View Full Version : "Bray Wanderers debacle continues..."

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Dove
08/07/2015, 10:25 AM
The club as its stands can go **** themselves :mad: I've been involved on many levels for 15 or so years, the last couple of seasons I've looked after the match programme but i stood down from that position over the weekend, simply can't justify being associated with the O'Connors anymore, they are poison and are killing the club. They have done nothing positive since they stepped into the club. Philip Hannigan appointed these two to the club so he has a lot to answer for and how he can be happy with the way they are running the club is a mystery. He should be ashamed of himself.

29/03/2014 - Mr Philip Hannigan

QUOTE: "The old way of running the football club wasn't working. A new business model was needed and we believe this is it," he said
"We are confident that by getting the local community involved in owning and running Bray Wanderers, we can secure a sustainable future.
"Bray Wanderers Community Football Club will be run for the benefit of the whole community.”

http://www.independent.ie/business/bray-to-become-communityowned-football-club-30136690.html

08/07/2015, 11:27 AM
David Cassidy on Off The Ball (Stuey Byrne introduced first, stick with it): http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Off_the_Ball39s_League_of_Ireland_Podcast/96498/

It's not just 3 payments- it's happened over 4 months, every payday there's an issue.

08/07/2015, 12:34 PM
On Monday the man said the club needed stronger players and now he is having a pop at the fans

"I don't think the protest is going to help the players in any way or fashion on Saturday, so therefore, I have to question do they really want Bray Wanderers to take away three points on Saturday night"

The man is clueless when its comes to running a football club and how important its supporters are.

08/07/2015, 12:47 PM
No matter what is said the old adage of action speaking louder than words applies. At the moment it seems like a proactive alienation of club stalwarts and support. Followed by a couple of managers and then the demoralisation of the team. Why? Anybody's guess but the more cynical fan would see things as a slow wind down to unsustainable levels with lack of support and sponsorship and hence devaluing the entity and value of a capital asset earmarked for development. I'm talking about Shamrock Rovers in the late '80s obviously!

D24Saint
08/07/2015, 12:49 PM
He came across like a politician not a football man.

08/07/2015, 12:54 PM
He came across like a politician not a football man.

He isn't a football man, he is a GAA man from Tipperary with zero connections to our club.

disgruntled
08/07/2015, 3:23 PM
He's Tommy No Bobs in disguise.
Another bluffer.

08/07/2015, 4:56 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJY7FnzW8AABFrZ.jpg

Big small- try this: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJY7FnzW8AABFrZ.jpg:large

Dove
08/07/2015, 7:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJY7FnzW8AABFrZ.jpg

Above is Mr O'Connor's usual denial of reality

This is a podcast of Pat Devlin's interview on EastCoast Radio 07/07/2015

http://blog.eastcoast.fm/2015/07/tuesday-7th-july-morning-show-with.html

He clearly states that his solicitor has told him the the EGM is validly called and he will be attending.

NOW WHO DO I BELIEVE.

A) Mr Devlin who spent 30years at the club, brought many success including 2 FAI cups and has give as much as any man to the club.

OR

B)Mr O'Connor a self proclaimed GAA man from Tipp, with no history in LOI Football. Who has brought nothing but disharmony and acrimony to Bray, the community and to what Frank Slevin always described as the "little club".

I KNOW WHO I BELIEVE!!!!

08/07/2015, 8:21 PM
Devlin says Darren Quigley and Kevin O Connor are 100% owed money.

D24Saint
08/07/2015, 8:22 PM
Well I'm convinced by that article , what's next from Denis O'Connor a new promo video walking in the Carlise Ground to the tune of Bryan Adams everything i do, he has to realise actions speak louder thans words he seems to be running Bray into the ground and no amount of media guff will convince most Loi folk otherwise.

08/07/2015, 9:52 PM
O'connor is Michael lowrys accountant. Lowry tried putting a mr quirkes casino into two mile borris in rural Tipperary. Its a land grab pure and simple

disgruntled
08/07/2015, 11:02 PM
O'connor is Michael lowrys accountant. Lowry tried putting a mr quirkes casino into two mile borris in rural Tipperary. Its a land grab pure and simple

That explains a lot.
Its the genuine Bray fans & the players I feel sorry for.
We know all about people like O'Connor in Cork as we've had a few like him over the years.

09/07/2015, 12:57 PM
I'm hearing that Alan Mathews was on East Coast Radio this morning saying that he (and his coaching staff) still haven't been paid.

09/07/2015, 1:08 PM
http://newsfeed.eastcoast.fm/2015/07/east-coast-news-sees-feasibility-report.html?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Following the recent controversy at Bray Wanderers football club, East Coast News has seen a feasibility report which was carried out on the Carlisle grounds two years ago, which examines the possibility of a substantial redevelopment of the grounds, but proposes to retain a football stadium on site.

