View Full Version : Youth Development/ Coaching etc etc..

Eirambler
27/11/2004, 6:52 PM
The BBC make him sound like God.

BBC Report (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/4028027.stm)

Hopefully he'll get a run of games between now and March

27/11/2004, 7:13 PM
Great to see Morrison scoring. He looked great in the Stade de France before he got injured. Hopefully he can continue the run of form. I reckon that he is going to be a key player for Ireland up front since he looks like he is the only player who can link up with robbie well.

27/11/2004, 8:16 PM
Its also great that his last 3 goals have been absolutely top class headers.

czarner
28/11/2004, 10:33 AM
Can someone post that report for me please? I'm very interested in Morrison's progress, I'm convinced he's going to be very important in the future for us, I really hope he starts getting a regular place few more goals with Birmingham. I'm living in China these days and they block the BBC website! :(

28/11/2004, 12:04 PM

Darren Huckerby's second-half strike gave Premiership strugglers Norwich a deserved draw away to Birmingham City.

Huckerby pounced from three yards out to tap in from David Bentley's cross.

Birmingham took the lead when Clinton Morrison nodded in from close range after Emile Heskey's header rebounded off the crossbar.

Morrison had two more efforts that were well saved by England keeper Robert Green, while Huckerby was guilty of screwing wide in the first-half.

The story of the first half centred around the potent partnership of Heskey and Morrison.

Morrison, in particular, was in superb form.

The Republic of Ireland hitman was thriving on the good supply provided by David Dunn and Damien Johnson, but it was the selfless running from Heskey that opened up the Norwich defence on several occasions for Morrison.

The striker was unfortunate not to double his tally just before the break after a good one-two with Heskey on the edge of the area but his placed effort found the hands of a relieved Green..

And just before the interval, Green's international credentials were tested to the limit when he somehow managed to tip Morrison's snap-shot over the crossbar.

The Canaries were limited to just one chance on goal, which Darren Huckerby struck woefully wide after he was put through by Mathias Svensson.

The second-half was an entirely different affair, as Nigel Worthington's men came out of their changing-room with renewed vigour.

Midfielder Phil Mulryne became the first Canaries player to test Maik Taylor with a fierce low 20-yard-effort.

Svensson then went closer with a four-yard effort that he scuffed into Taylor's hands.

But the Blues shot-stopper had little chance with Norwich's next shot on goal.

Taylor palmed an inswinging ball into the path of Bentley who fired a low cross into the penalty area.

The ball eluded Leon McKenzie and Svensson but found Huckerby who gleefully took his chance.

Further opportunities fell to both sides during a frenetic last 10 minutes, but in the end a draw proved to be the fair result.

czarner
28/11/2004, 2:50 PM
Cheers for that, much appreciated! :)

livehead1
12/12/2004, 2:45 PM
he had a cracker today v. villa. his goal was dodgy as should have been saved but all round play was premiership quality and had a hand in the 2nd goal. him and heskey seem certain to be a force this season now.

Birmingham strikers Morrison and Emile Heskey were rampant from the first whistle and the pair combined superbly to strike the first blow.

Heskey's strength allowed him to nod the ball onwards, and Morrison held off Mark Delaney to get his shot away.

It should have been comfortably gathered by Sorensen, but this derby has a habit of embarrassing Villa keepers and the series continued.

check the links:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/4072063.stm

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=243515&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Villa+left+feeling+Blue&channel=Football_Home

13/12/2004, 1:03 PM
He's a good player, not a superb player but well up to standard for our squad certainly.

I've got to say that I'll question how Irish he really feels until the day I die (actually we'll say until the day that he dies because I don't like speaking ill of the dead) but now that he's here I figure he's got a role to play.

13/12/2004, 1:19 PM
I don't see him much but the amount of basically flukey goals he seems to get is strange.

Sure even his debut ireland goal was a tap in after goalkeeper made a hash of someone elses shot.

13/12/2004, 1:24 PM
They all count, and as any goalscorer will tell you, you have to be in the right position to score in the first place.

