View Full Version : Semi final draw
11/09/2015, 10:27 PM
Happy with result but Sheriff made it hard for us on half time! We were superb start of second half as Sheriff had no answer. But Sheriff could have made it 3-2 with that lob in the 2nd half!
Who do ye want in Semi Final? I wouldnt mind getting Bray in semis but would also like to get Dundalk as it was 1972 when we last met in the FAI Cup and we lost 3-0 in Longford Park!
Darklordsbane
11/09/2015, 11:31 PM
Anyone but Derry, I wasn't at the league game in the Brandywell but the reports I got after were that they completely out played and out muscled us,
Dundalk are blowing a bit hot and cold at the moment so it may be a good time to play them
Bray hard to say who would win that game
Cork imo aren't great but Cousins seems to think they are deadly
12/09/2015, 12:00 AM
Anyone but Derry, I wasn't at the league game in the Brandywell but the reports I got after were that they completely out played and out muscled us,
Dundalk are blowing a bit hot and cold at the moment so it may be a good time to play them
Bray hard to say who would win that game
Cork imo aren't great but Cousins seems to think they are deadly
Derry are muck.
Dundalk are miles better than anyone in the league.
Bray are the most improved side in the second half of the season along with Limerick.
Cork are going all out for the cup.
If you have any hope of progression, you'd better pray for Derry at home.
12/09/2015, 12:02 AM
I agree with Nidge, failing that, we just beat Bray at home a few weeks ago, so they'd not be anything to fear either. we've no hope at all against Dundalk or Cork, unless at home and with a whole lot of luck.
12/09/2015, 12:03 AM
Just considered the absolute carnage if we ended up making the final and playing Dundalk in the Aviva.. No sleep tonight.
12/09/2015, 2:05 AM
Derry are muck.
Dundalk are miles better than anyone in the league.
Bray are the most improved side in the second half of the season along with Limerick.
Cork are going all out for the cup.
Derry are muck but McEleney and Timlin are as good as any player in this league. If Derry are even playing half-decent those two are capable of beating anyone. Problem is Hutton's not a very good coach.
12/09/2015, 6:39 AM
Bray at home no question
12/09/2015, 7:29 AM
Totally agree, I really wouldn't want to get drawn against Bray who've we've taken 9 points off this season without conceding a goal. We wouldn't have a hope of progression there.
Darklordsbane
12/09/2015, 8:21 AM
Derry
beat Galway so did Longford,
lost to Dundalk so did Longford,
drew with Sligo so did Longford,
beat Drogheda so did Longford,
beat Sligo Longford drew
drew with Shamrock rovers Longford lost,
drew with Bray Longford won,
beat Limerick Longford drew,
lost to Shamrock rovers so did Longford,
drew with Sligo Longford lost,
drew with Drogheda Longford won
drew with Limerick Longford won
beat Saint Pats Longford lost
over those same games they got 21 points Longford got 19, if they are MUCK what does that make us
yes the league position doesn't lie but I wouldn't be thinking it will be a handy semi final
12/09/2015, 9:18 AM
I really hope you get Bray and get beat now. :)
12/09/2015, 11:05 AM
Derry
beat Galway so did Longford,
drew with Sligo so did Longford,
beat Drogheda so did Longford,
beat Sligo Longford drew
drew with Shamrock rovers Longford lost,
drew with Bray Longford won,
beat Limerick Longford drew,
lost to Shamrock rovers so did Longford,
drew with Sligo Longford lost,
drew with Drogheda Longford won
drew with Limerick Longford won
beat Saint Pats Longford lost
over those same games they got 21 points Longford got 19, if they are MUCK what does that make us
yes the league position doesn't lie but I wouldn't be thinking it will be a handy semi final
There is no handy semi final, we're **** too.
We've had just about the kindest draw anyone could ever have dreamt of so far. Bray/Derry are the weaker clubs left in the draw excluding ourselves so of course we want one of them. If we make a final, you'd then want to play anyone but Dundalk. Playing them on a huge pitch would result in us being embarrassed more than likely.
