View Full Version : Finn Harps Promotion/Relegation Play Off 2/11/15 - 6/11/15

Pages : 1 [2]

thomas72
03/11/2015, 7:43 AM
I was in the main stand right in front of kelly s challenge it was a straight red card all day two feet were off the ground yes he got the ball but you can't go off the ground like that with studs showing.

nr637
03/11/2015, 7:48 AM
I was in the main stand right in front of kelly s challenge it was a straight red card all day two feet were off the ground yes he got the ball but you can't go off the ground like that with studs showing.

If you were the Ref on a nite like that would you send off a home player, right in front of the main stand full of passionate home fans!

03/11/2015, 7:52 AM
If you were the Ref on a nite like that would you send off a home player, right in front of the main stand full of passionate home fans!

Impartiality I had assumed was left to the linesman on the popular side.

The officials have a job to do, the referee bottled it.

joey B
03/11/2015, 7:55 AM
It shouldn't matter, if the Ref is! doing his job right the player should walk simple as that

Market's Field
03/11/2015, 8:29 AM
Impartiality I had assumed was left to the linesman on the popular side.

The officials have a job to do, the referee bottled it.

Just like he bottled the yellow card when Clarke was clattered after 10 mins. Finally showed a yellow to the Harps player on his 3rd bookable offence. Rob Rogers is just a poor referee.

03/11/2015, 8:46 AM
We take a slender disadvantage to Finn Park and will play an entirely different game.

I'd say it will be a fairly similar game actually, at least early on.

Harps will defend deep and wide, but maybe the narrow pitch will mean they won't have to commit so many players to that and will have more going forward.

I'd say Harps have a fair idea about how to defend against us, but I don't think they learned much about where they can get goals from.

ForzaHoop
03/11/2015, 8:57 AM
It'll be a tight game, in fairness to Harps they can get a goal from anywhere and from anyone, nerves will play a major part in this game, few days rest and light training and Harps will be ready for game

03/11/2015, 9:07 AM
Just like he bottled the yellow card when Clarke was clattered after 10 mins. Finally showed a yellow to the Harps player on his 3rd bookable offence. Rob Rogers is just a poor referee.

I've no doubt Gareth Harkin can count himself lucky to get away with his yellow card too. Damien McNulty could well have had a second yellow.

As I said, the ref bottled it.

Gerrard1
03/11/2015, 9:12 AM
It was great to win this home game considering how poor our last 2 home performances were and great to see such a big attendance also. In relation to stewarding I think the club need to take a serious look at the age someone has to be to carry out the job. I saw one young girl around maybe 16 or 17 years old who was a steward in the main stand. She was far too young to be acting as a steward. Also, one male steward who was wearing a stewards high-viz jacket (which stated steward) was banging on a large drum (beside our fans doing all the singing in the main stand). He should be there carrying out his job working as a steward instead of acting as a fan. He cannot be both. Best of luck to the lads on their trip to Finn Park on Friday, lets hope they can finish the job.

joey B
03/11/2015, 10:28 AM
How many you reckon you'll take up on Friday?

03/11/2015, 10:30 AM
If we bring 150 we'll be doing well I'd say. More than likely looking at close to 100. If it's anymore than that I will be very pleasantly surprised.

NeverFeltBetter
03/11/2015, 10:38 AM
Stewarding issues in regards away crowds are unacceptable, and I know the stewards don't just mess up for away fans. I guess they just aren't used to the big crowds. I did think it was odd hearing that fans were moving barricades (or being allowed to).

Harps should be on the lookout for Pat O'Sullivan at Balleybofey, make sure he doesn't make it onto the pitch at half-time.

03/11/2015, 10:55 AM
Pat Sulllivan's "let's be havin ya" was the highlight #greatestleagueintheworld

p.s. Thanks for all the advise on directions, parking etc. Got in no problem, parked across from Horse and hound, handy get away after the game.

03/11/2015, 1:20 PM
Limerick have requested 500 tickets for Friday nights match.

03/11/2015, 1:24 PM
Can't imagine it will be anywhere near that.

