Bray Wanderers v Galway United 5;45pm

First Division

Friday

Play-off 1st leg

UCDAFC v Finn Harps

Officials:

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/6518-match-officials-appointed-oct-23-24

Suspensions:

http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/828-premier-division/match-reports-premier-division-2015/6517-weekend-suspension-list-from-oct-19

Betting:

http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland?AFF_ID=90209&tduid=7f34d098ce29facbda1e12743ae4198e&TDAFFID=1736887&dclid=CKTAuefk1sgCFcaH2wod4WEGCQ

patrickccfc
23/10/2015, 6:28 AM
Don't think we'll get anything out of the game tonight. We are crippled with injuries. But hopefully we can make a good go of it anyway

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/10/2015, 7:13 AM
Don't think we'll get anything out of the game tonight. We are crippled with injuries. But hopefully we can make a good go of it anyway

What he said

23/10/2015, 8:35 AM
Come on Longford and Pats you *******s.

PartySaint
23/10/2015, 9:52 AM
Would Sligo fans be happy with a point tonight?

We only need a point to secure Europe, surely we can work something out...

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/10/2015, 11:43 AM

Would be ecstatic with a point but I'm sure we'd make a mess out of trying to fix a game the way we're going.

Just ask those Albanians......

jinxy lilywhite
23/10/2015, 12:05 PM
sorry lads. in relation to the playoff is it just the 11th place team in the premier to play off against the winner of the 1st division playoff.
Don't know why but I always thought that 10th played 11th and the loser played the winner of the 1st division play off.

for our game its important for us to get out of TC injury and suspension free. have a feeling we will be kicked all over the park.

23/10/2015, 12:12 PM

Hey, we want none of that talk now.

Town Legend
23/10/2015, 12:12 PM
2nd and 3rd in First Division play off over two legs. The winner of that plays off against 11th in Premier, again over two legs.

patrickccfc
23/10/2015, 1:48 PM
for our game its important for us to get out of TC injury and suspension free. have a feeling we will be kicked all over the park.

And risk blemishing our squeaky clean disciplinary record?

23/10/2015, 3:34 PM
Sligo are going to get a result tonight, I've never been surer of anything in my life. That Pats team are a disinterested mess of a team. The fact Drogheda couldn't take the gimme against them on the televised game is just a further indictment of us and what a joke our pending relegation is.

Most likely scenario tonight: Relegated tonight in front of 1400 LIVE! ON RTE!

As Limerick we wouldn't have it any other way.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/10/2015, 4:38 PM
Sligo are going to get a result tonight, I've never been surer of anything in my life. That Pats team are a disinterested mess of a team. The fact Drogheda couldn't take the gimme against them on the televised game is just a further indictment of us and what a joke our pending relegation is.

Most likely scenario tonight: Relegated tonight in front of 1400 LIVE! ON RTE!

As Limerick we wouldn't have it any other way.

You think Pats are a mess. Wait till you see us next week.

23/10/2015, 4:44 PM
I reckon Drogs are getting a win tonight. Sorry lads but we never do it the easy way. We might get a score draw with a bit of luck.

jinxy lilywhite
23/10/2015, 5:45 PM
Think limerick will beat rovers. For the sole reasons that they know anything but a win can relegate them.

Sligo and drogheda both to draw their respective games.

Galway to draw

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 6:40 PM
Since Limerick buckle under any pressure, the requirement for a win will naturally mean a loss.

White Horse
23/10/2015, 6:46 PM
Cork show their class and don't offer Dundalk a guard of honour.

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 6:52 PM
Harps aren't waiting around anyway. Longford one up on Drogs.

23/10/2015, 6:53 PM
Gary bloody Shaw breaks his goal-less steak on 30 games or something like that. 3 mins in and Town are 1 up. He's been a bit unlucky to date, he's better than that record suggests.

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 6:56 PM
I think Drogheda want to be relegated.

23/10/2015, 6:58 PM
Yeah down to ten men after 8 mins, and it's for two yellows. Kamikaze stuff Clive.

23/10/2015, 7:10 PM
Cork show their class and don't offer Dundalk a guard of honour.

I would have though Caulfield would have been the type to go with the tradition. Dundalk certainly have done it in the past even for rivals. Ah well, it a great example of respect for fellow clubs and players where Galway were proper sportsmen about it even though it was a vital game for them. Be interesting to see what Bray do but i'd say Mick Cooke would expect his side to follow the age old tradition!

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 7:13 PM
Really god-awful error from Williams hands Rovers the first goal. Really needing other games to go our way now.

White Horse
23/10/2015, 7:14 PM
I would have though Caulfield would have been the type to go with the tradition. Dundalk certainly have done it in the past even for rivals. Ah well, it a great example of respect for fellow clubs and players where Galway were proper sportsmen about it even though it was a vital game for them. Be interesting to see what Bray do but i'd say Mick Cooke would expect his side to follow the age old tradition!

A three year old club probably doesn't understand the traditions in the league.

Town Legend
23/10/2015, 7:14 PM
If we were playing ye and we were either battling to stay up or just rivals I'd like to think we'd give ye a guard of honour......but that would only so we could get a few kicks in before the game in the hope one or two Dundalk players got knocks and couldn't start :D

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 7:23 PM
2-0 Rovers. Could be a proper thrashing the way the defence is playing.

23/10/2015, 7:25 PM
We (mainly meraphorically) allowed Limerick to shag our wives in the Flansiro when they won the First Division a few years ago. We're all about the goodwill and respect.

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 7:35 PM
0-2 Rovers at HT. Limerick goal disallowed, correctly. Atmosphere dead. Regardless of whatever RTE guys are saying, Limerick have played poorly and deserve nothing out of the game at this rate.

