View Full Version : LOI Fixtures 7th/8th August 2015
08/08/2015, 9:12 PM
I'm not sure we're in great form but last night's result should give us a bit of a lift. We're better at home too.
oriel
08/08/2015, 10:04 PM
Delighted with the 3 points tonight. Another marky special free kick did Sligo not see his goal last week? The long journey home won't be as bad now. 4 points behind now
Cork still 11/2 with PP, have a bet on the way home, decent price.
08/08/2015, 10:14 PM
Should have invited Mr Tayto as a special guest!! Free ticket with every packet of Tayto for a draw to win entry to Tayto Park - just for the Longford contingent mind!
Mr Tayto has a long-term association with Drogheda, being a Navan man himself.
Full credit to Pats for Friday. They are all the things Rovers aren't at the minute, and Fenlon really needs to trust his younger, better players than the likes of Brennan. We actually looked better when we went 4-4-2 but that's depressing in itself.
paykanti
08/08/2015, 10:49 PM
Mark Timlin, there's a story.
red bellied
08/08/2015, 11:39 PM
Delighted with the 3 points tonight. Another marky special free kick did Sligo not see his goal last week? The long journey home won't be as bad now. 4 points behind now
We had Brush in goals, did you not see that?
08/08/2015, 11:46 PM
Longford - Limerick in 2 weeks is going to be some craic. Tonight was just completely mad, best 2nd half of entertainment I've seen in a long time.
09/08/2015, 12:03 AM
Absolute cracker in the Markets Field.
Limerick take the lead, then Bohs equaliser, then a penalty and red card against Limerick, 2-1 down. Dominate the game. Russell jnr a controversial figure amoungst the fans comes on and scores a screamer. Bohs sucker 10 man Limerick with a 3rd. Then we go up and make it 3-3. Clarke then puts on the after burners like he had all night, skins the Bohs defender and wins a penalty. Tracey takes the penalty, it hits the post, off the back of the goal keeper and into the net. Bohs then take over with 10 man Limerick holding on trying to break on Bohs just doing enough to get over the line.
patrickccfc
09/08/2015, 12:36 AM
Cork still 11/2 with PP, have a bet on the way home, decent price.
wouldn't be a betting man at all now. Only ever placed one bet in my life
patrickccfc
09/08/2015, 12:38 AM
We had Brush in goals, did you not see that?
Honestly, no I didn't know who was in goals For ye
Dalymountrower
09/08/2015, 7:31 AM
Limerick wanted it more last night , a deserved win.
Boh's in free fall.
Comic Book Guy
09/08/2015, 9:33 AM
Very entertaining game in Cobh last night. 2-2. Steven Kenny (no, the other one) scored a brilliant individual goal to make it 2-2.
Both keepers made some great saves.
Good advert for the first.
09/08/2015, 3:21 PM
Mr Tayto has a long-term association with Drogheda, being a Navan man himself.
I was thinking of Potato Mr Tayto, everyones friend - would have been funny having him sit in with the Longford fans dishing out packets of Tayto!
redobit
09/08/2015, 6:00 PM
Honestly, no I didn't know who was in goals For yeanother keeper would have thrown his cap on it, it wasn't a great shot. Our keeper just happens to be useless. I thought we were worthy of a draw at least and were the better team up until they scored. Over 1,500 at the game. Not bad for a team second from bottom and not expected to take anything out of the game.
We were wondering about that - I think the guy playing was the sub keeper anyway? We decided there was a sub sub keeper on the bench, but completely inexperienced, but even then weren't sure, so you could be right.
The second goal in particular would have been saved by a fit keeper.
Our first choice Matt Connor picked up an injury in training a day or two before the Cobh game I think, Birdsall would be the back up all things being equal. The sub netminder on the bench was our U19 keeper for the new season, Matt Sheehan, so no experience at all, but he still should have replaced the clearly crocked Birds. I think in that last sentence you could replace 'fit keeper' with 'traffic cone' and it would still be true.
