View Full Version : Wexford Youths - 2015 First Division CHAMPIONS
Oblig thread for the 1st division champions,always a thread for the winners of the league in my time here so here you go Wexford.
Huge congrats to all involved and i'm already looking forward to my visit(s) to Ferrycarraig Park and to welcoming you to Oriel.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CPx3J9MWgAAwlm9.jpg
White Horse
25/09/2015, 9:44 PM
Well done Wexford and welcome to the premier division.
25/09/2015, 10:05 PM
Not many Youths fans around here but hopefully more next season. Congratulations, enjoy it!
Wexford have been the best addition to the league in a long time. Genuinely pleased for them.
cornflakes
25/09/2015, 10:20 PM
cheers lads!
Great to be going up and no offence to clubs like Cabinteely and Waterford but it will be great to play some of the 'bigger' clubs next year. Hopefully we can avoid relegation and build on the progress Shane Keegan has made so far
gufc2000
25/09/2015, 10:23 PM
Fantastic achievement from all in Wexford. Stability over the last few years seems have to have stood them in good stead. All the best in the Premier Division
25/09/2015, 10:24 PM
Well done Wexford. It's a great feeling and should be a nice off-season in the lead up to Premier Division football.
Hope we're around to beat ye next season.
gufc2000
25/09/2015, 10:26 PM
Well done to Danny Furlong also who became the all time record goalscorer in the First Division tonight according to Twitter
25/09/2015, 10:26 PM
Congrats Funboys
Ezeikial
25/09/2015, 10:35 PM
Congrats Wexford - enjoy the honeymoon!
25/09/2015, 10:39 PM
Congrats Wexford, hopefully we'll be joining ye in the Premier next season.
wonder88
25/09/2015, 10:46 PM
Well done Wexford, this is a great story for soccer in Ireland. Happy for Mick Wallace also. I remember him saying on rte 6 o clock news who they joined the league that that they were going a different route to Shels etc.
ger121
25/09/2015, 11:04 PM
Congrats! From the reaction on social media, it seems to be a very welcomed promotion. Great for Football in the Sunny South East. I look forward to an away day down there next season.
SwanVsDalton
25/09/2015, 11:19 PM
Well done the Yoofs! Looking forward to having ye's up in the Brandy and getting down to Ferrycarig (if we stay up that is).
25/09/2015, 11:30 PM
Great club, and great people down in Wexford. The most welcoming people in any ground I've been to across the league. Genuinely delighted for them and their fans. Well deserved. Just a pity we couldn't have kept the race going until the last game of the season in Finn Park. That would have been some occasion.
WoodquayBoy
25/09/2015, 11:45 PM
Congrats to Wexford Youths, a great night for the club and a welcome addition to the Premier Division.
jinxy lilywhite
26/09/2015, 12:05 AM
Congratulations Wexford
MattB11
26/09/2015, 12:15 AM
Well done the youths, hopefully we'll be seeing you again next season
Well done to Wexford Youths from your South East neighbours. They deserve their chance at Premier Division football as have improved steadily over recent years and winning the title with 2 games to go is impressive.
kksaints
26/09/2015, 9:41 AM
Well done Wexford.
oriel
26/09/2015, 12:58 PM
Very good achievement, and I like their set up with players all under a certain age, and only paying expenses. It's a model that some smaller PD clubs might look at?
disgruntled
26/09/2015, 1:22 PM
Congratulations Wexford & well done Danny Furlong.
Great to have you in the Premier Division.
Just goes to show what can be done without chucking money at it.
26/09/2015, 2:51 PM
I always loved my visits to Ferrycarrig Park and look forward to revisiting it again after a break of a yr! Youths fans always struck me as very genuine and I am delighted for them that they finally went up after being so close the last few seasons.
I never forgot their noble gesture towards the end of last season the 2-2 and we were robbed by disgraceful referring. That night we were convinced that we were not going up and was cheered up walkin back from section O side out the ground by the sound of Youths fans applaudin us in support of their appreciation of our unhappiness towards the ref! In all my years I have never seen such a gesture! and thats why I am delighted they are up!
