View Full Version : LOI week of May 15/16
17/05/2015, 12:52 AM
Harps are very big and solid team who will win the first division imo.
They also knock it around well.Sickening though to lose tonight. Most Ramblers fans pretty angry about the throw ball which led to the equaliser. That said harps were pushing for the goal and deserved it.
Wish David Browne the best, looked a nasty injury.
Thought Cobh were excellent in the first half. They'll be very disappointed to have lost.
Injury to the goalkeeper was an ankle injury, maybe broke, swollen up like a balloon according to the ambulance folk.
A fantastic game though I thought, real entertainment while no great amounts of football played. Second half Harps were excellent and looked like the more hungry of the two sides. A different Cobh side under Hendo and could certainly push hard this season for play-offs with one or two additions in the transfer window.
Most Harps fans however were incredibly angry with the performance of Paula Brady, she had a shocker in the middle. Booking Ruairi Keating for diving in what was a clear foul was madness. I think she was equally bad for both sides though, worst referee in the league by an absolute country mile.
Thought Cobh were excellent in the first half. They'll be very disappointed to have lost.
Injury to the goalkeeper was an ankle injury, maybe broke, swollen up like a balloon according to the ambulance folk.
A fantastic game though I thought, real entertainment while no great amounts of football played. Second half Harps were excellent and looked like the more hungry of the two sides. A different Cobh side under Hendo and could certainly push hard this season for play-offs with one or two additions in the transfer window.
Most Harps fans however were incredibly angry with the performance of Paula Brady, she had a shocker in the middle. Booking Ruairi Keating for diving in what was a clear foul was madness. I think she was equally bad for both sides though, worst referee in the league by an absolute country mile.
Good to hear that there are no issues with equality in the league when it comes to standard of ref then.
White Horse
17/05/2015, 10:56 AM
We're f**ked.
The way we are going, it will take us 13 more games to get the 5 points that currently separate us from the team above us.
F**ked.
It looks like the bottom spot is between you and the drogs. I think Bray will improve unless the deal doesn't go through.
Limerick remind me of Dundalk in 2012, not a good thing.
17/05/2015, 7:34 PM
Mickey Funston at it again for Harps (nod to Cobh goalkeeper)
Josh Mailey got Harps second with a decent buildup and good finish
Raymond Foy with the winner from the edge of the box. Note the "ah sh!t" of inevitability from a Cobh supporter.
Seagull
17/05/2015, 7:54 PM
Crolly off to a great start with Bray. Good to see him back in the league as from reports he is a modern type coach.
Aided by the fact that Pats were very average on the night. Our PA chap needs to learn the word Wanderers- Bray Wanders is what he calls us.
DaveyPats
17/05/2015, 8:42 PM
[QUOTE=Seagull;1819624]Aided by the fact that Pats were very average on the night./QUOTE]
Sadly that's been the case on numerous occasions this season.
17/05/2015, 10:55 PM
Mickey Funston at it again for Harps (nod to Cobh goalkeeper)
Josh Mailey got Harps second with a decent buildup and good finish
Raymond Foy with the winner from the edge of the box. Note the "ah sh!t" of inevitability from a Cobh supporter.
You can't spell 'Funston' without 'fun'
desaintsno.12
18/05/2015, 8:51 AM
god we were poison, absolute poison
PartySaint
18/05/2015, 8:54 AM
god we were poison, absolute poison
Thankfully we have a handy one on Friday to try bounce back...
18/05/2015, 9:06 AM
Yeah with a recent dip in form, missing a regular centreback, goals not exactly flowing for our striker, cant decide on the midfield selection...I say you hold all the aces and that the league table is totally misleading!! While were at it Shamrock Rovers are incredible to watch with their silky brand of football and Cork City are just pure filth in the numerous tackles they make per game....
18/05/2015, 12:53 PM
They probably should have had at least one penalty, and the other was in the 'I've seen them given' category.
Thought the challenge was a penalty myself, not sure about the handball.
Disappointing and heartening at the same time, that match. We matched Dundalk on the pitch, especially in the second half. Not a whole lot of chances created, so pretty gutting when the late, deflected goal went in.
In saying that, Byrne really should have made it 2-0 at the death. But if we can play like that against the better teams, we'll do alright.
On a side note, what was the craic with all the garda dogs outside the ground? Bit over the top, surely?
18/05/2015, 12:57 PM
On a side note, what was the craic with all the garda dogs outside the ground? Bit over the top, surely?
Strongly resisting Derry and greyhound jokes...
Yossarian
18/05/2015, 1:25 PM
I was a bit surprised when I saw that myself. The dogs must have needed a run out or something as there's never been any need for a public order unit when Derry are in town.
sulywaterfordfc
18/05/2015, 2:08 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=Rea66fCEKVw Highlights from the Blues 3-1 win over Cabinteely Friday last.
18/05/2015, 2:29 PM
Never seen as many police before as I saw at limerick v Cork.
Do not know what they were expecting to happen.
El-Pietro
18/05/2015, 2:32 PM
Cork City are just pure filth in the numerous tackles they make per game....Thats just cos we keep giving the ball back after we win it. We have no interest in possession football!
