View Full Version : LOI fixtures 22nd/23rd May

Pages : 1 [2]

patrickccfc
23/05/2015, 6:22 PM
Couldn't believe the abuse that Billy Dennehy starting getting from some home 'fans' before he was subbed. He had an off night like 90% of the team but in his last home game he got a hat-trick. Some fair idiots for support. Then after he was subbed Desperate Dan launched two of his trademark missiles into the main stand with time running out.

I think everyone was a bit frustrated at how poor we were on the night and seemed to single out Billy. Wasn't his best game but it wasn't just him, we were collectively poor. It was a very frustrating match to watch as it never really got going and a draw was inevitable from early on. First time in the Caulfield era that boos were heard after the final whistle.

paykanti
23/05/2015, 6:35 PM
Longford going three upfront? They smell blood.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/05/2015, 7:33 PM
Comical Caulfield strikes again

23/05/2015, 8:00 PM
John Caulfield is claiming that Cork City's budget is a fraction of that of Dundalk, Pats, and Rovers. 80% less, according to Caulfield.

A euro goes a lot further in Cork than on the east coast, if Cork have put together such a large squad on 20% of the budget of the other leading clubs.

http://www.the42.ie/graham-cummins-available-released-exeter-2120082-May2015/

Absolute rubbish. Managers always use budget as an easy excuse.

KeepersBall
23/05/2015, 11:35 PM
Another video from Finn Park shows a top drawer point-blank save from Ciaran Gallagher just before half time to keep scores 0-0. Turned out to be a crucial save. Serious hush around the ground before this was hit such was how tense the match was.

Also, the most scrappy three seconds of football you'll ever see.

420413471473469Decent save right enough.
But where was he standing for the free kick?
Best that can be said about his positioning is he was in the right goalmouth.

oriel
24/05/2015, 9:27 AM
Maybe Cauldfield means '20% less'. Either way he has some very high earners in his squad, notably Miller, and Shephard who both joined on decent contracts. Also he has a good few players too like Dan Murray, Rob Lehane, Mark O'Sullivan, who didn't start the season as first team regulars, but would still be on a good wage I'm sure.

I'm not sure what Dundalk's weekly budget is, but it was modest enough in 2014. However some players like Towell, Finn, Horgan, O'Donnell and perhaps Rogers would be on good money you would think.

In summary I wouldn't say there is that much between Cork and Dundalk in budgets, I think Rovers would be bigger, and Pats a bit behind all.

24/05/2015, 12:28 PM
Awful game in longford last night and as expected an awful attendance but the win is all that matters and back up to 6th in the league where we have a real chance of finishing this season which would be an incredible achievement.

Should have won by more in the end but we just aren't taking our chances. Ben Mohamed exceptional again (and wrongly booked for diving by another sh1t ref). We could have easily thrown it away in the last seconds with 2 massive chances for Limerick but thankfully they didn't take them. Huge couple of weeks coming up for us now.

24/05/2015, 4:36 PM
Horgan 2nd goal on Friday :love2:

https://vine.co/v/eqT7QFHQYjq

placid casual
24/05/2015, 6:44 PM
In summary I wouldn't say there is that much between Cork and Dundalk in budgets, I think Rovers would be bigger, and Pats a bit behind all.

if you honestly think this is true Oriel, then you really know very very little about your own club.
Dundalk are by a clear margin the biggest wages spenders in this league, albeit its offset by Fyffes paying a significant proportion of Towells, Finn and maybe even Horgans wages, so the direct impact on dundalks budget is felt less.

how do i know this you may ask?? Believe it or not i have a mole in the fyffes offices!!

Rovers AGM was yesterday where we were told that we couldn't afford a new striker even though fatso North is out until September.

I wont hazard a guess of pats money or corks but i'd say is all much of a muchness between those two & Rovers

Don't get me wrong- dundalks money is well spent as Towell & Horgan are winning the league for youse on their own.
Just don't kid yourself into thinking its some altruistic streak by your players and they are willing to accept buttons for their services

White Horse
24/05/2015, 6:49 PM
Believe it or not i have a mole in the fyffes offices!!

This is why I love this site.

24/05/2015, 8:16 PM
As long as the little fecker is kept away from the bananas..

Yossarian
24/05/2015, 9:20 PM
if you honestly think this is true Oriel, then you really know very very little about your own club.

We are very lucky to have a Rovers fan on hand to let us know the happenings of our club.

jinxy lilywhite
24/05/2015, 10:26 PM
Dundalk are by a clear margin the biggest wages spenders in this league, albeit its offset by Fyffes paying a significant proportion of Towells, Finn and maybe even Horgans wages, so the direct impact on dundalks budget is felt less.

how do i know this you may ask?? Believe it or not i have a mole in the fyffes offices!!

Rovers AGM was yesterday where we were told that we couldn't afford a new striker even though fatso North is out until September.

I wont hazard a guess of pats money or corks but i'd say is all much of a muchness between those two & Rovers

Don't get me wrong- dundalks money is well spent as Towell & Horgan are winning the league for youse on their own.
Just don't kid yourself into thinking its some altruistic streak by your players and they are willing to accept buttons for their services

Ridiculous

Ezeikial
24/05/2015, 10:27 PM
Believe it or not i have a mole in the fyffes offices!!

Does the recent whistleblower legislation cover him?

24/05/2015, 11:06 PM
Good grief placid casual, stop embarrassing us. There's no team that has far and away the biggest budget in the league, nor has there been for a decade or more.

24/05/2015, 11:15 PM
Richie Towell is earning more per week than the entire Finn Harps squad. Fact. It's always true when you say fact. Fact.

oriel
24/05/2015, 11:16 PM
Dundalk are by a clear margin the biggest wages spenders in this league, albeit its offset by Fyffes paying a significant proportion of Towells, Finn........

how do i know this you may ask?? Believe it or not i have a mole in the fyffes

This is clearly a bananas suggestion PC.

24/05/2015, 11:17 PM
Richie Towell is earning more per week than the entire Finn Harps squad. Fact. It's always true when you say fact. Fact.
I heard Kevin McHugh is getting paid 10,000 a week by McDaid's. Fact.

PartySaint
25/05/2015, 8:49 AM

As we know it's only Rovers players that do that.

placid casual
25/05/2015, 9:18 AM
Good grief placid casual, stop embarrassing us.

that is rich coming from you , pal.;)

desaintsno.12
25/05/2015, 9:23 AM
Dundalk were just a lot better than us on Friday. The opening 25/30 mins was great. High tempo, high intensity and high quality.
I almost found myself clapping Dundalks second goal and another move they put together which would have been a goal only for an unbelievable save from Clarke.
Its also one of the only times i have left a Pats game on the end of a beating and not been bitching about some sort of scape goat... they cheated/they fluked it/the ref robbed us, etc etc. They were just a step above what we had to offer.

This Dundalk team is not the most talented team man for man, i have seen , but arguably one of the best teams/units/machines, i have seen in a long......long... time. So well drilled and so effective.

Annoyingly i am struggling to hate them, i want to, i really do. Kenny helps though me maintain some level of dislike towards them

PartySaint
25/05/2015, 10:30 AM
This Dundalk team is not the most talented team man for man, i have seen , but arguably one of the best teams/units/machines, i have seen in a long......long... time. So well drilled and so effective.

I think they're on drugs

desaintsno.12
25/05/2015, 11:29 AM
I think they're on drugs

that works for me #junkiesagainstjunkies

oriel
25/05/2015, 11:52 AM
Dundalk were just a lot better than us on Friday. The opening 25/30 mins was great. High tempo, high intensity and high quality.
I almost found myself clapping Dundalks second goal and another move they put together which would have been a goal only for an unbelievable save from Clarke.
Its also one of the only times i have left a Pats game on the end of a beating and not been bitching about some sort of scape goat... they cheated/they fluked it/the ref robbed us, etc etc. They were just a step above what we had to offer.

Annoyingly i am struggling to hate them, i want to, i really do. Kenny helps though me maintain some level of dislike towards them

Fair play, it's not always easy to acknowledge the quality in another side after your team is on the end of a defeat. I remember watching Derry beat Dundalk 4-0 in oriel park, league cup final, think it was 88/89 and we were double champions. Played us off the park, second to every ball, real quality.

25/05/2015, 1:13 PM
Fair play, it's not always easy to acknowledge the quality in another side after your team is on the end of a defeat. I remember watching Derry beat Dundalk 4-0 in oriel park, league cup final, think it was 88/89 and we were double champions. Played us off the park, second to every ball, real quality.

And I think that was the case when ye came down here, sometimes you just have to put your hands up and say you were beaten by a better side.

25/05/2015, 4:31 PM
I heard Kevin McHugh is getting paid 10,000 a week by McDaid's. Fact.

Worth every penny

Briuk
30/05/2015, 11:34 AM
http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/club-news/486-rescheduled-athlone-town-match

Is this in the rules? Why the game has to re-start?

30/05/2015, 11:43 AM
http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/club-news/486-rescheduled-athlone-town-match

Is this in the rules? Why the game has to re-start?

Because it was abandoned. If it was after 75 minutes the result would have stood.