View Full Version : Chris Forrester

Pages : 1 2 [3]

03/01/2017, 4:10 PM
CTP didnt have you down as a Pantera fan, nor you SkStu. A minute a lone with someone can give you a lot of insight into that person, rather than casting a shadow.

Ive mellowed out a lot over the years Paul, even though a couple of posters on here might accuse me of being f*cking hostile.

CraftyToePoke
04/01/2017, 1:39 AM
even though a couple of posters on here might accuse me of being f*cking hostile.

Are you talking to me ?

05/01/2017, 12:41 PM
Are you talking to me ?

No way PUNK!

05/01/2017, 1:19 PM
Respect. Didn't have ye down for that.

Will Chris forresters chances get pushed down now with Hourihane and a couple of others. Another lad who could do with a division jump or 2.

CraftyToePoke
05/01/2017, 1:32 PM
Yeah, his stock has held but others have risen more so I would say as well chosen as his move choice was, he would do himself no harm by moving to an established club at the level above now if he can.

Peterborough are saying they need to sell to buy in the window but that he wont be sold. Fans around here are asking if that's the case where the money for the striker that wasn't spent in the summer has gone then, when no striker arrived despite several reported bids. They also handled the ticketing for the Chelsea match very badly whereby anyone who attended the Notts County replay could buy four tickets, but ST holders weren't looked after as priority at all and they are not happy over it. Some I know stayed away last week, lads who go every week. But the club just took the sales, and didn't think of who too much.

He can be the best player here for as long as he likes, but they look like coming up short of L1 play offs or play offs at best again to me & he can play higher & should.

Olé Olé
05/01/2017, 3:46 PM
In relation to all of the speculation on Forrest and not that I've seen much of Forrester (aside from FA Cup matches, to be honest) but given that he hadn't much experience playing in the middle of the park in this more defensive role, it might not do him any harm to finish off the season at Peterborough. He just turned 24 and he'll be 24 when next season starts. Cutting his teeth here and finishing out his first proper season which was complimented by a full pre-season etc. might be of use to him going forward. Whilst he has the ball-playing traits required for such a position (close control, passing, vision and overall calmness in possession), he'll come up against different attacking formations as he moves up the ranks (not to mention better attacking players). Jumping ship at this point in the season isn't a necessity for him, or is it?

05/01/2017, 4:34 PM
Last season was his first proper season - he's been there 18 months.

05/01/2017, 4:53 PM
Ive mellowed out a lot over the years Paul, even though a couple of posters on here might accuse me of being f*cking hostile.

Mellowed you say?
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/north-america/irish-partner-in-canadian-pub-accused-of-smashing-vehicle-through-front-door-of-nearby-bank-35344637.html

05/01/2017, 5:10 PM
Mellowed you say?
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/north-america/irish-partner-in-canadian-pub-accused-of-smashing-vehicle-through-front-door-of-nearby-bank-35344637.html

i know, i mentioned it in the off topic thread. Unreal eh? Know him very well. Looper!!

Olé Olé
05/01/2017, 5:22 PM
Last season was his first proper season - he's been there 18 months.

I meant one which included a pre-season (even if that's not exactly part of a proper season). And he signed on August 29th. That was the day of their 5th league match of the season.

05/01/2017, 5:28 PM
Fair enough, but I think you're attaching too much importance to pre-season. He's had a season and a half of football there already.

05/01/2017, 6:24 PM
Fair enough, but I think you're attaching too much importance to pre-season. He's had a season and a half of football there already.

They don't do pre-season at Pat's.

08/01/2017, 3:56 PM
Independent claims that Norwich and West Brom are looking at him: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-hope-forrester-determined-to-pass-chelsea-test-35349382.html

It is telling that West Brom will actually be one of a few clubs watching Forrester today, along with Norwich City.

CraftyToePoke
08/01/2017, 4:25 PM
I wonder if they will chip in for his taxi back to the pitch after the Chelsea opener ? :)

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/01/2017, 7:58 PM
Peterborough Chairman believes Forrester can replicate Dele Alli's success; has no immediate plans to sell.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/peterborough-chairman-places-a-lavish-price-tag-on-dubliner-chris-forrester-35352783.html

21/01/2017, 3:09 PM
Goal for Git Forrester just after half time

Goal!
Posted at 46'
Goal! Swindon Town 0, Peterborough United 1. Chris Forrester (Peterborough United) right footed shot from the right side of the box to the bottom left corner. Assisted by Lee Angol.

