View Full Version : Best Ground /fans experience
21/10/2015, 5:04 PM
pardon my ignorance what on earth is anti climb paint?
It's really slippy.
21/10/2015, 9:56 PM
It's really slippy.
😂😂😂😂😂
ForzaHoop
22/10/2015, 8:13 AM
Tallaght getting the 3rd stand is brilliant news and will defo add to the atmosphere in the Stadium
allot of bitterness towards Tallaght, me thinks people are jealous of the best stadium in country
22/10/2015, 8:18 AM
I'm glad someone else said UCD. Despite the fact they put poles down through the stand for the roof, it's the best small ground in the league bar none.
I think the plan was to remove the poles and extend the roof after we moved in, but then the country went pop.
White Horse
22/10/2015, 8:28 AM
Tallaght getting the 3rd stand is brilliant news and will defo add to the atmosphere in the Stadium
allot of bitterness towards Tallaght, me thinks people are jealous of the best stadium in country
Its great news and should improve the stadium substantially.
What you refer to as "bitterness" is caused by the atmosphere being the most sterile in the league. Add in the violence away fans experience trying to get to and from the ground, and it's no surprise that Tallaght is not lauded as much as you would like.
Having said all that, we had a great party there two weeks ago.
PartySaint
22/10/2015, 8:48 AM
Tallaght nearly complete, The Brandywell getting done up, Harps getting a new ground, Dalymount redevelopment, Turners Cross, Eamon Deacy Park, Athlone, we're a few years away from marking poor facilities off the list of why people don't go to games.
Ireland looking to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup, I'm sure the DCC and the SDCC will be looking to host games in Dalymount and Tallaght.
Unfortunately from a Pats point of view (and a Shels one) our biggest rivals for competing for new fans are both going to have top notch 8,000 - 10,000 all seater stadiums soon, it's hard to compete with that.
ForzaHoop
22/10/2015, 11:20 AM
I've been to every ground in the country ecxept Oriel park, i have seen Rovers supporters attacked in Cork, Drog, Boh's, Sligo, St Pats and Derry, nothing major most of the time it's handbag stuff really and its mainly the lads who call themselves casuals or kids
I am really lost with the sterile atmosphere in Tallaght you all describe, i think the supporters stand has an unreal atmosphere, loud and great colour from Ultra section.
22/10/2015, 12:05 PM
pardon my ignorance what on earth is anti climb paint?
It's actually not slippy, but really sticky, thick stuff that will cling to anything that touches it. You won't get it out of your clothes, for example. It's like a thicker version of tar, ridiculous to have it in a football ground.
Regarding Tallaght; it's a nice ground, stand is comfortable, good toilets, plenty of parking, offy-adjacent, etc., but the atmosphere is really lacking, especially if it's a small-ish crowd. An extra stand at the end might help keep the noise in, but it'll be a very empty stadium.
Whilst not directly a stadium issue, it's a great location for driving to, handy off the M50. But the location is let down by the fact that there's no real soul to the area around it; a shopping centre and a sterile hotel. Would love a pub handy to the ground. A proper pub that is, not the Maldron - that bar's just a sad place to be in.
Ezeikial
22/10/2015, 12:18 PM
I've been to every ground in the country ecxept Oriel park, i have seen Rovers supporters attacked in Cork, Drog, Boh's, Sligo, St Pats and Derry, nothing major most of the time it's handbag stuff really and its mainly the lads who call themselves casuals or kids
So we should not be concerned because some Rovers fans have also been victims?
Or are you suggesting that football violence is in some way acceptable?
22/10/2015, 12:21 PM
Would love a pub handy to the ground. A proper pub that is, not the Maldron - that bar's just a sad place to be in.
The Killinarden Inn is a lovely spot. Very close, 5 minute walk.
redobit
22/10/2015, 12:55 PM
5 MINUTES. That's a marathon when you're half-cut and running to the ground to get the start of a match.
White Horse
22/10/2015, 1:13 PM
Nice spot, but it's about 15 minutes walk.
22/10/2015, 2:27 PM
Nice spot, but it's about 15 minutes walk.
Only 5 minutes when you're being chased by umbrella-wielding hooligans.
strikeforce
22/10/2015, 7:51 PM
I am really lost with the sterile atmosphere in Tallaght you all describe, i think the supporters stand has an unreal atmosphere, loud and great colour from Ultra section.
I wonder have you ever been to Cork and see Rovers followers attack City fan's. I have, plenty of times and they are not the casuals or Kids you mention above. I have seen men in their 30's and 40's at it. On one occasion they even attacked and beat up 4 special needs lads 15/16 years old. It was in the papers down here as well. I know we all have these scum within our clubs, but some more so than others, including CCFC infortunatly.
ForzaHoop
23/10/2015, 7:57 AM
Not in anyway sticking up for any of the Muppets who cause ****e at any game but i have seen it from both sides.
