View Full Version : Rovers to Play in Drogheda

Rovers Fellow!
17/12/2004, 1:53 PM
According to Aertel, Rovers to play home game in Drogheda next season. Anyone else hear this?

17/12/2004, 2:00 PM
I think they have agreed this just to get their liecence but will probably not end up playing there.

It would be funny though if they had to!!

exile
17/12/2004, 2:02 PM
According to Aertel, Rovers to play home game in Drogheda next season. Anyone else hear this?

that would be like city playing in waterford :eek: :eek: :eek:

dortie
17/12/2004, 2:05 PM

Happy days for us, less travel.

Would be a balls for Rovers fans though.

exile
17/12/2004, 2:09 PM
taken from aertel aertel.ie (http://www.aertel.ie)

Shamrock Rovers will play their home
games at United Park next year, after
Drogheda United agreed to a request for
the use of their ground for the season.

The deadline to inform the FAI of which
grounds will be used by clubs next
season is today, and after intensive
discussions, a deal has been struck by
Rovers and Drogheda.

Rovers have had financial troubles that
hindered the completion of their
proposed new stadium in Tallaght.

Drogheda chairman Vincent Hoey welcomed
the deal and said: 'This will ensure
that one of the domestic games greatest
names and traditions survives.'

SeanDrog
17/12/2004, 2:19 PM
Press release

Drogheda comes to Rovers’ rescue
Drogheda United has confirmed that Shamrock Rovers will use United Park in the 2005 season

Drogheda United FC, has this morning (17 December), agreed to a request from Shamrock Rovers FC for the use of United Park for Rovers’ home matches during the coming 2005 season.

As the licencing requirements covering the participation of Clubs dictate that all Clubs submit certain information to the FAI by today including which grounds will be used by Clubs, there has been intense negotiations between the Clubs. Those negotiations have culminated in Drogheda United giving written confirmation to Shamrock Rovers that United Park is available for their use in the coming season. This undertaking will allow Rovers to satisfy the relevant sections of their licencing application and copper-fastens their continued participation in the eircom League.

Drogheda Chairman, Vincent Hoey, said that in light of the setbacks encountered by Rovers in recent days in regard to their plans for a new stadium and in a spirit of sportmansship, Drogheda United is glad to be able to assist another Club in this way. “This will ensure that one of the domestic games greatest names and traditions survives”, he concluded.

17/12/2004, 2:25 PM
Bohs have a board meeting on Monday and I reckon Bohs will let them in to Dalyer and thats where they will end up playing their home games.

Dillo
17/12/2004, 2:25 PM
The majority of both the Rovers and Drogs followers are of the same nature i.e a thugish, lower class element who are always eager to cause havoc no matter where they go. The fact that both sets of supporters will now share the same venue for home games makes O2 Park (the kip that it is) an ideal choice. As the saying goes; 'Kill two birds with the one stone!'

17/12/2004, 2:27 PM
The majority of both the Rovers and Drogs followers are of the same nature i.e a thugish, lower class element who are always eager to cause havoc no matter where they go.

Drogheda supporters are "thugish"? Don't make me laugh, how could you take them seriously?!

SeanDrog
17/12/2004, 2:27 PM
Ah Dillo you big softy - we love you too.

So its now open season on the Drogs all of a sudden. Classic I love this country.

17/12/2004, 2:30 PM
Even if its just to tide Rovers over until they get a Dublin club to agree to have them, well done Drogheda.

17/12/2004, 2:36 PM
And certain Town posters would do well to remember that earlier this year Town offered to allow Rovers to use Flancare, when Pats and Shels wouldn't take them and The rich big club members voted against taking in €70000 for the season in rent...

17/12/2004, 2:37 PM
The majority of both the Rovers and Drogs followers are of the same nature i.e a thugish, lower class element who are always eager to cause havoc no matter where they go. The fact that both sets of supporters will now share the same venue for home games makes O2 Park (the kip that it is) an ideal choice. As the saying goes; 'Kill two birds with the one stone!'

