View Full Version : Programme of the Year award
Apologies if this has been on before, I can't find a thread if it has.
Dundalk won the 2014 Programme of the Year award at the recent Irish Programme Club programme fair. That's five seasons in a row for Dundalk now.
(yeh, I made a vain attempt to correct the TWO typos in the title, to no avail)
KBurke
24/06/2015, 4:22 PM
Are Dundalk the only team that enters?
gufcfan
24/06/2015, 5:34 PM
Are Dundalk the only team that enters?
Galway tried to enter but they wouldn't give them an application pack.
:p
24/06/2015, 5:50 PM
Cabinteely sent in the RTE Guide for the bantz.
gufcfan
24/06/2015, 6:16 PM
Can we get a mod in here? Longfordian used that 5 letter word.
24/06/2015, 8:10 PM
I was part of the voting committee for the program of the year awards. Cork City and Shamrock Rovers were in the top three and Limericks got commendable praise for theirs which is much improved.
24/06/2015, 8:57 PM
Foot.ie to investigate Programme of the year bribing scandal involving long time poster Martinho.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/06/2015, 9:15 PM
Dundalk bribed him with crisps and minerals
24/06/2015, 9:56 PM
It would instantly become the worst in the league if it goes to a plastic page format!
Foot.ie to investigate Programme of the year bribing scandal involving long time poster Martinho.
Poor Martinho. I bet Martinho II is relived that the investigation is not about him though.
Six in- a- row (How come we won it twice this year?)
http://www.dundalkfc.com/6-in-a-row-dfc-magazine-wins-award/
15/10/2015, 6:52 PM
Decided to move to a summer season!
15/10/2015, 7:07 PM
Poor Martinho. I bet Martinho II is relived that the investigation is not about him though.
"Martinho" disappeared in mysterious circumstances many years ago. Some claim he was buried in a bog in Longford, others that he forgot his foot.ie password and took on a new identity.
15/10/2015, 8:41 PM
I am involved with the Irish Program club and was part of the committee that voted on programme of the year for 2015. In third place was Cork City and Second place Shamrock Rovers. The reasoning for this announcement is simple. We as a committee thought from now on to have the programme of the year awards towards the end of the season instead of the following preseason. Dundalk will be getting their trophy on the last day of the season at home or whenever their last home game.
Rovers in 2nd place? Really poor value for money with their programme. Content on the visiting team virtually non existent and their historical articles are generally stuff they'e already covered before. Fair play to Dundalk though. Brilliant programme with plenty for home and away fans.
15/10/2015, 9:54 PM
What about First Division?
15/10/2015, 9:56 PM
Ours is fu(King sh1te that's all I know
15/10/2015, 9:59 PM
Have always thought our program was top class.
White Horse
15/10/2015, 10:11 PM
Yeah, a top notch programme.
bluewhitearmy
15/10/2015, 11:40 PM
Keith Wallace does an amazing job with the programme and online stuff tbf ever since he has come in we have gotten a million times better with that stuff.
16/10/2015, 12:01 AM
Keith Wallace does an amazing job with the programme and online stuff tbf ever since he has come in we have gotten a million times better with that stuff.
Keith is top class,great addition to any club.Our loss was Lims gain.5:star:'s/5
16/10/2015, 10:59 AM
most improved programme was Limerick!and it would have being fourth. theres always loads of reading when I get a copy!
16/10/2015, 11:01 AM
What about First Division?
Bartley Ramsey has copies of all the first division programmes for all the clubs so this will be sorted out before the end of the season! also there hasnt being a first division programme award since 2011 I think and to fill the gaps he has all those programmes to hand also for those years for the appropriate clubs and will vote on the winners for those missing years!
seand
16/10/2015, 11:22 AM
Awesome, a lot of people have been on tenterhooks waiting for the 2012 First Division Programme of the Year award!
Personally I thought Bohs' programme was very good this season too, very good content.
LOI_Fanatic
16/10/2015, 11:59 AM
our programme is terrible!
the content is getting worse and worse each season,its got so bad now that i rarely buy one.
Simple things like not running a spell check are seriously head wrecking.
Bohs' is excellent as well. Personally I'd go 1 Dundalk; 2 Limerick, 3 Bohs; In the First I'd go for Finn Harps with UCD in 2nd. UCD's Euro programmes were brilliant and generally their regular programmes are good value for money.
Only poor subbing/spelling issues I've seen this year were in the Longford programme and one of the Pat's programmes had incorrect stats and info on one occasion relating to previoius meetings with a particular club.
Bohs have been brilliant, as I said, so well done to Alan Bird ... though for the Pat's game last Friday they left Derry out of the Premier Div table!
PartySaint
16/10/2015, 2:13 PM
... though for the Pat's game last Friday they left Derry out of the Premier Div table!