18/05/2015, 2:45 PM
I doubt they were there for the decent Derry folk who traveled to the game but after Dundalk's last game in the Brandywell they were likely there to ensure no retaliation from the not so decent type in Dundalk that would neither be in Oriel or the Brandywell but need little excuse for a bit of rock chucking at visiting Derry fans!
Olander
18/05/2015, 4:40 PM
Our PA chap needs to learn the word Wanderers- Bray Wanders is what he calls us.
Get the older gentleman back! Very pleasant chap.
D24Saint
18/05/2015, 5:02 PM
Lowering the volume wouldn't hurt either it could be heard in Greystones on Saturday it was that loud.
18/05/2015, 10:09 PM
Penalty decision for Galway was a disgrace. Great tackle by Lopes.
18/05/2015, 10:13 PM
Penalty decision for Galway was a disgrace. Great tackle by Lopes.
Truly shocking decision.
White Horse
18/05/2015, 10:19 PM
Never mind referreeing. Buttimer should be banned from all grounds in the league
18/05/2015, 10:51 PM
Jaysus, looked like a penalty for longford also.
18/05/2015, 11:06 PM
Jaysus, looked like a penalty for longford also.
Said at the time I didn't think so and I'm even more convinced now that it wasn't. No contact Imo. Blanchard very clumsy but hasn't put a foot it and didn't push him. No peno. We should have buried rovers on the night no excuses
18/05/2015, 11:08 PM
Certainly looked like no contact. Shaw presumably kicked his own heel.
18/05/2015, 11:31 PM
I thought the defender caused him to clip his own heel as he went to kick, but it wasn't that clear.
The slowed down replays of the same footage don't help much.
Never mind referreeing. Buttimer should be banned from all grounds in the league
Genuinely can't remember the last time I've seen him ref without him making a huge mistake. Sometimes he's lucky and they don't cost clubs points, but he'll always get at least 2/3 simple decsions completely wrong
19/05/2015, 8:55 AM
Certainly looked like no contact. Shaw presumably kicked his own heel.
Correct
Town Legend
19/05/2015, 10:30 AM
Just seen footage from soccer Republic and as suspected definite penalty. I thought so Friday night and even more so now. And considering the Rovers back room staff backed up those claims is even more disappointing. Outspoken, check out the footage on RTE player and I'm sure you will change your mind!
19/05/2015, 12:35 PM
Get the older gentleman back! Very pleasant chap.
Somehow i don't think that will be happening...
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1011336452219622&set=a.429248273761779.105769.100000298316145&type=1&theater
19/05/2015, 1:48 PM
RIP link
19/05/2015, 1:50 PM
That link's more finished than James McClean's career.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1011336452219622&set=a.429248273761779.105769.100000298316145&type=1&theater
Ezeikial
19/05/2015, 5:25 PM
Link is dead.
Long Live the Link
19/05/2015, 5:43 PM
silly silly stuff.
What in the name of Jebus are Bray at?
If you wish to state something now is the time. And I mean today.
bluewhitearmy
19/05/2015, 6:11 PM
Thank god no-one at Limerick would ever act in such a ridiculous manner.
NeverFeltBetter
19/05/2015, 7:21 PM
Limerick and Bray, LOI's scintillating race to the bottom.
White Horse
19/05/2015, 7:36 PM
Is there a competition between Limerick and Bray to see who is the more ridiculous?
donnrua
19/05/2015, 8:08 PM
No, there's a competition between the chairmen of both clubs as to who can behave the oddest while ****ing off the maximum amount of supporters...
19/05/2015, 8:31 PM
If only Ollie was still with us.
NeverFeltBetter
19/05/2015, 8:55 PM
Is there a competition between Limerick and Bray to see who is the more ridiculous?
Can't wait for the cup tie. POS will refuse to let Limerick play unless he's the only one allowed curse in the ground, while Bray's owners pick fights with random fans.
White Horse
19/05/2015, 9:00 PM
Can't wait for the cup tie. POS will refuse to let Limerick play unless he's the only one allowed curse in the ground, while Bray's owners pick fights with random fans.
Buttimer to be the ref.
20/05/2015, 1:34 PM
If only Ollie was still with us.
Ollie p*ssed off everyone else and their fans not his own fans!
20/05/2015, 1:36 PM
Buttimer to be the ref.
I'm sure Buttimer would find a way to red card the fans somehow!
Absolutely scandalous to treat any volunteers like that. There is nothing lower.
The fact that it's one of Bray's most respected and well known fans/volunteers makes it all the more galling.
D24Saint
20/05/2015, 1:51 PM
disgraceful they wont last long treating people like this. If they are carrying on like this to their own it is better if people walk on egg shells around here.
20/05/2015, 1:55 PM
Is there some secret FAI requirement for the people who run football clubs to have a lobotomy before they're passed fit?
D24Saint
20/05/2015, 1:56 PM
Is there some secret FAI requirement for the people who run football clubs to have a lobotomy before they're passed fit?
Its a prerequisite for working in Abbotstown so the League of Ireland is bound to be little different.
20/05/2015, 3:15 PM
Removing an 'electrical connection' so an extension lead then! and 'appears' to have caused damage to goods owned by the McGettigan Group, the people who have walked away hmmmm. Formally advising that repercussions are severe for all...until consequences determined? Sounds like the type of thing said when a school kid puts a football through a window or something. Drivel and patronising!
I want to know what McGettigans were storing that was so easily damaged without an extension lead.