View Full Version : Weekend 24/25 April games LIVE
25/04/2015, 10:41 PM
Possibly but no matter how bad we have been we have actually knocked the ball around a good bit. Maybe even over doing it so good football can be played there. Have seen teams come to Jackman and play us off the park with good football.
A result against Cork in a few weeks and it will have been points taken off 3 of the title favourites. Russell looks more like he can improve Limerick than Heary can do so at Sligo. The Sligo board must be thinking long and hard about what to do. The Bray lads must have been told this morning that Matthews is on his way back for definite; They must be the bookies favourite team!
25/04/2015, 10:54 PM
Towell may have got the plaudits but Shields deserves great credit for his defensive role in MF, without doubt one of the most improved LOI players in the past few years, McMillan wasn't far behind him too.
Totally agree! Sheilds physicality and ability to win and retain possession is excellent. He went on one mazy run where he didnt have pass but held on to the ball with a couple of Cork lads bouncing off him. I would have seen him preseason as the player to sit out games in in favour to O'Donnell, Towell, and Finn but he is undropable at the moment and Finn is most likely to miss out on a start if SK gives O'Donnell the nod. McMillan is certainly growing to the role he's been given. More of his headed flick ons are working but the ball just doesnt stick as it did with Hoban. I think that part of his game will get better, his work ethic is top class, and he is better than Hoban when he gets facing on to goal. We need to keep him fit!!
wonder88
25/04/2015, 11:01 PM
Back from Bray, Galway played some nice stuff and should have won by more. Home side poor however, outplayed in midfield. Few more goals from Curran, not sure if first was left-foot, so maybe not perfect hat-trick. Like a good few of the Galway lads a player who can improve further.
Saw Limerick on Monday and they lost the game mostly due to bad mistakes by the keeper, so not a total surprise that they got a draw against Fenlon's.
Dalymountrower
25/04/2015, 11:34 PM
PF's tried and trusted formula of drawing the hard games and winning the easy ones should normally have his teams at the top or a few points off.
Not going to work this year with Dundalk playing like they did on Friday.
wonder88
26/04/2015, 12:52 AM
Ryan Connolly scored a fine goal v Bray. Great start by Dundalk, but early days still. The lower half of the league may not be as predictable as the Dublin media reports, which is understandable I suppose. Who is Pete Mahon involved with this year, Drogheda?
gufcfan
26/04/2015, 2:34 AM
Who is Pete Mahon involved with this year, Drogheda?
Yeah, Johnny Mac's assistant.
Very unfair of Pats playing a very different game to the one we were trying to play last night. Quick passing. Too each other as well. Could have been a bigger defeat then it was really. Huge game for us against Limerick next weekend.
Tragic what is going on.
I'm glad I'm not in the country to have to sit through what is by all accounts a shambles.
First division after all that has been achieved would obliterate the huge work of the last 5 years.
Painful to witness even from afar to be honest.
Pablo Escobar
26/04/2015, 8:10 AM
Really enjoyable trip down, stayed overnight, long long drive back but it was worth it. That's a great set up Cork have, easily the best ground in the league IMO, and what a sight to see fans queuing up at 615 to get tickets. It was probably to get into the shed end, but I did read some were turned away from 715, pity as they could easily have fitted more in by reducing the gap between where the home and away fans where behind the other goal.
We met some great Cork fans in the Evergreen bar before and after, have to say very friendly and welcoming even after a defeat, most were quite complementary too on our performance. I thought the game would be decided in the key MF battles and thought we won that fairly easy, but from Cork point of view we all thought if Healy and Miller had played more football in the middle and if they had not used the long ball so much they might have got something, but still think we definitely deserved the win.
This was a big big test for us with easily the two hardest games both away in consecutive Fridays away to Rovers and Cork and to get 4 points is a superb return. Towell may have got the plaudits but Shields deserves great credit for his defensive role in MF, without doubt one of the most improved LOI players in the past few years, McMillan wasn't far behind him too.
Just on your point about Chris Shields, I thought he was comfortably MOTM tbh.
El-Pietro
26/04/2015, 9:09 PM
I'm gonna disagree with the Dundalk fans. I don't think there is any tactic or formation we could utilise to get us to their level. We're so close and yet so far away from where they are and its frustrating.
I think our best bet of getting rsults against them would be to go back to what we did last year. Right now were half trying to play football and half trying ot go long, but when we aim at players like Shep and Flynny its never going to work.
