View Full Version : Jose Mourinho

Dillo
16/12/2004, 2:22 PM
"We have top players and, sorry if I'm arrogant, but we now have a top manager"

"I don't want to sound arrogant, but I think I am a special manager because I won the Champions League"

What do others think of Jose Mourinho??
I think the man is a legend and an example to us all! A chap who accepted a job as a translator to Bobby Robson at Sporting Lisbon in 1992 and is now at the helm at Chelsea- a huge club in the making. I believe he will guide Chelsea to major glory. His record of sustained success speaks for itself and with the foundations already in place at Chelski there's every reason to believe that he'll win everything possible in the game. He represents the new generation of football coaches and is a firm believer in team spirit.

As he said himself; "Players do not win trophies. Squads win trophies. I love players who love to win. They not only win in 90 mins, but every day, every training sesssion, in every moment of their lives"

Hibs4Ever
16/12/2004, 2:28 PM
The guy is the coolest man in football

Dublin12
16/12/2004, 2:29 PM
I don't like the man at all,especially as his politics are right wing/neo conservative :mad:
but having said that I think as a football manager without doubt he does a good job

Karlos
16/12/2004, 2:38 PM
I think he an inspiration to all young aspiring coaches (like me!) and proves like Arsene Wenger has, that it is nearly better to have studied football intensively than have merely played it without thinking about why you do things.

His dedication to facts, figures and science sets him and Wenger out as true A Grade students of the game. I think Fergie is a great manager too but these guys are inspirational in the sence of where they have come from.

Just a pity he won't get any credit if he wins something with Chelsea as it will be seen as buying the league ir cup but in fairness to him he hasn't bought a Ronaldinho or a Henry or a Zidane - he's bought team players to play in his system.

I can't stress enough how high a regard I hold him in.

16/12/2004, 3:19 PM
After former translator wins Champions League...what next....former Championship Manager gamer to win it...

I think Portsmouth have said they got huge ampount of Champ Manager CVs for managers job :D

Mourinho is canny fecker, he arrogant but difference is he can back it up... Hes mind games with Ferguson last season in CL were world class 7 hes continued in same manner...

Karlos
17/12/2004, 7:48 AM
After former translator wins Champions League...what next....former Championship Manager gamer to win it...

I think Portsmouth have said they got huge ampount of Champ Manager CVs for managers job :D

Yeah but only if they get off their behind and do some coaching courses and learn about how to play and not how to pick a team on the playstation with 60 million to spend!!

If more people educated themselves on football in the field as opposed to in the bar the world would be a better place!!

The positive thing for us coaches is you can call your arguments educated after spending your hard earned cash & time on various coaching courses - even if it's educated ball-ix! ;)

TheJamaicanP.M.
17/12/2004, 10:58 AM
I think Mourinho is one of the greatest talents English football has ever seen. I love the man's arrogance. Its not before time that Ferguscum and Wenger met their match. Viva les bleus! :D

Dillo
17/12/2004, 2:34 PM
I don't like the man at all,especially as his politics are right wing/neo conservative :mad:

What are you flutin about?? :rolleyes:

As for the rest of ye lads, well done. Some very interesting and positive remarks.

Dublin12
17/12/2004, 2:39 PM
What part do you not understand?

I don't like rightwingers and he is one of them,ok.I respect him as a football man but thats about it.

TheJamaicanP.M.
17/12/2004, 3:05 PM
What part do you not understand?

I don't like rightwingers

So you're saying you didnt like Bobby Ryan when he was at Dalyier. He was a pretty good right winger. Anthow, I didnt think Mourinho had much of a football career?

Dillo
06/01/2005, 12:32 PM
"Frank Lampard is a better player than Steven Gerard because he is my player. My players are always better than the other players"

Love him or hate him, the cocky Mourinho is well on his way to bringing the league title back to the Bridge for the first time in 50 years!

06/01/2005, 12:57 PM
Love him or hate him, the cocky Mourinho is well on his way to bringing the league title back to the Bridge for the first time in 50 years!
Wouldn't be that upset - as Arsenal have found it's not the winning that's the mark of quality, it's the retaining it. ;)

Karlos
06/01/2005, 1:10 PM
Wouldn't be that upset - as Arsenal have found it's not the winning that's the mark of quality, it's the retaining it. ;)

Some would say it's the consistancy of winning leagues in almost every decade that would define the mark of a quality club or the ability to maintain their status always in top flight football :p .

