View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Germany - Thursday, 8th October 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

09/10/2015, 8:48 PM
It was actually the three substitutes that combined for our goal. It was Meyler who tidied up after Reus had nutmegged O'Shea, playing it back to Randolph just seconds after his introduction. It's a squad game indeed!
Yep, just saw the second half again and noted the Meyler involvement too.

Actually, on watching the second half again on telly we were actually much better than I remembered at the game. It's probably the emotional involvement being there live. A lot of the time watching Ireland from the stands is like being tied to a chair while your favourite pet is being tortured.

09/10/2015, 8:56 PM
Long's first touch was excellent alright, and well improvised. So much was made by rugby folk a few years ago about Zebo's heel flick against Wales - a nice piece of skill but hardly extraordinary - yet barely a mention of Long's touch last night.

And yes, it'd be churlish to day it was a lucky win but it was absolutely the case that the stars were aligned. When all the usual doom mongers here never give us a chance against whoever we're playing I usually respond by saying we'll get a few chances and we need to take them. This applies to anyone. Ok, so we got none against Spain in 2012 and quite frankly I think we really only got one last night, but it still applies. This type of result rarely happens but it happens all the time in football when a plucky underdog mugs a sophisticated superior team. I know, I'm an Arsenal fan :)

DeLorean
09/10/2015, 9:03 PM
Ronnie Whelan, in fairness to him, made a big fuss about Long's first touch. The Sky Sports guys noted it also. I suppose Zebo's bit of skill was a bit unorthodox and off the cuff in Rugby circles and they're not really expected to be as skilful with their feet. You've a lot of mental issues when it comes to rugby Stutts!

09/10/2015, 9:16 PM
Totally. See my post just now on the RTE Panel thread I think.

Edit: no, it was Jack Byrne.

But seriously, I think that there a big imbalance between how the two national teams are perceived, and my rugby mates agree.

The media / corporate Ireland / official Ireland / middle class dolly bird Ireland all annoy the fcuk out of me when it comes to sport!

gastric
09/10/2015, 10:24 PM
Totally. See my post just now on the RTE Panel thread I think.

Edit: no, it was Jack Byrne.

But seriously, I think that there a big imbalance between how the two national teams are perceived, and my rugby mates agree.

The media / corporate Ireland / official Ireland / middle class dolly bird Ireland all annoy the fcuk out of me when it comes to sport!

Stutts, You would be one of the latex, dazzle shirt wearers that should be banned from rugby pubs and rightly so too!

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/ross-o-carroll-kelly-when-the-tracksuits-and-sheepskins-collide-1.2385948

Bottle of Tonic
09/10/2015, 10:50 PM
I caught Ronnie making a mention of the touch during the later highlights show but maybe I wasn't paying right attention to it. Never saw any Sky coverage. Read a few reports on the times and indo sites today and nothing from what I recall on the most vital touch in the whole game. The control on the run was 20 times more skilful than the finish itself which was super it goes without saying. As an aside I enjoyed Malachy Clerkins and Mary Hannigans pieces today, as I usually do with those two top quality writers. The indo website was full of cheap, rushed ********. No surprise I guess.

And on Stutts rugby points. Yeah, I'm annoyed with that ****e as well despite enjoying our rugby side and the epic games they play. The buzz that was evident from the BIG game last night though shows me that football/soccer is still the bigger draw for the ordinary Joe despite what script the media are trying to write and the ensuing herd like behaviour of the casual sports fan in this fair island.

I put on Off The Ball for the last few mins of the commute home from work today circa 7pm, the day after one of our most glorious victories in arguably the nations most popular sport and all I got was bluster and teeth knashing about how humid it was and then tension during the Irish Rugby press conference today. Barely a mention of MON and the lads. I'm sure it came later but still. The rugby talk scheduled in should have been jettisoned for analysis / celebration of a result the underachieving ruggers chaps can only dream of.

09/10/2015, 10:58 PM
Well I am a happy bunny, just found the full match on-line and downloading as I type. :triumphant:

I found yesterday my usually download site had been shut down.

