View Full Version : Flying to Derry?
Bernie
15/01/2002, 11:29 AM
Myself and other Supporters Club members have been considering the idea of hiring a plane for the last game of this season ie: away to Derry City(assuming a Sunday game).
Enquiries so far have given a price of €10,000 to hire a 50 seater plane with a travel time of 1.5 hours each way.
Now, there would have to be a full take up or nothing, so if anyone had any interest or opinions they could contact myself or any CCSC member. Basically I'm trying to see what interest is out there.
The matter will be decided at the next meeting of the CCSC on FEB 5th.
Would the plane be going up the Sunday morning and back that night? And more importantly, who'd be driving the plane?
15/01/2002, 11:43 AM
Not unless there's a limo waiting for me when I get there.
And I don't have to go to the match. :)
15/01/2002, 11:44 AM
And more importantly, who'd be driving the plane?
We'll get James over special... :)
Ruairi
15/01/2002, 12:55 PM
I'd be up for it. I was born in Derry and I know that 10 hours on the bus is not the most fun way to spend a day. Count me in
15/01/2002, 1:10 PM
200 big ones each to fly up?
I had work commitments up there a few times and flew from Dublin to City of Derry airport for around IR£90 return with British Airways. I think the flights were operated by Loganair or someone like that. There must be a cheaper way of getting there, even it it's via Dublin or something?
Bernie
15/01/2002, 1:17 PM
Quick Replies. I'm impressed.
The cost is a 'Ballpark' figure with AerAran?
If someone can do better, fair enough.
This flight, although looks costly would take out the ball breaking drive to and from Derry.
I personally would not enjoy any match facing an agonising 9/10? hour journey home on a bus.
I mean you could be back in the TCT for 7/8pm. :)
Although if we are winning the league that day/night I wouldnt mind the procession all the way down the country stopping in every county, just to remind folk who won the league..
I mean Dundalk is on the way home, as is Tolka Park, Richmon as is Dalymount and I'm sure we could always detour to Galway also just to remind them... :D
200 though is a bit pricey methinks..considering i got my flight from the US for circa $280
I admire the blind optimism that we be fighting for something come last game of the season. I think it would hard to get people to fork out 200 quid for meaningless last game of the season.....
BTW see what offer ye can get for plane only. Friend is qualified to fly twin engine planes......
Wizzard
15/01/2002, 2:31 PM
Try here (http://www.keenair.co.uk) for a company that specialise in charter flights and already fly to Cork.
i would be up for it, but i'll be in germany. i'll prob fly in from there if anythings on.
rebel yell
15/01/2002, 4:17 PM
could we have the price in euros please? I could never understand those old pounds meself.
Jim Smith
15/01/2002, 9:51 PM
Originally posted by rebel yell
could we have the price in euros please? I could never understand those old pounds meself. The original price was given in euro. A sharp financial operator like Bernie wouldn't foul up like that. You can't fix the lotto for as long as he has without being on the ball :D
I'd love to go but I suspect I'll be knee deep in nappies at the time :D
rebel yell
15/01/2002, 11:02 PM
sorry, Pete mentioned "200 quid" and he is the moderator after
all. Maybe he's Ireland's King Boadicea holding back the tide with
his quids.
Casegrande
16/01/2002, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by rebel yell
Maybe he's Ireland's King Boadicea holding back the tide with
his quids.
This thread did start off talking about an aeroplane to Derry, yeah?
I could only afford that if City were gonna win the league that day.
would i be correct in saying that getting people to commit to the trip by Feb the 5th is asking a bit much? nearer to the date assuming we are in contention a full plane would be on the cards then......
Bernie
17/01/2002, 12:46 PM
Only looking for rough numbers so far.
We have to book by mid February anyway.
It's not like a bus as you can well imagine.
Put my name down anyway. I was thinking 'only if we are playing for something that day' would I go, but it would be a once-off trip and couldn't be missed.
after Sunday there aint a hope in hell i is travelling to see those lazy shower of muppets :D and wasnt I promised sunshine for my trip home
and I reckon I got the flu somehow over the weekend so not happy all in all,
:mad:
eh, should'nt Boadicea be a Queen and the King really be Canute?, as in King Canute holding back the waves?
(BTW , he was your man at West Ham's great-great-great-great-great-great-grandfather !!!!!!!!) :D
Originally posted by James
.....and I reckon I got the flu somehow over the weekend so not happy all in all.....
Apparently the flu has just hit Ireland. What odds it'll be the yank strain? Coincidence? ;)
Jim Smith
22/01/2002, 4:24 PM
Originally posted by oddboy
eh, should'nt Boadicea be a Queen and the King really be Canute?, as in King Canute holding back the waves?
Canute is one of the people most misunderstood in modern culture. Canute ordered the tide to stop comming in because he was sick of his flunkies saying he was so great could do anything. Oh, and Macbeth was one of the most peaceful and well loved Kings Scotland ever had. This is not off topic by too much because you can see the land where all the women are beautiful and the men are handsome from the Derry coast on a good day so you could certainly see the fair land of Caledonia from the plane....
But anyway!
Who else is almost definite for the plane? Anyone?
Nah, cheaper to drive up from the big smoke & make a weekend of it. :D
Originally posted by James
and I reckon I got the flu somehow over the weekend so not happy all in all,
:mad:
mmm, i wonder where you could have picked that up ;)
maybe in Redz at about 2.00 am :confused:
So anyway (again), back to the plane...
Names...
22/01/2002, 11:55 PM
what are we talkin' .... if it is €200, i am not there, i'll drive and stay two nights, if it is lower i'll think about it, have all the "airlines" been checked ??
Bernie
23/01/2002, 8:16 AM
Don't give up the ghost on this one yet lads. We've had further interest from other parties and there will be fundraising efforts planned over the next few weeks.
I know the cost seems heavy, but i really look at this as a one off chance to get a group to the Brandywell. We won't be meeting them on the last day again for some time and (God forgive me for saying it) we may not get that European trip this year.
Hang in there.
Don't forget €200 is only£157. The way I see it, it would cost more than £157 to drive to Derry and stay 2/3 nights (aswell as it being a nightmare trip).
But the main thing is, it's a once-off trip.
I suggest that everyone who is anyway half interested come along to the next Supporters Club meeting (Tuesday 5th Feb, 8.30pm) and we can throw out some ideas.
23/01/2002, 12:09 PM
But if we dont get to Europe then it would be the next best thing.
If this does come off .... then it should be all bells and whistles , video camera, photos .... flares and banger for up there, I'll dress up aswell if a few more do it. All out for this one.