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 8:07 PM
Pat O'Sullivan was out at half time claiming "exciting things" will be happening at Limerick soon. Big money Cabinteely games presumably.

23/10/2015, 8:15 PM
Bohs winning, Pats losing. Yusss!

23/10/2015, 8:24 PM
St.Pats = waste of space of a football club this season

23/10/2015, 8:25 PM
We have been terrible by the way

23/10/2015, 8:30 PM
Gary Shaw 2 Drogs 0

NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 8:31 PM
Very, very ineffective all over the pitch. This is the only time I get to see Limerick live this season, and I no longer completely regret this fact.

23/10/2015, 8:35 PM
Town 3 up, Rice 90 mins.

lowroadrover
23/10/2015, 8:59 PM
We are stayin up , we are stayin up!!! Dinnys gaa pratice is working

23/10/2015, 9:05 PM
Pats 0-0 Sligo 2-0, fair play. Sligo are always a financially beneficial visitor for us so I'm pleased we're both staying up.

dong
23/10/2015, 9:05 PM
Can't get my head around that result and our season in general but thanks be to Jaysus.

23/10/2015, 9:18 PM
If we were playing ye and we were either battling to stay up or just rivals I'd like to think we'd give ye a guard of honour......but that would only so we could get a few kicks in before the game in the hope one or two Dundalk players got knocks and couldn't start :D
I really want Limerick to stay up, not because Drogs would go down but that they could really kick on next season at the Markets Field. Harps would be a nice second if Limerick dont overtake Drogheda. While this gaurd of honour malarkey is only symbolic and an old fashioned formailty it is indicative of respect or lack of for worthy champions. It will be used as motivation in the cup final not that much more would be needed. Real Madrid have done it for Barcelona, Manchester United for Chelsea and visa versa, Arsenal for Man Utd too. If such clubs can do it elsewhere and overlook the seasons rivalries it makes Cork City FC quite petty, maybe arrogant even. Anyway tonights result shapes things up nicely for the Aviva. A nice big crowd will be in Oriel next week to celebrate the champions and trophy presentation; Bray being safe now can enjoy the occasion too and join in on the fun. Cork folk can have a look at the league trophy in the flesh when the cup is added for the post match photos!

Congrats Derry, Bray, Sligo, and Longford for pulling away from relegation in the end. Galway nearly there too.

23/10/2015, 9:26 PM
Yes. F**king yes.

patrickccfc
23/10/2015, 9:30 PM
Cork folk can have a look at the league trophy in the flesh when the cup is added for the post match photos!

I hope we win now and il come back to this if we do.

Also I do agree there should've been a guard of honour. As much as it would irk me to see, it should definitely have happened. Who would have made the decision not to give it?

Thought we were gonna get blitzed after ye went 2 up but we showed great character to get back level. Maybe we could've won it in the second half but wasn't to be.

Fair play to Daryl Horgan clapping the shed after despite being booed and heckled all game, including as he was walking off.

23/10/2015, 9:33 PM
St.Pats = waste of space of a football club this season

I wish I could disagree. So disgusted after first Monday and now tonight. We are in serious danger of losing out on 4th place. Should never have come anywhere near to this.

23/10/2015, 9:49 PM
I hope we win now and il come back to this if we do.

So you werent hoping before?

There's no protocol it is just a nice gesture is all. I remember Dundalk applauding a team on to the pitch and the stand giving standing ovation to a side after a good european result. Could have been Shels the year they played Deportivo. Its not a big deal either, the manager is usually the one who would initiate and I'd have thought Caulfield would have been the type to go with it.

patrickccfc
23/10/2015, 9:53 PM
So you werent hoping before?

Ha yeah it does come across that way alright the way I said it.

But a trophy would really be the next step in our progress. We're a little starved of silverware so it's definitely due.

FallenSaint
23/10/2015, 9:57 PM
Evidently not!
We were shocking tonight.

23/10/2015, 10:03 PM
Ha yeah it does come across that way alright the way I said it.

But a trophy would really be the next step in our progress. We're a little starved of silverware so it's definitely due.

Munster Senior Cup yiz can work away on to get a trophy in the cabinet, no bother at all there with us:p

oriel
23/10/2015, 10:15 PM
Surely the guard of honour thing only occurs once, and only in the match after a team wins the league during the season. It was done last week by Galway, I wouldn't have expected Cork to do it tonight, nor with Bray next Friday.

Of more interest, I think that's a new club record tonight by Dundalk, going through the entire league season unbeaten away from home, a very difficult feat, especially with both Rovers and Cork away twice.

Real ale Madrid
23/10/2015, 10:26 PM
. Its not a big deal either, the manager is usually the one who would initiate and I'd have thought Caulfield would have been the type to go with it.

It doesn't bother me either way - but Caulfield would be the last manager to do it id say!

Tonight was a great game considering what was a stake and the jumbled up team selection we had.

White Horse
23/10/2015, 10:33 PM
It doesn't bother me either way - but Caulfield would be the last manager to do it id say!

Some additional motivation for the Dundalk players on November 8th. Players don't like being dis-respected.

23/10/2015, 10:57 PM
Surely the guard of honour thing only occurs once, and only in the match after a team wins the league during the season. It was done last week by Galway, I wouldn't have expected Cork to do it tonight, nor with Bray next Friday.

Finally, somebody with a bit of sense.

dong
23/10/2015, 11:04 PM

Of more interest, I think that's a new club record tonight by Dundalk, going through the entire league season unbeaten away from home, a very difficult feat, especially with both Rovers and Cork away twice.

That's an incredible feat in any league.