View Full Version : Weekend Fixtures: 18th-22nd September
patrickccfc
20/09/2015, 11:00 AM
I don't.This league is done,Were or at on what fixtures do you reckon we can lose an 11 point lead ?
Not a hope ye will blow that big of a lead. As*long as it's confirmed before ye come down here cos I don't want to have to see that again. Hopefully we run ye a bit closer next year
oriel
20/09/2015, 11:03 AM
Looks like I rubbed some folk up the wrong way. Well done on winning the league. But we're not all wrong you know... that pitch is the worst pitch in the league. Stadium is ****e as well and there's the problem of the golf ball throwing natives. No wonder you lot get little away fans.
I was reading this again and some of your posts since, appears to be a little jealous streak coming out, everyone including the current DFC owners (who are actively working on finding a solution) know the stadium is not up to standard, so strange point you are trying to make linking this with a (possible) league title this year.
I'd be more interested to know what areas of improvements you think Cork can make next season, not just to re-qualify for Europe (not easy) but to finish ahead of everyone else? It's possible, anything is, but you will obviously need to be better than the rest.
A change in Cork's style or speed of play maybe? More new players, or possibly a change of manager? Rovers will be stronger next season you would think, and there will be more pressure on Fenlon to deliver, Dundalk will probably start as favourites, so it's going to be as difficult as it was this season.
Then again you do have a lovely stadium and pitch.
oriel
20/09/2015, 11:05 AM
Not a hope ye will blow that big of a lead. As*long as it's confirmed before ye come down here cos I don't want to have to see that again. Hopefully we run ye a bit closer next year
I was very surprised your away game to Pats has been moved so far out to mid Oct. if I was involved with Cork, I'd have wanted that match in September to try and keep the pressure on Dundalk.
patrickccfc
20/09/2015, 11:20 AM
I was very surprised your away game to Pats has been moved so far out to mid Oct. if I was involved with Cork, I'd have wanted that match in September to try and keep the pressure on Dundalk.
Yeah surprised with how far away it was moved to as well but maybe it's good we don't have another Monday game in the build up to the semi final in bray, which barring a complete dundalk implosion, is our only chance of silverware. In terms of the league it's all about tying off second place.
20/09/2015, 11:21 AM
Can we get back to talking about Finn Harps and the playoffs? I'm bored of this Dundalk and Cork handbags.
oriel
20/09/2015, 11:24 AM
Most definitely Nigel, always loved a trip up to Donegal, be great if you can make it back. Some craic in Jackons last night we were up.
20/09/2015, 11:25 AM
Can we get back to talking about Finn Harps and the playoffs? I'm bored of this Dundalk and Cork handbags.
Cup of tea?
20/09/2015, 11:52 AM
Looking like Harps and UCD in the play offs is it? I haven't been paying too close attention but I should probably start given that we're in all kinds of trouble. We'd probably have enough about us to win a play off over two legs though.
El-Pietro
20/09/2015, 12:27 PM
Apart from the problem with a few dirtbags at the end of last season the rest is a winning formula! W'ed love to have a brand new stadium built for us and a Wembley like grass surface.
This is a myth. The MFA have built Turners Cross but they have done it on the backs of Cork City. We pay extremely high rent for the facilities we get and those funds have gone towards building the stadium and maintaining the pitch.
I think its the best possible system, let a separate organisation run the stadium who have no vested interests but improving it and pay them a proportion of the budget each year. You don't then get short sited decisions like we've seen at Dundalk and Bohs and Shels over the years leading to crumbling stadia.
Sligo had the right idea, they knew success in the LOI will always be fleeting and so they invested in their facilities.
bluewhitearmy
20/09/2015, 12:45 PM
I see Richie Towell went to the Carlisle Grounds to check out Limerick ahead of the away visit next week.
When a player uses his day off to check out the bottom club in the division, you know he is serious.
Sean O Connor from Rovers was there too tbf.
White Horse
20/09/2015, 12:57 PM
I don't.This league is done,Were or at on what fixtures do you reckon we can lose an 11 point lead ?
I don't think we will lose the lead but we may not have it wrapped up by the Cork game. The debate as to whether Cork would provide a guard of honour then becomes academic.
Guards of honour are a bit eggball anyway. Respectful gestures such as this have no place in the #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld
patrickccfc
20/09/2015, 2:35 PM
I don't think we will lose the lead but we may not have it wrapped up by the Cork game. The debate as to whether Cork would provide a guard of honour then becomes academic.