Last time against ye (at the RSC) we had great protection for our full backs on the flanks that you couldn't seem to get to grips with (particularly Glenn Hawe), but we didn't have the personnel on Friday, and it showed, especially down our right / your left, where McLaughlin and Doyle (I think) gave Dean Reidy a torrid time. Deano actually did well going forward, as did a few of our lads at times, though the lack of a striker is killing us all season, more than any other single thing IMO.
11/08/2015, 11:00 AM
Derry have requested a change to their kick off time on Friday due to a clash with the Man United game. Bit late now I'd have thought.
Yossarian
11/08/2015, 11:26 AM
Derry have requested a change to their kick off time on Friday due to a clash with the Man United game. Bit late now I'd have thought.
So by moving the game from Friday it would then be a midweek fixture, which always have reduced attendances. Perfect logic there. The Derry chairman then goes through the days and says it'll be difficult to get a slot for LoI games. Maybe we should all just give it up then.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0811/720527-derry-city-concerned-by-premier-league-clash/
11/08/2015, 11:51 AM
No they want to kick off earlier on Friday I think
mcgonigle
11/08/2015, 11:54 AM
I certainly hope this is rejected, it's hard enough to get to Derry for 7:45 on a Friday, any earlier would be a disaster.
It's starting to sound like Derry don't want any away fans to attend, maybe it's a ploy? Between this and advising supporters buses not to travel as they cannot guarantee their safety a few hundred meters from their ground!!
dundalkfc10
11/08/2015, 12:07 PM
I certainly hope this is rejected, it's hard enough to get to Derry for 7:45 on a Friday, any earlier would be a disaster.
It's starting to sound like Derry don't want any away fans to attend, maybe it's a ploy? Between this and advising supporters buses not to travel as they cannot guarantee their safety a few hundred meters from their ground!!
Their is no buses going from Dundalk Friday anyway. 3 of the main bus companies, and 1 lad who has his own Mini Bus have all told us they would not be taking us or anyone to Derry Friday.
I know the ShedBoys even rang companies in Newry who said No
The game should still not be changed! This Man Utd fixture was made a good 2 months away...Why not request this ages ago?
Yossarian
11/08/2015, 12:26 PM
No they want to kick off earlier on Friday I think
That would result in a reduced attendance aswell I'd imagine. It would reduce the away contingent and I'd say a few home fans wouldn't make it if it was brought forward a couple of hours.
dundalkfc10
11/08/2015, 12:49 PM
That would result in a reduced attendance aswell I'd imagine. It would reduce the away contingent and I'd say a few home fans wouldn't make it if it was brought forward a couple of hours.
I doubt we will have 50 fans whether its on 5pm, 7.45pm even Saturday. Only people going to go are those driving and I know a few who would usually drive and have said they are not risking it.
Very bizzare that after all the issues the last 2 days with their chairman saying he cant guarantee our fans safety etc... outside the ground, They now want to change the game!
I know its hypotetical but if we were ever to play Derry away in the Semi Final of the FAI Cup (or League Cup final) Would the FAI/Sponsors be happy that basically no away fans would be in the ground?
Its a crazy siuation. As someone said on twitter, us Dundalk fans have been safer playing Linfield/Glentoran/Coleraine away than Derry! They are a strange bunch on the Bogside
mcgonigle
11/08/2015, 12:59 PM
I doubt we will have 50 fans whether its on 5pm, 7.45pm even Saturday. Only people going to go are those driving and I know a few who would usually drive and have said they are not risking it.
Very bizzare that after all the issues the last 2 days with their chairman saying he cant guarantee our fans safety etc... outside the ground, They now want to change the game!
I know its hypotetical but if we were ever to play Derry away in the Semi Final of the FAI Cup (or League Cup final) Would the FAI/Sponsors be happy that basically no away fans would be in the ground?
