View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2015/16
southern kid
13/12/2015, 3:17 PM
I heard glin beat rovers 3 1. Any reports?
Langerdan007
15/12/2015, 8:06 AM
They listened to ya Shoot - no games till January 3rd - enjoy the Christmas!
sexyfootball
31/12/2015, 4:10 PM
All games off this weekend...Happy New Year!!
sexyfootball
08/01/2016, 7:48 AM
Blanket cancellation again this weekend 9th & 10th January.
The interleague youths game in Cork is still on at the moment.
The proposal of summer soccer will be raised again...
Johnnie C
17/01/2016, 1:46 PM
Division 1: Feenagh 1 Athea Utd 3. Athea were 2-0 up at the break.
Zenith
17/01/2016, 1:49 PM
Askeaton 3 - 2 Pallaskenry. Askeaton down to 10 men after 15 minutes or so, came back from 0 - 2 down.
sexyfootball
18/01/2016, 8:40 AM
Some result for Askeaton there Zenith! How are they struggling so much this season though after walking Div. II last season?
Great result for Broadford & the entire Premier (Apart from Abbeyfeale) with them beating Abbey 2-1 yesterday... opens up a glimmer of hope for themselves & the rest. Heard they've resigned a few players from previous seasons... will be a force to be reckoned with i'd say.
Ballingarry only 1 win in 8 so far... not looking good for them almost at half way through the season.
Langerdan007
18/01/2016, 2:07 PM
How were pitches after games does anyone know?
Zenith
18/01/2016, 8:30 PM
A couple of key players hanging up the boots, and others unable to commit for one reason or another. There was a change in the coaching staff too. In hindsight it might have been better to enter a single team this season, but there was nothing at the time to suggest the difficulties that have surfaced. Hopefully the second half of the season will work out better. I'm also not involved with the club this year, so this is just my opinion as an observer.
Pitch looked very soft during the game Langerdan, there had also been an U17 game on Saturday, and a ladies game scheduled for yesterday evening, although I don't know if that went ahead or not.
Johnnie C
24/01/2016, 12:59 PM
Division 1: Pallaskenry 1 Feenagh 3
Cruyff
27/01/2016, 6:35 PM
Forecast very mixed again this weekend with heavy rain for Saturday evening. Hearing a lot of different people saying the league cups will get cut. Another 2 weeks and U21 hurling will start on Sundays which is going to kill teams, as no doubt every hurling game will be fixed for 12noon to be doubly sure of clashing
Langerdan007
28/01/2016, 1:44 PM
Our pitch was actually in good nick after last week but all other Division 2 games were called off - league cups are defo under pressure - once you can play in the evenings there's going to be a lot of Friday/Sunday weekends - will we see a lot more teams unable to field teams for the last 2 or 3 meaningless to them fixtures??
Every year the fixing of GAA games comes up - standard GAA, no flexibility, to be fair I think a lot of the GAA teams do try to re fix for the Saturday night but still doesn't always happen - would 21's really have that big an effect on the majority of clubs though?
walkover
29/01/2016, 4:14 PM
would 21's really have that big an effect on the majority of clubs though?
Definitely will affect some teams, NCW rovers have at least 4/5 players that are playing u21s.
I'm sure Abbey have a few young players as well that might be playing football too.
KnowItAll
29/01/2016, 5:34 PM
Easy fix league cups, play them Tuesday and Thursday nights in clounreask, starting ASAP, it'll give teams a chance to get some game time too after the long lay off, can't beat competitive games, friendlies only take a team so far. That's common sense to me but......
last man back
30/01/2016, 8:11 PM
That wont be an option either, clonreask is out of use for the season going by what im hearing. I'd say dont panic yet and see how the season pans out, youd be surprised how quick it will be run off playing twice a week
fanaticfan
31/01/2016, 10:11 AM
Ya heard clounreask is outta action for the year as well because of the pitch getting infected or something
Abbeyman
31/01/2016, 4:49 PM
Definitely will affect some teams, NCW rovers have at least 4/5 players that are playing u21s.
I'm sure Abbey have a few young players as well that might be playing football too.
