View Full Version : Sligo Rovers v Limerick FC Relegation Decider
LFC Blue
26/10/2015, 9:18 AM
I feel this game deserves its own thread all things considered. A win will surely be enough to earn a playoff barring a freakish result in Tallaght. When will the televised game be announced. I presume it will be our game or Drogs game. I'm making the journey up anyway and making a night of it. A sizeable away support would provide a massive boost. Any word on any buses being organised??? I think there is one final push left in the lads and the fact Sligo are safe will have a massive bearing on things. With Lynch out the team basically picks itself.
Hall
Kelly
Kanyucka
Williams
Tracey
Turner
Duggan
O Conor
Russell
Clarke
Faherty
We really have been blessed with injuries considering how tight we are on numbers. I'm going for 2-1 Limerick.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2015, 11:38 AM
Its great that we even have a shot of staying up going into the last day but we have had 3 chances to get off the bottom and have been terrible in all 3 games overall. Ability wise we could definitely beat Sligo based on the little run we had but its the bottle of the team I question. I dunno if they just don't have the nerve or the true quality in the team shows up when there is actually something on the game all I know is I find it very hard to go into this game confident.
AlanOB
26/10/2015, 4:37 PM
As poor as Lynch has been of late, I think his forced absence could be a disaster if it means Russell switches to 4-4-2.
We completely ceded control of the midfield to Rovers when we went with two up top for the second half on Friday - having been the better side, on the balance of play, in the first half.
Might be better to play Tracy as a ten and keep Clarke left, if we want to control the match and create chances.
26/10/2015, 5:48 PM
Doubt he'd go 4 4 2. id say a straight swap Tracy to left back, and Russell in for lee jay. Keep Clarke out wide for him to have any effect. Gonna say 1 1 going into the final ten mins with the kitchen sink being thrown at the sligo end. Just hope its not Connolly or rob Rodgers for ref
26/10/2015, 7:19 PM
If we get our game together and have the better of the first 15-20 minutes, we usually compete for the whole game.
But if we don't, we never get into the game at all.
If Russell starts at left full again I'll cry (unless Tracy is further up the pitch).
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2015, 7:42 PM
If we get our game together and have the better of the first 15-20 minutes, we usually compete for the whole game.
But if we don't, we never get into the game at all.
If Russell starts at left full again I'll cry (unless Tracy is further up the pitch).
I'd much prefer Russell in Lee Js place and Tracy left back than the other way round, I'd much rather Prince in the middle and Tracy left back altogether but that won't be happening.
LK37oldskool
26/10/2015, 8:29 PM
Game to be shown on TV
Treaty Gooner
26/10/2015, 8:38 PM
Team named in the earlier post will be the team, injuries aside.
If we do it, it will be amazing but I reckon were done. Bottom of the table all season, numerous chances to get ourselves out of it and didn't take em. Hate to say it but we deserve to go down.
NeverFeltBetter
27/10/2015, 12:10 PM
Very little optimism about the team as it stands. Totally gutless in last few games. I feel like we've had our chances.
27/10/2015, 2:30 PM
Have to go into it positive. If we they fans go in thinking negatively then that will transfer over to the squad. If the team go in with a negative attitude then we may as well not bother playing at all.
I think we can do it on Friday against Sligo. Their season is now completely over. We have played poorly recently but there hasn't been a lack of effort where as from watching highlights of Drogheda they seem to have packed it in completely.
bluewhitearmy
27/10/2015, 4:59 PM
Have to go into it positive. If we they fans go in thinking negatively then that will transfer over to the squad. If the team go in with a negative attitude then we may as well not bother playing at all.
I think we can do it on Friday against Sligo. Their season is now completely over. We have played poorly recently but there hasn't been a lack of effort where as from watching highlights of Drogheda they seem to have packed it in completely.
Pity that didn't happen when the whole place was buzzing for Derry game then.
27/10/2015, 6:22 PM
Any busses going up to the game?
Looking for a way up.
bluewhitearmy
27/10/2015, 7:02 PM
Any busses going up to the game?
Looking for a way up.
I can sort ya if you are truly desperate.
27/10/2015, 7:33 PM
On a bus?
bluewhitearmy
27/10/2015, 7:35 PM
On a bus?
Delete some of your pms there please.