Its a crazy siuation. As someone said on twitter, us Dundalk fans have been safer playing Linfield/Glentoran/Coleraine away than Derry! They are a strange bunch on the Bogside
While we will now have a small number attending the game an earlier ko would affect fans further including myself, now it won't be hundreds (these have already been affected by the bus debacle) but it'll still be a few more knocked off the support.
It's a terrible situation that Derry cannot get this issue sorted. As much as I like Derry and their genuine fans you meet in the Brandywell, if they cannot guarantee away supporters safety in and around their ground then they shouldn't be in LOI football. I know other clubs have had similar issues over the years but they seem to be able to work with the Gardai to resolve these, what is the blocker for Derry working with the PSNI?
Mickey Mouse attitude by Derry looking to re-schedule a time in the week of a match going up against Man United. Dlk played Pats last summer at the exact same time as Spain played Holland in the WC, I think there was over 3k at it too. I cant recall exactly but I think there was a drinks promotion on and highlights in the bar after.
I hate this type of embarrassing stuff by clubs that Derry have looked into, they should be doing more to attract fans full stop never mind panicking over a clash with a match in the Eng Prem Lge (in 3 days time)
This will do nothing but put another negative angle on the league now, it probably won't be granted, but the fact that they went looking..........
dundalkfc10
11/08/2015, 1:28 PM
While we will now have a small number attending the game an earlier ko would affect fans further including myself, now it won't be hundreds (these have already been affected by the bus debacle) but it'll still be a few more knocked off the support.
It's a terrible situation that Derry cannot get this issue sorted. As much as I like Derry and their genuine fans you meet in the Brandywell, if they cannot guarantee away supporters safety in and around their ground then they shouldn't be in LOI football. I know other clubs have had similar issues over the years but they seem to be able to work with the Gardai to resolve these, what is the blocker for Derry working with the PSNI?
I think thats self explantary really. The PSNI dont police the Bogside....As someone said after the last game when our buses got smashed, the only people who can (who these scroutes would listen too) is if the Provo's in the area told them to stop!
As sad as it is in 2015, thats life in certain parts of the North (especially Derry)
Its a pity too as we did have great with the Derry fans in the bars up there before/after games, and vise versa in Oriel
11/08/2015, 1:56 PM
Mickey Mouse attitude by Derry looking to re-schedule a time in the week of a match going up against Man United. Dlk played Pats last summer at the exact same time as Spain played Holland in the WC, I think there was over 3k at it too. I cant recall exactly but I think there was a drinks promotion on and highlights in the bar after.
I hate this type of embarrassing stuff by clubs that Derry have looked into, they should be doing more to attract fans full stop never mind panicking over a clash with a match in the Eng Prem Lge (in 3 days time)
This will do nothing but put another negative angle on the league now, it probably won't be granted, but the fact that they went looking..........
That was Dundalk in Tallaght I think. Or maybe that was another Holland game. One of them was during our Dundalk game anyway.
edit: no, I'm thinking of Cork I think
mcgonigle
11/08/2015, 3:19 PM
I think thats self explantary really. The PSNI dont police the Bogside....As someone said after the last game when our buses got smashed, the only people who can (who these scroutes would listen too) is if the Provo's in the area told them to stop!
As sad as it is in 2015, thats life in certain parts of the North (especially Derry)
Its a pity too as we did have great with the Derry fans in the bars up there before/after games, and vise versa in Oriel
But how is it acceptable that Derry can play in this league without providing any security around their ground while the rest of the teams in the league have to pay hefty fees to have Gardai police both inside and outside their ground? This ah well that's the way it is attitude is not good enough, a lot of genuine fans are going to miss out on travelling to support their team this Friday.
That was Dundalk in Tallaght I think. Or maybe that was another Holland game. One of them was during our Dundalk game anyway.
edit: no, I'm thinking of Cork I think
Def Dlk v Pats last June, 0-0 draw, same night as Spain v Holl as I remember thinking it was a big clash, and watched the WC game in the bar after.
sulywaterfordfc
11/08/2015, 3:30 PM
We were wondering about that - I think the guy playing was the sub keeper anyway? We decided there was a sub sub keeper on the bench, but completely inexperienced, but even then weren't sure, so you could be right.
The second goal in particular would have been saved by a fit keeper.
Listened to an interview last night from after the game Friday. We had to start two players who weren't match fit due to injuries an suspensions (one of which is now out for the season). Matthew Sheehan new U19s keeper (effectively third choice) was on the bench I find it strange why he wasn't brought on at half time as it was evident Birdsall was injured.
On the game itself our defending for the games were pretty poor scored a good goal ourselves. Officials as ever were poor some god awful decisions in the game.
Find it strange why we couldn't register a club youth player for the senior. Not liking how quite the club have been this season.
I'm putting none I've the blame on Roddy it goes a lot deeper
El-Pietro
11/08/2015, 3:43 PM
But how is it acceptable that Derry can play in this league without providing any security around their ground while the rest of the teams in the league have to pay hefty fees to have Gardai police both inside and outside their ground? This ah well that's the way it is attitude is not good enough, a lot of genuine fans are going to miss out on travelling to support their team this Friday.
Ho wis it acceptable that Dundalks away end is uncovered and doesn't offer a full view of the pitch.
You will say "you can pay extra to enter the stand". My response is you can pay extra to park in the car park just off the Strand.
White Horse
11/08/2015, 3:50 PM
Ho wis it acceptable that Dundalks away end is uncovered and doesn't offer a full view of the pitch.
You will say "you can pay extra to enter the stand". My response is you can pay extra to park in the car park just off the Strand.
The same way it is acceptable that Cork put away fans in a section where the seats are falling apart.
11/08/2015, 3:54 PM
Listened to an interview last night from after the game Friday. We had to start two players who weren't match fit due to injuries an suspensions (one of which is now out for the season). Matthew Sheehan new U19s keeper (effectively third choice) was on the bench I find it strange why he wasn't brought on at half time as it was evident Birdsall was injured.
Find it strange why we couldn't register a club youth player for the senior. Not liking how quite the club have been this season.
I'm putting none I've the blame on Roddy it goes a lot deeper
Strange on injuries. I think ye only had four subs - but even if it meant playing them out of position, could they not have been preferred? OK, it might be a mid at full back, but as you say, now you've got another guy out for the season. And ye were going to lose with 8 fit players, so what's the worst that could have happened otherwise?
Have ye got a tiny squad or are ye just unlucky with injuries and stuff?
Hard to blame Roddy too much for the latter as he's only there since what - June? But leaving an injured keeper on the pitch for 75 minutes is baffling.
:rolleyes:Here comes the whataboutery
Dundalk hoping to bring buses to Brandywell.
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-hoping-to-bring-supporters-to-the-brandywell-1-6897588
mcgonigle
11/08/2015, 4:03 PM
No I will say, what a completely ridiculous response, how are the two comparable?
I drive so this stoning of buses is not an issue for me, but you think that the supporters buses should park off the Strand Road and the supporters should walk to the buses after the game? Or maybe they should meet them on the A5?
redobit
11/08/2015, 4:13 PM
The same way it is acceptable that Cork put away fans in a section where the seats are falling apart.
So you're comparing Oriel and Tuners Cross. Good luck with that.
mcgonigle
11/08/2015, 4:20 PM
So you're comparing Oriel and Tuners Cross. Good luck with that.
Well if you can compare an uncovered away section to buses being stoned then why not?
dundalkfc10
11/08/2015, 10:53 PM
Its not acceptable! You cant see the full pitch from the away end in Drogheda (whole sideline, and one corner) Sligo (cant see one corner). Bray have an uncovered terrace, Longford too
None of them have anything he to do with the topic on hand.
