Sunday October 9: Moldova away
Saturday November 12: Austria away
Friday March 24: Wales home
Sunday June 11: Austria home
Saturday September 2: Georgia away
Tuesday September 5: Serbia home
Friday October 6: Moldova home
Monday October 9: Wales away

I tell you something, first glance says that's a nice fixture list.

26/07/2015, 11:18 AM
i thought it was a very good fixture list, just marred by having to face Serbia, right after a long trip to Georgia in September.
They should just ditch the mid June fixture completely.

DeLorean
26/07/2015, 11:38 AM
I suppose getting the away trips to Serbia and Austria out of the way early could be seen as a positive, a huge positive if you pick up a result or two. The last two times we qualified we got the two very tough away fixtures out of the way early, picking up four draws as only we can do! The scoreless draws in Copenhagen and Seville for 1994 qualification and the draws in Amsterdam and Lisbon for 2002. Hopefully a good omen. Obviously we'll have Cardiff to negotiate this time too but that will have a different feel to it and, all going well, we'll be already qualified :p

SwanVsDalton
26/07/2015, 12:19 PM
That's as good a fixture list and group as we could have hoped for. A top-heavy stack of away fixtures always reminds me of our best campaigns.

Crosby87
26/07/2015, 1:00 PM
"From what I hear the serbs are fanatical about their showers."
"Not from the footage I've seen."

Olé Olé
26/07/2015, 1:03 PM
That's as good a fixture list and group as we could have hoped for. A top-heavy stack of away fixtures always reminds me of our best campaigns.

It also compliments our propensity to draw away games. Pick up two points or over away to Serbia and Austria and things are looking rosy from the player's perspectives and, if supplemented by two wins in the easier fixtures in 2016, from a table standings aspect.

Lose two and win two in 2016 and it ain't all that bad but does make things tougher.

Had a good look at the Austrian squad there. Not many frightening names on paper. Obviously Alaba is quality, Dragovic has been linked with some bigger European sides, Janko is huge and Arnautovic has been hot and cold at Stoke. A few defenders that have been signed by PL clubs but we have enough players in that league too. The manager has been in charge for 4 years, obviously continuity has reaped benefits in this campaign. That's why I'd like to see MON get another crack at the whip. With this draw, he'll fancy it.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/07/2015, 1:20 PM
Indy on Sunday did a group by group, team by team synopsis. They listed our Star Player as Robbie Keane. Kind of says it all.

But hey, I say this every time. Outside the elites - none of which is in our group - there's not that much between the rest. As DeLorean says, we're 4th seeds for a reason but the likes of Denmark show what can be done without a team oozing Champions League quality. Any given football match is there to be won.

Robbie Brady, James McClean, James McCarthy, John O'Shea, Seamus Coleman, Shane Long, Aiden McGeady.

Saying Keane is our star player is taking the mick TBH.

back of the net
26/07/2015, 6:57 PM
Pished when we wrote that...

The point stands. We won't qualify, but given the venue is no bad thing...

Not pished all....currently in California ....there's a thing called ...time difference

Whether ur point is valid or not....doesn't give u the right to call ppl Eejits for giving theirs

26/07/2015, 7:52 PM
Not pished all....currently in California ....there's a thing called ...time difference

Whether ur point is valid or not....doesn't give u the right to call ppl Eejits for giving theirswatch the txt spk botn

back of the net
26/07/2015, 8:00 PM
watch the txt spk botn

Fair enough

Cheers

26/07/2015, 10:11 PM
Why is everyone so sure recent U20 success will immediately translate into senior success?

Not, but its definitely a positive, only need to unearth one or two gems.
We havent done a whole lot recently in any age group

27/07/2015, 10:05 AM
Their U20 success is evidence that something good is functioning within the structure of Serbia football. Half this squad are with teams in the local league and have a full season of top flight football behind them. But I think these WC qualifiers will come a bit too soon for the more talented ones, who are around 18 and 19 years old.

DeLorean
27/07/2015, 10:14 AM
"Still we will be tormented by hope." (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/ireland-need-a-hero-to-take-us-through-to-russia-1.2297938#utm_sguid=117404,1c876686-b96d-970a-d54f-6b7f2541e581)

GypsyBlackCat
27/07/2015, 11:14 AM
This could be a tight group. I wouldn't say it's a great group but it's the best we could hope for. I reckon the Welsh, Austrians and the Serbs are just as happy as us. If you were an neutral you'd find it hard to call the top two.

The only downside is that we are a poor team lacking in confidence with a manager who hasn't got the any believe in the team or himself. But if we can get someone in like Mick McCarthy then I'd be confident of getting at least second. A lot can change between now and then.

DeLorean
27/07/2015, 11:17 AM
The only downside is that we are a poor team lacking in confidence

Minor detail.