CraftyToePoke
18/02/2017, 8:27 PM
Made it to 90 at 0-0 but the following injury time today saw red for him as things got heated over a corner being awarded and scored direct by an ex Peterborough player. And another goal on 90+7. Eventful and emotional.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/38940255

TheOneWhoKnocks
06/03/2017, 9:14 AM
Recent loss of form attributed to personal problems.

http://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/football/posh/match-preview-mccann-expects-to-see-the-best-of-forrester-1-7848724

06/03/2017, 9:59 AM
If you've no link to back that up, then you should be deleting the post.

DannyInvincible
02/06/2017, 1:01 PM
Peterborough boss Grant McCann says Forrester was relieved of captaincy duties as the role overwhelmed him after Christmas: http://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/football/posh/player-interview-captaincy-will-make-jack-a-better-player-1-7989110

I spoke to Chris and I just want him to concentrate on his game. I think the captaincy probably got on top of him from Christmas onwards and he would probably agree with that.

CraftyToePoke
12/09/2017, 9:43 PM
First start of the season tonight, minutes from the bench have even been scarce, but a 2-0 home win and his side move back into the automatic promotion spots. He needed that. They have Oldham at home soon, I might be tempted.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41156405

CraftyToePoke
06/05/2018, 11:20 PM
Hasn't made the clearout cut under the new manager today - https://www.theposh.com/news/2018/may/2017-2018-retained-list/
Available immediately for transfer presently, but still contracted. After the Championship interest and the chairman having to calm the natives down with promises he was not about to be sold, only three windows ago it's a fair drop in his stock since. The club does / did have a a policy of all players in their last year going on the list, so maybe a it of hope, but he has work to do, he was in and out of the side since Christmas with the midfield as a whole constantly rejigged and constantly criticised.

07/05/2018, 5:17 AM
‘In respect of those players placed on the immediate transfer list, each decision has been taken with a real duty of care. They are not part of my plans for next season so it is in the best interests of everyone if they move on
Fairly blunt unfortunately

CraftyToePoke
08/05/2018, 1:47 AM
Bit more coming out today.

Putting Chris Forrester on the list is really disappointing. He’s a player I watched rip West Brom apart in the FA Cup alongside Martin Samuelsen and I felt then he was going to be a top, top player, but he’s struggled for form for a long time now. “I kept picking him when I got here, but Chris admitted he was poor in every game for me.

- https://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/cricket/retained-list-steve-evans-explains-why-peterborough-united-players-have-been-transfer-listed-or-retained-1-8489228

seanfhear
08/05/2018, 9:12 AM
Bit more coming out today.

- https://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/cricket/retained-list-steve-evans-explains-why-peterborough-united-players-have-been-transfer-listed-or-retained-1-8489228
Under those circumstances its almost certainly time to move on .

irishfan86
08/05/2018, 9:22 AM
It certainly makes for interesting reading but odd to see a manager speak so frankly about players he’s set to offload. Hopefully Forrester benefits from a fresh start and a change of scenery.

DeLorean
05/06/2018, 4:35 PM
Signs for Aberdeen on three year deal - https://www.afc.co.uk/2018/06/05/chris-forrester-joins-the-dons/

liamoo11
05/06/2018, 5:42 PM
That's a step up in fairness after a messy season

sidewayspasser
05/06/2018, 6:06 PM
Do Pats get a share of the fee (I assume there is a fee as he still had a year left on his contract)?

CraftyToePoke
06/06/2018, 12:45 AM
A few quotes from the London Road forum tonight on his departure, and his time here. A case of what might have been, but they want it to come good for him elsewhere also, overall.

I hope it does.

Good luck. We'll live to regret this one.

Llttle disappointed about this. Out of the players that have left today, this is the one that has serious potential.

Good luck Chris...not as obvious a step up as LDSL but still a large club in the country...Hope you kick on as the last year and a half has been largely disappointing

At his best,Forrester was magnificent but,as has been said,his form in recent months has been abysmal.
Shame.

good luck Chirs, one his day one he best players I've seen in a posh shirt. shame the last season hasn't really worked. hope we have a good sell on as if he gets back to the player we know he can be he won't be at Aberdeen very long.

Good luck Chris it's obvious the talent is there we've seen it.

It's hard to fathom how he didn't look out of place against Chelsea, but struggled against the dross in League One. If they can get the best out of him, it'll be a great signing.

Thought he was destined for the top, but he might find his way there eventually. Classy player and one of my favourites at posh in recent years. All the best.

All here - https://londonroad.net/Forum/showthread.php?tid=15014

zero
22/01/2019, 2:25 PM
Aberdeen agreed to cancel his contract for personal reasons.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/weve-allowed-him-to-be-back-with-his-family-in-ireland-aberdeen-agree-to-terminate-chris-forresters-contract-37737161.html