27/10/2015, 7:44 PM
Done.
Treaty Gooner
29/10/2015, 9:54 AM
Connolly down to ref...
vinnie
30/10/2015, 12:57 PM
Good Luck tonight Lads, hope yiz stay up
ciaraa
30/10/2015, 1:35 PM
Harps and UCD should both be hoping for a Lims win because we are beyond hopeless. I'd say ye will win handy tonight unless ye totally bottle it or Sligo do something unexpected.
NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2015, 5:03 PM
I've seen a lot of people (non-Limerick fans I mean) claim Limerick should win handy tonight. I have no idea how anyone can hold that opinion on the basis of the last couple of games. Limerick have shown a total lack of fight when it counts.
LK37oldskool
30/10/2015, 6:57 PM
Go wan da Super Blues! Long 80mins ahead.
Treaty Gooner
30/10/2015, 8:43 PM
Wow. Speechless.
NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2015, 8:46 PM
That'll do. Duggan and Hall immense. Kanyuka making me very angry.
LK37oldskool
30/10/2015, 8:49 PM
Jammers on Monday night?
30/10/2015, 8:55 PM
I reckon people will need to be at the Markets Field very early Monday. Place will be packed out. Might hit the 3,000 mark.
NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2015, 9:51 PM
Wouldn't begrudge the celebrations tonight, but team needs to refocus rapidly starting tomorrow. Finn Harps will be no pushovers.
AlanOB
30/10/2015, 10:08 PM
Sligo Rovers 2-3 Limerick: Limerick withstand kamikaze defending to keep great escape dream alive (http://tacticstruck2.com/2015/10/30/sligo-rovers-2-3-limerick-limerick-withstand-kamikaze-defending-to-keep-great-escape-dream-alive/)
NeverFeltBetter
30/10/2015, 10:13 PM
Kanyuka should be dropped if anyone of any ability is around to replace him. He's a walking disaster. Russell a better midfielder than a defender.
Daydreamer
30/10/2015, 10:30 PM
Were you at the game or many of limericks games ? Looked from the stands to be an obvious 4-2-3-1 formation which they have been playing most of there year except when they play 4-3(1&2) -3 formation , I think they threw 2 up top last week because they were 2 down and I don't know anyone that expected them to start 4-4-2 tonight ? The players looked nervous to me and that was understandable considering what was at stake and to be honest I think that its hard to see everything that goes on on the tv and even harder to write a report based on it .. Agree that limerick have been poor defensively ....guaranteed entertainment though :)
AlanOB
30/10/2015, 10:33 PM
It was clearly a 4-1-4-1 (also known as a 4-3-3 or 4-1-2-3) with Duggan holding and O'Conor and Russell either side. Look back on the RTE Player if you like. I'm well aware that they normally utilise a 4-2-3-1, as alluded to in the piece - "in the absence of regular number ten, Lee J Lynch".
They did throw two up top last week because they were two down. I think it was an error, as I outlined in my piece on that game.
Quite a few people expected Clarke and Faherty up top again tonight from what I heard around the place.
Anyway, thanks for your input.
AlanOB
30/10/2015, 10:51 PM
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2337&stc=1
On the left, the bank of four in front of Duggan - (from nearest to furthest) Clarke, O'Conor, Russell, Turner.
On the right - Vinny Faherty.
Sorry to have to do that. I just find the "were you even at the game" stuff to be extremely irritating. I go to plenty of Limerick games, thanks very much. Just not the away ones.
Go to a heap of local games too. And the attention some of my fellow attendees pay to proceedings is often pretty minimal.
Daydreamer
30/10/2015, 11:05 PM
Alan , I wasn't being disengenious (hope I spelt that right ) that's just on snapshot in a game and that could be a long ball and faherty is isolated , two seconds later that could look like a 4-2-3-1 with Clarke and turner up in line with faherty and Dugan next to o Connor and Russell just ahead , like it was at a lot of times in the game tonight particularly when defending ...that's why Imo you need to be at a game to see the full picture both in attack and defence to get a true reflection of the game , failing that I would say a wide angle lens that records most of the play as it happens not just the ball and immediate surroundings ...I just know from my own experience that watching a game on tv is completely different than watching live .
