View Full Version : paul keegan gone

11/12/2004, 8:22 AM
Eyes nearly fell out when i read the irish sun today! Hes gone to scotland for personal reasons and they hope to work out a loan deal for him with a scottish club! Matthews hopes he returns for the start of the season!

11/12/2004, 10:00 AM
Eyes nearly fell out when i read the irish sun today! Hes gone to scotland for personal reasons and they hope to work out a loan deal for him with a scottish club! Matthews hopes he returns for the start of the season!

Could the loan be for financial reasons? :confused:

11/12/2004, 11:27 AM
always possible but from what Matthews said he did hope Paul would be back soon! He has gone back to Scotland with his fiance for personal reasons! could be anything

11/12/2004, 11:50 AM
Paul's father-in-law to be is seriously ill in Scotland so his fiancee wants to be near him. He's training with Airdrie next week and he's hopeful of a loan deal. Not sure when he'd be back, depends on his father-in-law's health I'd say

gheewhizz
11/12/2004, 12:16 PM
Can comfirm what Longfordian said is true.

11/12/2004, 1:14 PM
Thanks gheewhizz ;) ..

RockofGibraltar
11/12/2004, 1:47 PM
good riddance to him, the guy is useless at football..couldnt hit a barn door with a banjo. He's well over the hill. 1 goal a season is pathetic!

RockofGibraltar
11/12/2004, 1:48 PM
sorry 2 goals, still pathetic though!

11/12/2004, 1:52 PM
Well he was injured for a good period of the season. Wish him well rather than slagging him off

Sonic
11/12/2004, 9:50 PM
Sorry Paul on hearing your gone to Scotland following losing your leg through injury which suffered in a goal drought last season for us.
Best of luck

FINAL WORDS
ALAN(the spoon) :D :D

Sonic
11/12/2004, 10:20 PM

Do you want a teabag simple as maz

observer
13/12/2004, 8:58 AM
This is where the loss last year of Seanie Francis will be felt. Cover up front is now very thin. What is the story on Andy Myler? I was told that he would not sign as he had to be guaranteed a starting place. With Paul gone he could nearly get that guarantee now.

13/12/2004, 9:07 AM
What is the story on Andy Myler? I was told that he would not sign as he had to be guaranteed a starting place.

sorry rubbish, he is still under contract at drogs and that is the hold up, anyway alan would not entertain demands like that, why do you think sean francis was let go in such an easy manner.....team player or fcuk off.

13/12/2004, 9:44 AM
This is where the loss last year of Seanie Francis will be felt.
The loss of Seanie was felt last year - look at the terrible return from our strikers. Matthews one big mistake in his time at the club - anyone with eye's could see that we needed a goal scorer on the pitch and I don't blame Seanie for getting píssed off at not getting a fair chance.

On Keegan - on a personal level wouldn't wish that shíte on anyone and I hope it works out for the best.

On a football level, I hope he gets his move to Scotland for the remainder of his contract. I assume a big wage earner, giving little in return.

I doubt any new signing expects a guaranteed first team place - however, it's fair to me for a new signing to ask what his chances are and expect to start off as first choice.

13/12/2004, 10:01 AM
I doubt any new signing expects a guaranteed first team place - however, it's fair to me for a new signing to ask what his chances are and expect to start off as first choice.

i have to say that they must expect to earn a first team place and not be givin it.......

13/12/2004, 10:09 AM
i have to say that they must expect to earn a first team place and not be givin it.......
I think virtually any striker in the premier should expect to get in ahead of our current incumbents....

13/12/2004, 10:22 AM
I think virtually any striker in the premier should expect to get in ahead of our current incumbents....

baker did score 14 last season.........

but barrett was well below par and eric was "missing" for half the season.

13/12/2004, 10:47 AM
baker did score 14 last season.........
He wasn't a striker for a lot of the season though....

13/12/2004, 10:48 AM
[QUOTE=max power]
but barrett was well below par [QUOTE]

nice polite way of puttin it! lets hope there is a major improvement for the next 2 seasons!! and i do mean MAJOR

13/12/2004, 3:58 PM
If things work out for him I doubt he'll be back to us. I'll stick my neck out and say that based on what I've heard, Myler is 90% certain to be with us next year, along with O'Connor and Cronin and possibly Mark O'Brien

Sonic
13/12/2004, 9:19 PM
nice polite way of puttin it! lets hope there is a major improvement for the next 2 seasons!! and i do mean MAJOR

Shane is always going to be better then sean francis simple as maz.that paceless prik :mad:

14/12/2004, 7:49 AM
Shane is always going to be better then sean francis simple as maz.that paceless prik :mad:

Yeah his record so far proves that! :rolleyes:
Not.............simple as sonic!

