sorry read the original question wrong :(
thought Longfordian was asking most amount of players to play in a season!!
My bad!!
06/11/2015, 6:42 AM
I looked it up as I'm on a bus with nothing better to do. The winner is 86/87 when we used 46 players. Next most is 2008 and 89/90 (I think) with 35.
L.T.F.C.
06/11/2015, 6:43 AM
sorry read the original question wrong :(
thought Longfordian was asking most amount of players to play in a season!!
My bad!!
Get on it Marty! :D
06/11/2015, 5:36 PM
Get on it Marty! :D
I have done it in the past at home. Longfordian is dead right. 86/87 season was a horrible season for us. we got into financial difficulty halfway through the season and Billy Bagster and the whole squad left and we had to go local!
07/11/2015, 6:34 PM
more stats for ya!
Leinster Senior Cup 84/85 to 2015
Played 33 Won 8 Drawn 5 Lost 19 For 39 Against 68
League Cup 84/85 to 2015
Played 87 Won 34 Drawn 11 Lost 42 For 106 Against 139
FAI Cup 84/85 to 2015
Played 92 Won 40 Drawn 21 Lost 31 Scored 121 Against 110
07/11/2015, 7:09 PM
Jesus our LSC record is rotten 😂
TheBoss
13/11/2015, 3:45 AM
Meant to post this a little sooner, I have quite a good record of stats from all teams that have played in the League of Ireland but it is only confined to regular league matches only at the moment (still have to update for all comps), so anyone want to know any particular or unique league only stat or stats regarding Longford Town, pretty sure I could attain most if not all requests. (Team stats only, e.g. longest unbeaten run)
PS: Great work Marty!
13/11/2015, 10:59 PM
Meant to post this a little sooner, I have quite a good record of stats from all teams that have played in the League of Ireland but it is only confined to regular league matches only at the moment (still have to update for all comps), so anyone want to know any particular or unique league only stat or stats regarding Longford Town, pretty sure I could attain most if not all requests. (Team stats only, e.g. longest unbeaten run)
PS: Great work Marty!
cheers the Boss!I dont know if you keep LOI B Stats as I have trouble getting team lineouts and goalscorers for Longford Town. We played in it from 80/81 to 83/84. I know the Longford Leader went on strike for nine months in 1983 which devestates my stat gathering or if you have any pointers of who to ask I would be grateful!
TheBoss
14/11/2015, 1:30 AM
cheers the Boss!I dont know if you keep LOI B Stats as I have trouble getting team lineouts and goalscorers for Longford Town. We played in it from 80/81 to 83/84. I know the Longford Leader went on strike for nine months in 1983 which devestates my stat gathering or if you have any pointers of who to ask I would be grateful!
Can't help you there Marty, that's almost an impossible ask :eek:, I have not completed the 'B' Division results as of yet, I'm finding it hard enough trying to find results in that league, let alone trying to find the lineups and goalscorers! If I do find some things, I'll inform you almost straight away.
Town Legend
15/11/2015, 7:51 PM
Did the League of Ireland B become the Reserve Division? I remember years ago it was just one division with all clubs in it including DCU if I'm not mistaken. Did we remove our team from this and put it into the Connacht League? I was only a gossun at the time and have only vague memories of this.
15/11/2015, 8:35 PM
Did the League of Ireland B become the Reserve Division? I remember years ago it was just one division with all clubs in it including DCU if I'm not mistaken. Did we remove our team from this and put it into the Connacht League? I was only a gossun at the time and have only vague memories of this.
I am thinking along the same lines too! The League of Ireland B was a forerunner to the A League we had a few yrs ago. Back then it was all the one division and played the likes of the top flights reserve sides plus the likes of Monaghan Town and Dublin University. Once the league got split into the two divisions the League of Ireland B disappeared and changed its name!
15/11/2015, 8:51 PM
right this is a wee bit unusual but I have compiled a list of players that have played with us in the Leinster Senior League, League of Ireland B and the League of Ireland itself. Its not completely accurate as I am still missing games but it can be updated at a later stage! Buts this is the list of Longford Town players 1976-1984 that have achieved the above achievements!
Longford Town players who have appeared in either the Leinster Senior League or League of Ireland B and the League of Ireland 1976-1984.
1.Frank Murray(LSL LOI B and LOI)
2.Noel Brady(LSL and LOI)
3.Pat Hackett(LSL LOI B and LOI)
4 .Dessie Barry(LSL LOI B and LOI)
5. Ray Hackett(LSL LOI B and LOI)
6. Brendan Cunningham(LSL LOI B and LOI)
7. Peter Fagan(LSL LOI B and LOI)
8. John Barry(LSL LOI B and LOI)
9. Liam Madden(LOI B and LOI)
10. Mick Sheridan(LOI B and LOI)
11. Heysham El Khershi(LOI B and LOI)
12.Ger Sheridan(LOI B and LOI)
13. Paul Dempsey(LOI B and LOI)
14. Brian Greene(LOI B and LOI)
15. Chris Clarke(LOI B and LOI)
16. Anthony Greene(LOI B and LOI)
17. Dominic Fitzpatrick(LOI B and LOI)
18. Brendan Flaherty(LOI B and LOI)
19. Donal Sweeney(LOI B and LOI)
20. Micheal Nevin(LOI B and LOI)
21. Mark Devlin (LOI B and LOI)
For those that dont know the timeframes we were in the LSL till 79-80 season and then was in the LOI B for four seasons onwards till 83-84! enjoy!
sparkey
17/11/2015, 10:05 AM
Fair Play to you Marty. That’s some amount of research. If it is of any benefit to you our reserve team or "The B Team" as we were known locally played in the Connacht Senior League First Division in the 1995/96 season, along with Longford Celtic. The towns record that season was Played 18, Won 5, Draw 3, Lost 10, GF 28, GA 46, Pts. 18.