I suppose experiencing fruitless league campaigns in the region of 14 years, 26 years and 50-odd years respectively a la our friends in Merseyside, Salford and London is a mark of greatness!!! :D

06/01/2005, 1:34 PM
Have to say when I saw him after the Champions League final walk from the pitch and take the medal off his neck while the players celebrated I thought he was an arrogans *****. But having watched him operate and listened to some of his press conferences I think he is definitely a real winner

One hilarious press conference went like this
Reporter: What about Joe Cole
Mourinho: First of all, all I hear is Duuuff, Duuuff, Duufff, Duuff, Duuuff, Duuuff, Duufff, Duuff, now I play Duff, and all I hear is Cole, Cole, Cole, Cole. I can only play 11 players.

06/01/2005, 1:45 PM
I suppose experiencing fruitless league campaigns in the region of 14 years, 26 years and 50-odd years respectively a la our friends in Merseyside, Salford and London is a mark of greatness!!! :D
You mean totally different to the 18 years between 71 and 89? :confused: :rolleyes:

Karlos
06/01/2005, 2:21 PM
You mean totally different to the 18 years between 71 and 89? :confused: :rolleyes:

no difference what so ever, my point was that winning championships in almost every decade point to a great club and not just a great team who retained championships -

as you said

'it's not the winning that's the mark of quality, it's the retaining it'

implying that if Chelsea were to win back to back titles it would somehow elevate their club to greatness even with their abysmal league record or that somehow winning back to back titles can wipe out 14, 18, 26 or 50 odd years of not winning anything!! It certainly didn't for me in 89!!! :D

But '89 did help to continue the good record of winning in almost every decade which is sign of a great club who continually replace teams over short 10 year periods and win titles!!! :D

06/01/2005, 2:26 PM
no difference what so ever, my point was that winning championships in almost every decade point to a great club and not just a great team who retained championships -

as you said

'it's not the winning that's the mark of quality, it's the retaining it'

implying that if Chelsea were to win back to back titles it would somehow elevate their club to greatness even with their abysmal league record or that somehow winning back to back titles can wipe out 14, 18, 26 or 50 odd years of not winning anything!! It certainly didn't for me in 89!!! :D
Quality team is what I'm getting at - I mean even through the 26 years we were the greatest club. ;) I mean surely an immortal team should manage back to back titles - anything less for the arse this season is just failure.

Karlos
06/01/2005, 2:34 PM
Quality team is what I'm getting at - I mean even through the 26 years we were the greatest club. ;) I mean surely an immortal team should manage back to back titles - anything less for the arse this season is just failure.

yeah your right (although I'd happily let chelski have it for a european cup!).

I don't think anyone will ever remember the Arsenal team that went a whole league season unbeaten, sure it's such an easy thing to do - expect Utd, Chelsea and Liverpool to follow suit shortly!! anything else would just be a failure!! ;)

Aldini98
06/01/2005, 3:07 PM
I think he's great, can't wait to see him handle Fergies mind games, should be a hoot !!!!!!

06/01/2005, 11:00 PM
I hate that term.
The whole 'mind games' thing was coined by Sky to make dull championships 'interesting'.
Its just cringy now.

Dillo
10/01/2005, 6:51 PM
Can't wait to see Jose Wednesday night with his overcoat and expensive scarf. Looking forward to the match aswell. Should be a stroll in the Park for Mourinho's men.

TheJamaicanP.M.
12/01/2005, 4:27 PM
Can't wait to see Jose Wednesday night with his overcoat and expensive scarf. Looking forward to the match aswell. Should be a stroll in the Park for Mourinho's men.

Indeed, Jose is a lesson for us all. His expensive designer threads, his straight-talking, no-nonsense, arrogant approach to life is something we should all aspire to.

fergalr
13/01/2005, 12:58 PM
Besides all his other talents, he's already becoming the most quotable manager since the last late B Clough.

Two class ones from last night:

On the Saha penalty claim:
“I think that Man United should be forbidden from speaking about referees for one year after what happened at Old Trafford [with the recent Roy Carroll incident].”

On Ferguson's half time talk to the ref:
“Maybe one day when I become 60, have been in the same league for 20 years and I know everybody and everybody respects me a lot. Maybe one day I have this power to speak and people tremble a little bit. I hope so."
--- Note he was laughing when he said this!

Karlos
14/01/2005, 10:35 AM
now before anyone bites me head off, I have said above that I have the upmost respect for Mr. Mourniho but was surprised to hear him on Chelsea tv refer to Ferguson and Manchester United as 'CHEATS' on at least 3 occaisons. One of his quotes was 'After the break it was whistle and whistle, fault and fault and cheat and cheat".