Late entrant for Post of the Year. You are joking? Aren't you?.........

17/12/2004, 3:07 PM
Jesus rovers really are giving the league a bad image!!!! Once they are not playing in the carlisle, i'll be happy...... But Drogheda!!!! :eek:

TheJamaicanP.M.
17/12/2004, 3:20 PM

Great post Dillo. Couldnt agree with you more. Just like Rovers, Dwogheda attract that lower class element to their games. Some serious scum can be seen in 02 Park these days. As for Rovers supporters, I would like to use the term currently used in the United States to describe such people: "underclass". Many of them can hardly be described as working class as they dont work so they are effectively an underclass.
All I can say is, the Dwogs deserve Shamrock Rovers. Just dont say we didnt warn ye when the Rovers ultras wreak havoc on yer town. As for Rovers "fans" having to travel to Dwogheda, Im delighted, because it simply makes things more awkward for them.

17/12/2004, 3:32 PM
Great post Dillo. Couldnt agree with you more. Just like Rovers, Dwogheda attract that lower class element to their games. Some serious scum can be seen in 02 Park these days. As for Rovers supporters, I would like to use the term currently used in the United States to describe such people: "underclass". Many of them can hardly be described as working class as they dont work so they are effectively an underclass.
All I can say is, the Dwogs deserve Shamrock Rovers. Just dont say we didnt warn ye when the Rovers ultras wreak havoc on yer town. As for Rovers "fans" having to travel to Dwogheda, Im delighted, because it simply makes things more awkward for them.

Ahhh yes - good to see the spirit of Christmas is alive and well in Longford/Jamaica.....

TheJamaicanP.M.
17/12/2004, 3:38 PM
Ahhh yes - good to see the spirit of Christmas is alive and well in Longford/Jamaica.....

Im far from a scrooge. Im all for generosity. When Derry were in trouble a few years ago, I really wanted to see them survive and regain their role as a great club in this country. There is a difference. Derry supporters are more genuine than Rovers fans. They travel to games in large numbers, yet seem to cause little or no trouble. Derry dont seem to have that thuggish element that the Hoops have, and Dwogheda to a lesser extent.

Passive
17/12/2004, 3:46 PM
God bless Longford fans. I've met members of the Socialist Workers' Party who are less deluded.

mandrake
17/12/2004, 4:02 PM
attn: dillo, jamaicanpm(great handle...not)

firstly i hope you are only joking when you say 'the majority of rovers and drgogheda fans are thugs'.....because if its serious you should really think about what you said. your saying that out of say 1000 rovers and 100 drogheda fans you think over 500 are thugs...that would be some achievement. dont think millwall have that many...
secondly both you are pr*cks

oh, and its utd park by the way, not 02

17/12/2004, 4:32 PM
God bless Longford fans. I've met members of the Socialist Workers' Party who are less deluded.

:D :D

The Sane Branch of the LTFC Supporters Club (AKA Macy) excluded of course.

BobtheDrog
17/12/2004, 5:19 PM

thuggish, lowerclass eager to cause havoc would you like to back up these statements or are you simply the kind of individual who throws around wild accusations because as a drogheda fan of the past 10 years i would like to know why i am being so branded

Passive
17/12/2004, 5:51 PM
:D :D

The Sane Branch of the LTFC Supporters Club (AKA Macy) excluded of course.

I honestly feel sorry for Macy, he is a ship of sanity floating in a sea of gob****es.
Typical situation prior to a game in Flancare:
- All week on the message boards the Longford lads say, 'it's going to be an amazing atmosphere in Flancare on Friday, can't wait'
- Go to the game and there is nothing but silence from the Longford fans.
- Next day: 'Jesus, the Section O lads were on fire last night, brilliant atmosphere, we're like a 12th man to the players'.