It was a pain to use anyway too, slow you could usually only get one half, so I hope they have learned their
lesson, ie if you provide a carp service the USA will shut you down for copyright infringement. :smug:

09/10/2015, 11:16 PM
I caught Ronnie making a mention of the touch during the later highlights show but maybe I wasn't paying right attention to it. Never saw any Sky coverage. Read a few reports on the times and indo sites today and nothing from what I recall on the most vital touch in the whole game. The control on the run was 20 times more skilful than the finish itself which was super it goes without saying. As an aside I enjoyed Malachy Clerkins and Mary Hannigans pieces today, as I usually do with those two top quality writers. The indo website was full of cheap, rushed ********. No surprise I guess.

And on Stutts rugby points. Yeah, I'm annoyed with that ****e as well despite enjoying our rugby side and the epic games they play. The buzz that was evident from the BIG game last night though shows me that football/soccer is still the bigger draw for the ordinary Joe despite what script the media are trying to write and the ensuing herd like behaviour of the casual sports fan in this fair island.

I put on Off The Ball for the last few mins of the commute home from work today circa 7pm, the day after one of our most glorious victories in arguably the nations most popular sport and all I got was bluster and teeth knashing about how humid it was and then tension during the Irish Rugby press conference today. Barely a mention of MON and the lads. I'm sure it came later but still. The rugby talk scheduled in should have been jettisoned for analysis / celebration of a result the underachieving ruggers chaps can only dream of.

Was listening as well, they had Ray Houghton on after the eight o'clock news bulletin talking about what it's going to be like for Shane Long, people coming up to him in 20 years telling him they were at the game when he scored against Germany.

09/10/2015, 11:31 PM
I has written a reply.feck.stupid phone.dolly bird is class stutts.

My mate put up on Facebook yesterday we may be better at the rugby but coybig have shown they are the nations favourite. It's very true.

We're soccer people Darragh as gilesy said to Darragh Maloney. That made me feel good.

Ya those rugger clowns and Jersey tuggers and half the people who've never even played the sport jumping on the bandwagon I'm with stutts. When ye've been embedded with those gomeys for as long as stutts it gets to ye ye've a right to feel aggrieved.. What really annoys me is when they take delight in not knowing when Ireland are playing . or just downright dismissal

DannyInvincible
10/10/2015, 12:41 AM
Well I am a happy bunny, just found the full match on-line and downloading as I type. :triumphant:

Where'd you find it? Is it RTÉ's coverage?

Crosby87
10/10/2015, 1:04 AM
Heres the full job on youtube danny....sometimes my mobil links don't work for ya tho hope it does.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rGs6NNpGz3E

DannyInvincible
10/10/2015, 1:18 AM
Cheers, Crosby. It's not RTÉ, but beggars can't be choosers. Found another link here: http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2015/10/08/ireland-vs-germany-highlights-full-match/#2

Seems to be better quality than the YouTube video.

gastric
10/10/2015, 1:35 AM
Cheers, Crosby. It's not RTÉ, but beggars can't be choosers. Found another link here: http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2015/10/08/ireland-vs-germany-highlights-full-match/#2

Danny, on second and third views, the tension after Long's goal (hoping to God the Germans didn't come back) does not diminish. Still on a high two days later! Lads, don't turn this into a rugby versus football grumble, for a country with a tiny population we continue to punch above our weight in all our football codes. Be proud!

10/10/2015, 1:35 AM
Where'd you find it? Is it RTÉ's coverage?

I will send you the link.

It is not RTE, think it says something like 4OD or 4AD, the commentators voice seems familiar but I can't quite place it.

It is the came commentator as on crosby's link. What is his name?

[edit - your inbox is full so I can't send it!!]

In the meantime I will send it to crosby as it is a a better picture and you can get it from him or whatever if I can't send it, not keen on posting it for all to see as it might get blocked
but will sent to anyone who requests.

10/10/2015, 1:48 AM

Think that is just highlights?

Oh I see the 1H and 2H are the full match halves, same video as on the link I could not send you!

Crosby87
10/10/2015, 3:00 AM
Verizon is telling me that one website is a security issue. I used to be nonchalant about that but I keep getting viruses through (honestly) innocent non porn things.

Oh as I'm writing this the Irish eyes keep smiling as Daniel Murphy hits a home run vs the world's best pitcher to put the Mets up 1 nil in Los Angeles. He crushed it lads!

Crosby87
10/10/2015, 3:15 AM
Was the color guy Adrian Healey?

