View Full Version : Ye could be looking for a new manager

16/12/2004, 10:58 AM
I believe that Lennox has refused to offer Pat Dolan an extension to his contract, stating that he has a year to run on his current one, and that theres no need.

Sounds to me like Mr.Lennox and Pat could be at loggerheads. If this is the case, I fear for the future of your club, cos if a manager like Dolan who has made good progress in a short space of time isn't valued by your chairman, then I believe that Mr Lennox must be a bit of a tool.

exile
16/12/2004, 11:09 AM
the rumour mill is full swing i heard that too last nite, and keane is going back too cobh :rolleyes: but the guy that told me is a barstooler

16/12/2004, 11:26 AM
the rumour mill is full swing i heard that too last nite, and keane is going back too cobh :rolleyes: but the guy that told me is a barstooler
Maybe so, but it would still bother me if I was a City fan.

16/12/2004, 12:24 PM
I believe that Lennox has refused to offer Pat Dolan an extension to his contract, stating that he has a year to run on his current one, and that theres no need.

Sounds to me like Mr.Lennox and Pat could be at loggerheads. If this is the case, I fear for the future of your club, cos if a manager like Dolan who has made good progress in a short space of time isn't valued by your chairman, then I believe that Mr Lennox must be a bit of a tool.Didn't you hear the FULL story Joe?
Dolan is on his way to Limerick, the new consortium have offered him a deal he can't refuse, a promise of enough players to actually constitute a squad, and somewhere to play in a few years time.
Meanwhile, given that Lennox does not think Dolan has done enough in his two seasons, Lennox has decided that City need to sign Bobby Robson on a ten year deal. Lennox hopes that Robson will convince Shay Given and Kluivert to come with him immediately, and then gradually bring in players from all his years spent on the continent.
On top of that, Lennox has offered that he will publicly dis-embowel himself in Patrick's Street if City don't win the league within 20 years. What else can any fan ask of a chairman?

16/12/2004, 12:34 PM
Didn't you hear the FULL story Joe?
Dolan is on his way to Limerick, the new consortium have offered him a deal he can't refuse, a promise of enough players to actually constitute a squad, and somewhere to play in a few years time.
Meanwhile, given that Lennox does not think Dolan has done enough in his two seasons, Lennox has decided that City need to sign Bobby Robson on a ten year deal. Lennox hopes that Robson will convince Shay Given and Kluivert to come with him immediately, and then gradually bring in players from all his years spent on the continent.
On top of that, Lennox has offered that he will publicly dis-embowel himself in Patrick's Street if City don't win the league within 20 years. What else can any fan ask of a chairman?
Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit. I was merely telling people of what I read in yesterdays sun (oh god it must be true then) and stating that if there was any truth in it, that I'd be disappointed if I was a city fan.

Get a life Patsh.... :rolleyes:

LFC in Exile
16/12/2004, 12:34 PM
That's great news for you feens. If that happened you might actually win something sometime.

Hibs4Ever
16/12/2004, 12:36 PM
I was talking to a guy after the Faroe Match. He is involved with Cork City. He said there is problems with Dolan because he is spending too much money. He has a full time squad of over 30 players, and he brings the whole squad on away matches, which he gets two nights in hotels for all these players and staff. And City just can't afford it. I know he left us with HUGE debts. Could be wrong though.

16/12/2004, 12:42 PM
Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.I know, but I had to make sure you would understand......

I believe that Lennox has refused to offer Pat Dolan an extension to his contract
I was merely telling people of what I read in yesterdays sunYou weren't merely telling anybody anything. You wanted to come on here with some old bullsh*t you read in a rag as if it was a big deal and you knew something.

Get a life Patsh.... Me?
You are the one reading idiotic and ignorant drivel in the "Sun" :eek: , and posting it here as something you believe.
Just who is in need of a life.......

jimhacker
16/12/2004, 12:59 PM
I was talking to a guy after the Faroe Match. He is involved with Cork City. He said there is problems with Dolan because he is spending too much money. He has a full time squad of over 30 players, and he brings the whole squad on away matches, which he gets two nights in hotels for all these players and staff. And City just can't afford it. I know he left us with HUGE debts. Could be wrong though.

And they bring the wives with them as well!

16/12/2004, 1:00 PM
I was merely telling people of what I read in yesterdays sunHold on so you read this in "The Sun"

I believe that Lennox has refused to offer Pat Dolan an extension to his contract
And you believe it.

Theres something wrong here somewhere. :confused:

16/12/2004, 1:04 PM
I know, but I had to make sure you would understand......

You weren't merely telling anybody anything. You wanted to come on here with some old bullsh*t you read in a rag as if it was a big deal and you knew something.
Me?
You are the one reading idiotic and ignorant drivel in the "Sun" :eek: , and posting it here as something you believe.
Just who is in need of a life.......

would you please, please, post once without feeling the need to make some sarcastic drivelous reply if you dont agree. a simple "where did you here that, i dont believe you" would have done

16/12/2004, 1:09 PM
I was talking to a guy after the Faroe Match. He is involved with Cork City. He said there is problems with Dolan because he is spending too much money. He has a full time squad of over 30 players, and he brings the whole squad on away matches, which he gets two nights in hotels for all these players and staff. Yea totally true.

Then they send a diversion bus to make all the fans think that the players actually travel up on the day of the match or maybe the day before for Derry games.

I heard the problem is that our 30 players who stay in a hotel two nights for every match are running up huge mini-bar and pay for view porno bills:rolleyes:

I do think Lennox is calling Dolan's bluff. Remember when there was so much talk of Dolan getting an extended deal there wasnt a word from Lennox about it. Anyone who calls Lennox a tool knows little about the impact he's had on the club. There would not be a Cork City if it was not for Lennox

16/12/2004, 1:14 PM
would you please, please, post once without feeling the need to make some sarcastic drivelous reply if you dont agree. a simple "where did you here that, i dont believe you" would have doneCould you please, please refrain from posting this kind of drivel?
BTW, what is "drivelous"?