AlanOB
30/10/2015, 11:07 PM
I'm pretty sure my picture doesn't prove your point!
But I'll leave it at that.
You're entitled to your opinion.
Cheers.
Daydreamer
30/10/2015, 11:18 PM
Fair enough Alan edited , read the post again now that I took that part out
Daydreamer
30/10/2015, 11:31 PM
2338 Dugan and o Connor in line with each other...Russell ahead and wide players higher ...this is what I saw live most of the night
Daydreamer
30/10/2015, 11:34 PM
2339 only watched the first 7 minutes ...to be fair o Connor did get higher than Dugan a lot but mostly it was a 4-2-3-1 particularly when set (defending ) o Connor does to join in a bit more than Dugan but it's just different live and I am not trying to take from your report .even live it's different watching from a height and eye level ...I just think that to get a true picture of a game you need to be live or a full picture camera ..but as you said everyone is entitled to there opinion so I'll leave it at that slan
Treaty Gooner
31/10/2015, 12:00 AM
4-2-3-1 for me needs a No.10, we didn't have one. I'd have said 4-3-3.
Daydreamer
31/10/2015, 12:03 AM
Thought Russell occupied that space a lot but it's opinions I suppose We could talk all night , at least we won and and roll on Monday
AlanOB
31/10/2015, 12:07 AM
Exactly, TG.
And Eddie Hickey just confirmed my analysis in DM on Twitter.
Daydreamer
31/10/2015, 7:44 AM
Alan is that not contradicting yourself by agreeing with Tg ?did you not say it was clearly a 4-1-4-1 and put up a pic to prove it , my two pics show a 4-2-3-1 , and that's only the first few minutes , I'm sure if I looked I could see a 4-1-2-3- in lots of incidents but I think your missing my overall point , I think personally that you have to watch a game live to see everything that's going on if your going to report on it , you don't see enough on the TV IMO especially if your going to go into tactical detail , also Robbie Williams for e looked decent live , got his defence up and right line when needed and covered Tracey and kanuka very well plus the conditions played a part and the wind was very strong and played a part also . And again I'm not disrespecting your report and enjoy reading the reports on the junior games you attend .and by the way I agree with Tg , it's clearly a 433 the question is ? Is it a 1-2 in the centre or a 2-1 and live it looked when attacking 1-2 when defending 2-1
harpin
31/10/2015, 8:05 AM
Great result, great feeling, no let's not mess up against Harps...great effort last night, Kanyuka was awful again though
Just scraped through to the play offs after being cat for the majority of the season and what do we get an argument over formations...that's Limerick for you..
Daydreamer
31/10/2015, 8:08 AM
Ha ha fair enough ... Think harps will be tough enough ... Lots of experience in their team, should get through over two legs , it'll be close though
harpin
31/10/2015, 8:28 AM
Ha ha fair enough ... Think harps will be tough enough ... Lots of experience in their team, should get through over two legs , it'll be close though
Yeah we're always going to concede, full sure we'd go down because of that...if we're 3 goals up after Monday night I MIGHT think that we'll survive(although come Friday I'll probably think the worst again)
Daydreamer
31/10/2015, 8:32 AM
5-2 over two legs ... That's comfort for us ha ha
NeverFeltBetter
31/10/2015, 9:09 AM
Any chance the second leg will be on telly?
AlanOB
31/10/2015, 9:17 AM
Alan is that not contradicting yourself by agreeing with Tg ?did you not say it was clearly a 4-1-4-1 and put up a pic to prove it , my two pics show a 4-2-3-1 , and that's only the first few minutes , I'm sure if I looked I could see a 4-1-2-3- in lots of incidents but I think your missing my overall point , I think personally that you have to watch a game live to see everything that's going on if your going to report on it , you don't see enough on the TV IMO especially if your going to go into tactical detail , also Robbie Williams for e looked decent live , got his defence up and right line when needed and covered Tracey and kanuka very well plus the conditions played a part and the wind was very strong and played a part also . And again I'm not disrespecting your report and enjoy reading the reports on the junior games you attend .and by the way I agree with Tg , it's clearly a 433 the question is ? Is it a 1-2 in the centre or a 2-1 and live it looked when attacking 1-2 when defending 2-1
I'm not contradicting myself at all. If you come to the tactical analysis party, you should probably be aware that the terms 4-3-3 and 4-1-4-1 are interchangeable. The former and latter refer to the shape in the attacking and defensive phases respectively. The equivalent defensive shape for the 4-2-3-1 that you remain convinced that you saw last night - even though the goalkeeping coach has confirmed otherwise - is 4-4-1-1. Ironically, the convention among football writers of an analytical bent - and aspiring ones like me - is to describe the 4-3-3 as a 4-1-4-1 to avoid confusion!