10/10/2015, 3:32 AM
Verizon is telling me that one website is a security issue. I used to be nonchalant about that but I keep getting viruses through (honestly) innocent non porn things.

Oh as I'm writing this the Irish eyes keep smiling as Daniel Murphy hits a home run vs the world's best pitcher to put the Mets up 1 nil in Los Angeles. He crushed it lads!

Of is that the link I sent? Maybe I did get a "do you want to continue warning"? I vaguely remember something like that.

However I just tried the link in another browser and got no warning.

But maybe the warning is not at browser level?

Any how I just put the link I sent you through *two* sites which check sites for viruses and both came up blank.

So are you referring to my link?

I guess you must be as the other link is to your tube.

I used these checks

https://sitecheck.sucuri.net//

https://vms.drweb.com/online/?lng=en

And also this one which checks it out on about 30 different sites, they all report clean from viruses.

https://www.virustotal.com/

(https://www.virustotal.com/) I also scanned danny's link on the above site and it scans as "clean site".

What I think it is your ISP falsely reporting sites to protect it's own paid sport channels revenues.

Crosby87
10/10/2015, 4:10 AM
Oh I wasn't accusing you of anything haha.sorry tricks. I didn't mean it that way! Honestly you are right, once in a blue THIS web site comes up security issue.
I was just....like when you said you were downloading it I cringed, just for myself. Bc there is no need, right? You could justiwatch it streaming. I was actually wondering if you ever have problems from that, bc I would never download an ireland game from any site bc ten russians would have all my info by morning! Thats all I was thinking. I know you are a good guy. Sorry to put you thru all that.

10/10/2015, 4:17 AM
Oh I wasn't accusing you of anything haha.sorry tricks. I didn't mean it that way! Honestly you are right, once in a blue THIS web site comes up security issue.
I was just....like when you said you were downloading it I cringed, just for myself. Bc there is no need, right? You could justiwatch it streaming. I was actually wondering if you ever have problems from that, bc I would never download an ireland game from any site bc ten russians would have all my info by morning! Thats all I was thinking. I know you are a good guy. Sorry to put you thru all that.

No no problem, some of the site I do you to watch streams have came up as infected in the past, but as I
have been using them for months I though well if they are infected I already am so might was well watch anyway.

Also I have anti-virus stuff running on my computer anyway, and if that does not flag it up
what is the point in the stuff anyway?

I think I am OK downloading video, as they are not executable, it is the .exe files I never download, but
a .mp4 or whatever should not be a problem as it is only ever read only played, there would have to
be a problem with the player for a video to give your a virus, and they do not know which player
I am using, I think all my downloads are scanned anyway.

So I do not worry too much about it, afterall you can't gurantee any virus will be spotted but
I have never really had a virus problem that I am aware of, at worst it might be adware or change
your home page, but a lot of anti-virus does that anyway!

This is the type of warning I have seen recently

http://www.webroot.com/blog/2009/08/07/rogues-impersonate-google-firefox-security-alerts/

It looks like they are trying to trick you into installing anti-virus software whcih is really a virus!

Crosby87
10/10/2015, 4:46 AM
Right. The whole thing is ridiculous. This new Steve Jobs movie coming out today....less virus with Apple. Must be said.

10/10/2015, 7:51 AM
There 's usually a link to download the match on YBIG, but nothing so far. There was a dedicated football forum for downloading highlights and full games, I think it was called Maxx or something like that but it appears to have been shut down :(

10/10/2015, 9:33 AM
Sorry if this is covered elsewhere but the best placed third place automatically qualifies I understand. Ukraine (last match at home to Spain) are on 19 seem to be the favourites but if we draw (1-1 or 0-0) with Poland and they lose, how is it worked out then as we both have 19 points?

Nugget
10/10/2015, 10:01 AM
Sorry if this is covered elsewhere but the best placed third place automatically qualifies I understand. Ukraine (last match at home to Spain) are on 19 seem to be the favourites but if we draw (1-1 or 0-0) with Poland and they lose, how is it worked out then as we both have 19 points?

Results against the bottom team are not used. There's a table here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2016_qualifying#Ranking_of_third-placed_teams

ken foree
10/10/2015, 10:50 AM
Was the color guy Adrian Healey?