Shields is possibly the best player in the League of Ireland.
26/04/2015, 9:28 PM
Totally agree! Sheilds physicality and ability to win and retain possession is excellent. He went on one mazy run where he didnt have pass but held on to the ball with a couple of Cork lads bouncing off him. I would have seen him preseason as the player to sit out games in in favour to O'Donnell, Towell, and Finn but he is undropable at the moment and Finn is most likely to miss out on a start if SK gives O'Donnell the nod. McMillan is certainly growing to the role he's been given. More of his headed flick ons are working but the ball just doesnt stick as it did with Hoban. I think that part of his game will get better, his work ethic is top class, and he is better than Hoban when he gets facing on to goal. We need to keep him fit!!
Aside from the progress of individual players, what struck me as the outstanding aspect about Dundalk's performance was their general confidence and positivity, permeating throughout every aspect of the team and their game. Cork were met by a team who just knew they were better in every department and knew they could win. None of this 'it's a difficult game, against a very good team, on their home patch, with great home support'. The attitude from the very beginning was - 'we are going to win this game'.
Olander
26/04/2015, 11:53 PM
Shields is possibly the best player in the League of Ireland.Go lie down for a few minutes. Shields had a solid game for Dundalk but don't go mad.
L.T.F.C.
27/04/2015, 1:15 AM
Go lie down for a few minutes. Shields had a solid game for Dundalk but don't go mad.
Have to agree here.
27/04/2015, 8:39 AM
Aside from the progress of individual players, what struck me as the outstanding aspect about Dundalk's performance was their general confidence and positivity, permeating throughout every aspect of the team and their game. Cork were met by a team who just knew they were better in every department and knew they could win. None of this 'it's a difficult game, against a very good team, on their home patch, with great home support'. The attitude from the very beginning was - 'we are going to win this game'.
I'm loving the attitude, SK and the players are seething over 4 points dropped rather than talking up a potential tally of 29 from 34 from the first round of games (not taking Bray for granted as 3 points mind). Dare I say it but it is a bit Roy Keane in outlook without the overt agression and chip on the shoulder. A lot has been learned over the last couple of seasons and it is really pleasing to see continued progression with an already accomplished bunch of players. I think the loss at home to Hadjuk was pivotal last season where getting through the round was lost due to an inferiority complex, sensible confidence has grown since. Its possible complacency crept in for the Limerick game and that caused an upping of standards again which was the platform for the Cork performance and probably against Rovers first half anyway.
The way Cork and Shams are hedging their bets on keeping it tight against closest rivals and cutting lose at home or against lower teams shows an inadvertant fear. Whereas this Dundalk side seem fearless and want to win every game.
On Sheilds, EP cant agree that he is the best player in the league but he is probably the best at what he does and in the midfield role he plays for Dundalk. He is definitely the most improved player. 3 years ago who would ever have seen him start over Stephen O'Donnell?
White Horse
27/04/2015, 10:48 AM
I think back to 2013 when Dundalk were chasing Pats for the title. We went to Inchicore towards the end of the season, and they destroyed us. We didn't play all that badly but they were at a different level. They had the guile, composure, and belief we lacked.
It's how a side responds to those moments that define it. Dundalk got better, a lot better.
I see Cork at a similar point in their development. There is too much good stuff going on at Turners Cross for their development to stall now.
oriel
27/04/2015, 12:13 PM
The interesting thing about Chris Shields is to compare where he was in 2012 and even early in 2013 when SK joined to now. He was captain of that dreadful 2012 Dundalk side that effectively finished bottom and should have been relegated. He played central MF in a standard 4 across the park, he was awful, getting booked, late tackles, poor passing, wound up too much, bombing too forward and too often, just had a terrible season.
SK arrived and we were all surprised to hear he was kept on, only him Mountney and Cherrie were retained. Then SK said he saw him as a defender mainly, and was used for cover, played a few at left back start of 2013, did ok, then dropped, then came into central defence to cover Rossiter, and was taken off at HT. Another spell on the bench, then SK changed his formation and created a new role with a place up for grabs for a player to sit infront of the back 4, not to go forward too much, to win the ball, give it immediately, also to pass it out to the wings, and to have 2 more in the middle, with 2 out wide. He started that around middle of 2013 and hasnt looked back since.