GypsyBlackCat
27/07/2015, 11:29 AM
Predict the Irish starting squad for their opening match at the WC 18. Assuming they go of course. Then we can check in 3 years time and see who was right. That's my challenge to you fine chaps.
Westwood

Wilson Christie Keogh Coleman

Meyler McCarthy Arter

Brady Long McClean

In a 4-3-2-1. For some reason I can't do the formation with the players.

GypsyBlackCat
27/07/2015, 11:37 AM
Minor detail.

Not really. If a team is lacking in confidence they won't play well. They tend to play bad balls and go missing during games. You can see it week in week out with teams. A new manager with fresh ideas and new faces will make the world of difference.

punkrocket
27/07/2015, 1:10 PM
"Still we will be tormented by hope." (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/ireland-need-a-hero-to-take-us-through-to-russia-1.2297938#utm_sguid=117404,1c876686-b96d-970a-d54f-6b7f2541e581)

That's the great thing about being a football fan.
Never mind that we've just about blown the euros, the here and now, we still look to the future with hope in our hearts.
Even if we were drawn in a tough group I'd still look forward to it.

27/07/2015, 1:33 PM
The Secret Journalist's reaction to the draw: http://www.thesecretfootballer.com/articles/the-secret-journalist/27158/auld-enemy-england-scotland-clash-whets-world-cup-appetite/#slide-4

Group D
Wales, Austria, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Moldova, Georgia

Excellent group for both Wales and the Republic of Ireland, nothing to be overly feared anywhere. The games in Cardiff and Dublin will be eagerly anticipated.
Serbia are on the slide, beset by on- and off-the pitch problems, but Austria are on the rise. They are unbeaten in six Euro qualifiers and lead Group G, four points ahead of Sweden.
Wales are heavily reliant on the continued good health of Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey. Should they be unavailable, manager Chris Coleman must have a Plan B or C.
Ireland have yet to shine consistently under boss Martin O’Neill and it might be a qualifying campaign too far for 35-year-old Robbie Keane. When he’s gone, who’s going to get their goals?
Top two: 1, Austria, 2 Wales

Read more at http://www.thesecretfootballer.com/articles/the-secret-journalist/27158/auld-enemy-england-scotland-clash-whets-world-cup-appetite

DeLorean
27/07/2015, 1:43 PM
It's actually going to be kind of weird not knowing who to shout for in the other games amongst the contenders. Usually we have a heavy hitter that we want to beat all our 'actual' rivals. Germany have let us down in this regard the past two campaigns.

Crosby87
27/07/2015, 2:04 PM
I like the part in band of brothers when they storm Into Austria. That's what you chaps will do. And Gerald Mcraney, from major dad, was there. its all working out. Can you imagine Stutts and Tets dancing passionately in Red Square, while Posh picks up all of your litter like in Bari? Taciturn Charlie Darwin in a heated argument with a Russian cab driver? The late Colbert Report being memorialized by foot.ie members in Gorky park? It's all possible.

27/07/2015, 2:13 PM
I like the part in band of brothers when they storm Into Austria. That's what you chaps will do. And Gerald Mcraney, from major dad, was there. its all working out. Can you imagine Stutts and Tets dancing passionately in Red Square, while Posh picks up all of your litter like in Bari? Taciturn Charlie Darwin in a heated argument with a Russian cab driver? The late Colbert Report being memorialized by foot.ie members in Gorky park? It's all possible.

All we have to do is dream!

Crosby87
27/07/2015, 2:34 PM
How come Bavaria isn't it's own country? Also, just saw on wiki that Moldova is the poorest country in Europe. Does that make a trip there more or less appealing to you adventurous chaps?

27/07/2015, 4:56 PM
Also, just saw on wiki that Moldova is the poorest country in Europe. Does that make a trip there more or less appealing to you adventurous chaps?

So long as there is food football and hookers. actually forget the food. and the football.

Crosby87
27/07/2015, 5:04 PM
My biggest fear is Nigel Harps around those Austrian bakeries. His gout will flare up.

27/07/2015, 9:02 PM
All we have to do is dream!
that and with the secret footballer's "who’s going to get their goals?"
i'm almost ready to burst into song with 'sound of music' gusto.

27/07/2015, 9:19 PM
My biggest fear is Nigel Harps around those Austrian bakeries. His gout will flare up.

Gout or gut? I do like bakeries.

27/07/2015, 11:59 PM
Gout or gut? I do like bakeries.

Who ate all the cakes?
You fat *******,
You ate all the French Fancies!

backstothewall
01/06/2016, 12:06 AM
I was thinking tonight about who will and won't be about for this campaign.

Given, Forde, O'Shea, Doyle & Keane will all retire before the next campaign starts. Possibly some or all of Whelan, Hoolahan, Walters & Murphy.