They should call it One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest Park.

17/12/2004, 5:56 PM
I honestly feel sorry for Macy, he is a ship of sanity floating in a sea of gob****es.
Typical situation prior to a game in Flancare:
- All week on the message boards the Longford lads say, 'it's going to be an amazing atmosphere in Flancare on Friday, can't wait'
- Go to the game and there is nothing but silence from the Longford fans.
- Next day: 'Jesus, the Section O lads were on fire last night, brilliant atmosphere, we're like a 12th man to the players'.

They should call it One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest Park.

Well we know if ever there is ever a brawl in Flancare with Rovers fans and ours, we will have one standing unharmed...Macy!
In the last while atmosphere is non existant at our home games but I think section o lads create an atmosphere among themselves, it just never manages to make it around the rest of the ground

17/12/2004, 6:04 PM
In a bit of a role reversal im going to ask Rovers fans not to tar all LTFC fans with the same brush. I seem to recall ye don't like it..

Passive
17/12/2004, 6:10 PM
section o lads create an atmosphere among themselves, it just never manages to make it around the rest of the ground

:D :D :D

And the award for Best Ultras in Europe goes to...

17/12/2004, 8:22 PM
Macy, I really feel for ye having to put up with so much drivel from your own supporters.

Some of the s_-_e on here said about drogheda supporters is bang out of order and a disgrace to be honest. Fair enough our ground is in a working class area but big deal, we can harly be called 'thugs'.

Anyway back to the point - Rovers will play in dublin next season but even if they do come to play their home matches in Drogheda they'll be very welcome.

There really are some d_-ks that post on here...................... (btw apologies for the strong language but the talk on here about drogs supporters is pure b_-_ox!! :mad:

17/12/2004, 8:32 PM
Generalisations again..The 'D4 resident' Town fans are only aiming to wind people up and it looks like they're succeeding, I don't have a problem with Drogs supporters and most Town fans don't, any slagging ye get is normally light hearted enough, similarly ye calling us Bogford, as ye do, isn't going to cause us to complain to the Human Rights Commission for stripping us of our personal dignity. As the scousers would say 'Calm down, calm down la..'

17/12/2004, 10:06 PM
Fair play to United for making United Park , DROGHEDA available to Shamrock Rovers. It is a rather unique way of part funding a full time professional set up but one that Shelbourne in the past have used to good effect.

Now all of youse outside the pale there is one less Dublin team in the league. Rovers are now officially in Leowth !!!!!! :D

Sonic
17/12/2004, 10:20 PM
Unibra Park Is Nowhere Near 'aa' License More Like 'dd'.

Sonic
17/12/2004, 10:22 PM
P.s. Unibra Park Aerial View= (-) (-)

onceahoop
17/12/2004, 11:03 PM

Even members of the Nationalist Socialist Party are less deluded.

Oh sorry Jamaicamon. I've just constucted a sentence. I must be rising above my station. :rolleyes:

18/12/2004, 3:30 AM
So, it's ahem... Drogheda as a provisional "home" base for next season, but there's probably more to their deal with Rovers for them, than ground, and rent.

Still, SRFC supporters clubs can celebrate, with 25-odd bus trips to make next season. Windfall!!!!!!!

M@ttitude
18/12/2004, 3:55 AM
Ha ha..

18/12/2004, 3:00 PM
Macy, I really feel for ye having to put up with so much drivel from your own supporters.

Some of the s_-_e on here said about drogheda supporters is bang out of order and a disgrace to be honest. Fair enough our ground is in a working class area but big deal, we can harly be called 'thugs'.

Anyway back to the point - Rovers will play in dublin next season but even if they do come to play their home matches in Drogheda they'll be very welcome.

There really are some d_-ks that post on here...................... (btw apologies for the strong language but the talk on here about drogs supporters is pure b_-_ox!! :mad:

I have absolutely no problem with drogheda fans and I know most fans here are the same! The amount of new town posters are total wind ups and yez shouldnt fall for it!
As i said the genuine fans dont have a problem with yez.
On the note of rovers Fair play to Drogheda for giving their ground!