Most grounds are soulless when there is a small crowd to be fair
All in all its great to see that stadiums are getting done as it's necessary if the league is to survive and go forward. I know loads of lads who go to Rovers games now with there kids who never went before Tallaght
25/10/2015, 7:50 PM
Great experience again in UCD on Friday night. The only complaint would really be the lack of ticket sellers and turnstile operators as a lot of people were left queuing for quite a while outside the ground, with over 100 people missing kick-off.
Obviously, the same as every other club that the lack of volunteers would have made it difficult to get more people to do it, but for a big game, you'd have hoped for better organisation.
Inside the ground though, all was excellent. Atmosphere was great and the stewards were more than helpful throughout the game and had a bit of craic with them at half time too when we eventually got some of the flags put up.
Would love to see the roof finished there and extended across the rest of the stand, would help atmosphere immensely too.
Harps fans at the full time whistle. The whole right hand side of the stand was Harps fans bar a handful of scattered UCD fans, all the way from the middle yellow steps across.
strikeforce
26/10/2015, 4:22 AM
I'm surprised Dundalk fans are not on here about the wonderful experience they had down in the Cross last Friday night. Best ground in the league right now. We even gave them seats and a roof.
White Horse
26/10/2015, 8:52 AM
I'm surprised Dundalk fans are not on here about the wonderful experience they had down in the Cross last Friday night. Best ground in the league right now. We even gave them seats and a roof.
Probably in shock at not getting three points. Turners Cross is normally the most generous of away trips.
mcgonigle
26/10/2015, 9:14 AM
You're in fine form recently should be an interesting run up to the cup final.
It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...
El-Pietro
26/10/2015, 9:48 AM
It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...
Having the ground in trust as it currently is, is the best situation any LOI club can hope for.
We pay a handsome sum each season to rent the ground and those funds go back into the ground. If we owned it then we either would have sold it as Bohs/Shels did over the past 30 years when we were in financial difficulty, or we would have left it to ruin, or made minimal investment in it in a similar fashion to Dundalk (and yes I'm aware that money has been spent in recent years.)
Our playing budget is reduced because we have to cover the rent each season but its worth it in the long term. The only LOI club who have really focused on facilities during their successful period has been Sligo. They have really redeveloped the Showgrounds massively over the past 5 or 6 years. If they had focused on extending their competitive period and ignored the Showgrounds then I'm sure they would have a few more trophies.
Hopefully Dundalk will get their lease situation sorted in the near future and can invest in modernizing their ground. There is a lot of work to be done there but with the increased European money I'm sure they can make a good start on it.
Turners Cross meanwhile has few flaws, hopefully some of which will be addressed this off season and away fans will have an even more enjoyable experience at the Box in the coming years.
White Horse
26/10/2015, 10:18 AM
Turners Cross meanwhile has few flaws, hopefully some of which will be addressed this off season and away fans will have an even more enjoyable experience at the Box in the coming years.
The only significant flaw is the state of the toilets for away fans. However, I understand this is being remedied by new ones being built.
The model in Cork appears to be the best one. Keeping ownership separate to the club and ensuring that significant rent is being paid. Without rent, all the budget would go towards the team and improvements would not be made on an ongoing basis.
mcgonigle
26/10/2015, 10:38 AM
Yes thank you I do know all that as it's been posted numerous times before! It's a great situation for Cork and one which we would love to have in Dundalk but do not and will not so we've got to do it ourselves. I'm just hitting back at the likes of strikeforce who like to pontificate to other clubs about how great the ground is as if Cork have done it all themselves! Just like Rovers and soon to be Bohs and Derry while you do pay rent you are in a very fortunate position and some of your fans would do well to remember that!
We know Oriel is crap, we don't like it anymore than away fans but the money isn't there to do what we want. I know it doesn't look it but thousands are spent on the ground every season, a bit like rent!
White Horse
26/10/2015, 10:47 AM
I haven't forgiven Cork football for letting Flower Lodge fall into enemy hands. However good they make Turners Cross, it is not the home of football in Cork.
strikeforce
26/10/2015, 11:29 AM
Some folk just don't like the truth. They can throw ****e at the likes of rover's and ourselves but don't like it when it's tossed back over the fence.
El-Pietro
26/10/2015, 11:59 AM
... how great the ground is as if Cork have done it all themselves!
No one has said we did. You however implied that the MFA have done it all on their own, and thats simply not the case. It has been built off the back of Cork City FC through direct financing (via rent) and grants that the MFA wouldn't have sniffed if we weren't involved.
mcgonigle
26/10/2015, 12:13 PM
No one has said we did. You however implied that the MFA have done it all on their own, and thats simply not the case. It has been built off the back of Cork City FC through direct financing (via rent) and grants that the MFA wouldn't have sniffed if we weren't involved.
Again I know all this and as mentioned my post was a dig at your resident troll strikeforce, who has since come back with another thought filled, well balanced post!
This was a decent thread.. let's knock the CCFC DFC stuff on the head please.
26/10/2015, 4:39 PM
This brewing Cork-Dundalk rivalry is my favourite since the Sligo-Finn Harps one.
strikeforce
26/10/2015, 5:46 PM
[QUOTE=mcgonigle;1845168]You're in fine form recently should be an interesting run up to the cup final.