17/11/2015, 12:44 PM
I seem to remember a 'C' team at one stage too. Played in the local league I think. Not too sure why there was a need for it but it definitely existed.
21/11/2015, 10:00 PM
right more stats for ye!
Amount of games played at each home ground Longford Town played in 1984-2015.
Abbeycartron 158 St Mels Park 1 Showgrounds(Sligo) 1 Rugby Grounds 8 Mullogher/Flancare/CCS 444. Total played at home 612.
Last season 2015 was the highest amount of league goals we have scored since 2003 in the top flight when we scored 46 goals!
We broke the record for most goals conceded in a top flight season. The previous highest was 51 in 2002!
Paul Hunt broke the alltime record for appearances made in the Leinster Senior Cup.
Alltime list top 10 Leinster Senior Cup appearances 1984-2015.
7- Paul Hunt
6-Pat Hackett,Leo Devlin
5-Mark Devlin, Pierce Walsh, Chris Deans, Peter Hynes,Mark Salmon, Rhys Gorman, Lorcan Shannon
Also for the second time in our history we finished above Sligo Rovers -the first in the top flight!
In 88/89 season we finished in 8th position in the First Division. Sligo Rovers were bottom in the division in 10th and had to seek reelection!
21/11/2015, 10:13 PM
right more stats for ye!
Last season 2015 was the highest amount of league goals we have scored since 2003 when we scored 46 goals!
We broke the record for most goals conceded in a top flight season. The previous highest was 51 in 2002!
Both are Premier Division goals presumably?
21/11/2015, 10:37 PM
Both are Premier Division goals presumably?
cheers Longfordian for pointing that out for me! have that post amended! yep this is for the top flight!
21/11/2015, 11:00 PM
cheers Longfordian for pointing that out for me! have that post amended! yep this is for the top flight!
No worries Marty, interesting in terms of goals scored. I suppose we scored at least one in a lot of games we lost.
22/11/2015, 9:47 PM
right one more update for you. Did alltime league appearances for Longford Town 1984-2015 and Mark Salmon jumps up from 8th place to 5th place in the alltime rankings.
Alltime League Appearances Longford town FC 1984-2015
1.Stephen O Brien 250
2. Alan Kirby 213
3. Vinny Perth 189
4. Sean Prunty 169
5.Mark Salmon 151
6.Alan Murphy 148
7.Stephen Kelly 145
8.Paul McNally,Wes Byrne 123
10.Eric Lavine 120
03/12/2015, 8:27 PM
the updates are gettin less and less but Mark Salmon deserves a mention!
He jumps one placing in the most no of seasons played and the highest amount of seasons scored in. He is also unique that he has a 100 % record ie in six seasons he scored in every season and is the highest ever in that category.
Town players who have appeared in the most seasons
10- Leo Devlin
8-Pat Hackett, Stephen Kelly, Stephen O'Brien,Sean Prunty
7-Mark Devlin, Vinny Perth, Alan Murphy,Alan Kirby
6- Anthony Keenan, Micheal Lee,Mark Salmon
Town players who have scored in the most amount of seasons
7-Stephen Kelly
6- Pat Hackett, Vinny Perth, Alan Kirby, Sean Prunty,Mark Salmon
03/12/2015, 9:45 PM
Wow he's in some great company for scoring in every season there
sparkey
04/12/2015, 4:34 PM
right one more update for you. Did alltime league appearances for Longford Town 1984-2015 and Mark Salmon jumps up from 8th place to 5th place in the alltime rankings.
Alltime League Appearances Longford town FC 1984-2015
1.Stephen O Brien 250
2. Alan Kirby 213
3. Vinny Perth 189
4. Sean Prunty 169
5.Mark Salmon 151
6.Alan Murphy 148
7.Stephen Kelly 145
8.Paul McNally,Wes Byrne 123
10.Eric Lavine 120
Hi Marty, Pat Hackett has 212 overall appearances for us. Do you know how many were league? Thanks.
04/12/2015, 10:52 PM
Hi Marty, Pat Hackett has 212 overall appearances for us. Do you know how many were league? Thanks.
Yep just looked up my book-he made 150 league appearances overall!
13/12/2015, 9:38 PM
right everything updated that I wanted to do.
The last bit of useless info is that Dean Kelly was the 34th person to score on his debut for us and the last since Josh O Hanlon! interestingly enough 3 town players have scored a hattrick on their debut-Fran Hitchcock in 86/87 season ,Darren McKenna in 08 season and Davy O Sullivan in 2013 season!
L.T.F.C.
16/12/2015, 1:03 PM
right everything updated that I wanted to do.
The last bit of useless info is that Dean Kelly was the 34th person to score on his debut for us and the last since Josh O Hanlon! interestingly enough 3 town players have scored a hattrick on their debut-Fran Hitchcock in 86/87 season ,Darren McKenna in 08 season and Davy O Sullivan in 2013 season!
I remember thinking Darren McKenna was going to be our saviour!
16/12/2015, 1:05 PM
I remember thinking Darren McKenna was going to be our saviour!
Remember when he use to head the ball up in the air and do a 360 ballerina twirl looking for the ball, Christ on a bike.