Crosby you're in the u.s. right? apologies if you've tried this method but espn360 full match replays are here - commentator was indeed Adrian Healy with Craig burley as the color guy:

http://espn.go.com/watchespn/index?rb=true&watchsrc=true#type/replay/sport/soccer-futbol/

You log in by setting your cable provider (e.g. Comcast, verizon) in the dropdown and hopefully off you go. The Poland game is live on espn hd tv, here in boston at least.

Epic days these!

10/10/2015, 2:05 PM
Memories of scares from Netherlands game...

-Kluivert slotting just wide in the opening minutes when clean through. Thought it was in.
-Zenden with a fairly easy chance but didn't get enough elevation on the bouncing ball to put it over Given.
-The Van Nistelrooy penalty scare.

From last night...

-Boateng free header in opening minutes.
-Ozil missing the target with practically an open goal with Given stuck to the floor.
-Schurrle missing a very good chance after the lovely cross from Reus. Somebody said Brady did well to put him off, I'm not so sure. All Brady did was look at him really but at least he was back there.
-Hummels header that came at him kind of fast from a corner just after we scored. Thought it was in.
-Muller chance. Thought it was in (yet again!) and still can't believe he missed.
-Hummels heading straight into Randolph's arms in injury time. Either side of him and it was a goal.
-Loads of last ditch goal saving interceptions/blocks... O'Shea from Gundogan, Keogh in the six yard box, Ward a couple of times and Christie that I can remember.

In fairness, the game last night is much fresher in the memory!
Indeed it is fresher, I'd say Holland had about 10 gilt chances and we were pretty much pinned to the wall after going one up. And if they got one they they would get another.
Germany had chances but we were not pinned to the wall. I was pleasantly surprised at our composure and confidence in defense as the game went on, in particular from a goalie virtually making his debut, O'Shea and the 3 basic level stand ins. So much for Yogi's post match condescension, I hope the defeat plagues his many sleepless nights for decades to come.
Perhaps it is too early to mark a shift in attitude amongst the team/players but we defended that lead differently than previous, plus the welcome evident signs of scrapping like an O'Neill team, different from just scrapping.

10/10/2015, 3:14 PM
There 's usually a link to download the match on YBIG, but nothing so far. There was a dedicated football forum for downloading highlights and full games, I think it was called Maxx or something like that but it appears to have been shut down :(

I have a link were you can watch and/or download the game, I am not keen on displaying it in the forum though but I can send it in a pm to anyone who
wants it. To download it click on the video and select "save video as" (in firefox and chrome, might be different in other browsers)

10/10/2015, 4:13 PM
Just watching the goal back there - didn't hear it at the time for obvious reasons, but did they play ****ing celebration music on the tannoy after it went in?

Pathetic way to ruin a brilliant atmosphere and moment. When is that going to get dumped?

boovidge
10/10/2015, 4:24 PM
^Yeah a sort of Eurotrash version of the White Stripes- Seven Nation Army

10/10/2015, 4:30 PM
Lord knows we heard it enough in Poland. It was the official UEFA goal theme, played after every goal. I used to like that riff before Gdansk.

10/10/2015, 4:44 PM
Just watching the goal back there - didn't hear it at the time for obvious reasons, but did they play ****ing celebration music on the tannoy after it went in?

Pathetic way to ruin a brilliant atmosphere and moment. When is that going to get dumped?

Hahaha was thinking that as I watched it again. It reminds me of the darts!!

10/10/2015, 5:01 PM
I usually hate music at games but for some reason it felt ok on Thursday. Likewise the Depeche Mode at the end was good, prompting a popular football song that was due anyway. Remember the tannoy playing Alphaville's "Big in Japan" after beating the Dutch? In fairness to the FAI, that was inspired.

10/10/2015, 5:22 PM
Remember the tannoy playing Alphaville's "Big in Japan" after beating the Dutch? In fairness to the FAI, that was inspired.
That sort of stuff can work - at the end of a game.

Or even before the game (I remember the PA in Paris in 2004 playing U2 - that (and La Marseillaise of course!) just got the Irish fans' voices going.

But not after a goal. That should be spontaneous.

And not after a goal like that of that magnitude. The music could only detract from the celebrations.

10/10/2015, 5:29 PM
...except it didn't. I'd tend to agree with you but for some reason it felt right. The riff fitted the moment. Hard to explain.