I wouldnt say he's the best in the LOI (or at Dlk) but I cant think of any other LOI player that has shown such incredible improvement over the past 2 years than him, or a better player doing his role in the league. What he does allows Towell and Finn/O'Donnell to move freely, and both wingers Horgan and Meenan know they will get the ball regularly. His performance last Friday night was almost faultless, and this was after losing posession after 2 minutes also, which led to a Cork attack.
Olander
27/04/2015, 12:54 PM
I can remember Shields and Massey playing for Bray Wanderers sides that we used to hammer at the Carlisle Grounds/Terryland Park. It's mad how far they've come. To be fair, Kenny has a good track record for man-management and improving "lost causes". If you told me either of those would be stalwarts in league winning sides back then, I would've assumed First Division. Regression in standard in the league has helped a bit obviously.
27/04/2015, 1:45 PM
Shields, Massey and Gartland are all players most people wouldn't have seen ever getting within a whiff of a title. Goes to show that with a bit of guidance players can show talent they didn't before.
Couch Potato
27/04/2015, 2:28 PM
In fairness to Massey he has always been a very capable full back with a good left foot they are few and far between in this league.
The other two agreed you would not have thought they would have been in a top side.
El-Pietro
27/04/2015, 3:15 PM
I don't get the love for Massey. Hes got a good free kick but none of the rest of his game stands out. I actually don't think the Dundalk defence is all that is cracked up to be. They were poor against Rovers and there were hints of that again against us, we just weren't good enough to take advantage. That and Shields lives up to his name and saves them from having to do too much actual work.
27/04/2015, 3:23 PM
I That and Shields lives up to his name and saves them from having to do too much actual work.
The team = the sum of its parts.
The centre defensive pair have been a little ropey of recent but they were solid again on Friday bar a couple of lapses which could have been punished. Id expect them to be more assured with a bit of work in training to get back to form.
27/04/2015, 3:26 PM
In fairness to Massey he has always been a very capable full back with a good left foot they are few and far between in this league.
The other two agreed you would not have thought they would have been in a top side.
I think if you asked Dane himself he'd probably admit defence was never an area of strength for him. Dundalk defend essentially by keeping the ball and attacking, and that suits a player like Massey who has loads of pace and is deadly going forward.
Good point on ball retention at the back, this was especially noticable last Friday when Boyle and Gartland had loads of space and they continue in their tactic of passing on the deck along the back, can be dangerous at times, but it generally draws in the opposition MF then gaps appear. When they see a gap, the central defenders switch the ball quickly to the two full backs who are at that stage in position to attack. So a lot is based on possesion and then attacking at speed.
Our defence is decent in the air, but also has a good bit of speed, well maybe Gartland not so much, but they work well as a unit. Definite improvement in the GK this year. However there are ares to improve, I think Boyle misjudged the ball for the Cork goal, he looked like he lost sight of the ball. He also let it bounce for Drenan's second goal the previous Friday in Tallaght.
Ezeikial
27/04/2015, 6:09 PM
Shields is possibly the best player in the League of Ireland.
"Ringo isn't even the best drummer in the band" | John Lennon
The Fox
27/04/2015, 9:01 PM
[QUOTE=Olander;1816211]I can remember Shields and Massey playing for Bray Wanderers sides that we used to hammer at the Carlisle Grounds/Terryland Park.
You might remind me what hammerings you have dished out to Bray, esp with those 2 in the team.
This weekend doesn't count!!!!!
Olander
27/04/2015, 9:29 PM
You might remind me what hammerings you have dished out to Bray, esp with those 2 in the team.
This weekend doesn't count!!!!!
Type Galway United Bray Wanderers in youtube.
27/04/2015, 9:36 PM
To be fair, you can't blame anybody for being sceptical about the idea of Galway hammering teams.
Yossarian
27/04/2015, 9:49 PM
A DVD production is it? I'll expect to see nothing less than numerous 10 nil victories for Galway then.
Olander
27/04/2015, 9:53 PM
A DVD production is it? I'll expect to see nothing less than numerous 10 nil victories for Galway then.
A career in comedy awaits
27/04/2015, 9:54 PM
This what you're looking for?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rM9aVZoSxmE
Olander
27/04/2015, 9:56 PM
This what you're looking for?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rM9aVZoSxmE
https://www.youtube.com/user/VinnyGUFC/search?query=bray
27/04/2015, 9:59 PM
Very first result on the link you posted was a 2-2 draw...
..this isn't going too well for you Olander.
Olander
27/04/2015, 10:01 PM
Very first result on the link you posted was a 2-2 draw...
..this isn't going too well for you Olander.