It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...[/QUOTE
Not all about winning kid.... Look what we've won since 1984, its not great but we still have a hard core fan base of 2,200. This league is so precarious that one year your champions and the next your struggling. We should never forget that. ALL OF US.
White Horse
26/10/2015, 6:55 PM
Look what we've won since 1984...
1984? The current Cork franchise is only four or five years old.
Cork have had more clubs than Tiger Woods.
Olander
26/10/2015, 7:57 PM
You're on a roll Christmas tree hugger.
26/10/2015, 9:19 PM
Not being funny, but there's not a club in this league (bar Wexford Youths and a couple others) that hasn't been liquidated and technically ceased to exist at some point. Dundalk included. This slagging thing over how old people's clubs are is a bit mental considering the league we're in.
Dalymountrower
26/10/2015, 11:14 PM
Not being funny, but there's not a club in this league (bar Wexford Youths and a couple others) that hasn't been liquidated and technically ceased to exist at some point. Dundalk included. This slagging thing over how old people's clubs are is a bit mental considering the league we're in.
I must have missed the AGM where it was announced that Bohs had ceased to exist?
26/10/2015, 11:28 PM
Jaysus, are you serious?!
26/10/2015, 11:37 PM
Finn Harps. Just sayin'.
26/10/2015, 11:44 PM
Finn Harps. Just sayin'.
I SAID A COUPLE OF OTHERS IT'S NOT A CONTEST
:mad:
27/10/2015, 1:34 AM
We took our points deduction like men, up in Longford. None of your sissy liquidating.
27/10/2015, 6:59 AM
I SAID A COUPLE OF OTHERS IT'S NOT A CONTEST
:mad:
Dunno...Dundalk and Cork fans are making it look like a contest, just thought I'd join in.
Dalymountrower
27/10/2015, 7:31 AM
Jaysus, are you serious?!
Eh ...No.
Ezeikial
27/10/2015, 8:08 AM
This slagging thing over how old people's clubs are is a bit mental considering the league we're in.
No reason to bring Senior Citizens into it
27/10/2015, 5:35 PM
Dundalk has never technically or otherwise ceased to exist - transfer of ownership yes, come damn close a few times yup most definitely. The thanks of your post are predictably mostly fans of clubs who have been unfortunate to have actually fallen over the precipice, missing a Derry City contribution i think. It is just as amusing to have fans deny the reforming of a liquidated club as it is those who point the finger in a financially precarious league.
So Shamrock Rovers, Derry City, Cork City, Galway United and anyone missed - your roll or honour should be expunged prior to say 2012. Council or Provincially developed grounds are just a pure cheat and should just not be allowed. Sligo Rovers messed the perfect model up so i'm adding them to the list of deserving of any slagging just for the laugh. Oriel Park well what a place....it rains on away support dampening their enthusiasm, has a pitch that everyone else hates, has a bigger trophy cabinet than the away dressing room - perfection of course!!
27/10/2015, 5:53 PM
So Shamrock Rovers, Derry City, Cork City, Galway United and anyone missed - your roll or honour should be expunged prior to say 2012. Council or Provincially developed grounds are just a pure cheat and should just not be allowed. Sligo Rovers messed the perfect model up so i'm adding them to the list of deserving of any slagging just for the laugh. Oriel Park well what a place....it rains on away support dampening their enthusiasm, has a pitch that everyone else hates, has a bigger trophy cabinet than the away dressing room - perfection of course!!
Call me crazy, but I'd take a council owned stadium with good facilities over a privately owned stadium that you're not allowed to upgrade or acquire funding to upgrade any day.
27/10/2015, 6:34 PM
You are crazy Nigel!
placid casual
27/10/2015, 6:57 PM
Eh ...No.
And some people wondered how Boez fans could let their members led club be sold out from under them.:loser:
Dalymountrower
27/10/2015, 7:06 PM
And some people wondered how Boez fans could let their members led club be sold out from under them.:loser:
Jaysus , I missed that AGM too? Who owns us now?
strikeforce
29/10/2015, 10:17 PM
The wind must be easterly again... Enjoy your time at the top, there's only one way DOWN. Your post shows exactly what you know about Irish Football. sfa.
30/10/2015, 8:20 AM
The wind must be easterly again... Enjoy your time at the top, there's only one way DOWN. Your post shows exactly what you know about Irish Football. sfa.
Sounds like a raw nerve was touched!
Ah go on. I'll bite. Please enlighten us.
PartySaint
30/10/2015, 10:41 AM
Celebrating Unglamourous clubs, number 3 on the list our very own Limerick FC
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2015/oct/30/the-joy-of-six-unglamorous-football-clubs
ThePrisoner
30/10/2015, 10:57 AM
Looking at the current PD clubs, the only club that fits the bill is Bray Wanders. The company was formed on 30/7/85 just prior to their entry into the LOI. Bohs are a close second with the company being formed on 31/7/34. All the other PD clubs have had reincarnations of one sort or another down through the years.