Flea
16/12/2004, 6:51 PM
Stop banging on about Sean Francis- the first games he played, he was crap, we paid 10000 for him and got none of it back(indirectly yes by him scoring goals), get a grip yee are like auld men nostalging over the good old days, whenever the hell they were, hes gone and yes he was good but to listen to yee ye would think he was De Stefano himself! :cool:

16/12/2004, 7:04 PM
Just to point out that Baker got as many goals this past season as Francis got the season before. He did a job for us and fair play to him but he wasn't/isn't irreplaceable

Enda M
16/12/2004, 8:45 PM
lads

get a grip sean francis despite how many goals he got did not recoup the 10000 yoyos we paid for him.he may have scored more goals then any1 else but then again wasnt that his job

RockofGibraltar
17/12/2004, 1:16 PM
Enda M what are you talking about. Sean Francis was a great player..all de vital goals he scored

17/12/2004, 1:40 PM
Just to point out that Baker got as many goals this past season as Francis got the season before. He did a job for us and fair play to him but he wasn't/isn't irreplaceable
Compared to how many starts that Seanie got? I don't want to make it a bigger issue than it is, but people writing him off is just ridiculous. We would've had a far better goals for record last season with him in the team (especially playing off someone like baker). Seanie was a goal scorer, just the same as Myler, but goal scorers can't score if they're not bloody played.

Xlex
17/12/2004, 1:43 PM
get a grip sean francis despite how many goals he got did not recoup the 10000 yoyos we paid for him.he may have scored more goals then any1 else but then again wasnt that his job
If right was right, Eric Lavine should have either walked before Francis or with him. Lavine didn't get first team football for ages, and he sat on his arse collecting his wages. Francis asked for a transfer. I wouldn't consider Baker's scoring run as a reason for Francis bashers to justify Francis' move because Baker and Francis could have been the rightful partnership up front. credit to an honest man who did an honest job unlike that pretender Lavine who is up the town supporters ass. Have we recouped the wages we paid Lavine?

Whats that guys net contribution to LTFC.

Xlex
17/12/2004, 1:56 PM
further to that. Baker scored 14 odd goals.

would have been nice if we didn't witness the countless acts of petulance, the care Matthews has to take of him and the fact he went missing in the latter of the season.

Take his form after his hattrick... poor...

Albert
17/12/2004, 4:19 PM
In a season where we didnt score goals at all, Bakers 14 was fairly impressive, added to the fact that he is a constant threat and is one of the few who likes to run at defences. I would love to have seen baker and Francis together, Seanie was fantastic but hes gone and get over it. People love t knock Dessie, but for my money, hes oodles of talent and as for petulence if its only with opposing fans then Im happy. givehim a break he was a great addition to the squad, take away that hattrick and you are still left with 11 goals and if anybody else had scored them we'd be raving about them.

Sonic
17/12/2004, 10:04 PM
If right was right, Eric Lavine should have either walked before Francis or with him. Lavine didn't get first team football for ages, and he sat on his arse collecting his wages. Francis asked for a transfer. I wouldn't consider Baker's scoring run as a reason for Francis bashers to justify Francis' move because Baker and Francis could have been the rightful partnership up front. credit to an honest man who did an honest job unlike that pretender Lavine who is up the town supporters ass. Have we recouped the wages we paid Lavine?

Whats that guys net contribution to LTFC.

Xlex lets face it your talking through the longford town supporters ass.Maybe you werent in Ballybofey a couple of years ago when he scored possibly the best and certainly the most important goal ever that kept us in the league.We have more than recouped the wages for him he is a provider of goals and his workrate is phenominal.Baker should stick to crusting that bread and sean FANcis was the benefactor of such excellent service by Eric.

Enda M
17/12/2004, 10:06 PM
Enda M what are you talking about. Sean Francis was a great player..all de vital goals he scored

Yes Harry you are right as usual :p

Xlex
18/12/2004, 10:11 AM
what's the point. You either believe he's doing enough or you don't. This season was probably his most consistant so I'm hardly justifying my comments. What I meant about his net contribution was that since he joined us, how much of that time has he been ill prepared to play ball, how much time did he spend acting the git as oppossed to giving it the best for LTFC. His goal in Ballybofey was probably during one of those periods. That's all. Do you think it's unfair to remember that as a striker he wouldn't hit a barndoor with a shovel?

Baker going forward is a gem, its the baker, who doesn't workhard when things aren't going his way. He could have had 20 goals had he had a good full season but he lived of the hattrick and his end of season was very poor.

Flea
18/12/2004, 3:52 PM

Exactly, no player is irreplaceable(bar Dillo), but he did well. It sounds to me that Eric's committment is now being called into question. I'm a big Eric fan based solely on the effort he gives every game, hes past his best but was still one of our most important players last season giving it his all. I have however, doubts about Baker's long term commitment, jumping around like your off your head for the club after winning the cup isn't commitment. As for Sean Francis personally for himself he was right to transfer, but did no one ever tell him when you are not getting playing you fight even harder for your place and eventually it will come up and then you can easily prove your worth. The bottom line is that is easy to knock Eric cos Francis is gone, and Baker scored goals. P.s Eric is not a striker he is a forward, which is different altogether. Even years ago when he was at his peak he was still in single digit figures.As already stated we would not have premier division status let alone two cups without him.

Sonic
19/12/2004, 3:37 PM
Exactly my point Flea. :)

20/12/2004, 8:22 AM
As already stated we would not have premier division status let alone two cups without him.
LOL, so eric deserves the credit for the two cup wins and Seanie deserves nothing. I think Keegan should get a 5 year contract so he can fleece the club on the basis of one goal - who cares about how shíte he is for all but a few weeks of the season...

Flea
21/12/2004, 12:21 AM
LOL, so eric deserves the credit for the two cup wins and Seanie deserves nothingStop and read the line again. If eric hadn't scored in Ballybofey we would have been relegated thereby the 'good' team disbanding, i.e a crap team we thus would have thereby incapable of winning two cups. P.S Yes I'd give Seanie credit, his goal in the first one :cool: and his psycological support really aided us for the second one :rolleyes:

21/12/2004, 7:08 AM
P.S Yes I'd give Seanie credit, his goal in the first one :cool: and his psycological support really aided us for the second one :rolleyes:
Or his goal in the semi to get us to the final. Good on eric for scoring in Ballybofey, but ffs that was 3 seasons ago. Are we going to keep him at the club forever even though he doesn't perform on the basis on that goal? Suppose we should never have got rid of Coleman or McNally either?

Enda M
29/12/2004, 4:15 PM
Or his goal in the semi to get us to the final. Good on eric for scoring in Ballybofey, but ffs that was 3 seasons ago. Are we going to keep him at the club forever even though he doesn't perform on the basis on that goal? Suppose we should never have got rid of Coleman or McNally either?

yes 3 seasons ago but seanies goals were 2 seasons ago what is your point.they both as important as each other for entirely different reasons.

Sonic
29/12/2004, 4:25 PM
yo yo have a cup of coco :ball:

07/01/2005, 2:50 PM
see in todays star that keego looks like he will leave us for partick thistle. partick have appointed a new boss and keegan has one year on his contract left with us. if he leaves us matthews will try to sign peter hynes(6foot! NOT 6 FEET!) dublin city striker. :o

07/01/2005, 2:55 PM
Eh..it is 6 feet marty :confused: ..Hope Keegan gets fixed up alright, still not sure we need to have possibly five strikers, unless he's considering Barrett a winger/striker

09/01/2005, 10:30 PM
longfordian,

i know it is 6 feet in the article just an awful typing error! :eek:

10/01/2005, 1:21 AM
Fair enough, didn't know what you were on about on first reading..

22/01/2005, 2:49 PM
see in todays paper that keegos trial period with partick is over. partick has declined the chance to sign for him and it looks like he will be on his way back to longford town in the next week or so for preseason training. with dessie,avril,barrett and myler there will there room for keego next season?

22/01/2005, 4:07 PM
He doesn't really want to come back to Ireland and we don't really need him back so maybe he'll get sorted with some other team but he only has until the 31st of January to do so or he's back to us

16/02/2005, 4:39 PM
todays mirror feb16th 05

longford town striker paul keegan will see out his contract at flancare park this season.

keegan originally wanted to move to scotland for personal reasons but after trials with partick,clyde,ayr and airdire he returned home.

back with town, who he scored the winning goal in last seasons fai cup final, he is keen to resurrect his career in the eircom league.

meanwhile town officials are confident that they will meet the fais licensing commitees standards this week after failing to obtain their a licence last friday.

a spokesman said" we are getting the documentation ready. it will be done"