Those were all the results for "Bray" on the old GU youtube. After that, there was 6 videos of wins against Bray. Your point?
28/04/2015, 10:07 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vl1Sghg6pF4&feature=youtu.be
GCdfc
28/04/2015, 12:18 PM
Those were all the results for "Bray" on the old GU youtube. After that, there was 6 videos of wins against Bray. Your point?
The original Galway Utd. Oh, how we miss them. Everything has changed since the DVD....even their YouTube channel. :cry:
Olander
28/04/2015, 12:20 PM
Good to see the Christmas tree huggers are still bitter ;) :D
yiz are a faaarrrrceeee
28/04/2015, 4:21 PM
Good to see the Christmas tree huggers are still bitter ;) :D
yiz are a faaarrrrceeee
Yup still bitter! and if Kilkenny City were around still....oh hang on....
WoodquayBoy
28/04/2015, 7:16 PM
Not putting words in Olander's mouth but I'd imagine he is referring to the run of games from 2008 to 2010 when United won seven out of eight meetings with Bray at a time Massey and Shields were both with the club (Massey longer than Shields). There weren't many hammerings score wise - 1-0, 4-0, 3-0, 2-1, 3-1, 2-0, 2-0 - but you can see where he was
coming from.
28/04/2015, 9:18 PM
I think back to 2013 when Dundalk were chasing Pats for the title. We went to Inchicore towards the end of the season, and they destroyed us. We didn't play all that badly but they were at a different level. They had the guile, composure, and belief we lacked.
It's how a side responds to those moments that define it. Dundalk got better, a lot better.
I see Cork at a similar point in their development. There is too much good stuff going on at Turners Cross for their development to stall now.In 2013 that was a Dundalk team that come from bottom to top in the blink of an eye and were certainly out-mucked at Inchicore in a title defining game, but that was a bonus territory for Dundalk. Cork have had that type of season last year and this season are probably facing the reality of having to replace the 3 or 4 old timers who are just not hacking it this year. With a bit of work in progress, Cork will have every chance in the 2016 season. I'd even put money on it.
White Horse
29/04/2015, 2:06 AM
I don't get the love for Massey. Hes got a good free kick but none of the rest of his game stands out. I actually don't think the Dundalk defence is all that is cracked up to be. They were poor against Rovers and there were hints of that again against us, we just weren't good enough to take advantage. That and Shields lives up to his name and saves them from having to do too much actual work.
Defending is the weakest part of this Dundalk team. They can be indecisive and try to over play the ball. Shamrock Rovers clearly identified this and concentrated on playing clever balls into areas between the full backs and the centre backs. They got two goals from this.
Caulfield, being such a poor tactician, just had his team lob balls up to the two biggest and strongest centre backs in the league.
On Massey, I thought he was excellent for us in 2012, poor in 2013, and is almost back to his best this season. In order to step up to a higher level, LOI players have to have the strength and athleticism to compete. These are attributes that Massey has in abundance over other LOI full backs.
30/04/2015, 9:06 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vl1Sghg6pF4&feature=youtu.be
Not to interrupt the cracking banter, but are GalwayUnitedTV using RTE footage for their videos on youtube, or their own camera?
Either way, do RTE not have the rights to that footage?
EDIT: There are a few other clubs putting up highlights on youtube also, now that I think of it, so the same question applies to them.
30/04/2015, 10:55 AM
Most clubs that put up coverage film it themselves. The TV contracts allow that (as long a they wait until after Soccer Republic for the weekend games)
Pats have uploaded a couple of videos with Setanta's footage. They've asked permission first though
gufcfan
30/04/2015, 2:43 PM
Not to interrupt the cracking banter, but are GalwayUnitedTV using RTE footage for their videos on youtube, or their own camera?
A volunteer with his own camera films all the matches and edits them together. RTÉ are ok with highlights going up, as long as it's after Soccer Republic. Cork City rip the Soccer Republic highlights and upload that.
Personally, I think any club with the ability to put up highlights should be able to do it when they want. 70 or 80 odd hours after a match is finished is a ridiculous amount of time to wait.
Imagine how much play Bohs would have gt from Kealon Dillon's goal.
It was Tuesday morning before it had a chance to go viral. 4 days after it happened
30/04/2015, 3:42 PM
How come Bolger's goal went straight up?
PartySaint
30/04/2015, 8:51 PM
How come Bolger's goal went straight up?
That was a Tuesday night game, rules might be different for midweek matches