U21 football is over , played in Nov , might have an odd one playing hurling with tour/glantine although I thought 21 hurling was on Saturdays generally . We would prefer if they were Sunday as they have a bigger effect on youth teams . Desmond league haven't been exactly flexible when it comes to allowing fixtures been changed either . So many players could be working Saturdays it's hard for any sports club to field .
Langerdan007
31/01/2016, 8:55 PM
U21 football is over , played in Nov , might have an odd one playing hurling with tour/glantine although I thought 21 hurling was on Saturdays generally . We would prefer if they were Sunday as they have a bigger effect on youth teams . Desmond league haven't been exactly flexible when it comes to allowing fixtures been changed either . So many players could be working Saturdays it's hard for any sports club to field .
Young lads have so much going on now its very hard to keep numbers involved after 16. Do ye get to often play under lights Abbeyman?
2 outa 5 games off in Div 2 today - shocked Bally Rovers wasn't playable
Cruyff
16/02/2016, 7:36 PM
Vote took place regarding league cups last night: they go ahead as normal.
Also for all cup ties: if home field is unplayable automatically switch to away teams field.
But of hassle over teams calling off games, suggestion of teams doing it even when their field is ok just a front fir when they are missing players.
I've suspected it for a while myself
The Enforcer
17/02/2016, 12:55 PM
We are just about at the half way point lads, Any revised predictions for leagues and cups. Premier and Div 1 are really hotting up
soccer8
06/03/2016, 4:32 PM
Any results from today?
southern kid
06/03/2016, 6:51 PM
Heard ratkeale 2 ballysteen 0. Abbeyfeale 5 killeaney 1. Ratkeale b 4 feenagh 6. Askeaton beat abbey b on pens. Athea 5 glantine b 0. A few random results!
Johnnie C
06/03/2016, 11:12 PM
Sunday 6th March
Desmond Cup 1st Round
Granagh Utd 4 Ferry Rangers 1
Kildimo Utd 5 Shannonside B 0
Glin Rovers B 2 Adare Utd 1
Desmond Cup 2nd Round
Newcastle West Rovers V Askeaton B, w/o to Rovers
Rathkeale 2 Ballysteen 0
Richard Hogan Cup Q/Fs
Newcastle West B 2 Newcastle West Rovers B 2 aet (3-4 pens)
Knockaderry 3 St Itas 2
Riedy Cup Q/F
Glantine B 0 Athea Utd 5
Premier Division League Cup 1st Round
Killeaney 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 4
Division 1 League Cup 1st Round
Askeaton A 3 Abbeyfeale Utd B 3 aet (4-3 pens)
Division 1 League Cup Q/Fs
Feenagh 7 Rathkeale B 4
Breska Rovers 5 Pallaskenry 3
Division 2 League Cup 1st Round
Creeves Celtic V AK Utd off
Division 2 League Cup Q/F
Bally Rovers 2 Shountrade 3
Division 1
Carrig Celtic V Rockhill Rovers, w/o to Carrig
Division 3
Ballingarry B 4 Feenagh B 0
Johnnie C
13/03/2016, 4:24 PM
Desmond Cup Round 3: Newcastle Rovers 1 Feenagh 4 ( 0-0 at half time)
Is that the same Newcastle rovers who the premier league was "theirs to throw away" a while back?
southern kid
14/03/2016, 2:35 PM
Yes I think that is same team snafu but in fairness anyone can have an off day and in cup competition it's no 2nd chances. U have to say well done to feenagh. Looks like lge favourites now may be broadford as they are flying it. Could be exciting finish after all but I would fancy them now as I believe abbey have lost too many players due to injury and working abroad..
Johnnie C
16/03/2016, 9:40 PM
Desmond Cup Round 2 tonight: Abbeyfeale United 3 St Ita's 0, was scoreless with 15 minutes left.
The Enforcer
28/03/2016, 12:57 PM
I'm gonna make a bold prediction and say that not only will abbeyfeale retain their treble but will also go the season unbeaten in the league. Runners up to be someone like Broadford.
This truly was an outstanding prediction
Well Abbey ain't going to win the treble now after getting knocked out of the Desmond Cup yesterday, well done Breska:)
Have It
01/04/2016, 1:42 PM
Anyone have the Desmond Cup Quarter final draw?
robotwarsfan
03/04/2016, 11:41 AM
Anyone have the Desmond Cup Quarter final draw?