I'm glad you read the junior stuff. I often make data slips in those that require correction. But I pride myself on my analysis - something I'm aiming to make a living from down the line. Watching the game on TV can be restrictive. But we've now proven that, in this case, although you were an attendee you were wrong to wade in and criticise someone who wasn't. You should probably acknowledge that now.
Finally, try not to play the away fan "big I am" card going forward. It's tiresome.
Reminds me of the Irish fan who was reproached for being a dick in the Aviva a couple of years back, only to utter the immortal response: "Were you even in Yerevan?"
harpin
31/10/2015, 9:33 AM
I'm not contradicting myself at all. If you come to the tactical analysis party, you should probably be aware that the terms 4-3-3 and 4-1-4-1 are interchangeable. The former and latter refer to the shape in the attacking and defensive phases respectively. The equivalent defensive shape for the 4-2-3-1 that you remain convinced that you saw last night - even though the goalkeeping coach has confirmed otherwise - is 4-4-1-1. Ironically, the convention among football writers of an analytical bent - and aspiring ones like me - is to describe the 4-3-3 as a 4-1-4-1 to avoid confusion!
I'm glad you read the junior stuff. I often make data slips in those that require correction. But I pride myself on my analysis - something I'm aiming to make a living from down the line. Watching the game on TV can be restrictive. But we've now proven that, in this case, although you were an attendee you were wrong to wade in and criticise someone who wasn't. You should probably acknowledge that now.
Finally, try not to play the away fan "big I am" card going forward. It's tiresome.
Reminds me of the Irish fan who was reproached for being a dick in the Aviva a couple of years back, only to utter the immortal response: "Were you even in Yerevan?"
Mind you don't disappear up your own hole there...can you just get over it and enjoy the fact we've made the play-offs...hope you congratulated Eddie Hickey as well not just asked him for confirmation to win an argument on the internet
Daydreamer
31/10/2015, 9:56 AM
Mind you don't disappear up your own hole there...can you just get over it and enjoy the fact we've made the play-offs...hope you congratulated Eddie Hickey as well not just asked him for confirmation to win an argument on the internet
Totally agree that formations are interchangeable and if you read my posts earlier I have made reference to that ...and an image only captures a moment in time ...you see more at the game simple as , I never claimed to be a an away fan , only been to 2 , I would of said the same if you reported on a home game , you need to be there to properly analyse , and I'm sure Eddie is not going to go into in depth analysis of the outfield players , and probably just agreeing with you in case you take it as a personal attack as you seem to be doing with me , I am not personally attacking you just my opinion on the game and that if you are to analyse a game tactically you need to be there or video it at a wide angle to see the whole picture and maybe software of some sort to analyse , there's lots of free ones out there , agree with harpin btw ,hope your not point scoring ....I'm going to actually finish on this post because it's tiring and annoying that your taking it so personal ...all the best in your future endeavour s sincerely
bluewhitearmy
31/10/2015, 3:16 PM
Who cares if it was a 10-0-0 formation ffs stupid bickering about something that means nothing now. What a special special night that was. Anyone that was there will surely never forget it.
AlanOB
31/10/2015, 3:41 PM
If someone is going to come at me and categorically - and incorrectly - state that I'm talking through my arse, of course I'm going to take it personally. I'm entitled to respond to that. The bickering stems from the individual in question refusing to hold his hands up - and instead opting to go to increasingly implausible lengths to avoid doing so.
And harpin, I did indeed congratulate Eddie first. Don't you worry your head about that. And he in turn expressed appreciation that an aspiring journalist was attempting to engage with the game on an analytical basis, rather than just talking about the game "for the sake of it". His words.
I know some people take the attitude that going beyond the emotion and actually thinking about the game is somehow shameful. Good to know that one of our side's coaches doesn't agree with that.