18/12/2004, 4:28 PM
I have absolutely no problem with drogheda fans and I know most fans here are the same! The amount of new town posters are total wind ups and yez shouldnt fall for it!
As i said the genuine fans dont have a problem with yez.

well said,
all true drogs and town fans know the story here,there is no animosity between the two sets of fans.rivalry......of course there is.

there are a couple of people (or maybe less ;) ) on here looking to "rise a row"
and i'm only sorry that they have a ltfc badge beside their names.

they are only speaking for themselves...end of story.

19/12/2004, 2:22 PM
How can Rovers play in United Park when that place doesnt meet the old FAI requirements for the Premier Division, never mind the new licencing requirements.

Drogs are delighted to take Rovers in they get cash and are able to use Rovers as a bargining chip. If the FAI say no licence for Drogs then they are fcuking Rovers by proxy.

The sooner the jokers at Rovers give up and let people with a clue take over then the other bluffer clubs wont be able to get away with messing around either, then the league can advance beyond a pub league on a semi-national level.

dortie
19/12/2004, 6:47 PM

Ssssssh Partizan will get offended, hes a communist type too :D

Bald Student
19/12/2004, 8:53 PM
I understand that the FAI own United Park, not Drogheda United. Is it fair for Drogheda to make a profit on renting FAI property?

20/12/2004, 8:35 AM
As posted by Seery on the DCFC website.

"Very sad to see Roddys Rovers having to wander up to Drogheda to play.Rumour has it they tried to shift THE VIKINGS out of Tolka PK.Hard luck Roddy you lost this one. 1.0 Dublin City.I hope you fill United Pk as easy as you said youd fill Tolka Pk. One good thing its a great road to Drogheda.Dont forget your toll money. UP THE DUBS."

20/12/2004, 9:34 AM
A few things....

1) I hate Drogs
2) Section O do attempt an atmosphere, but there's only a few of us, and we don't go in for any of the poncey flag waving ultras stuff. That's very gay if you want my opinion on it. :D
3) Elements of the Town support does my head in more than any other clubs supporters.
4) There's a few of us in the LTFC insane sane branch, unfortunately we're getting lost online amongst the dicks.

20/12/2004, 10:03 AM
'1) I hate Drogs'

Shock, :eek: horror - why :confused: :eek:

20/12/2004, 1:09 PM
'1) I hate Drogs'

Shock, :eek: horror - why :confused: :eek:
I hate every other club - it's the degree's of venom that change really... It's the way it should be.

20/12/2004, 2:09 PM
Ah Macy, cheer up :rolleyes:

20/12/2004, 2:17 PM
Ah Macy, cheer up :rolleyes:
It's monday, I've a streaming cold, so bah humbug :( ;)

20/12/2004, 3:35 PM
Ah, but Macy just think of our friend Siobhan and that should surely cheer you up.

Froms drogs latest press release:

Shamrock Rovers may use United Park in the 2005 season - UPDATE

Drogheda United FC confirmed last Friday that Shamrock Rovers FC had been given an undertaking by the Club that they could play their home matches at United Park in the 2005 season. This undertaking will allow Rovers to satisfy the relevant sections of their licencing application and copper-fastens their continued participation in the eircom League. Drogheda United understands that Shamrock Rovers remain in negotiations with a number of Dublin clubs \ venues and it is probable that a further deal will be concluded which will see Rovers play their home games in the capital.

20/12/2004, 4:33 PM
A few things....

4) There's a few of us in the LTFC insane sane branch, unfortunately we're getting lost online amongst the dicks.

and u wonder why a new forum was set up, even i had enough :D

but the lads in section o do their best and fair play to them........