That's because they don't belong in our league...
Joe Strummer
16/10/2015, 4:17 PM
our programme is terrible!
the content is getting worse and worse each season,its got so bad now that i rarely buy one.
Simple things like not running a spell check are seriously head wrecking.
Agreed, Since Robert Goggins ceased to be the Editor it has gone downhill. It’s just a load of ads and utter rubbish to fill in space.
16/10/2015, 11:58 PM
Dundalk and Limerick the best. Bohs and Cork very good.
Those 4 a cut above the rest now
17/10/2015, 12:58 AM
The Bohs programme is excellent. Great Saturday morning read every couple of weeks. It has improved ten fold over the last 2-3 years. Kudos to Alan indeed.
Unfortunately can't comment on the rest!
17/10/2015, 11:48 PM
The Bohs programme is excellent. Great Saturday morning read every couple of weeks. It has improved ten fold over the last 2-3 years. Kudos to Alan indeed.
Unfortunately can't comment on the rest!
when judging on a programme its always colour and the design of the cover that does it for me. I always thought Shamrock Rovers was one of the best. Galways I like except a lot of the pages are in black and white. Bohs programme is superb and I think it could overtake Shamrock Rovers. If Limerick stay up it will go from strength to strength!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CRrN6GZWwAA-CjP.jpg
High praise indeed from Brian De Salvo.
24/10/2015, 10:45 AM
UCD programme last night had Shelbourne squad listed under where the Harps squad should have been. They also used an old Harps crest not used since the 90s.
ToberonaTornado
15/11/2016, 10:46 PM
I see on Orielweb that we've nailed it again(programme of the year) for the seventh year in-a-row.
Huge congrats to everyone involved including the folks who are also contributors on this forum.
White Horse
16/11/2016, 8:27 AM
I see on Orielweb that we've nailed it again(programme of the year) for the seventh year in-a-row.
Huge congrats to everyone involved including the folks who are also contributors on this forum.
Well done to all concerned. It is still the benchmark programme in the league.
The editions published for the Europa League games took an already excellent programme to a new level.
By far the best. In an age when most clubs now see producing a programme as an inconvenience, it's good to see Dundalk embrace it
Straightstory
16/11/2016, 11:07 AM
UCD programme last night had Shelbourne squad listed under where the Harps squad should have been. They also used an old Harps crest not used since the 90s.
UCD's programme is utterly dire. I don't think it's even printed - it looks photocopied. Embarrassing stuff.
At least, though, they have a programme. On my visit to Cabinteely last season (the grimmest place I've ever been to see a football match) I was told they don't even publish a programme on match days.
16/11/2016, 7:48 PM
I am involved with the Irish programme club and was involved in the voting last monday. Runners up was Galway Utd which was who I voted for originally as I love their covers which is superb and the content is top notch with a lot of content. Third place was Cork City-best value for the €3 programmes.
White Horse
16/11/2016, 8:01 PM
Third place was Cork City-best value for the €3 programmes.
Dundalk's league programmes are E3??
patrickccfc
16/11/2016, 8:15 PM
Our programme is 4 euro...
ToberonaTornado
16/11/2016, 8:22 PM
Our programme is 4 euro...
Ouch!!
patrickccfc
16/11/2016, 8:46 PM
Which begs the question, how did ye manage to place us 3rd in the list of 3 euro programmes, when it's not 3 euro?
Ezeikial
16/11/2016, 10:48 PM
Runners up was Galway Utd
Surprised by that - I felt sure 2nd place would go to Cork
Kevin L
16/11/2016, 11:00 PM
Hi Marty,
What's the criteria for Programme of the Year plus does every club in the League get a vote
Thanks,
Kevin
patrickccfc
17/11/2016, 5:57 AM
Surprised by that - I felt sure 2nd place would go to Cork
Suppose we can't always be second best. I'm sure it came down to the last minute :cool:
Hi Marty,
What's the criteria for Programme of the Year plus does every club in the League get a vote
Thanks,
Kevin
The irish programme club members vote
Wasn't in Dundalk this year but can certainly vouch for the Galway United programme being excellent. Loads of content and nice design.
17/11/2016, 9:16 AM
Cabinteely's is just uploaded onto their website.
https://loi.cabinteelyfc.ie/programme/
gufcfan
17/11/2016, 9:35 AM
Runners up was Galway Utd which was who I voted for originally as I love their covers which is superb and the content is top notch with a lot of content.
Sometime during the season, the programme moved to full-colour. It was a must in my opinion. The lads have done wonders in the least few years. From writing, editing, design, advertising sellers... everybody.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CvY8qrrXEAA-SI-.jpg (https://twitter.com/morganobrienart/status/789885569622999041)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CvY8qr1XYAAwmnx.jpg (https://twitter.com/morganobrienart/status/789885569622999041)