16/12/2004, 1:18 PM
Yea totally true.

Then they send a diversion bus to make all the fans think that the players actually travel up on the day of the match or maybe the day before for Derry games.

I heard the problem is that our 30 players who stay in a hotel two nights for every match are running up huge mini-bar and pay for view porno bills:rolleyes:

I do think Lennox is calling Dolan's bluff. Remember when there was so much talk of Dolan getting an extended deal there wasnt a word from Lennox about it. Anyone who calls Lennox a tool knows little about the impact he's had on the club. There would not be a Cork City if it was not for Lennox

Well Lennox is a vast improvement on Plonk for one !

Isn't Dolan supposedly responsible or partly so for bringing in backers for this full-time professional business at Cork City? :confused:

16/12/2004, 1:18 PM
Anyone who calls Lennox a tool knows little about the impact he's had on the club.
I'm not calling him a tool, but if he is prepared to let Dolan sweat for a contract extension and run the risk of losing him, then he is behaving like one.

16/12/2004, 1:33 PM
Could you please, please refrain from posting this kind of drivel?
BTW, what is "drivelous"?

adam, am i allowed 'goatse' him?

16/12/2004, 2:44 PM
Brian Lennox knows what hes doing & not gonna give any player or non-player & open-ended long term contract which the club locked into.

If Dolan delivers then there'll be contract talks & if he doesn't then won't be any need for them.

jofyisgod
16/12/2004, 2:53 PM
If Dolan delivers then there'll be contract talks & if he doesn't then won't be any need for them.

Precisely. Thread closed IMO-no more shít-stirring boys. I know it's the off-season, and i ye're all bored :D , but can ye give each other a break?

16/12/2004, 3:03 PM
But surely then lads, if more progress was made next season and Dolan walked away, then you'd be up in arms about "why wasn't he signed up on a longer term contract?"

I seem to recall a few people panicking earlier on about JOF walking away befor he signed his extension.

It would make sense to me to get him to sign an extension now, even if only for an extra season.

Dricky
16/12/2004, 3:27 PM
Thought the deal was semi finals of Intertoto and 2nd place was his incentive for a new contract. only one goal was reached so why would a contract extension be offered?

16/12/2004, 4:08 PM
Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit. I was merely telling people of what I read in yesterdays sun (oh god it must be true then) and stating that if there was any truth in it, that I'd be disappointed if I was a city fan.

Get a life Patsh.... :rolleyes:

I'm not worried because Lennox has been behind a lot of the changes that have gone on in the past two seasons as well. I would have more faith in him than Dolan and I think he is right in not extending his contract YET.
Let us all be convinced soon...

Fair_play_boy
16/12/2004, 5:05 PM
I thought the club web site announced a new contract for Dolan months ago. If his contract is not already renewed, Brian Lennox is taking a risk, IMO. If there is tension around this, I could see other club chairmen on the phone to Pat Dolan offering him telephone number management deals.

16/12/2004, 8:41 PM
I thought the club web site announced a new contract for Dolan months ago. If his contract is not already renewed, Brian Lennox is taking a risk, IMO. If there is tension around this, I could see other club chairmen on the phone to Pat Dolan offering him telephone number management deals.
My point exactly...and then everyone will be up in arms if he walks away, calling him a judas etc. I think he's done enough over the past two seasons to justify keeping his job for a little more than one season.

16/12/2004, 8:45 PM
Isn't Pat Dolan buddy buddy with Mick the millionaire Wallace who has expressed a desire to own an EL club?

Aren't Shamrock Rovers in dire need of money and leadership?

Be Warned... :eek:

FlyingColumnist
16/12/2004, 10:10 PM
What... Pat Dolan threading on ShowaddyRoddy's toes??? Conspiracy theories into overload

jimhacker
17/12/2004, 9:06 AM
Maybe bringing the wives proved cheaper than all that porn... ;)

It was the wives who ran up the bills!

17/12/2004, 2:44 PM
dolan gets all the credit for what has happened at city, when in reality lennox deserves a lot of it. He's made the right decisions so far, and I trust him to keep doing so.I don't think Dolan needs a new contract right now- I think that there's plenty of time to sort that out, when he delivers what he's promised.

RedX
17/12/2004, 6:27 PM
I think that some of Brian Lennoxs words might have been taking out of context..not sure would he come across the way that TABLOID RAG wrote the story..

I dont think it is right to verbally attack some other clubs fans like joe soap and Saints forever for giving there opinion..some City fans can be to paronoid at times..if you dont agree lads fair enough...

Now if the story is true it is strange in this day and age to leave a player or manager go into the last year of a contract without a new one on the table..i do believe over the last few months some of Brian Lennoxs comments have definetly been aimed at Pat Dolan..there does seem to be a bit of tension but isnt there always that with 99% of chaimen at football clubs these days?..after all Brian Lennox is Dolans boss..

Lastly whatever is happening i think Brian Lennox is doing a superb job and is by far and away the best chaiman City ever had..Lennox wants success like us because he is a fan too..lets just trust the lads and see what way the season starts..

17/12/2004, 10:00 PM
Didn't you hear the FULL story Joe?

No mate our consortium is actually taking your head coach Noel O'Connor! :D

20/12/2004, 7:28 AM
WellI think Brian Lennox put these rumours to bed last night on the BRB, so no need for anyone coming on here trying to stir the sh*t with baseless rumours from the Sun......:rolleyes: