View Full Version : Rebel Army new years ball

kevincronin2000
06/12/2004, 5:12 PM
Was'nt there last year, but heard it was a good night I think it might go this year but according to the pop up add on www.corkcityfc.ie what the fcuk is "festive dress" I ve heard of formal, semi formal, casual and fancy.
:confused: :confused: :confused:

At least its a friday night in the close season that will kill the bordom.

07/12/2004, 12:05 PM
is it still on new years?

07/12/2004, 12:06 PM
is it still on new years?

Friday 7th January.
It's a good day to have it imo as it gives people a chance to recover from Christmas/New years, should be a sell out hopefully. It was a great night last year.

07/12/2004, 12:07 PM
Friday 7th January.
It's a good day to have it imo as it gives people a chance to recover from Christmas/New years, should be a sell out hopefully. It was a great night last year.

daycent ;) might go now.

07/12/2004, 12:29 PM
€55 is a bit steep, but maybe it only seems that way, as it was only €40 last year.

Heres hoping the food will be as nice again.

07/12/2004, 12:51 PM
^^^

True, but as I said, it only seems that way as it was a good bit cheaper last year.

07/12/2004, 1:33 PM
daycent ;) might go now.

Might go myself.
I'm not back in work until the 10th.

07/12/2004, 1:39 PM
i agree. they must have underpriced it last year id say and not made much of a profit, it will be a great night out and your supporting Cork City so i think its great value.
you should look at the corkcityfc.ie forum, what a bunch of whining moaners!For some of us who actually have to bring partners, €110 is a hefty sum before I even put a glass to my lips.
So I thunk I'll whine and moan for a while!;)

07/12/2004, 1:41 PM
€110 is a hefty sum before I even put a glass to my lips.

Don't you get wine with your meal?

07/12/2004, 1:51 PM
or just leave her at home and have a lads night out ;)

07/12/2004, 1:51 PM
I think the tickets are very reasonably priced when you factor in everything you get for your money and take into account that the club has to make a profit from it aswell.

I can't believe that people are still giving out. It was originally set for January 1st and when people rightly complained that this was the wrong date the club changed it to the following week. January 7th is a great date for it imo because it gives people time to recover from Christmas/New years and a Friday night is the perfect night to have it.

The tickets are on sale now so I'd advise people to buy them asap and get it out of the way otherwise you'll probably spend the money over Christmas and not be able to go. At least if we all by our tickets now we won't have to worry baout it come January.

I think it's important to remember aswell that this is the clubs only fundraiser of the off season and I'd say they are banking on it being a sell out so everyone should really go out of their way to try and make it.

07/12/2004, 1:54 PM
what the fcuk is "festive dress"

Wear a suit and a santa hat and you should be fine!! :D

07/12/2004, 2:43 PM
Or

or just leave her at home and have a lads night out ;)I'll point the two of ye out to her, and you'll be quite boys on the night......:p

BeerBaron69
08/12/2004, 10:36 AM
I'll point the two of ye out to her, and you'll be quite boys on the night......:p

Quite boys :D

08/12/2004, 11:14 AM
Quite boys :D

He'll be pointing you out to her too, Mr Pedantic! :D
You'll be a quiet boy then... ;)

08/12/2004, 1:06 PM
never heard me been mentioned in the same breath as quiet before :confused:

BeerBaron69
08/12/2004, 3:19 PM
He'll be pointing you out to her too, Mr Pedantic! :D
You'll be a quiet boy then... ;)

HaHa-I'll be the fella in the waistcoat. Tell Her I'll be answering to the name Pat :D

08/12/2004, 4:39 PM
Um, I think it's a ****e date and a shocking price. The week after the Christmas and New Year? Do they want to hit us when we're broke and knackered? The RPH is a long way off the height of luxury, and frankly 110 euros for standard hotel food is cheeky. The free wine thing is of no use to those who don't drink wine. It would be a whole lot better if they lopped about 15 euros per ticket off the price and dropped the wine.

So you don't like wine then!! :D

08/12/2004, 4:54 PM
The free wine thing is of no use to those who don't drink wine. It would be a whole lot better if they lopped about 15 euros per ticket off the price and dropped the wine.

Its hardly free, but listen, Ill get SEJ to fart into it, and you can pretend its cider ;)

08/12/2004, 5:51 PM
as if SEJ is gona be there
55euro for a ticket
sure hes saving up for an away match w munster in the heineken eggchasign final !!!!!!! :eek: :rolleyes:

joe
08/12/2004, 6:42 PM
Does anyone think that maybe City kept the price down last year because it was the first year of the ball?

Anyone ever research any of the Christmas nights hotels do these days, which is effectively what this is? If you get a night like that for less than €50 then you're doing well, and I think it's commonly accepted that the occasions parties in the RPH are among the better ones out there. Besides it is a fundraiser people!

09/12/2004, 7:41 AM
Does anyone think that maybe City kept the price down last year because it was the first year of the ball?

Anyone ever research any of the Christmas nights hotels do these days, which is effectively what this is? If you get a night like that for less than €50 then you're doing well, and I think it's commonly accepted that the occasions parties in the RPH are among the better ones out there. Besides it is a fundraiser people!Nobody doubts that Joe, but all told, the night will cost a couple in the region of €200 and on one average wage, it's a bit of a struggle just after Christmas....