Carrig Celtic vs Rathkeale A
Breska Rovers vs Kildimo A/AK United
Feenagh A vs Knockaderry
Creeves Celtic/Broadford A Vs Glin A/Abbeyfeale B
Battery Rover
06/04/2016, 4:13 PM
Feenagh A vs Knockaderry
Breska Rovers vs AK United Sunday @ 11.30am
Langerdan007
10/04/2016, 1:42 PM
Feenagh A vs Knockaderry
Does anyone know if the semi pairing are drawn yet?
Have It
10/04/2016, 4:42 PM
Doubtful. I'd say they don't even know where they will be played. I hear Clounreask wont be used this year
old man
10/04/2016, 4:50 PM
Super win for AK today
Langerdan007
10/04/2016, 5:09 PM
Doubtful. I'd say they don't even know where they will be played. I hear Clounreask wont be used this year
Ya is it true the grass got a disease and that's why it's closed?
Have It
10/04/2016, 8:06 PM
Ya I heard a similar story but I don't know if thats fact
Johnnie C
12/04/2016, 11:39 AM
Yeah, it's true. 17's Cup Final this coming Thursday is on in Abbeyfeale. Great win alright for AK at the weekend.
Langerdan007
12/04/2016, 3:43 PM
Yeah, it's true. 17's Cup Final this coming Thursday is on in Abbeyfeale. Great win alright for AK at the weekend.
I understand the draw for the Semi's was done last night and we got Glin in the next round - to be played in Askeaton!
Anyone at the meeting?
Other 1/4 finals still to be played after the call off's the weekend
Battery Rover
25/04/2016, 9:43 PM
AK United 2 Glin 3
southern kid
07/05/2016, 9:24 PM
Big game in league tomorrow for ratkeale and broadford. If ratkeale win it u would nearly fancy them to push on for double as they are on a good run as are broadford also so should serve up a cracking game. Is it on in ratkeale or broadford?
Johnnie C
15/05/2016, 10:11 PM
Kildimo and Shannonside relegated from Premier, Athea and Carrig both promoted back to Premier and there will be a play off for Division 3 title between Glin B and Ballingarry B.
Crazy Lady
16/05/2016, 6:34 AM
Knockaderry 1 Glin Rovers B 2
Glin are promoted to Division 2 and should be capable of getting promoted handy enough again next year.
PatRooney
18/05/2016, 1:59 PM
Any Predictions for the Desmond Cup Final? Heard Glin are missing Gary Culhane, that will be a massive loss for them
southern kid
19/05/2016, 6:38 PM
Yes heard that about young Culhane and yes he will be big loss but glin seem to be able to get results this year. As for ratkeale they seem to have fallen away in last few wks.the only real test they had with their final games was brdf at home which they lost and brfd away this weekend.if they do not put it up to brfd and get some confidence I would fancy glin in final who themselves beat broadford to get there.. should be good final in great venue....
fanaticfan
20/05/2016, 8:10 PM
Anyone know date, time and venue for the desmond cup final?
sexyfootball
23/05/2016, 12:23 PM
Congrats to Abbey on retaining their League title... they were made to work every bit of the way by a resurgant Broadford side who almost nicked it at the finish. If Tossie Butler hadn't got that terrible injury who knows they may well have held on (hopefully he's not out for too long and comes back stronger).
Athea & Carrig Celtic straight back up to the premier, 'twill be highly competitive league again next season.
Ballingarry to do 'a Leicester City' on it and carry the momentum to win the Premier? (I wanted to be the first person to get a Leicester analogy in there!)
Desmond Cup Final should be a good game, Rathkeale probably favourites but Glin have a great record in the competition.
PatRooney
25/05/2016, 3:37 PM
The final is friday week @ 7 in Newcastle west grounds.
Johnnie C
26/05/2016, 12:27 PM
Live commentary of the Hogan Cup Final between Knockaderry and Newcastle Rovers B on West Limerick 102FM on Sunday from 12.
Johnnie C
27/05/2016, 8:00 PM
Division 2 League Cup Final: St Ita's 1 Creeves Celtic 0