If you think not being safe from stones at buses, puts people off going to games on the same level as not being able to see one corner of the pitch or getting a bit wet. you need to have a look at yourself
El-Pietro
11/08/2015, 11:34 PM
I just think its a bit rich Dundalk fans whingeing about us not traveling to Oriel due to the conditions there but then whingeing about the conditions in Derry. Never had any issue myself there either, while I have had golf balls thrown at me in Oriel Park.
Theres plenty of places you could park away from the Brandy if you're concerned, and its a small enough city that you could conceivably park within about 10 or 15 minutes walk easily enough. Possibly even in the stadium itself if they would let ye.
11/08/2015, 11:54 PM
I just think its a bit rich Dundalk fans whingeing about us not traveling to Oriel due to the conditions there but then whingeing about the conditions in Derry. Never had any issue myself there either, while I have had golf balls thrown at me in Oriel Park.
Theres plenty of places you could park away from the Brandy if you're concerned, and its a small enough city that you could conceivably park within about 10 or 15 minutes walk easily enough. Possibly even in the stadium itself if they would let ye.
Look,there are loads of issues with OP,Dundalk fans know that.Nobody is trying to take the upper hand here or sound ****ing rich because even Derry themselves realise that there is a huge security issue involved here.
'Derry City Football Club officials will tomorrow (Wednesday) hold talks with local community groups in a bid to avoid a repeat of the unsavoury incidents experienced earlier in the season'
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/derry-city/derry-city-dundalk-in-discussions-with-derry-in-bid-to-avoid-repeat-of-bus-attacks-1-6897726
You make yourself out on this forum to be a reasonable sort and god knows you're always at the same bull over on OrielWeb but yet here you are resorting to cheap shots at decent Dundalk fans who just want to go to travel to a football match without any hassle !
Do one.
sulywaterfordfc
12/08/2015, 12:15 AM
Strange on injuries. I think ye only had four subs - but even if it meant playing them out of position, could they not have been preferred? OK, it might be a mid at full back, but as you say, now you've got another guy out for the season. And ye were going to lose with 8 fit players, so what's the worst that could have happened otherwise?
Have ye got a tiny squad or are ye just unlucky with injuries and stuff?
Hard to blame Roddy too much for the latter as he's only there since what - June? But leaving an injured keeper on the pitch for 75 minutes is baffling.
Yeah think it was just the four and all of which are U19s if I remember correctly.
Cory Galvin (Winger), Anthony McAalvey (Midfielder), Shaun Corcoran (Left Full) and Matthew Connor (Keeper) were missing for us on Friday. All four would be starters.
We started the season with 30 players and we've released just over half our squad throughout the season due to lack of game time, not been good enough and a couple of others left for there own reasons. We were able to sign 4 senior players but weren't allowed register any others by the FAI even an U17 player. Which has now left us with 9 of the 11 who started the friday night (Murphy will miss the remainder of the season and Mernagh is moving over to England for work reasons), then McAalvey, Connor, Corcoran and Galvin come back into the squad. Which doesn't include Croke whom is also out for the season too. We've Sheehan, Prendergast, Duffy, Buckley from the U19s registered for the first team.
Going by recent squads this is the list of players (And there age) we've got for the rest of the season (According to Roddy we've 12 senior players), many of which are eligible to play in the U19s short season afaik, sounds like only a couple will thou.
Matthew Connor (18), Robert Birdsall (24), Matthew Sheehan (17/18?), Dean Reidy (20), Shane Mackey (19), Column Nuggent (25), Shane Dineen (19), Shaun Corcoran (25), Sean Duffy (16), Adam Prendergast (17/18?), Robbie Buckley (18), Aaron O Connor (18), Cory Galvin (19), Evan Galvin (19), Brian Nolan (24), Ethan Boyle (18), Anthony McAalvey (20), Daniel Pender (18/19?), Mark Walsh (No DOB on the club site - he took the step from the U19s last summmer (Presumably 19/20?))