So you reckon ye will capitulate and have only a lead of say 3-6 points on the penultimate series of games? I doubt it very much
patrickccfc
20/09/2015, 2:39 PM
Would love to have yourselves up for next season. Never been in Finn park so would to get there should ye come up.
20/09/2015, 2:51 PM
This is a myth. The MFA have built Turners Cross but they have done it on the backs of Cork City. We pay extremely high rent for the facilities we get and those funds have gone towards building the stadium and maintaining the pitch.
I think its the best possible system, let a separate organisation run the stadium who have no vested interests but improving it and pay them a proportion of the budget each year. You don't then get short sited decisions like we've seen at Dundalk and Bohs and Shels over the years leading to crumbling stadia.
Sligo had the right idea, they knew success in the LOI will always be fleeting and so they invested in their facilities.
Oh I dont care how Cork have got Turers Cross up to scratch, I just want somone to build a nice new ground for us on the Carrick Road! You just might be surprised how Dundalk have long term plans very much in focus in comparison to the clubs you mention - when the lease is resolved changes at Oriel will then start as a development plans kick in!
20/09/2015, 4:36 PM
Cup of tea?
Coffee thanks. :coffee:
Looking like Harps and UCD in the play offs is it? I haven't been paying too close attention but I should probably start given that we're in all kinds of trouble. We'd probably have enough about us to win a play off over two legs though.
Looks that way, but as alluded to before, Shels could yet sneak that third place. If we beat UCD next week and Shels win at home to Waterford, they'll only be a point behind UCD with two games to go. You'd still fancy UCD to pick up third place though.
When it comes to Premier sides, they'll naturally be favourites, the gap is pretty big, but Harps proved earlier in the season to match Longford over two games, more so in the game in Finn Park, and that was before Longfords collapse in the league. I don't think Harps would fear a two legged play-off against Longford at all. Naturally, on current form though, preference would be Drogheda, but I have a sneaky feeling they'll not even make play-offs. Too early to discuss that though.
Would love to have yourselves up for next season. Never been in Finn park so would to get there should ye come up.
If you like Oriel Park...
D24Saint
20/09/2015, 4:39 PM
Hope harps come up myself good football folk in Ballyfofey , grand town for a pint aswell.
Thanks for all the good wishes, feck every last one of you.
20/09/2015, 7:15 PM
Coffee thanks. :coffee:
Looks that way, but as alluded to before, Shels could yet sneak that third place. If we beat UCD next week and Shels win at home to Waterford, they'll only be a point behind UCD with two games to go. You'd still fancy UCD to pick up third place though.
When it comes to Premier sides, they'll naturally be favourites, the gap is pretty big, but Harps proved earlier in the season to match Longford over two games, more so in the game in Finn Park, and that was before Longfords collapse in the league. I don't think Harps would fear a two legged play-off against Longford at all. Naturally, on current form though, preference would be Drogheda, but I have a sneaky feeling they'll not even make play-offs. Too early to discuss that though.
If you like Oriel Park...
Dead right there, in fact our biggest nightmare is probably a play off with harps. Well that and automatic relegation so thankfully bray did us a favour last night. Cousins really is dragging us down.
20/09/2015, 7:27 PM
Honestly, if UCD perform to their best, we won't go through.
If we do manage to go through that game, I don't think we've a hope against a Prem side either.
But Ollie's been saying the same thing in every pre-match interview this season and it's working OK so far.
20/09/2015, 7:35 PM
Ah Longford are crap, but we've hardly 'collapsed'. The last 5 games, points per team:
Dundalk 11
Limerick 11
Sligo 8
Cork City 7
Derry City 6
Bohs 6
Shamrock Rovers 5
Longford 5
Bray 5
Galway 5
Drogheda 4
St. Pats 3
As you can see, it's not just us who are devoid of any consistency, last two games are Drogs and Derry, between that and maybe robbing a point of Pats/ Sligo we'll do enough to survive, Cousins is useless, but there's worse teams and that's what will save us.
Personally see the bottom ending something along these lines..
6. Bray
7.Derry
8.Longford
9.Sligo
10.Galway
11. Limerick
12.Drogheda
Harps to lose about 7-2 to Limerick in a playoff.
strikeforce
20/09/2015, 7:43 PM
The team applauds the Champions on to the pitch not the fans.Yous can sit or stand as you see fit and rue the two years of failure that has yous scratching your sack ;) I hope your forever on your high perch. So every other team is a failure bar dundalk.