:) PP

13/12/2004, 2:52 PM
great to see "Irish" players scoring. great stuff :rolleyes:

13/12/2004, 2:57 PM
Pablo - I'm still wondering why you haven't posted in the Aiden McGeady thread...

livehead1
13/12/2004, 5:10 PM
pablo....every bloody post where it gives the slightest sense of a bit of generosity towards a player whose 'irishness' is a questionable it is always you who has a go at it. how about shutting up! its getting repetative and surely i aint the only person who has noticed this. you probably aint had a go at mcgeady because he has the ability to be out of this world, but why dont you. eirebhoy has asked ya on numerous occassions why u aint posted in that debate?? Just face it, irish or english, there playing and u aint!

13/12/2004, 8:00 PM
Personally I rate Clinton and have done since Kerr took over.

He was unlucky not to score in the beginning. But puts in all the effort , more than Robbie Keane does thats for sure. He always wants to play for Ireland even when he is just back from injury. That alone demonstrates that he really wants to play for Ireland.

He looked totally on top of his game and was playing a blinder in the Stade de France and games like that dont get any bigger, so I cant see why to have a go at him.

The only thing Clinton has to do is work on his finishing, he gets in the right postions, holds the ball up well, communicates well with Robbie (god knows how) and puts in a savage work rate.

Great to see him score at the weekend, especailly with those stupid comments being thrown at him

TheJamaicanP.M.
13/12/2004, 8:13 PM
pablo....every bloody post where it gives the slightest sense of a bit of generosity towards a player whose 'irishness' is a questionable it is always you who has a go at it. how about shutting up! its getting repetative and surely i aint the only person who has noticed this. you probably aint had a go at mcgeady because he has the ability to be out of this world, but why dont you. eirebhoy has asked ya on numerous occassions why u aint posted in that debate?? Just face it, irish or english, there playing and u aint!

Agree with you 100%. Pablo is p!ssing people off with these stupid comments about players not being Irish. Clinton is a great lad. He turns up whenever he is fit. He may have made mistakes regarding his declaring for Ireland, but he has made up for that with his committment to the green jersey. Unlike a certain Cork player, Clinton went out of his way to play in the Unity Cup and other so-called meaningless friendlies. Give the fella a break.

JoeSemi
13/12/2004, 8:35 PM
I don't see him much but the amount of basically flukey goals he seems to get is strange.

Sure even his debut ireland goal was a tap in after goalkeeper made a hash of someone elses shot.

^^^^
:o :confused:
They all count I'm afraid.

JoeSemi
13/12/2004, 8:42 PM
Agree with you 100%. Pablo is p!ssing people off with these stupid comments about players not being Irish. Clinton is a great lad. He turns up whenever he is fit. He may have made mistakes regarding his declaring for Ireland, but he has made up for that with his committment to the green jersey. Unlike a certain Cork player, Clinton went out of his way to play in the Unity Cup and other so-called meaningless friendlies. Give the fella a break.

Bang on P.M. Its about what you do on the pitch and not off it that counts. Think they know it all down there is their problem. Hard stomach at times. None more so than one particular individual from that region.

Clinton given a run of games free of injury will only grow as a player because he's as honest as the day is long. Sorry to mention him in relation to another somebody again, who has let himself down in that regard ;)

livehead1
13/12/2004, 8:48 PM
i've just blinked again and no pablo comments...surely ?

13/12/2004, 9:16 PM

So you would pointedly refuse to celebrate if Clinton, Aiden or Jon score for Ireland on the basis that you consider them to be less "Irish"? :confused: :rolleyes:

Such a view contributes nothing, causes animosity and division. Hardly the backing our national team needs. As they say in these parts, have a word with yourself. :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

livehead1
13/12/2004, 9:42 PM
i think we just jst ignore pablo cos hes a bit of a fag...ur name aint even irish...! what ya need to realise is when you come out with comments like that there are many people making valuable contributions to this forum who are 2nd or 3rd generation irish, some of whom aint irish but enjoy watching our national team

14/12/2004, 5:24 AM
i think we just jst ignore pablo cos hes a bit of a fag...ur name aint even irish...!