DannyInvincible
10/10/2015, 6:11 PM
Thursday's result was truly magic, but it hasn't yet been consummated, so to speak, by qualification, so I'm not able to truly savour it as much as I'd like to just yet. There's still a sense of "work to be done" looming. Hopefully that will change tomorrow night, but, as sweet as it is to have beaten the world champs, it will ultimately have been for naught if we don't make it to France. If we qualify, it will truly copper-fasten and indelibly secure the victory's undeniable historic status.

If I recall correctly, after Holland in 2001, we were guaranteed qualification for the UEFA/AFC continental (on the assumption that we beat Cyprus in the final group game), so I recall there being a real (or more of a) sense of "job done" about that one as the AFC qualifiers (Iran) didn't really pose an such an ominous threat or seemingly difficult hurdle as Poland might pose now, especially with the side we had then and the near-faultless campaign we'd just come through (with the exception of throwing away the dream 0-2 lead in Amsterdam).

10/10/2015, 6:54 PM
True, but I'm still happy enough. I'm looking forward to tomorrow as a "free option" and I actually think they'll play better as a consequence.

10/10/2015, 7:09 PM
...except it didn't. I'd tend to agree with you but for some reason it felt right. The riff fitted the moment. Hard to explain.
Fair enough. I'll bow to your experience as I wasn't at the match itself - but still...wish they wouldn't...

10/10/2015, 7:14 PM
It's simple, we beat the world champs, the riffs were totally appropriate.
Most other times it's trash.

DannyInvincible
11/10/2015, 3:03 AM
Thomas Müller sounded bitter: http://www.balls.ie/football/sour-thomas-muller-gives-very-sour-grapes-reaction-to-irelands-win/311929

Ireland only defended and played long balls. We had decent chances and gave nothing away.

In the end we wasted too many chances and conceded an unnecessary goal from a mistake, coupled with a lot of play acting and a weak referee.

Even if it sounds stupid. We didn't play badly.

Defending is a fundamental part of the game and long balls are within the rules too, last time I checked. As for giving nothing away, they gave away a goal, which is the most significant deciding factor in a football game. As for claims of play-acting and a weak referee, there was one incident where Shane Long took a clear dive whilst about to dart past Hummels very late on in order to try and kill a bit of time, but were there any other moments like this? I didn't think the ref favoured us at all. In fact, he frustrated me quite a bit giving Germany free kicks for very little, I thought. There were a few outfield decisions that went Germany's way and then there was when Walters was pulled up for having supposedly fouled Neuer as the two were vying for the ball, but there was nothing in Walters contact to justify a free out. That was play-acting by Neuer, if anything.

Take your oil, Thomas. Suck it up.

11/10/2015, 7:38 AM
I don't see a problem with his comments?

He was asked how the game went and I think he's correct (bar the playacting stuff)

11/10/2015, 12:15 PM
I thought the ref was good all night actually. I don't think we were overly physical and the game was played in a pretty good spirit. Long went down after a tackle from Hummels with no contact but it was one of those where Hummels stuck his foot out, missed the ball and interrupted Long's progress. Foul, on the grounds that it was careless. I can't think of another instance that Muller can complain of and if we were a bit too tough for his liking it wouldn't be unlike the Germans to roll around themselves. They didn't, mainly because we gave them no reason to.

bwagner
11/10/2015, 2:50 PM
Being half German I will give Ireland this gift for winning....your welcome https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5QJVUMARLc

28/12/2015, 1:35 PM
Time to rig an end of year election - vote for Ireland - Germany for Most Surprising Result of 2015: http://twitter.com/ChampionsLeague/status/681432971375677440

29/12/2015, 4:32 PM
Time to rig an end of year election - vote for Ireland - Germany for Most Surprising Result of 2015: http://twitter.com/ChampionsLeague/status/681432971375677440

Why was it surprising :) ?

DeLorean
29/12/2015, 5:10 PM
Exactly, pretty sure Ardee Bhoy called it from an early stage ;)

30/12/2015, 7:57 AM
And when Shane Long plays against Mesut Ozil there's only ever one winner.

DeLorean
19/05/2016, 9:44 PM
Bump.

DeLorean
29/08/2016, 1:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ul1qbR4FN7g

DeLorean
13/09/2016, 8:51 AM
Closed thread.