View Full Version : The Run-In

NeverFeltBetter
05/08/2015, 3:46 PM
Was wondering about peoples thoughts. Can the team stay up? A 7 point gap and 11 games to do it isn't the worst scenario admittedly, but I think the kind of performance the team showcases in the next game, after beating 11th placed Sligo, will be telling.

I really hope these new players can get a few more points in the next few games, and make Sligo, Derry and whoever else a bit more nervous than they previously were. You can easily imagine a scenario where Limerick make a real fight of it and I'm more hopeful than I have been in a while.

ped_ped
08/08/2015, 7:31 PM
Can they stay up? Most definitely. Will they? Hard to tell at this stage. Even if we edge ahead of Sligo, how good or bad are the top First Division teams?

Three points against Bohs, though. That'll do nicely. Hopefully Cork can do us a favour.

Treaty Gooner
08/08/2015, 7:40 PM
Holy relegation dogfight Batman...

ped_ped
08/08/2015, 7:51 PM
Just the way we like it.

Well, no. Not the way we like it. But better than whimpering to a winless rock bottom season.

thomas72
08/08/2015, 7:57 PM
Brilliant stuff keep it going need cork to pick up the 3pts on sligo tonight sligo with a new manager will be expected to pick up 3 or 4 wins hopefully we can stay with them put the pressure on them.

Treaty Gooner
08/08/2015, 8:04 PM
Cork 1-0 up, Mark Sull

08/08/2015, 8:08 PM
Sweet mother of jesus, that was something.

08/08/2015, 11:48 PM
Sweet mother of jesus, that was something.
We got our moneys worth tonight :D

I cant say much on the match, it was just mad.

thomas72
14/08/2015, 8:46 PM
Incredible result tonight massive well done to all the lads sligo lads will be shocked they'll think they are 7 clear until the get into the dressing room.

CraftyToePoke
14/08/2015, 8:54 PM
This is it, when Sligo see that score line they will be sickened you'd hope. Superb result tonight. Well done lads. Delighted.

Treaty Gooner
14/08/2015, 9:15 PM
Well holy god

LK37oldskool
14/08/2015, 9:21 PM
If we beat Longford on Monday night we are only six points behind them and they are in 7th place. That said all our remaining home games are against the big boys but our form is brill at the moment. This season has been turned on its head in the last fortnight.

NeverFeltBetter
14/08/2015, 10:33 PM
Crazy series of matches. Keeping my eye firmly on overtaking Sligo before anything else, but holy God if they keep this up they are well capable of it. Pity Drogs let Sligo win so easy tonight.

ped_ped
15/08/2015, 3:23 PM
We can't have any complaints if we're relegated at the end of this season, given our performances over the first two thirds, but we're in with a right chance of escaping now.

We can catch Sligo, and you'd hope our pulling out a result against Cork City would take the wind from the sails of their win last night. The interesting thing is to look at the teams just above Sligo. With Galway, Drogheda and Derry all on 22 points and plenty of matches between them before the end of the season, all we have to do is focus on chasing Sligo and both Limerick and Sligo could find themselves above one of those three.

15/08/2015, 5:40 PM
Longford are all over the shop at the minute, we could be good or absolutely cat, very very short in defense, but have the players to cause Limerick a lot of trouble in defense. I can see this being 2-2+ interest. No idea who will win, but I hope there's a load of goals and another mental match.

Twill be my 1st trip to the away end of MF, bit worried the view will be crap, I never really like behind the goal views..

15/08/2015, 8:10 PM
a few of the lads were saying it's one of the best views in the ground

harpin
17/08/2015, 10:16 AM
Best place as any I suppose... hoping to get there for the 2nd half but it'll be more likely closer to 9, will gates be open?