Hopefully the combination of Duffy & Clark will be the bedrock of the side for many years to come.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/06/2016, 12:31 AM
I was thinking tonight about who will and won't be about for this campaign.

Given, Forde, O'Shea, Doyle & Keane will all retire before the next campaign starts. Possibly some or all of Whelan, Hoolahan, Walters & Murphy.

Hopefully the combination of Duffy & Clark will be the bedrock of the side for many years to come.

Whelan and Walters will almost certainly continue on. I'd say it's the end of the road for everyone else.

01/06/2016, 12:34 AM
I would hope Doyler, Whelan, Walters and Hoolahan continue on.

Real ale Madrid
01/06/2016, 8:28 AM
Team for Serbia:

Westwood
Coleman-Duffy-Clark-Brady
Walters-Whelan-Byrne-Hourihane-McClean
Long

backstothewall
01/06/2016, 9:31 AM
Squad for qualifying

Randolph, Westwood, Elliott

Coleman, Christie, Doherty, Wilson, Duffy, Clark, Keogh, Pearce, Hoban, Ward, Cunningham, Williams

McCann, McCarthy, Gibson, Meyer, Quinn, Arter, O'Kane, Hendrick, Byrne, Judge, Hayes, McClean, Pilkington, McGeady

Long, Walters, Mason, Stokes, McGoldrick, Sheridan

Missed anyone?

If we could add 2 of Nathan Redmond, Will Keane and Calum McManaman it would look a good bit stronger.

01/06/2016, 9:41 AM
Hoolahan and Whelan?

No point retiring Doyle yet either. Better than the other striking options there bar Long and Walters anyway.

backstothewall
01/06/2016, 9:49 AM
I'm assuming they won't be about but obviously if they are still available they would be on the list

01/06/2016, 10:07 AM
Team for Serbia:

Westwood
Coleman-Duffy-Clark-Brady
Walters-Whelan-Byrne-Hourihane-McClean
Long
Byrne I'll give you, but Hourihane is a big call to go from zero international caps to starting in a qualifier. Surely Arter or McCarthy are far more likely?

Real ale Madrid
01/06/2016, 10:18 AM
Byrne I'll give you, but Hourihane is a big call to go from zero international caps to starting in a qualifier. Surely Arter or McCarthy are far more likely?

Probably alright - Hourihane's career trajectory reminding me of a Matt Holland / Mark Kinsella type midfielder. McCarthy maybe instead of Whelan - who would be 34 if we qualify for Russia. Not that that would rule him out.

DeLorean
01/06/2016, 10:52 AM
Missed anyone?

O'Dowda. Tricky might have one for you as well. ;)

DeLorean
01/06/2016, 10:58 AM
Hoolahan and Whelan?

I suppose Hoolahan has scared us with talk that he'll consider his situation after the Euros. I'm reckon he'll stay on alright though, hopefully.

I'd say Whelan will only retire when he stops getting selected, so there could be another six or seven campaigns in him.

Agree totally about Doyle. He's only 32 but I guess this in a pretty major setback. I'd like to think he'll remain an option though.

It could be a good time to have a little swoop for Bamford also. With the likes of Rashford breaking through out of nowhere for England and his club situation a million miles from where he wanted it to be, he could do with some Marty T.L.C.

01/06/2016, 11:12 AM
he could do with some Marty T.L.C.
Wouldn't surprise me if O'Neill left after the Euros tbh.

He can go out on a high, get a decent club job and not have to worry about the fact that we're going to be losing a fair few core players ahead of the next campaign, with few enough players coming through to replace them.

01/06/2016, 12:20 PM
Mick would be waiting in the wings and would relish working with O'Dowda, Byrne, Forrester, Arter, O'Kane, Doherty, Cunningham etc.

I'd say 8 Euros first teamers will still be starting next year but there is definitely scope to freshen things up and plenty of options to do so.

Regardless of who's in charge I think the squad will be refreshed, a natural changing of the guard.

backstothewall
01/06/2016, 12:31 PM
With things like bringing o'dowda and Byrne into the squad i've been assuming O'Neill is looking to the long term and therefore isn'the going anywhere.

He tends to stay in a job for 5 years and the world cup would take him up to that

01/06/2016, 1:21 PM
Love this type of conversation lads! Will add my thoughts later!

But, Del, has Bamford passed the gut test??

DeLorean
01/06/2016, 2:03 PM

He seems well in tune with his Irish connections, albeit openly stating his preference for England. He certainly passes the "we could really do with another decent striker" test.

DeLorean
24/06/2016, 2:29 PM
Are we the only country to give these guys (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0623/797777-fai-confirm-friendly-international-with-oman/) a game? Do they have some dirt on JD or something?

Eminence Grise
24/06/2016, 3:55 PM
If some oil sheik doesn't buy Athlone or Bohs or someone after 3 friendlies, it'll be time to look elsewhere.