Half would be pretty impressive.

03/11/2015, 1:27 PM
Limerick have requested 500 tickets for Friday nights match.
Make them watch it from the carpark next door :D

04/11/2015, 9:39 AM
Limerick fans will be in the bottom end of the stand in Finn Park, entering through the gates at that end of the ground. Tickets will be colour coded and there's a big security operation being put in place, as requested by the Gardai/FAI.

Harps wanted Limerick fans over on the gantry side of the ground, the away side of Finn Park, there'd have been good toilet facilities, plenty of space, and the best viewing spot in the ground but only lacking cover. The FAI/Gardai wanted a separate entrance and exit away from Harps fans, and now Harps will have to hire portaloos and have extra people working a gate that's usually only used for Ambulance access and a burger van.

I don't recall a security operation like this in Finn Park for as long as I can remember. Even big Derry games where there'd have been 6,000+ at them didn't have this sort of operation.

04/11/2015, 10:55 AM
If it's because it Limerick fans coming up then it's completely laughable.

If it's cause of a big crowd it still seems strange as you say ye've had big crowds before without the extra security etc..

04/11/2015, 11:34 AM
It's a strange one. Harps have had no problems with any big away crowds in the past. It's on request of the FAI and the Gardai who are going to oversee matchday operations. There's a local security company in as match day sponsors too, so assume that'll include overseeing the stewarding themselves too. Harps and Limerick fans will be separated by barriers and security.

04/11/2015, 11:46 AM
And when you consider Limerick fans have never caused trouble anywhere they have gone it makes it even weirder. Most times the segregation of us at away games goes out the window cause there is no hassle and people end up moving around the ground pretty freely. Around 250-300 went to Galway a few weeks ago without an ounce of trouble.

joey B
04/11/2015, 12:09 PM
And when you consider Limerick fans have never caused trouble anywhere they have gone it makes it even weirder. Most times the segregation of us at away games goes out the window cause there is no hassle and people end up moving around the ground pretty freely. Around 250-300 went to Galway a few weeks ago without an ounce of trouble.

I think its people being a bit overly cautious because to be blatantly honest our ground isn't fit to hold the crowd that's expected on Friday,you'll get a great welcome to Ballybofey with plenty of pubs within walking distance for some pre match refreshment s ,Roll on Friday may the best team win!!!!

04/11/2015, 2:08 PM
We're an unlikable and dangerous bunch in fairness. People need to be protected from us.

04/11/2015, 2:19 PM
We're an unlikable and dangerous bunch in fairness. People need to be protected from us.

Never liked ye....

joey B
04/11/2015, 8:55 PM
http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=2524

Arrangements for Friday night lads!!!!

04/11/2015, 8:55 PM
Match night arrangements: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=2524

Specific part for LFC fans near the bottom.

04/11/2015, 9:58 PM
Don't know if any truth in it but apparently 11 buses heading up now and cars too.

NeverFeltBetter
04/11/2015, 10:19 PM
What's away capacity?

04/11/2015, 11:23 PM
What's away capacity?
Seen someone say somewhere, possibly the main forum that Limerick asked for 500 tickets.

04/11/2015, 11:40 PM
Limerick asked for 500 tickets yeah, and they're getting it too far as I'm aware. I'm not sure exactly how much of the end Limerick are getting and whether fans will be up on the gravel bank in the corner as well as the end of the stand.

Assume there'll be 50 or 60 seats for Limerick fans too.

Ground capacity is likely to be capped at 5,000 or so and will most likely sell out. Interest around Donegal is huge at the minute and tickets are going on sale in a few places around the county tomorrow.

05/11/2015, 7:40 AM
Note the red section where Limerick fans will be placed.

https://scontent-bru2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtf1/v/t1.0-0/s480x480/12190915_394962727378680_1514702228456602736_n.png ?oh=4c18da15730a198558ad4dc695df217d&oe=56BBC308

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2015, 9:54 PM
Nearly 300 tickets sold today expecting more to need them up there.