17/08/2015, 11:30 AM
Good luck tonight lads, I'm both excited and absolutely dreading this match, still feels very make or break for Limerick, and I'd love if ye stay up, but Town badly need points and a good performance to steady the ship. I'll be bringing a few first timers to the away end, so at least I'm making ye some money.. :D

Friend of mine made a bet with me at the Sligo match, which resulted in him having to buy a Limerick jersey, so will there be any bother with us getting into the home end after the match to pick one up? He tried to buy one at the Bohs match but they were sold out, but there's meant to be more on sale tonight according to your wan in the shop.

bluewhitearmy
17/08/2015, 12:17 PM
Good luck tonight lads, I'm both excited and absolutely dreading this match, still feels very make or break for Limerick, and I'd love if ye stay up, but Town badly need points and a good performance to steady the ship. I'll be bringing a few first timers to the away end, so at least I'm making ye some money.. :D

Friend of mine made a bet with me at the Sligo match, which resulted in him having to buy a Limerick jersey, so will there be any bother with us getting into the home end after the match to pick one up? He tried to buy one at the Bohs match but they were sold out, but there's meant to be more on sale tonight according to your wan in the shop.

Can't see there being any bother sher until we decided we were gonna try the main stand ye were gonna have home fans in the same stand as ye so can't be expecting trouble and every other game except Bohs away fans were allowed stroll up that side of the ground at half time.

blueblood
17/08/2015, 4:46 PM
2 hours to kick off, I haven't felt this nervous in a long long time. Hopefully the team doesn't feel nerves and goes out and play the attacking game we have been doing the last few weeks, if we play like that we should be ok! I'll predict a 2 nil win.
Come on the Superblues...

thomas72
17/08/2015, 9:25 PM
Left 2pts behind us tonight 2 absolute scandalous goals givin Away first goal was embarrassing nobody within 5yrds of the player free header.
A point better than nothing

bluewhitearmy
17/08/2015, 9:32 PM
Have to say I'm disappointed with Martin Russell tonight you could see with about 20 mins to go that one or two had completely dissapeared from the game they were running on empty and he refused to make changes. We really need to learn how to defend if we could keep other teams out a bit we would be walking over teams. Game should have been dead at 2-0. Not the end of the world though just puts extra pressure on the Drogheda game.

17/08/2015, 10:31 PM
We really need to learn how to defend if we could keep other teams out a bit we would be walking over teams.
Yeah - we are still leaking goals like crazy and can't expect to score 4 every game.

2nd half of the 1st half was shocking stuff.

bluewhitearmy
17/08/2015, 11:44 PM
Yeah - we are still leaking goals like crazy and can't expect to score 4 every game.

2nd half of the 1st half was shocking stuff.

So many of the goals we give away are ridiculously soft too its not like its a lot of goals we could do nothing about.

17/08/2015, 11:53 PM
But its ok because according to Damien Richardson we are an attacking team and that is how the people of Limerick want us to play.

Treaty Gooner
18/08/2015, 12:32 AM
I think we're gona look back on tonight as the game where it finally slipped away. The table could've looked so much better tonight with a win, regardless of results elsewhere. 6 points just looks like as big a mountain as ever. ******.

18/08/2015, 2:49 AM
Why not? I think that would be a very entertaining way to approach thing. And, to be fair, it's pretty much how Russell has approached his entire management career.

18/08/2015, 8:31 AM
The part i love is when they say "its the way they play, the way the manager wants them to play and the way their CHAIRMAN wants them to play" that gives me a giggle everytime

NeverFeltBetter
18/08/2015, 9:38 AM
Shame to fall behind Sligo a bit more, many tough games coming. As long as we get to within 2 by last day though.

blueblood
18/08/2015, 10:20 AM
I'd say realistically we're looking to catch Galway/Drogs who both drew last night, we're 7 behind them (hopefully 4 after we play Drogue date if not I think we're screwed) so a few wins should see us on their tails at least. Not time to panic yet plenty of football to play yet. Still disappointed with last night's result simply because we should have beaten them handy with all the chances we created and the stupid goals we gave away, the lads we're understandable tired last night too.

blueblood
18/08/2015, 10:21 AM
Any news on Lee J injury?

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2015, 11:21 AM
Game against Drogheda is huge now win that and we are 4 behind them our 2 games after that are Pats at home and Bray away while they face Derry away and Dundalk away so if things were to go as well as they could be expected we could be a point behind them after those 3 games. Lastnights result makes Drogheda and absolutely must win game now though. Seeing the goals back on tele god they were very poor to concede all 3.

18/08/2015, 2:38 PM
Hope you beat Drogs, if you do, the match v Pats will be great craic with neither team defending.

On last night, Longford are slipping further into the mire, Tony Cousins has no idea what he's doing, the lack of pace and then urgency to close down in the team is shocking, very lucky to get away with a draw. From a Limerick perspective, it was absolutely criminal not to win it, and could really come back to haunt them.

18/08/2015, 3:24 PM
Going by last night it seems cousins is setting Longford up to do just enough from here out to stay up. If draws do the job then fine.

Drogheda Friday week is literally our last chance. Lose that and we are relegated. It will most likely either close the gap or make it too big to counter.

Hopefully the break gives us a chance to settle again. Lynch going off last night was a big loss so hopefully the break helps him recover and the injury is not too bad. He is a class act.

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2015, 3:36 PM
Going by last night it seems cousins is setting Longford up to do just enough from here out to stay up. If draws do the job then fine.

Drogheda Friday week is literally our last chance. Lose that and we are relegated. It will most likely either close the gap or make it too big to counter.

Hopefully the break gives us a chance to settle again. Lynch going off last night was a big loss so hopefully the break helps him recover and the injury is not too bad. He is a class act.

Apparently Lee J was taken off before it turned serious after feeling a pain and they thought it would be better to take him off then rather then continue make it worse and possibly miss weeks. Gutted when he went off cos he was just starting to take hold of the game at that stage. Desperately need him back for Dorgheda cos Duggan is suspended.

18/08/2015, 5:07 PM
raging I couldnt make game last nite due to bloody work! seems like a good away point for us considerin what happened.

I believe the programmes sold out last nite and none of our away fans couldnt get a copy! if anyone has a copy that they dont want pm me please and I will gladly pay the cost as I try and collect every programme home and away for us!

bluewhitearmy
18/08/2015, 6:08 PM
raging I couldnt make game last nite due to bloody work! seems like a good away point for us considerin what happened.

I believe the programmes sold out last nite and none of our away fans couldnt get a copy! if anyone has a copy that they dont want pm me please and I will gladly pay the cost as I try and collect every programme home and away for us!

I'll throw it up on our facebook page and ask some of the club lads see can I get my hands on one for you.

bluewhitearmy
19/08/2015, 6:13 PM

One of the lads on our facebook page has said he has one and I am collecting it off him tomorrow so if you want to private mail me where to send it ill get it up to you.

28/08/2015, 2:44 PM
Good luck tonight chaps, hope the trip is worth it for anyone who goes! Drogs are in free fall atm. Think tonight is absolutely the do or die point. Galway v Cork and Derry play Pats, so things could be very tight come the end of this evenings football.

In a perfect world, Limerick could be 4 points off 8th place after everything.

donnrua
28/08/2015, 6:37 PM
Does anyone have any idea why Rainsford is starting ahead of Clarke?

donnrua
28/08/2015, 6:39 PM
I'll answer my own question - Clarke has hamstring trouble!

Treaty Gooner
28/08/2015, 7:06 PM
Who cares, 3-0 up after 15mins, get in there!

We can't **** this up now, can we?

NeverFeltBetter
28/08/2015, 7:06 PM
Holy God, three up in 15 minutes away to Drogs. It's gonna be heartbreaking if Limerick can't escape the drop, the way they are playing.

28/08/2015, 10:27 PM
Looking down the line our biggest issue could become teams actually trying to shut us out and take a draw. They may be dropping points but it also means we are dropping points and running out of games.

Need to go for the juggler against Pats. Second loss in a row for them and they have lost Forrester too which is a big blow.

29/08/2015, 12:19 AM
Missing Robbie Williams for the Pats game. I'd bite Liam Buckleys hair off for a draw this minute.

blueblood
14/09/2015, 8:13 PM
Are Ali Abass and Prince still with us?

donnrua
14/09/2015, 8:17 PM
Haven't heard otherwise. Abass was at the Pat's game if that means anything.

blueblood
14/09/2015, 8:33 PM
Just that I haven't seen them in the squad recently, though they might have been let go!

14/09/2015, 9:05 PM
Prince and Ali still here alright. Ali was sick so don't know the story there and Prince has been injured. Both have been in the stand watching the games.

15/09/2015, 12:34 PM
If they're fit, even thou Prince especially is a good player, it'd be harsh to drop any of the other lads the way things are going. Big match up in Bray next. Been starved of live football now, this is no craic.