Darklordsbane
26/09/2015, 10:45 PM
I always loved my visits to Ferrycarrig Park and look forward to revisiting it again after a break of a yr! Youths fans always struck me as very genuine and I am delighted for them that they finally went up after being so close the last few seasons.!
delighted for the Youths fair play to them and absolutely trilled for Willie Tyrell double first division champion now
but don't be counting your chickens just yet Martinho there is no guarantee Longford will be still in the premier division next year
mcgonigle
27/09/2015, 2:28 PM
Congrats Welford, looking forward to the battle of the champions next season
eelmonster
27/09/2015, 7:54 PM
Well done, Wexford. I hope the winebar is still open.
27/09/2015, 9:00 PM
delighted for the Youths fair play to them and absolutely trilled for Willie Tyrell double first division champion now
but don't be counting your chickens just yet Martinho there is no guarantee Longford will be still in the premier division next year
after our crap performance last night our paths will cross I am afraid! cant see where we can get a win from!
Well done Wexford. Welcome to the big time!
28/09/2015, 9:49 AM
Good news for all away fans is they now have pint on draft in Ferrycarrig in that beautiful clubhouse of theirs, it use to only be bottled up until this season.
PartySaint
28/09/2015, 11:36 AM
Well done Youths, delighted for them.
colonelwest
28/09/2015, 11:39 AM
Congrats and well done to the Youths, they took a fair bit of slagging and the usual scepticism that they wouldn't last more than a year or two but they've built the club up the right way, fair play to them. Looking forward to a trip to Ferrycarraig next season!
28/09/2015, 11:53 AM
Good news for all away fans is they now have pint on draft in Ferrycarrig in that beautiful clubhouse of theirs, it use to only be bottled up until this season.
That must be a fairly recent addition. Which is a little annoying seeing as there was no draft when I was in the clubhouse earlier in the season.
Sunny Jim
28/09/2015, 1:13 PM
I’m absolutely thrilled - I can’t quite believe it still. Nights like last Friday and Turner’s Cross in August 2008 make it all worthwhile. To be honest, I reckoned that we would last 10 or 12 seasons in the graveyard and quietly fold, our passing barely noticed with only that 2008 League Cup run to remember. So to be in with the big boys next season is for me as unexpected as it is daunting. Say what ye like about Mick Wallace (and ye have) but he deserves every plaudit going for all he’s done for football in Wexford.
As for the season to come, I’ll settle for tenth place or failing that, not doing a Monaghan and folding mid-season. If the club is still around in March 2017 I’ll be happy. Also looking forward to Super Dan showing that he is good enough for the Premier Division and to playing Sligo Rovers, at long last (I think they’re the only team we’ve never played). I can’t wait for March to come.
PartySaint
28/09/2015, 3:18 PM
and to playing Sligo Rovers, at long last (I think they’re the only team we’ve never played)..
That's not a guarantee just yet.
Yossarian
28/09/2015, 4:35 PM
Also looking forward to Super Dan showing that he is good enough for the Premier Division
What are the chances of Furlong staying with Wexford next season and not moving to a bigger club??
Happy to see Wexford up anyway and looking forward to a different destination next season.
28/09/2015, 7:38 PM
As for the season to come, I’ll settle for tenth place or failing that, not doing a Monaghan and folding mid-season. If the club is still around in March 2017 I’ll be happy. Also looking forward to Super Dan showing that he is good enough for the Premier Division and to playing Sligo Rovers, at long last (I think they’re the only team we’ve never played). I can’t wait for March to come.
Best make sure you vote against these new proposals - any chance Mick could do some whistling blowing on the FAI to get them to shape up especially JD. at least get him lobbying now!
29/09/2015, 10:57 AM
What are the chances of Furlong staying with Wexford next season and not moving to a bigger club??
Happy to see Wexford up anyway and looking forward to a different destination next season.
Left for Cork before sure and it didn't work out. I'd imagine he'll stay for at least a season, hasn't gotten a PD track record worth any of the biggest clubs going in for him, yet. Would hardly be worth moving to a middling team, given that he must love Wexford, he'd likely put that ahead of a small cash incentive.
marinobohs
29/09/2015, 11:10 AM
Like to add my own congrats to Youths on a great achievement. Passed the stadium a few times (on work duties) and look forward to visiting next season.
great to see a 'new' club in the Premier Division and a real success story for LOI.