Now now Livehead, attack the post but not the poster...

Donal81
14/12/2004, 8:32 AM
Now now Livehead, attack the post but not the poster...

You are indeed a wise and benign one, Paddy.

14/12/2004, 2:12 PM
i think we just jst ignore pablo cos hes a bit of a fag...ur name aint even irish...! what ya need to realise is when you come out with comments like that there are many people making valuable contributions to this forum who are 2nd or 3rd generation irish, some of whom aint irish but enjoy watching our national team

keep the name calling up and you wont last too long around here

14/12/2004, 2:14 PM
and as for the rest of you....i am entitled to my opinion. and how anyone can support theses mercenaries is beyond me.

Do i cheer when Morrisson scores? ask the lads that were next to me on the North Terrace against Cyprus

TheJamaicanP.M.
14/12/2004, 2:25 PM
and as for the rest of you....i am entitled to my opinion. and how anyone can support theses mercenaries is beyond me.

Do i cheer when Morrisson scores? ask the lads that were next to me on the North Terrace against Cyprus

Of course you are entitled to an opinion Pablo. Everyone is but we are simply saying that you need to be more open-minded. I dont hear you giving out coz your fellow Cork man is too good to turn up for every second Ireland game. At least Morrison always turns up and puts Ireland first. Hardly the definition of a mercenary. Genuine Ireland supporters will support the team, no matter who is playing. It shouldnt matter who scores the goals.

14/12/2004, 2:29 PM
Of course you are entitled to an opinion Pablo. Everyone is but we are simply saying that you need to be more open-minded. I dont hear you giving out coz your fellow Cork man is too good to turn up for every second Ireland game. At least Morrison always turns up and puts Ireland first. Hardly the definition of a mercenary. Genuine Ireland supporters will support the team, no matter who is playing. It shouldnt matter who scores the goals.

Roy Keane? he's a cnut and isnt fit to wear the green jersey. is that ok for you?

our country is too good to be diluted by mercenaries thats my point

LadyJane
14/12/2004, 2:38 PM
Roy Keane? he's a cnut and isnt fit to wear the green jersey. is that ok for you?

our country is too good to be diluted by mercenaries thats my point

"country"? dont you mean "team"? this IS a football forum, after all.....

Did we witness a Freudian slip revealing the aul' shaved head & straight arm salute there pablo?

14/12/2004, 2:44 PM
"country"? dont you mean "team"? this IS a football forum, after all.....

Did we witness a Freudian slip revealing the aul' shaved head & straight arm salute there pablo?

not at all. are people deliberately missing the point? for a club team it doesn't matter where you are from but for a NATIONAL team your supposed to be representing the country of your birth.

i guess the fact that most ireland fans are not proper football supporters i.e. armchair sky sports watchers, means they dont understand this

TheJamaicanP.M.
14/12/2004, 2:49 PM
not at all. are people deliberately missing the point? for a club team it doesn't matter where you are from but for a NATIONAL team your supposed to be representing the country of your birth.

i guess the fact that most ireland fans are not proper football supporters i.e. armchair sky sports watchers, means they dont understand this

Here comes the old "I am an Eircom League supporter, better than all those armchair fans, deserving of tickets to every home game, yet too good to get involved in the atmospher when I do go" rant. Give it a break. Im an Ireland fan and I dont have any problem with anyone who genuinely wants to play for Ireland. Kevin Kilbane was born and bred in England yet I think he is more Irish than any player in our team.

14/12/2004, 2:52 PM
Here comes the old "I am an Eircom League supporter, better than all those armchair fans, deserving of tickets to every home game, yet too good to get involved in the atmospher when I do go" rant. Give it a break. Im an Ireland fan and I dont have any problem with anyone who genuinely wants to play for Ireland. Kevin Kilbane was born and bred in England yet I think he is more Irish than any player in our team.

take the blinkers off will ya. Kevin Kilbane has a genuine irish heritage and therfore i've no problem with him

its guys that have represented other countries i.e. andy o brien or Macken and indeed Morrisson who only chose ireland as a last resort that i cant stand

can anyone see my point or are you all thick?

14/12/2004, 2:52 PM
Pablo - I've just done an advanced search of all your posts in this forum and the majority of them are to do with whether someone is Irish enough to play for us.

are you for real corner :mad:
fcuk another brit in our team

theres plenty of irish player. maybe not as good . but we wouldnt be watering down our irishness then.

i'd prefer to loose games with our own than a hollow victory inspired by some foreigner

when a scotsman scored for ireland? the man who says he supports scotland to this day?

yeah just like that

and why dont they support their own country? if an irish person supported a foreign national team we'd have him commited

i belive you are irish if you are irish born or of genuine Irish decent. macken played for England at u21 level for christsake

i'm sick of this. the likes of Morrison and Macken can burn in hell

thats exactly why the likes of morrison and macken and knight should be told to fcuk off

what a stupid arguement. being irish means a lot to me and to see any old donkey with even the merest connection to my great country pulling on a green shirt when they couldnt get a game any where else sickens me to the core

Sure he's one for the future

He's English isn't he? ;)

i'd prefer to have an all Irish team and be hammered(though we wouldnt be) than have a return to Charltons Mercenary days.

One of the reasons i cant get into supporting ireland (with passion i mean) is this granny rule caper.

As much as i dislike Shels Jason Byrne should have got the call

thats another thing there is no country called "the republic" last time i checked............spot the mercenary when you hear this

Didnt Andy O'Brien play u21 for Ingerland?

i wasnt sure myself but it was in the back of my mind. IMO he shouldnt then have played for Ireland

Just my opinion

First of all, that was just 5 minutes work. They are your posts since the 28th August. The reason I posted them is because you actually only posted in 4 topics with posts that hadn't anything to do with whether someone was Irish enough.

Don't get me wrong, I agree with some of what you say but is there nothing else of interest to talk about?

14/12/2004, 2:55 PM
Pablo - On your last post there. I am 1 million per cent sure that O'Brien considers himself Irish. I'm not going to elaberate as I have done on numerous occasions so just leave his name out. I suppose, if he was as good as Nesta his name wouldn't even cross your mind.

14/12/2004, 2:56 PM
i give up. let ye all go back to loving your Brittish Clubs and your Brittish players and i'll content myself with supporting all things Irish

TheJamaicanP.M.
Great work Eirebhoy. Looks like Peadar has an axe to grind. I much prefer when he talks about hair products and grooming in Off Topic. At least he talks sense in those forums.

Pablo - On your last post there. I am 1 million per cent sure that O'Brien considers himself Irish. I'm not going to elaberate as I have done on numerous occasions so just leave his name out. I suppose, if he was as good as Nesta his name wouldn't even cross your mind.

he played U21 for England!!!!! he only @realised he was Irish when a senior English cap didnt arrive

TheJamaicanP.M.
14/12/2004, 2:58 PM
i give up. let ye all go back to loving your Brittish Clubs and your Brittish players and i'll content myself with supporting all things Irish

Like Neale Fenn. If I was to argue in the same way as you, I would suggest that Fenn only chose to play for the Irish underage teams because he couldnt get near the English set-up. But then again, I suppose it doesnt matter with club players. :rolleyes:

14/12/2004, 3:06 PM
he played U21 for England!!!!! he only @realised he was Irish when a senior English cap didnt arrive
Again, I'm not going routing for his quotes but he played for the England U-21's at the age of 19 when he was first choice for his club and really highly rated. He got a second callup a couple of months later but at the same time got a callup to the Irish U-21's. If you think a 19 year old would turn down an England U-21 cap if he regarded himself English there's something wrong upstairs. Actually, here's a quote:

I only played [For England] against France because it was a friendly and there was pressure from the club's point of view because they think it's more prestigious to play for England than for Ireland."

Bondvillain
14/12/2004, 3:47 PM
Of course you are entitled to your opinion Pablo, Just as many here are entitled to hold the opinion that being displeased when Ireland win because the goalscorer doesnt fit the required "approved level of Irishness" criteria is frankly bizarre.

Of course I'm pleased and proud when the Irish team play well, but when push comes to shove, It wouldn't matter to me if the winner is scored by a 3 legged dog banging the ball in with his a*se.

It just seems however, that the response will be something along the lines of "I'm a real fan and your not, so there". and I cant be bothered with that tripe to be honest.

(p.s. If youre ever in Dublin, make sure and look suitably unimpressed if you have to use Connolly station. He wasn't a real patriot, he was Scottish.....)

monutdfc
14/12/2004, 4:16 PM
A few years ago the Cayman Islands were offering 50 grand to any decent players who would play for them in the WC Qualifiers. Any UK born plaer qualified to play for them and a few league players took up the offer and played for them. Now let's say they offered 1 million per game, and got the best uncapped players in the world to play for them and (exagerrating to make the point here) they won the world cup. Where would the glory be in that?
When Belgium beat Ireland in the WC Qualifier in 1997 the goals that put us out were scored by a Brazilian (Oliveira) and a Croatian (Nilis - I think he was Croatian, certainly not Belgian).
In Athletics, some countries are offering huge grants to entice top athletes to declare for them. O'Donoghue could claim all the credit he liked for increasing Ireland's Olympic medal count if he did the same. But what would have been achieved?

lopez
14/12/2004, 4:45 PM
Normally I'd be in like a shot with Pablo (so too would PP, Sylvo, Pat O'Banton, etc) but while I can't speak for others, I share a certain sympathy with some of what he says. He's already said in other posts that it isn't the birthplace of the player that concerns him but the way they accept their call-up. The 'i belive you are irish if you are irish born or of genuine Irish decent' rules out the Connolly Station remark by Bondvillain because I take it as also including all non-Irish born players that are keen to play for Ireland and consider themselves Irish in Pablo's criteria for being Irish. I am concerned by the word 'genuine' which may exclude those 'half-breeds' (Copyright Davros) like myself and the little Buddha himself, aswell as Irish players like Chris Hughton, Paul McGrath and Curtis Flemming. But perhaps I'm imitating the great Viennese Coke snorter too much here.

However, look around at our rivals. They either take advantage of the vulnerability of 2G immigrants - some, just like the way the Irish in Britain were treated just 15 years ago, are people that many of the natives believe are subhuman - into pushing them into the teams (this is well documented both here and the Irish community press in Britain) of their birthplace that they often feel little (or in my case, nothing) for. Or they fast-track any suitably qualified immigrant to citizenship (e.g. The Ghanaian that played for Germany who I keep forgetting his name) while those that have made a real contribution to their new country, are denied any access to citizenship, and so too are their own children who were born there.

The point is Pablo, most of the players you talk about qualify for Irish citizenship, but all come from mixed parentage (Most, because I'm not 100% sure about O'Brien but I thought his mother was English). The Irish government did not given them any preferential treatment over any other Joe. I would agree that some are not Irish (E.g. Andy Townsend definitely) which may offend some people here, but take it from me, my son who is only 1/4 Spanish, is still proud of this side of his identity (as shown when he wound up his mixed Irish/English schoolmates after the recent Madrid game) even though he wouldn't consider himself Spanish and nor would anyone else. To dismiss these players is not only cutting off your nose to spite your face, but also insulting, almost to a fascistic degree with references - that you refuse to celebrate a Morrisson goal - that are offensive to most Irish fans.

14/12/2004, 4:51 PM
The Ghanaian that played for Germany who I keep forgetting his name

Long time no speak. Hope all is well. Are you around for a beer or two on Thursday?

An excellent and well-reasoned post, btw. The PhD's in the post. :)

It's Gerald Asamoah you seek. You could also cite Emmanuel Olisadebe, fast-tracked into the Polish side despite only two years' residency. He now plays in Greece, I believe. :rolleyes:

I'm not 100% sure about O'Brien but I thought his mother was English.

I think all four grandparents were Irish, so by that reckoning she'd be 2G at least.

To dismiss these players is not only cutting off your nose to spite your face, but also insulting

Absolutely agree.

14/12/2004, 5:00 PM
Aye good post Lopez.
As I've said, I agree with some of what Pablo says but he has to give a lot of players the benefit of the doubt. Pablo just dismisses O'Brien's case out of hand because he played a friendly for England U-21's. The reason I keep bringing McGeady up is because he would openly admit that his first nationality is Scottish but Pablo doesn't seem to have a problem with him because he has the potential to be one of our best ever players.

livehead1
14/12/2004, 5:03 PM
well done eirebhoy for the big long list, thats exactly what im talkin about, i won't back down bout what i said, it smells of hypocracy. The manager which took us to the world cup 02 was 2nd generation....hess also now doing a great job breeding some irish youngsters

living in england..... i have NEVER EVER in my entire life heard a word said about michael owen's 'welshness' or the fact that hargreaves is canadian/german etc... there are others as well. if people will play for us that will make us a better side and increase our standing in world football then it can only be good. as long as these players put the effort in a turn up then fair play to them. macken may be shi* but correct me if im wrong, he turned up the last training session in dublin for the craic with the lads knowing tho that he wasnt fit enough to play. he pay have played for england but thats far more dedication than many irish professionals and seasoned internationals have shown over time, and i don't just mean roy keane.

monutdfc
14/12/2004, 5:42 PM
It's Gerald Asamoah you seek. You could also cite Emmanuel Olisadebe, fast-tracked into the Polish side despite only two years' residency. He now plays in Greece, I believe. :rolleyes:

Olisidabe married a Polish woman which gained him citizenship.

14/12/2004, 5:54 PM
Olisidabe married a Polish woman which gained him citizenship.

Ahh. I retract my earlier statement then. I hope they're still very happy together. :)

Typical though. Poland gained Olisadebe through marriage. We gained Paul Butler. :eek: :rolleyes:

:D PP

15/12/2004, 7:39 AM
Typical though. Poland gained Olisadebe through marriage. We gained Paul Butler. :eek: :rolleyes:
:D PP
The FAI should send a consignment of good-looking Irish girls around the world with one mission: marry good footballers.

Richie Partridge has done the reverse. He's hitched up to Michael Owen's sister, a very clever genetic recruitment strategy that Merrion Square deserves more credit for. In 20 years time we may well have a 5 foot 5 lightning fast injury prone goalscoring legend in a green shirt. It might be the Ladies' team though.

lopez
15/12/2004, 1:06 PM
Long time no speak. Hope all is well. Are you around for a beer or two on Thursday?
Sadly not as I've got a wedding reception to go to. Hope all is well with you and Mrs P.

The PhD's in the post. :)
Thankyou, but Bob Jones has sent me a dozen already this year. But at least your one is free. :D

15/12/2004, 1:19 PM

Yeah quite a large group of Cork City fans refused to cheer for Morrisson's goal that day and rightly so too. I'm a huge Ireland fan and always celebrate when we win etc but it pains me to see mercenary cnuts like Morrisson et al playing for us.
We won't even mention the fact that Morrisson is a waste of space and doesn't deserve to be called a footballer!! Surely Crowe, Doyle or O'Flynn would be better than Morrisson or Macken and they are actually Irish too.

15/12/2004, 1:25 PM
My defining statement on all of this is "Irish Born or of Genuine Irish Decent"

Genuine Irish decent:
For Example,
David Connolly
Kevin Kilbane
Both English born with english accents but as Irish as i am

Not Irish

Clinton Morrison
Macken

Only played for Ireland when England didnt come knocking and we all know it

I'm inclined to but O'Brien purely because, a kid or not, he played for another country

jofyisgod
15/12/2004, 1:30 PM
Doyle or O'Flynn would be better than Morrisson or Macken and they are actually Irish too.

It must surely only be a matter of time before Doyle gets in the frame-i mean the guy is on fire.

I find it hard not to cheer an Ireland goal, and the guy was ecstatic to score. I agree with you on the mercenary front, but i know if i were in his position, i'd be bloody happy to be getting international football, full stop, no matter for who. Look at Jason Euell for Jamaica, the guy probably doesn't give a toss about them, it's just a doorway for him.
Problem here is you can't measure passion for a country on a form...