I'm pretty happy we made it this far, anything else will be a bonus, but I would be bitterly disappointed, if we draw Derry/Bray and didn't make a final in the end.
12/09/2015, 11:18 AM
I really hope you get Bray and get beat now. :)
You seem to be in our section more than the harps one these days. Shall I send you out a supporters club membership form nidge?
14/09/2015, 4:55 PM
You seem to be in our section more than the harps one these days. Shall I send you out a supporters club membership form nidge?
That'd be funny if our forum was here. Luckily, we've enough fans to have our own forum. :ball:
14/09/2015, 8:48 PM
That'd be funny if our forum was here. Luckily, we've enough fans to have our own forum. :ball:
musnt be much of a forum 😂
14/09/2015, 10:47 PM
Has it's moments in fairness. But you'll get that when you have a decent number of people on there.
15/09/2015, 10:43 AM
You both need to up your game chaps, this is cat.
16/09/2015, 3:35 PM
You both need to up your game chaps, this is cat.
In fairness. I've only got one argument to stick to.
http://www.whtimes.co.uk/polopoly_fs/1.3890902!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_490/image.jpg
Darklordsbane
01/10/2015, 10:36 PM
If anyone is thinking of having a bet on the semi final here are the best prices afaik
Longford are 20/1 to beat Dundalk with Corals, a draw is 15/2 with Paddy Power, Dundalk are 1/5 on Betfair
02/10/2015, 1:31 AM
Can I place a bet on everyone just having a good time? #ClassicSimpsons
02/10/2015, 7:12 AM
That's about the only thing I'd bet on as long as they look after Marty at the shop. That or Dundalk -2 or -3. We got our bit of good fortune against them the last time.
I wouldn't have bet on me every going back to that dump after the treatment the last time, but I got my ticket on Saturday. Must be the magic of the cup...
02/10/2015, 11:33 PM
I wouldn't have bet on me every going back to that dump after the treatment the last time, but I got my ticket on Saturday. Must be the magic of the cup...
Bet you regret it even more know, disgraceful stewarding up there tonight
03/10/2015, 11:06 AM
Had a bit of a rant in the main forums, so won't bother doing it here too, I'm just so very disappointed by a number of things.
We can not afford to lose to Sligo..
I see Limerick beating Galway at the weekend.
03/10/2015, 12:18 PM
I've no doubt in my mind we will lose to Sligo, you can't make the same mistakes every week, basic ones like how to retain possession from a fecking throw in and expect to stay in the top flight. If we go down he has to go, simple as that.
03/10/2015, 12:27 PM
One year to the day since we got promoted. It's been a depressing second half of the year.
Bet you regret it even more know, disgraceful stewarding up there tonight
I had no run ins with stewards this time - we were told we were being kept in, so didn't bother heading over to the exit until it was open, so missed the flare(!) up over there. The lads at the start knew the chance they were taking. Except for the football, I found it a lot less stressful than my previous trips!
03/10/2015, 5:14 PM
I had no run ins with stewards this time - we were told we were being kept in, so didn't bother heading over to the exit until it was open, so missed the flare(!) up over there. The lads at the start knew the chance they were taking. Except for the football, I found it a lot less stressful than my previous trips!
Agree with most of what you have said there but we were told 5 minutes and we were held back nearly 15, hence why people became frustrated. The incident with the flare was stupid as he was told not to let it off but for the steward to grab it from his hand and pull it across the face of people trying to stay out of the way was extremely wreck less and that's where the whole issue arose from. Dundalk need to take a serious look at their set up there. I nearly broke my leg up there the first time because the stupid C you next Tuesday of a steward swung one of the fences back on me trying to keep people back, they really don't use their heads up there at all.