12/08/2015, 7:37 AM
Jesus, all the craic about Derry and the Brandywell is incredibly silly and will only add fuel to the fire for the little group of idiots that'll be the ones throwing stones.
It's not even Derry fans that commit these acts of vandalism. It's a group of children from a nearby estate. No amount of 'talks' by the club will prevent idiots being idiots.
No no no.
El Pietro is above now at the Derry board meeting giving bus parking directions and security lessons to everyone who wants to listen!
The further you are away from the problem the greater the solutions you have for them ;)
12/08/2015, 11:46 AM
Jesus, all the craic about Derry and the Brandywell is incredibly silly and will only add fuel to the fire for the little group of idiots that'll be the ones throwing stones.
It's not even Derry fans that commit these acts of vandalism. It's a group of children from a nearby estate. No amount of 'talks' by the club will prevent idiots being idiots.
In fairness it is a huge concern and it should be a priority for Derry to fix as they are losing revenue through away attendances. Can the club not just put a few stewards in or around the problem area after matches to at least make it look like they are doing something?
12/08/2015, 11:57 AM
In fairness it is a huge concern and it should be a priority for Derry to fix as they are losing revenue through away attendances. Can the club not just put a few stewards in or around the problem area after matches to at least make it look like they are doing something?
They do have stewards who go beyond where they should as far as I remember, but it shouldn't be their job either. It's just a complete bungle between the police and the club where nobody really wants to take responsibility.
El-Pietro
12/08/2015, 12:21 PM
You make yourself out on this forum to be a reasonable sort and god knows you're always at the same bull over on OrielWeb but yet here you are resorting to cheap shots at decent Dundalk fans who just want to go to travel to a football match without any hassle !
I'm just doing the same thing Dundalk fans do whenever anyone suggests they might not travel to Dundalk. If anything I'm taking pot shots at fans who don't want to travel. Something Dundalk fans are famous for.
12/08/2015, 12:25 PM
I'm just doing the same thing Dundalk fans do whenever anyone suggests they might not travel to Dundalk. If anything I'm taking pot shots at fans who don't want to travel. Something Dundalk fans are famous for.
Have a go on Twitter mate,i wont listen til your bullcrap.
dundalkfc10
12/08/2015, 12:31 PM
Your a bitter young man. You would be better off on the Airtricity League Banter Page with your ****e..
The reason this is being discussed, is because Derry's chairman has said he cant guarantee Dundalks fans safety! This might change today after the metting but for you to come on slagging off Oriel on this thread, shows what a child you really are
12/08/2015, 12:50 PM
Man accused of whataboutery responds with "I'm just doing the same thing they do."
mcgonigle
12/08/2015, 12:53 PM
You're using a serious situation to take a few pot shots because "they did it first". Bit sad really
El-Pietro
12/08/2015, 2:40 PM
You're using a serious situation to take a few pot shots because "they did it first". Bit sad really
Its not actually that serious. No one has been hurt. Some kids threw some stones at some buses. Its not exactly hilarious but it happens across the league.
Dundalk have still done nothing about the golf balls thrown into the away end at the end of last season.
mcgonigle
12/08/2015, 3:18 PM
Its not actually that serious. No one has been hurt. Some kids threw some stones at some buses. Its not exactly hilarious but it happens across the league.
Dundalk have still done nothing about the golf balls thrown into the away end at the end of last season.
Somebody was hurt, not seriously but that's just because of luck.
The golf ball incident was a disgrace and should never have happened. However, I think it was an isolated incident as a large number of fans (myself included) entered the pitch to celebrate, the only other time I can remember this happening is the cup semi against Rovers in 2002 (and the missiles were in the opposite direction from what I remember). The bus stoning incidents are recurring in Derry and not just for Dundalk.
Dundalk do not allow supporters on the pitch and there are stewards to prevent this but in the golf ball incident, how do you prevent ~3000 entering the pitch?