Dillo
20/12/2004, 8:41 PM
I'm not tarring all Dwogheda fans with the same brush. What I am saying however is that there is a distinct knacker hardcore present among their following. Drogheda, as most of us know is regarded as the roughest town in Ireland and both it and the town of Dundalk are always and have always been associated with trouble and anti-social behaviour.

I clearly recall sitting in the Main Stand in Flancare Park a few seasons back when we were playing the 'Dwogs'. Their thuggish element were stationed directly behind us and I never witnessed anything quite like it! Hell broke loose as Town grabbed an injury time winner! Three to four bottles were hurled down the Main Stand narrowly missing people's heads. Another member of their scum support furiously ran down to an offical and attempted to attack him! I am not making up these stories. They are the truth despite what others may claim. So I think I am perfectly justfied in labelling this element as scum.

On a separate note 12th Man; I am just as entitled, deserving and honoured to have the LTFC crest by my side as you are. I'm no sunshine supporter or sh!t stirrer for that matter. I attend all Town games and regard myself as passionate a supporter as there is. Whats more, I am not a resident of Dublin 4 and never intend to be. I have and always will be a Longfordian! If you have any problem regarding me or my crest talk to me about it. :)

20/12/2004, 9:09 PM
I'm not tarring all Dwogheda fans with the same brush. What I am saying however is that there is a distinct knacker hardcore present among their following. Drogheda, as most of us know is regarded as the roughest town in Ireland and both it and the town of Dundalk are always and have always been associated with trouble and anti-social behaviour.

I clearly recall sitting in the Main Stand in Flancare Park a few seasons back when we were playing the 'Dwogs'. Their thuggish element were stationed directly behind us and I never witnessed anything quite like it! Hell broke loose as Town grabbed an injury time winner! Three to four bottles were hurled down the Main Stand narrowly missing people's heads. Another member of their scum support furiously ran down to an offical and attempted to attack him! I am not making up these stories. They are the truth despite what others may claim. So I think I am perfectly justfied in labelling this element as scum.

On a separate note 12th Man; I am just as entitled, deserving and honoured to have the LTFC crest by my side as you are. I'm no sunshine supporter or sh!t stirrer for that matter. I attend all Town games and regard myself as passionate a supporter as there is. Whats more, I am not a resident of Dublin 4 and never intend to be. I have and always will be a Longfordian! If you have any problem regarding me or my crest talk to me about it. :)

see what i mean, i'm off...... :D

Dr.Nightdub
20/12/2004, 11:15 PM
Hell broke loose ... Three to four bottles were hurled...

Not defending the bottle-throwing by any means but come on, if three to four counts as "hell", what would seven or eight have been, Armaggedon? In which case, nine or ten would be the end of western civilisation as we know it?

Three to four bottles suggests three to four thugs, unless it was one thug with a pump-action right arm. Assume it was a completely different thug who attempted to attack the official and you're still only talking between two and five thugs. Only "attempted", mind, not "put an official in traction for six weeks". Not exactly the hooligan equivalent of shock and awe from "the roughest town in Ireland".

By all means make the point but remember it's a short road from hyperbolics to total boll1x.

21/12/2004, 3:47 AM
As posted by Seery on the DCFC website.

"Very sad to see Roddys Rovers having to wander up to Drogheda to play.Rumour has it they tried to shift THE VIKINGS out of Tolka PK.Hard luck Roddy you lost this one. 1.0 Dublin City.I hope you fill United Pk as easy as you said youd fill Tolka Pk. One good thing its a great road to Drogheda.Dont forget your toll money. UP THE DUBS."

Well we'll look forward to playing in Drogheda next season a lot more, than he, and his junior team, will look forward to playing in Cobh, Galway, and Sligo next season, in front of no cameras, and no crowd, in the Discover Ireland division. Aah, the glamour of it!!

Btw, Don't forget to send all of your Premier Division friends a postcard of where the Home Farm hordes went! Enjoy!!! :)