The think plottens.

09/07/2015, 1:18 PM
Ah so a football stadium with the ubiquitous attached retail units, Bar, Creche, over shop living accommodation, and 100s of 3-5 bedroom dwellings......

sulywaterfordfc
09/07/2015, 2:38 PM
Reports by Mirror today suggests the McGettigan group are to make a fresh take over bid which will better the current two bids to take over the club.

Personally think Bray should hand the reins over to the McGettigan group and have a fresh start. A new board and fresh faces around the club is the only way I see a future for the club.

tippex
09/07/2015, 2:47 PM
I heard the interviews on East coast earlier and Pat Vance stated that nothing can be done with regards to the lease of the carlisle without the councils approval that the club have a sporting lease on the land. Apparently there has been no official approach to the council about the lease. Alan Matthews stated that his payment has not been resolved and has brought it to the league licensing.

I have also done some digging and you can see the current directors of the company (which you do not need to register and is publicly available) https://www.duedil.com/company/IE108824/bray-wanderers-limited/people

09/07/2015, 2:51 PM
Is that the company that has the licence from the FAI or an older company? A lot of those directors appear to be the "old school" Bray Wanderers people.

09/07/2015, 2:56 PM
Declan Pierce of McGettigans replaced only on July 1st... anyone know what camp Gavin Moran is from? He is also a director of Connect Capital Ireland Limited.

tippex
09/07/2015, 2:57 PM
I've no idea what company the license applies to but there are 2 others https://www.duedil.com/company/IE540427/bray-wanderers-community-football-club-limited and https://www.duedil.com/company/IE554661/unknowns-football-limited

The bray wanderers limited one is the one with the most recent activity on it https://www.duedil.com/company/IE108824/bray-wanderers-limited/people

I wish the FAI would just come out and deal with it.

tippex
09/07/2015, 2:59 PM
Gavin has been involved in the club for a long time (as a volunteer) and was also involved in trying to get the supporters trust off the ground

09/07/2015, 4:47 PM
Declan Pierce of McGettigans replaced only on July 1st... anyone know what camp Gavin Moran is from? He is also a director of Connect Capital Ireland Limited.

That's Declan Pierce the 98fm DJ btw

littlebray
09/07/2015, 8:25 PM
I've no idea what company the license applies to.

Bray Wanderers Limited (Company number IE108824) is the company "trading" as Bray Wanderers FC, the one that holds the League licence. To the best of my knowledge it was incorporated as far back as 1985, when the club was invited to join the League of Ireland.

Bray Wanderers Community Football Club Limited, incorporated in March 2014 (Company no. IE540427), was intended to be the "new" club, with all sorts of new local involvement - businesses &c, as well as other local sports bodies - when the club made its big announcement back in the early part of last season. Have a look at a contemporary report on Braywanderers.com (http://www.braywanderers.com/news-article.php?id=2521). It wasn't a Supporters' Trust, but a club initiative to try to build up local support.

Unknowns Football Limited, incorporated in December 2014 (Company no. IE554661), was clearly a vehicle for the intended takeover by the McGettigans/O'Connors group. The O'Connors - Denis in particular - were involved in the 'think tank' that came up with the Community Club idea (referred to in the old news item linked above).

Dove
09/07/2015, 10:08 PM
Bray Wanderers Limited (Company number IE108824) is the company "trading" as Bray Wanderers FC, the one that holds the League licence. To the best of my knowledge it was incorporated as far back as 1985, when the club was invited to join the League of Ireland.

Bray Wanderers Community Football Club Limited, incorporated in March 2014 (Company no. IE540427), was intended to be the "new" club, with all sorts of new local involvement - businesses &c, as well as other local sports bodies - when the club made its big announcement back in the early part of last season. Have a look at a contemporary report on Braywanderers.com (http://www.braywanderers.com/news-article.php?id=2521). It wasn't a Supporters' Trust, but a club initiative to try to build up local support.

Unknowns Football Limited, incorporated in December 2014 (Company no. IE554661), was clearly a vehicle for the intended takeover by the McGettigans/O'Connors group. The O'Connors - Denis in particular - were involved in the 'think tank' that came up with the Community Club idea (referred to in the old news item linked above).

Don't forget

Company 561046
MILWAY DAWN LIMITED,Carlisle Grounds, Bray, Co Wicklow
Registered 27/04/2015, Directors: Kieran Kelly and Denis O'Connor, Trading as:Telecommunications Company.

Set up purely to to get all the shares in Bray Wanderers under the control of the aforementioned individuals.