09/12/2004, 10:16 AM
. we see who will be a quiet boy now!!!!!

somebody stop me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Ruairi
09/12/2004, 10:17 AM
as if SEJ is gona be there
55euro for a ticket
sure hes saving up for an away match w munster in the heineken eggchasign final !!!!!!! :eek: :rolleyes:

maybe, but they won;t get near the shagging final....

BeerBaron69
09/12/2004, 10:37 AM
They need to win to get into the next round

09/12/2004, 11:59 AM

Anyone ever research any of the Christmas nights hotels do these days, which is effectively what this is? If you get a night like that for less than €50 then you're doing well, and I think it's commonly accepted that the occasions parties in the RPH are among the better ones out there. Besides it is a fundraiser people!

Well said Joe.
I think it's good value and as you say the main thing is that it is a fundraiser.

Nobody doubts that Joe, but all told, the night will cost a couple in the region of €200 and on one average wage, it's a bit of a struggle just after Christmas....

I understand that it's a lot for a couple alright Pat but why not buy the tickets now and get the expense out of the way.

09/12/2004, 12:09 PM
why not buy the tickets now and get the expense out of the way.

good idea....manage paid out tomorrow ;)

09/12/2004, 12:17 PM
buy the tickets now and get the expense out of the way.

Ask for the ticket as a gift.
If someone is going to spend €40 on a bottle of aftershave or something for you then just suggest that they buy you this instead.

09/12/2004, 12:31 PM
If there was alcohol in it, I'd go for the aftershave before the free wine...

Feel free not to attend, Conor.

09/12/2004, 12:46 PM
but i know they would if they had to becuase they love the club.)

would they????????????????

seen dan complaining out in the dog track cos they were been charged something like 6 yoyos and werent supposed to pay ;)

09/12/2004, 12:55 PM
But after going to all the Peadar-free ones, it would be SUCH a shame to miss this years...

All one of them?

09/12/2004, 1:08 PM
End of season balls?

You're wrong and you know it!
Your FF mumbo jumbo isn't going to work on me.
We're talking about New Year's Ball and last year was the inaugural one.

BTW I'm not back in the UK until the 10th so I may very well attend this event.

09/12/2004, 1:09 PM
Am I getting this wrong here, but is the general gist of some posts actually implying that you don't love Cork City if you don't go to the ball?...:eek:

09/12/2004, 1:13 PM
But there is no New Year's Ball this year.

Looks like someone forgot to tell the club...
Flyer. (http://www.corkcityfc.ie/images/rebelarmyball.jpg)

09/12/2004, 1:24 PM
Will there be like a countdown at 12 and all the other New Year's stuff?

I think you're confusing New Years Eve with New Year.

Will everyone turn to each other and say 'happy new year' even though it's the 8th January?

You can wish someone a Happy New Year at any time if you've not seen them since the year started.

09/12/2004, 1:27 PM
On that basis, if I go, then I could wish you a happy 2004...

That would require you to be nice to me so it's unlikely.

Also, you'd only be entitled to do so up until midnight on January 31st.

09/12/2004, 1:36 PM
Awww....there is always such electricity in the air when the season of goodwill and joy approaches!

09/12/2004, 2:20 PM
As the contributors here who know me will vouch, I'm an all round nice guy. Ask 'em...

Ah now Conor, I wasn't suggesting that you're anything but a nice guy.

09/12/2004, 3:20 PM
But now I feel all insecure and will have difficulty sleeping...

That's probably more to do with all the talk of someone breaking into your house. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=20244) Being from Sout Kerry you're unlikely to have a hurley handy so you may consider sleeping with a frying pan under your pillow.

joe
10/12/2004, 12:32 PM
Am I getting this wrong here, but is the general gist of some posts actually implying that you don't love Cork City if you don't go to the ball?...:eek:

Just in case anyone thinks this is the point I was trying to make . . . all I was saying was €55 is not a whole lot of money for one of these nights. Whether people can afford that, or want to shell it out, (or the €110 if you're bringing someone who won't pay for themselves ;-)) is a different matter. It's up to every individual how much they want to spend on City, how they want to spend it, and how they support the club in their own way. Whether that includes the ball or not is none of my business.

hammers
10/12/2004, 12:35 PM
Remember all, this is a fundraiser. If you begrudge the club the money, don't come. Of the 55 yoyo's ,the hotel will probably only receive 15 - 20 euro's. The balance will, after whatever other expenses they have like printing etc, go into the coffers of the club

10/12/2004, 12:57 PM
Given that there will be about 400 people there, yet City get about 5,000 fans at games, I presume you'll think the vast majority of City fans are only begrudgers...

There's a big difference between City fans and people who only go to the home games every once in a while.....

I think at the end of the day most people posting on this thread will go to the ball as they will want to support the club. I don't think anyone going on their own can complain about the 55 quid but I can understand that for the likes of Conor, Patsh etc who are bringing girlfriends/wives it is more of a strain and becomes a lot more expensive. Just remember that it is a fundraiser and it will be a good night out so if you can afford you really should go.

jimhacker
10/12/2004, 1:06 PM
Steady on, I'd only be bringing one woman... ;)

Bet you wouldn't mind bringing Lady Hacker as well - save me the bother.

It might be worth your while - she's a bit of a goer!