In the interests of fairness I expect him to get the same punishment as Mr. Wenger for his 'cheat' comments about RvN although both will probably feel it's a small price to pay for getting it off their chests! :D

Dillo
18/01/2005, 5:54 PM
The Jamaican Prime Minister recently purchased Jose's autobiography. He's loaning it to me next :cool: . Makes good reading he says despite the poor translation from Portuguese to English.

Dillo
22/01/2005, 11:56 PM
Jus reading his autobiography as I write. I'd really encourage others to do same. Mourinho is a fascinating individual.

TheJamaicanP.M.
27/01/2005, 3:31 PM
What a night for Chelsea Football Club. As a committed Chelsea fan I was overjoyed with last night's result. I feel confident that the Blues are going to win all four trophies this season. It was great to see the bully Ferguson silenced by a superior man last night. What a legend Jose Mourinho is becoming. He has been magnificent at every club he's been to. Looks like the grumpy old men (Fergie and Wenger) have finally met their match. Jose is from a new generation of coaches. He has a sports science degree, astute tactical awareness, infinite knowledge of the game and incredible man-management skills. The man is just a genius.
Im also glad to see that his continental influence has had an impact on the players. Last night, Frank Lampard kissed his wedding-ring finger in celebration when he scored (just like the continental players). However, I dont think Lampard is even married. Thats why its so great to see the Chelsea players playing well and posing at the same time. :)
Mourinho understands his players and their needs. That's why he recently brought tanning beds to the Chelsea training ground. Mourinho operates at a different level to anyone else in world football. The future is blue. :D

27/01/2005, 3:47 PM
What a night for Chelsea Football Club. As a committed Chelsea fan I was overjoyed with last night's result. I feel confident that the Blues are going to win all four trophies this season. It was great to see the bully Ferguson silenced by a superior man last night. What a legend Jose Mourinho is becoming. He has been magnificent at every club he's been to. Looks like the grumpy old men (Fergie and Wenger) have finally met their match. Jose is from a new generation of coaches. He has a sports science degree, astute tactical awareness, infinite knowledge of the game and incredible man-management skills. The man is just a genius.
Im also glad to see that his continental influence has had an impact on the players. Last night, Frank Lampard kissed his wedding-ring finger in celebration when he scored (just like the continental players). However, I dont think Lampard is even married. Thats why its so great to see the Chelsea players playing well and posing at the same time. :)
Mourinho understands his players and their needs. That's why he recently brought tanning beds to the Chelsea training ground. Mourinho operates at a different level to anyone else in world football. The future is blue. :D

In fairness, no matter how good Jose will become you still can't compare him to Ferguson. Ferguson has had to rebuild several teams, has won a bucket loads of trophies over a very lenghty spell. Will Jose still be at Chelsea in 16 years time ? highly doubt it.

27/01/2005, 4:21 PM
I wonder where he'd be now if Tim Howard had just pushed that Porto free-kick around the post in last year's CL Q/F? I reckon Peter Kenyon had never heard of him until about a year ago.

I think he's good alright, but everything also seems to fall his way too.

I've said it twice on other threads, but I really like the way his teams are strong from set-pieces. As an Arsenal fan I honestly reckon Wenger doesn't believe in practising frees & corners.

I also don't think Mourinho is as revolutionary as he's made out to be. It's more that English football has been short of quality coaches and fresh ideas for a long, long time. But that's not his fault.

I hope he's never offered the English job though!

Dillo
27/01/2005, 7:11 PM

The future is Blue alright PM- the Blue of Everton and Chelsea ;) ! Mourinho represents the new generation of football coaches. The man is on a pedistole where few graze. As we all well know, Fergescum can't take his beating. Last night Jose shook hands with him after the game but bully Fergie couldn't even look at him in the eye. He was deeply hurt by this defeat :p . If it was the other way around Mourinho would have taken it fair and square. Unlike Fergie, Jose is a sporting individual. If the Everton don't win the FA Cup I hope Mourinho's men go on to lift all four trophies. This man is a step above the rest. His achievements at FC Porto have been nothing short of phenomenal. His football philosophy and his methodology (as he likes to call it) are there for all to see. He intends to manage a top Serie A team in the future before going on to manage his country. There's no doubt that a man of Jose's pedgriee will go on and fulfill these ambitions.

lopez
28/01/2005, 12:59 AM
What are you flutin about?? :rolleyes:Didn't you hear the man, FFS. He doesn't like right-wingers. That's why he moved to Singapore, which is, erm, a right-wing dictatorship. :confused: