View Full Version : 2015 Fixtures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

Battery Rover
24/07/2015, 3:15 PM
Kids have to join limerick at 11/12 to be educated correctly by qualified coaches.

That must be one of the worst statements I have ever seen in regards to Limerick Underage. There are plenty of talented coaches in the desmond league and county set ups with qualifications as high as many involved with Limerick and if these players are so poorly coached why are clubs out here constantly having players "INVITED" by Limerick surely it would be better go somewhere else then.

In case you arent aware there are some really bad vibes around regarding the set up overall and more so after the Desmond players being approached to play with 15s up to last week and it isn't jealousy causing it.

Maybe try getting the players from the Limerick District for a few seasons and see if that improves things. It may prove to you that plenty of good work is being done and Limerick dont have the monopoly on good coaches.

bluewhitearmy
25/07/2015, 9:11 PM
That must be one of the worst statements I have ever seen in regards to Limerick Underage. There are plenty of talented coaches in the desmond league and county set ups with qualifications as high as many involved with Limerick and if these players are so poorly coached why are clubs out here constantly having players "INVITED" by Limerick surely it would be better go somewhere else then.

In case you arent aware there are some really bad vibes around regarding the set up overall and more so after the Desmond players being approached to play with 15s up to last week and it isn't jealousy causing it.

Maybe try getting the players from the Limerick District for a few seasons and see if that improves things. It may prove to you that plenty of good work is being done and Limerick dont have the monopoly on good coaches.

What is causing it? Because if its just people being annoyed that they are losing players then they need to cop on.

LFC Blue
26/07/2015, 10:23 AM
Can we take advantage of Rovers European hangover today and nick a point??!!

26/07/2015, 11:07 AM
Can we take advantage of Rovers European hangover today and nick a point??!!
I very much doubt it.

Treaty Gooner
26/07/2015, 11:54 AM
A backs to the wall defensive performance and a 3-0 loss if we're lucky...

26/07/2015, 1:50 PM
I take it Patrick Kanyuka isn't signed for today if signing at all?

Treaty Gooner
26/07/2015, 6:28 PM
4-1 and nobody cares?

26/07/2015, 6:39 PM
When Turner scored to get it back to 2 1 he was hauled off immediately. Dogs abuse for Sean Russell for the rest of the game from the small travelling support. Interesting to note his teammates going out of their way to avoid passing to him.

Three of Rovers goals were pathetic. We were ok at nil nil.

This season has been an absolute disgrace.

da bishop
26/07/2015, 6:57 PM
23 GAMES...NO WIN......yawn,

Lims4ever
26/07/2015, 6:58 PM
What's the record for least amount of points in a season we must be heading for the award surely ???? Where are all the Greek saviours I suppose where signing them for our first division campaign next season I'm sure there top quality anyway

26/07/2015, 7:25 PM
When Turner scored to get it back to 2 1 he was hauled off immediately.
I'd guess that substitution was planned before the goal, but he wasn't happy about being taken off and had a few words with the manager.

bluewhitearmy
26/07/2015, 8:47 PM
Whens the last time Russell was taken off? His father is a disgrace.

26/07/2015, 8:51 PM
He was taken off at home to Drogheda in the first game in MF. I'm not sure about since then.

bluewhitearmy
26/07/2015, 8:53 PM
Just give Ross Mann or someone a go there is no way they can be worse. Its a bit unfair on Sean especially cos he is a lovely lad but its so frustrating.

bluewhitearmy
26/07/2015, 9:13 PM
We actually did ok for half an hour too and then never turned up second half again it seems to be a running theme lately.

NeverFeltBetter
26/07/2015, 11:07 PM
What's the record for least amount of points in a season we must be heading for the award surely ???? Where are all the Greek saviours I suppose where signing them for our first division campaign next season I'm sure there top quality anyway

Galway got 6 in 2011.

donnrua
26/07/2015, 11:15 PM
Galway got 6 in 2011.

at least they managed to win a game...

bluewhitearmy
27/07/2015, 2:27 PM
Jason Hughes supposedly gone to Sligo.

27/07/2015, 2:36 PM
Jason Hughes supposedly gone to Sligo.

Wouldn't blame him. He should be in midfield and is being stuck at right full.

bluewhitearmy
27/07/2015, 2:40 PM
Wouldn't blame him. He should be in midfield and is being stuck at right full.

Ya I will be interested to see how he gets on there. First game could be against us. Nzuzi signing for them too.

Lims4ever
27/07/2015, 4:35 PM
Jesus are we not supposed to be signing players instead were getting rid of them gets better with each passing day ****ing hell , it's not so bad I suppose can Sean Russell play right back he's a good all rounder in fairness , you could see Hughes had lost faith in surprised duggan is not gone aswell

bluewhitearmy
27/07/2015, 5:24 PM
Kunyuka is signing but waiting for international clearance from Thailand so that could take a while. A Spanish lad and another foreign lad are on trial too they were at the Rovers game.

NeverFeltBetter
27/07/2015, 7:08 PM
I guess Shirley Valentine wasn't the only film on that night.

da bishop
27/07/2015, 7:55 PM
did we get a fee for Hughes?lets face facts if we did it would be a great bit of business,Hughes is a local lad who most of the time gives his all but is nowhere near good enough even in our current predicament,what Sligo are at i will never know.

27/07/2015, 8:06 PM
did we get a fee for Hughes?lets face facts if we did it would be a great bit of business,Hughes is a local lad who most of the time gives his all but is nowhere near good enough even in our current predicament,what Sligo are at i will never know.

I wouldn't think so, isn't he over 23. I believe he got a very good offer from Sligo and the club wouldn't stand in his way.

Lets face it lads we are relegated. I hate losing players but signing players now could be a waste of time. All we are playing for now is pride.

Kennycon
27/07/2015, 9:27 PM
limerick need to prepare for first division next year spending money now is senseless

Treaty Gooner
01/08/2015, 7:31 PM
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!

This must be what winning the Champions League feels like!!!

01/08/2015, 9:09 PM
Spare a thought for Jason Hughes who is now still yet to win a game this season.

da bishop
01/08/2015, 9:23 PM
We won,we won,we won,we won,we won ,we won,we won,we won,we won, weeeeeee wooooooon.weeeeeeeeeeee wooooooooon,yes we won,we won,we won,we won,we did,i know we did ,i was there ,we won we won,aah we won.,

da bishop
01/08/2015, 9:27 PM
For the record 24 games .....1WIN.

LFC Blue
02/08/2015, 11:58 AM
A win next Saturday at home to Bohs and the great escape is definitely on in my opinion. The Markets Field showed all its magic last night as the crowd cheered Limerick off the pitch. 1000 people for a team 10 points adrift on a wet August weekend just proves that the move back is A success. After the Bohs game we travel to Cork before we welcome a Longford side in freefall to Limerick which is another really winnable game.

02/08/2015, 12:42 PM
If we can get a win next week and Sligo lose to Cork that's a 4 point gap. We Probably won't get anything from Cork so hopefully Sligo lose that week also. If by some chance that happens we could be looking at playing Longford and possibly closing the gap to 1 point.

That's all a bit pie in the sky though. We have to take one game at a time and next up is Bohs.

I reckon we could see the 1,300 mark being met for that game and possibly even more.

da bishop
02/08/2015, 2:11 PM
Spare a thought for Jason Hughes who is now still yet to win a game this season.Ya true ,but Hughes made a big contribution to our success last night and showed just why he is not up to it,when he was,n trying to pass it foward consistently losing possession ,he was doing what he normally does going backwards putting his teamates in trouble.the big thing for us last night imo was we had a competent keeper,after that the effort s of the players who knew they had something to hang on to[albeit we had some luck on our side and about time]and of course Sligo who were brutal and only coped themselves on after ht when moving their best player Cawley?[8],to midfield.

02/08/2015, 4:25 PM
The Keeper was generally very solid, wouldn't fault him for the goals, your big massive lad playing center back is generally very good too, bar being beaten too easily for the 2nd goal, but he looked a bit knackered for the last 15 mins, needs pace beside him. Clark on the wing was very good. Sligo are brutal thou, the amount of times they put themselves in trouble passing it about the back line was unbelievable.

Cyril, or Cecil.. as I heard a few people in the crowd shouting at him, looks a decent front man, from what I saw of his cameo. The few personnel changes have made a big difference, there's a half decent spine now, rather than just far too many kids/weak links.

Bohs are a huge step up in comparison, I'd be happy with getting any sort of dirty draw off them.

02/08/2015, 4:32 PM
Ya barr a few slips (accidental ones in the rain) I thought most our back 4 and keeper did very well. Both their goals was hard to blame anyone. The first Nzuzi went to cross, completely miss hit it, it skid along the ground catching everyone out and Lehane just tapped it in. Second was similar, bad cross, think one or two of ours slipped and the ball managed to go through for another scrappy goal. Hall made himself big on a few occasions and saved our asses.

Good to have a bit more experience at the back we were lacking.

When Lynch, Duggan, O'Connor, Turner and Clarke started linking up well they were outstanding.

O'Connor and Turner covered more ground last night than all season.

Faherty worked his socks off and took two of his chances.

Clarke's confidence seemed to go up about 10 notches as the game wore on.

Kennycon
03/08/2015, 10:17 AM
jason hughes was very poor and isn't league of ireland standard did we get a fee for him???? We need to get Clark and Duggan on long term contracts I can see bigger clubs coming in for them they were excellent against Sligo.

LFC Blue
03/08/2015, 11:16 AM
I presume Ndo was impressed by Hughes during his bizarre stint on the Limerick wage bill last season. Doesn't say much about his eye for a player. He doesn't seem to be up to much as a manager either which is another plus for us. Bohs and Longford at home is what will determine whether we can get back in this or not. Two results and we could be within a win of Sligo with as many as 8 games to go but if we don't close the gap in this period we'll run out of games.

03/08/2015, 2:54 PM
A few fans on here have been hoping Hughes would get a chance playing in front of the back 4 as a shield.

He got that chance against us, but wasn't able to offer them much protection.

NeverFeltBetter
04/08/2015, 3:54 PM
Only watched the highlights of course, but I'd be very wary of this result. Winner looked fair flukey between the defensive error and the lucky bounce into the net, and Limerick needed a great performance in goal to prevent Sligo from getting one or all points. Obviously I hope it leads to more points and a bit of momentum into the last round. Bray, Derry at home, Sligo again...stranger things have happened but that's still a huge gap to bridge.

04/08/2015, 3:59 PM
Only watched the highlights of course, but I'd be very wary of this result. Winner looked fair flukey between the defensive error and the lucky bounce into the net, and Limerick needed a great performance in goal to prevent Sligo from getting one or all points.
highlights didn't show chances Limerick had also - Faherty missed one about a minute into the second half, and O Connor had a shot cleared off the line. We also had a decentish penalty shout not given. Even at the end, Dean Clarke was a yard or two away from a one-on-one with the keeper.

Yes we were hanging on at the end, but we had plenty of our own chances.

NeverFeltBetter
05/08/2015, 3:49 PM
That's fair enough, I know the highlights can give a wrong impression. I'm really interested in how the team performs against better opposition.

05/08/2015, 3:52 PM
It was by far our best performance in attack. The midfield linked up very well together and both Turner and Paul O Connor put in big shifts. I wouldn't get carried away with the game but more performances on that and build up the confidence we should pick up another 7-10 points before seasons end. We will still be relegated but should put some respectability on the season.

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2015, 1:51 PM
To be totally honest I think if we had put in that performance against anyone else we wouldn't have gotten 3 points. We came out 2nd half nowhere near the standard we played in the first and I wonder why that keeps happening. Hopefully the buzz for the week after getting the win will lift the performance Saturday cos we will need to be a lot better to get a win against Bohs.

Lims4ever
06/08/2015, 7:53 PM
Would have to agree with above post sligo were as poor as I have seen all season taught our confidence levels were low they were worse, hopefully as said the win will give the team a lift bohs have hit a sticky patch not going as well as they were , really like the look of akinade was hoping we would go for him when he was at bray he's a handful

06/08/2015, 10:45 PM
With the whole legal issue around Akinade it's clear to see why the club didn't sign him. A lot of fans would have been disgusted if we signed him.

NeverFeltBetter
06/08/2015, 11:18 PM
Yeah, in no way interested in letting Limerick be that guys way back into an LOI career, relegation fight or no relegation fight.

Lims4ever
07/08/2015, 7:11 AM
Was not aware of an issue what happened there ????

07/08/2015, 7:38 AM
Was not aware of an issue what happened there ????

He was up for sexual assault of a minor from a few years ago. It was in the papers last year but for legal reasons it was removed from all online sources.

NeverFeltBetter
07/08/2015, 9:27 AM
Prince out of next game, knee injury. Sean Harding has left the club, Aidan Price has retired.

07/08/2015, 9:50 AM
Happy enough with Paudie O Connor as first up as a centre back replacement. He has shown experience and quality beyond his years in most games. Have seen him play full back also and do a great job there.