White Horse
20/09/2015, 7:50 PM
Talking to a few Dundalk players over the weekend. All saying the away game in Limerick next Friday is a "top of the [form] table" clash.
I have to hand it to Stephen Kenny. He gets inside players heads like no manager I've ever come across.
strikeforce
20/09/2015, 7:56 PM
I was reading this again and some of your posts since, appears to be a little jealous streak coming out, everyone including the current DFC owners (who are actively working on finding a solution) know the stadium is not up to standard, so strange point you are trying to make linking this with a (possible) league title this year.
I'd be more interested to know what areas of improvements you think Cork can make next season, not just to re-qualify for Europe (not easy) but to finish ahead of everyone else? It's possible, anything is, but you will obviously need to be better than the rest.
A change in Cork's style or speed of play maybe? More new players, or possibly a change of manager? Rovers will be stronger next season you would think, and there will be more pressure on Fenlon to deliver, Dundalk will probably start as favourites, so it's going to be as difficult as it was this season.
Then again you do have a lovely stadium and pitch.
I honestly have no problem with Dundalks squad or Kenny either for that matter. Anyone with half a football brain will know ye have the best Team in the Country and the best manager. Dundalk at this present time are the envy of everyone. Watching Dundalk on tv the other night and you couldn't but help admire that team....Awesome. Regarding where CCFC stand and the changes we NEED to make....well for a start at least 5-6 of the old guard will have to go and bring in stronger, faster and fitter players. At the moment we have to many players that are not quick enough. Manager wise.... I think the BOM will offer JC a one year extension. Am I happy with that....NO.
20/09/2015, 8:22 PM
Talking to a few Dundalk players over the weekend. All saying the away game in Limerick next Friday is a "top of the [form] table" clash.
I have to hand it to Stephen Kenny. He gets inside players heads like no manager I've ever come across.
I'd say more or less any player would say that.
20/09/2015, 9:11 PM
We need 3 wins from our last 5 to avoid automatic relegation and if we have a ref like we did last night (Matthews) for any of them at best draws. He was shocking. Clearly under instruction not to book bray players (cup semi) booked two near the end when he shhit himself at.100 limerick fans climbing the perimeter wall to get at him.
Pen denials stink to high heaven of a corrupt official. Didn't wait for both teams to leave the field either.
Play off position at best. Conor O'Donnell :/
20/09/2015, 9:15 PM
I don't see where you're getting your reading of the ref from. Limerick fans were going mental every time anyone looked at one of your players.
20/09/2015, 9:15 PM
We need 3 wins from our last 5 to avoid automatic relegation and if we have a ref like we did last night (Matthews) for any of them at best draws. He was shocking. Clearly under instruction not to book bray players (cup semi) booked two near the end when he shhit himself at.100 limerick fans climbing the perimeter wall to get at him.
Pen denials stink to high heaven of a corrupt official. Didn't wait for both teams to leave the field either.
Play off position at best. Conor O'Donnell :/
One win potentially lifts you beyond the play-off position.
20/09/2015, 9:23 PM
Tony McNamees winner in a sparsely attended St Colmans Park last night.
D24Saint
20/09/2015, 9:38 PM
in fairness to Kenny he is like Dolan with tactical knowledge so I haven't seen a manager like him to motivate players the tactics end of it got lose but , Kenny has the whole set Tactics,Fitness,Motivation Dolan was close but two out of three wasn't bad as the song goes.
20/09/2015, 9:41 PM
I don't see where you're getting your reading of the ref from. Limerick fans were going mental every time anyone looked at one of your players.
We were vocal but we had to be. Going mad as he refused to book players. Loads of frees, no bookings. Only two he booked in the last ten mins were reluctant bookings as his lino had to instruct him.
20/09/2015, 9:48 PM
We were vocal but we had to be. Going mad as he refused to book players. Loads of frees, no bookings. Only two he booked in the last ten mins were reluctant bookings as his lino had to instruct him.
There was about six fouls in the entire game. Bray had 90% of the ball so they can hardly have been committing that many fouls.
20/09/2015, 9:55 PM
Yea that was the first twenty mins of the game. Ive said it all ready ill say it again, Mathews is a dodgy official
20/09/2015, 10:08 PM
Maybe he is, but he was alright yesterday. Possibly should have booked Clarke for going down in the box (not sure if it was a dive or he was just looking to go down) but apart from that was OK. Did seem a bit cowed by the Limerick fans and changed his mind a couple of times alright.