03/10/2015, 8:39 PM
I am not as annoyed with that incident after the final whistle. I was in the shopping centre at the lotto desk earlier today and one person told me what Stewie Byrne said in the analysis afterwards! apparently longford town players were joking and laughing with dundalk players after the final whistle. eh what about feeling disappointed and depressed after the game?
now that is a disgrace and that is what comes from the management! who ever did this should hang their heads in shame! now that makes me angry and ****ed off!
03/10/2015, 9:29 PM
I am not as annoyed with that incident after the final whistle. I was in the shopping centre at the lotto desk earlier today and one person told me what Stewie Byrne said in the analysis afterwards! apparently longford town players were joking and laughing with dundalk players after the final whistle. eh what about feeling disappointed and depressed after the game?
now that is a disgrace and that is what comes from the management! who ever did this should hang their heads in shame! now that makes me angry and ****ed off!
Sure that's been happening all season the players and management don't for 2 fcks about us. I think everyone here knows I've been ''anti-cousins'' for the majority of his time in charge but when you travel the country, spend countless hours and money supporting the football team the one thing you want to see leaving a match is fight and passion from the players and in almost every defeat/draw this season I've left the ground feeling cheated and unappreciated as a fan and I think if Tony cousins doesn't leave at the end of the season the downward spiral will only continue. This squad needs a major overhaul starting with the manager. Enough is enough.
03/10/2015, 11:21 PM
The cameras showed one player apparently laughing. I won't say who it was because I can't remember 100% if it was him but I think it was. In fairness it was more of a rueful smile than breaking his hole laughing. I don't know if there were more. I'd imagine said player is pis*ed off at being on the bench all season but I wouldn't think that he doesn't give a ****.
Darklordsbane
04/10/2015, 10:15 AM
Cousins can't seem to be able to pick a team for a game or how to use the subs from a tactical point of view,
He knew he had a limited squad and a bench made up of mostly defenders, I think he should have gambled when it went 2 nil,
I believe he should have brought Gorman into the midfield and brought on Rossiter, or Mulhall and moved Havo to centre half, with Salmon on the wing
we would have then had a playmaker in the midfield, Dundalk to my eyes coasted through the game I actually thought Salmon was our best midfielder and was surprised to see him subbed,
I have posted loads of time about the quality of Gormans ability to pick the right pass with the right weight on it and I believe him to be our most creative midfielder and Cousins has turned him into arguably our best defender, also he should be back on free and corner kick taking, he caused havoc last year for the runin
this doesn't mean anything will change at city calling and I haven't given up hope of staying up 29 games 29 points I still think 33 will do but don't know where they will come from
04/10/2015, 7:40 PM
The cameras showed one player apparently laughing. I won't say who it was because I can't remember 100% if it was him but I think it was. In fairness it was more of a rueful smile than breaking his hole laughing. I don't know if there were more. I'd imagine said player is pis*ed off at being on the bench all season but I wouldn't think that he doesn't give a ****.
I saw the rerun of the game last night. the rueful smile was from davy o sullivan I was thinking the same myself but then a clip shows Pat Sullivan and Stephen O Donnell and Pat Sullivan was having an old boys reunion with O Donnell and the pair of them were all smiles. theres a time and place for that! I know that the pair of them used to be teammates at Shamrock Rovers but its no excuse. Its not the first time I have had issues with Pat Sullivan. hes vermin and should be ran out of the club!
04/10/2015, 9:48 PM
Pat Sullivan was our best player on the night to be fair, if he plays like that for the rest of the season he can do what he wants.
Darklordsbane
05/10/2015, 5:47 PM
The first goal hit O Sullivans head if he had jumped up to head it he would have saved it, I know it was a powerful header but with him being our so called experienced defender he should have stopped it, ive no issue with the second goal pure fluke
06/10/2015, 12:21 AM
The first goal hit O Sullivans head if he had jumped up to head it he would have saved it, I know it was a powerful header but with him being our so called experienced defender he should have stopped it, ive no issue with the second goal pure fluke
He did jump the absolute power of the header nearly knocked him off his feet