05/11/2015, 10:05 PM
I can't wait for this match. It's going to be unreal. Have an awful fear we could be completely outsung on our own turf.

This was Finn Park earlier tonight.

https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/12191820_10208160092497238_8597613700255893689_n.j pg?oh=b93a8662715a7515c79f18b764f34ffe&oe=56C5D0D8

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2015, 10:23 PM
I can't wait for this match. It's going to be unreal. Have an awful fear we could be completely outsung on our own turf.

This was Finn Park earlier tonight.

https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/12191820_10208160092497238_8597613700255893689_n.j pg?oh=b93a8662715a7515c79f18b764f34ffe&oe=56C5D0D8

Does the pitch just look good or is it in good condition now looked awful v UCD.

05/11/2015, 10:43 PM
Heaps of work done on the pitch this week. It'll probably cut up a bit into the second half though. Ground staff have done a wonderful job considering the amount of games played on it lately.

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2015, 10:48 PM
Heaps of work done on the pitch this week. It'll probably cut up a bit into the second half though. Ground staff have done a wonderful job considering the amount of games played on it lately.

Ya from what it looked like in highlights of UCD to that hats off to them. Buzzing for this now reckon there is gonna be a great atmosphere at this one. Any idea how much of what we will be getting will be covered if any?

05/11/2015, 11:02 PM
Ya from what it looked like in highlights of UCD to that hats off to them. Buzzing for this now reckon there is gonna be a great atmosphere at this one. Any idea how much of what we will be getting will be covered if any?

As far as I know, the barriers are just inside the first floodlight on the left of the picture above. From there out to the edge of the gate should easily hold 500 and there'll be portaloos and a burger van in there too.

thomas72
06/11/2015, 9:44 AM
I know it's an old saying but the first goal in this game is absolutely vital I feel if Limerick get it that's tie over for me.
If harps score could be hard to stop with a full house behind them huge swing in momentum

06/11/2015, 10:10 AM
Tougher decision this week between Russell and Lynch. I thought Russell was excellent last week, probably his best game for us. He worked like a mad man, closing down, winning back possession and laying off simple passes.

Lynch will offer us a bit more cutting edge going forward though and should capitalise on the extra space if Finn Harps come out having to attack more.

joey B
06/11/2015, 10:13 AM
Raining incessantly all morning Id expect the pitch to cut up quite badly ,might level the playing field a tad as id imagine it,ll not be all that conductive to passing football.

Market's Field
06/11/2015, 12:02 PM
The Gods are against us!

Lims4ever
06/11/2015, 12:17 PM
Lee Lynch has not played well for weeks , poor enough when he came on last Monday Russell has to start ahead of him did not think I'd be saying that a few months back hard to believe how poor Lee Lynch has been he was so good up till the derry game , come on the super blues we can do it safe trip to all going

Treaty Gooner
06/11/2015, 12:32 PM
Today's not a day for luxury players, as good as Lynch can be, throwing your arms around and looking to the sky when you lose the ball won't cut it I'm afraid. Do or die boys.

Treaty Gooner
06/11/2015, 9:25 PM
Heartbreaking stuff.

LK37oldskool
06/11/2015, 9:45 PM
Devastated. Lots of people have to hang their heads in shame. The hard work starts now

07/11/2015, 1:20 AM
I thought the away support were brilliant. We were hobbled by the imposed match plan in terms of noise but by the end Finn Park was rocking. Great occasion. Hell of an achievement to get past a team in such good form and I still stunned.

07/11/2015, 11:02 AM
Hard to take but we deserve to go down. If you canny beat a first division side then you have no business in the premier.

07/11/2015, 2:37 PM
We take a slender disadvantage to Finn Park and will play an entirely different game. Set up for a photo finish.

I'd say it will be a fairly similar game actually, at least early on.

Harps will defend deep and wide, but maybe the narrow pitch will mean they won't have to commit so many players to that and will have more going forward.

I'd say Harps have a fair idea about how to defend against us, but I don't think they learned much about where they can get goals from.

Hate to say I told you so.