20/09/2015, 10:28 PM
Nicely worded but I aint swallowing it. The nailed on pen (theres a vid going around) your looking for clarke to be booked???? He (mathews) was ****e yesterday, total ****e. As I said about the two bookings he did give, he had to be told by his lino to book the players. (Right full cought the ball, cassidy tripping tracy) bray quickly tried to sub cassidy to avoid being booked)
6 fouls in the whole game......hmmmm
20/09/2015, 10:34 PM
Ah look, I'll take it back if the video proves me wrong, but I didn't think it was close to the penalty. He missed the foul for the one he booked Barker, but he called Cassidy himself. Casso was trying to ignore him to see if he could get away with it but it didn't work.
20/09/2015, 10:51 PM
Yep evidence is a bit ch. Cassidy as captain also advised Mathews not to book players throughout the game. Bray owned the ball for the first 20 mins of the game, limerick owned it for a 20 min period in the second half, cherry pulled off two smart saves, third goal never came we cant defend so a draw was always on the cards.
20/09/2015, 10:55 PM
So you're saying the ref was taking tips from Casso now? Good grief. Bray dominated the ball the entire first half and most of the second. Limerick looked tired, but credit to them they did more with the ball and Bray were lucky to get a point.
WoodquayBoy
20/09/2015, 11:47 PM
I'd be worried about us after losing cup final on Saturday night. Can see a bit of a hammering in Tallaght on Friday, but then come 2 games that could make or break us - Sligo at home followed by Limerick at home. Our last 3 games are Dundalk (away), Bray (away) and Pats (home), think we are looking at 2 points at best from that trio, so really need 4 points from games against Sligo and Limerick. And our home form stinks.
bluewhitearmy
21/09/2015, 12:58 AM
Maybe he is, but he was alright yesterday. Possibly should have booked Clarke for going down in the box (not sure if it was a dive or he was just looking to go down) but apart from that was OK. Did seem a bit cowed by the Limerick fans and changed his mind a couple of times alright.
People get booked for being fouled now? Mick Cooke said after the game it was a stonewall pen.
Im not one for ever really having a go at refs but he was terrible left as many decisions as he possibly could to linos including a handball that happened in front of him the opposite side of the pitch of the lino he looked at. Even missed a Bray lad basically saving the ball about 5 feet in front of him.
PartySaint
21/09/2015, 7:54 AM
I'd be worried about us after losing cup final on Saturday night. Can see a bit of a hammering in Tallaght on Friday, but then come 2 games that could make or break us - Sligo at home followed by Limerick at home. Our last 3 games are Dundalk (away), Bray (away) and Pats (home), think we are looking at 2 points at best from that trio, so really need 4 points from games against Sligo and Limerick. And our home form stinks.
At this stage of the season there can be loads of mad results. Those last 3 games you mention could be against teams that have nothing to play for so you could pick up 6/7 points. The end of the season can throw up funny results.
21/09/2015, 10:45 AM
Rovers are awful wouldn't fear them at all if I were you.
21/09/2015, 3:23 PM
Ref was very poor in our game but I don't think I'd blame him for the result. The only decision that really cost us was not giving the peno. Other than that we didn't capitalise on the chances we did have. Bray controlled a lot of the game but I think they had about 3 shots on target all game. Cherrie pulled off two top class saves to stop us in the end.
21/09/2015, 10:31 PM
Yep evidence is a bit ch.
Hahaha
21/09/2015, 10:35 PM
That was never a penalty. I'm sorry Limerick fans, but that was as poor a dive as I've seen all year.
21/09/2015, 10:39 PM
Id be a bit more optimistic! The cup game will have little baring on the game in Tallaght, Rovers are vulnerable enough. As said you could have a Dundalk side with little more to play for in the League so a mixing it up of the squad players with the Cup on radar hopefully.
22/09/2015, 11:03 PM
Rovers fell over the line against Bray. Terrible game. Duff looks gassed.
WoodquayBoy
23/09/2015, 10:26 AM
I thank you all for the words of encouragement and reserve the right to hunt you all down should your collective raising of my optimism levels prove incorrect
23/09/2015, 2:44 PM
That was never a penalty. I'm sorry Limerick fans, but that was as poor a dive as I've seen all year.
Agree, well on his way before any contact came. Never a penalty
Ezeikial
23/09/2015, 6:23 PM
It's usually around this time of the season that Stuey Byrne tips Rovers for the league.