These men below claim to control 90% of the shares in Bray Wanderers, have a good look.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/07/2015, 7:49 AM
The Provisional Bray Wanderers
The Real Bray Wanderers
Continuity Bray Wanderers

littlebray
10/07/2015, 11:34 AM
The Real Bray Wanderers

Not to mention the Old Bray Wanderers ...

gufcfan
10/07/2015, 11:56 AM

And "those who shall not be named."

disgruntled
10/07/2015, 12:03 PM
The Wannabee Bray Wanderers.

10/07/2015, 12:19 PM

They haven't gone away you know

Hitman
10/07/2015, 12:48 PM
The Real Bray Wanderers

Cherrie Coca-Cola

Dove
10/07/2015, 7:11 PM
And "those who shall not be named."

The wall of shame!

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2312&d=1436479650

Redzer
10/07/2015, 7:41 PM
The wall of shame!

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2312&d=1436479650

I see pic's but where are the names?

tippex
10/07/2015, 9:30 PM
I see pic's but where are the names?
Hopefully I'm ok to do this
From left
Eddie Cox
Frank Slevin
Philip Hannigan
Eddie Slevin
Richard Holfeld

10/07/2015, 10:48 PM
At least one of the above is banned from even attending matches by the current regime from what I hear so if he did give them a mandate they knifed him pretty quickly! He was around a long time. No idea how much he contributed.

Seagull
11/07/2015, 12:01 AM
OK, this lapdog of the O'Connors has had me admonished here before so I'm sure he'll be back for another go. This was posted on Facebook this evening by the (he says) club website admin (I can't see an admin name on the website). Anyway, he's alleging shady dealings, maybe this is something to do with the EGM announcement which disappeared from the club website recently? Paranoid or what?
http://i57.tinypic.com/2z8qctx.jpg
*And he's deleted it from his Facebook. I hear there's some kind of stand-off happening now at the Carlisle where some shareholders are blocking the O'Connors from entering, anyone hear anything?

11/07/2015, 12:29 PM
Tweet from Darren Quigley says:

Eventful morning at CarlisleGr. Firstly the Chairman was refused entry by the Gardaí, now he's in & changed the locks

WTF?

tippex
11/07/2015, 12:55 PM
No idea of what is going on but hopefully we hear more after the EGM which is due to start in a few mins.

11/07/2015, 12:56 PM
#GreatestLeagueInTheWorld

11/07/2015, 2:04 PM
Chairman only got entry after Fran Gavin threatened to cancel tonight's match, according to Quigley. Mad craic.

11/07/2015, 2:23 PM
Well at least it shows who the FAI are leaning toward that they got involved. How was the chairman kept out of the ground and why would the Gardaí have been involved either. Should have called bluff and let the match be cancelled. Its not is if fixtures aren't backing up for clubs in Europe for it to be a disaster for Bray.

tippex
11/07/2015, 5:37 PM
There was a decent turnout at the protest. Some very worrying things going on and the only hope is to keep pushing with the protest etc.
I have to say Darren Quigley has played an absolute stormer with keeping people up to date (I know some don't like airing dirty laundry) but it has to be done at this stage

11/07/2015, 7:30 PM
Still able to beat us as well. Which probably says more about Derry than anything else.

11/07/2015, 8:37 PM
Has Deering managed to take over?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJqRk7XWoAA1byQ.png

tippex
11/07/2015, 10:00 PM
Well it is questionable as to how both O'Connor and Kelly got made directors as I don't believe there was ever an agm/egm called to have them appointed.

littlebray
12/07/2015, 1:55 AM
Has Deering managed to take over?
I'm not sure that naming yourself a Director has any validity - even if the form is stamped and accepted at the front desk in the CRO. And I am sure the matter will end up down in the Four Gold Mines (as The Phoenix calls it). Time to cool it here, I would suggest?

12/07/2015, 8:39 AM
If everyone stays reasonably sensible there is no reason this can't be discussed here.

12/07/2015, 4:48 PM
Eammon Sweeney in the Sindo

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hold-the-back-page-dying-for-a-show-of-decency-31369650.html

ger121
12/07/2015, 7:00 PM
Eammon Sweeney in the Sindo

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hold-the-back-page-dying-for-a-show-of-decency-31369650.html

As much as I hate to see articles like that about the League, it's hard to argue with any of the points Sweeney makes. Though I would add that many of the clubs can't be run professionally when they are often run by volunteers. Until that changes then the clubs won't.

12/07/2015, 7:20 PM
My only gripe with that article is that he's tarring the entire league with the same brush. No mention of clubs cutting their cloth accordingly, running well, the proverbial other side of the coin.