View Full Version : Cabinteely. Are they bucked.

KeepersBall
03/09/2015, 10:32 PM
Some on here suggesting they are about to pull out of the league.
Is this gossip or are there facts to back it up.
Hope not because Eddie Gormleys a decent man.

ATFC-1887
03/09/2015, 11:17 PM
Can't see how they would be. I would imagine they pay very little, if anything, on wages and they were getting decent enough crowds at their games.

03/09/2015, 11:23 PM
Can't see how they would be. I would imagine they pay very little, if anything, on wages and they were getting decent enough crowds at their games.

Haven't crowds dropped dramatically for them?

Wages I'd imagine wouldn't be a huge cost for them but even outside of that you are probably talking €200,000 to run the team at a guess. A lot of money for a team stepping up. I reckon they said give it a year and we see if it's sustainable.

04/09/2015, 12:17 AM
Far as I'm aware, it's a load of rubbish and they're in it for the long haul. They've a solid base to build on, but they really need to either improve spectator facilities at Stradbrook or have their own ground built.

04/09/2015, 9:17 AM
I haven't seen anything even semi concrete to indicate they're in trouble or considering pulling out.

04/09/2015, 10:55 AM
The only reason they're in the league is to have an under 17s and under 19s team at the top level. That's only started now so they're in the league for another few years anyway

04/09/2015, 5:05 PM
I was going to start a new thread but ye have saved me the bother! I have never seen their ground. If I was to take public transport from city centre how do you get to Stradbrook? I wont see a game but curious to see where pitch is that is all!

KeepersBall
04/09/2015, 6:14 PM
This won't help.
FAI PRESS RELEASE
Friday, 04 September 2015
Cabinteely sanctioned for fielding ineligible player
The FAI Disciplinary Committee has sanctioned Cabinteely for fielding an ineligible player in an SSE Airtricity League First Division match. The club have forfeited the fixture concerned and received a fine.

Cabinteely were found to have played an ineligible player, Dean Ebbe, in their SSE Airtricity League First Division match against UCD on July 31, 2015, which they lost 1-3. In accordance with FAI Rules 88.1 and 127, Cabinteely forfeit the fixture 0-3 with immediate effect and have received a fine of €2,500. The player was found to have breached FAI Rules 33.2 and 44.3 and has received a warning in accordance with FAI Rules 88.5 and 109.

Neither the club nor the player has exercised their right to appeal in this instance.

Louth4sam
04/09/2015, 6:31 PM
I was going to start a new thread but ye have saved me the bother! I have never seen their ground. If I was to take public transport from city centre how do you get to Stradbrook? I wont see a game but curious to see where pitch is that is all!

Marty, Closest bus would be the 46a would drop you less than 10 minutes from the ground. Get off as close to Bakers corner as you can. 4 would drop you about 10 minutes away. Dart would be a good 30 minute walk

04/09/2015, 8:48 PM
Marty, Closest bus would be the 46a would drop you less than 10 minutes from the ground. Get off as close to Bakers corner as you can. 4 would drop you about 10 minutes away. Dart would be a good 30 minute walk
4 goes closer I'm fairly sure.

Captain2007
04/09/2015, 9:31 PM

15 minute brisk walk from Blackrock dart station...:o

04/09/2015, 9:56 PM
Seapoint or Salthill + Monkstown are closer.

wonder88
05/09/2015, 12:06 AM
I got the Dart when there for LC game over Easter. Nice walk to station if weather is dry and there is something great about taking the train to go to a soccer match.

KeepersBall
05/09/2015, 3:02 PM
I got the Dart when there for LC game over Easter. Nice walk to station if weather is dry and there is something great about taking the train to go to a soccer match.
Grand, I now know how to get to their buckin gaff, but will they be there for me to go and see next season.

05/09/2015, 3:22 PM
Grand, I now know how to get to their buckin gaff, but will they be there for me to go and see next season.
You're the main man with all the info:confused:,you tell us?

gufcfan
08/09/2015, 11:25 AM
The only reason they're in the league is to have an under 17s and under 19s
So you're saying they're only here to get to the kids?

08/09/2015, 11:37 AM
Keep the kids. Important enough distinction.

vinnie
08/09/2015, 1:59 PM
4 goes closer I'm fairly sure.

4 leaves you about 3 mins walk from ground

KK77
09/09/2015, 10:42 AM
45 also another option.

09/09/2015, 10:56 AM
It would be, if it hadn't been scrapped a few years back.

KK77
09/09/2015, 11:19 AM
It would be, if it hadn't been scrapped a few years back.

Cheers didn't know that obviously!