View Full Version : Best Away support
Hibs4Ever
29/11/2004, 12:27 PM
I have to be bias too and say we definitely have best away support, this year was a bit less though. I also didn't think Cork had good support in Inchicore at all this season.
Eh we had nearly 300 in Inchicore on Good Friday and about 200 the second time. Ye brought at most 100 to Cork both times. I'm sure Dodge or Nightdub will verify this.
I can compare what we brought to Dublin with what Dublin teams brought to Cork as it's the same distance to travel. It's actually a lot harder for us because we have to travel on a regular basis but we still manage more on every occasion.
You can't judge what fans bring to Dublin derbys as they are not really away games when you only have to travel 20 minutes accross twon.
But you've also got to factor in the number of exiles living in Dublin, that doesn't get reciprocated in Cork to nearly the same extent. It applies to all non-Dublin teams.
Basically until all but Derbies (as in under an hours travelling) are played on a Saturday or a Sunday there'll never be a true reflection. Age profile of the support etc all kick in when it comes to taking time off work, if the support is old enough to be working and not in college (or school in shels case :) )
But you've also got to factor in the number of exiles living in Dublin, that doesn't get reciprocated in Cork to nearly the same extent. It applies to all non-Dublin teams.
In fairness there are only about 20 or 30 exiles at most so they only make up a tiny portion of our away support.
I'm not denying that there are loads of Cork people living in Dublin but sadly very few of them support City. Some of the lads on here were trying to set up an exiles supporters club earlier in the season but didn't have too much success afaik.
29/11/2004, 12:46 PM
'Drogheda: Only a handful both times. Their fans are sililar to Waterford imo.'
Eh, what do you mean by that? Please explain.
Very surprisingly, I thought our away crowds werent as good as the previous season (when we just escaped relegation). Fact is, no matter how we're doing in the league our supporters wont travel anywhere apart from dublin (or longford for some reason apart from the last match of this season) or a cup match.
I've seen maybe 70/75 matches this season (too scared to count exactly) and heres what I reckon:
Shels: Good noise, alright numbers this season but should be bringing more to united park - probably the worst dublin away support over the years to united park (not including dublin city or pats this season)
Pats: Over the years have always brought a good crowd up and used to be fairly noisy - sad to see that they have gone to f_-k now - even at home which is disappointing cos I have alot of time for pats
Bohs: Again like pats, were good in the past but this season they were brutal - even the match in united park towrds the end of the season when theyd an outrside chance of getting 2nd they brought a very poor crowd
Rovers: Numbers down, but good noise and colour as per usual and theyre a credit to the league - take a bow lads. On a personal level, I look forward to rovers fans coming to united park more than anyone else in the league. (where have their tifo flags gone btw?)
Waterford: Only a handful
Longford: Very poor travelling support - no numbers, no noise not just in united park but also the time ive saw them in dublin this season
Derry: Good noise most of the times i saw them this season- even when there was only a handful of them in dalyer they were really loud. They have been very poor numbers wise though (unlike previous years) Would probably give them more credit if they didnt have a habit of over exaggerating their numbers. Oh and their drum is really irritating.
Cork: Very good numbers this season compared to other seasons. In the past their numbers were probably like longfords to united park, ie crap, but for some reason this season their numbers have increased greatly. Good noise and fair play to them (btw lads, again, you have a good travelling support but theres no need to exaggerate your travelling numbers)
Dublin: Pass
UCD: Pass
Craptown: Have a good travelling support (while it sickens me to say it). Brought a decent crowd up for the cup match and saw them in bray and theyd a very good travelling support there.
Overall I reckon theres been a decrease in the majority of teams travelling support this season.
29/11/2004, 12:50 PM
Craptown
Lol :eek:
I've seen maybe 70/75 matches this season (too scared to count exactly)
fookin hell, the new Canny.... :eek: :D
Theres a couple of us out there Macy ;)
I remember the eL saddo years.... until I got a life and a wife... :D
29/11/2004, 1:12 PM
Some of the lads on here were trying to set up an exiles supporters club earlier in the season but didn't have too much success afaik.
That was successful in fairness. It was only ever intended to be an informal thing. Just a bunch of City fans who were sick of turning up solo at away games and wanted to go for a beer before and after, and huddle together for warmth.
Anyway, Macy's point about Cork fan's based in Dublin boosting the numbers doesn't hold water for me. Pretty much 100% Shel's, Bohs, Rovers and Pat's fans are Dublin based but they don't travel to each others grounds in huge numbers either (Rovers excepted on occasion).
Best away fans IMO are Rovers and Derry (honourable mention to Harps, who I'm looking forward to seeing again next year).
The Best away support I saw this year was when I went alaong to Flancare to see Drogs in Longford for the FAI cup semi. Loads down, lots of colour, could have been noisier though.
Hibs4Ever
29/11/2004, 1:15 PM
Whats your source for all this information Colm, do you count them as they go into the grounds?????
Eh we had nearly 300 in Inchicore on Good Friday and about 200 the second time. Ye brought at most 100 to Cork both times. I'm sure Dodge or Nightdub will verify this.
Will I ********?! I'd lower your figures a touch and raise our figure for the first game to about 150.
Oh and we have one Pats fan living in Cork. Cork born and bred too... Top bloke.
This season has been our worst in terms of support (Understandably given our ****eness) but as Macy pointed out I can't argue with others as I've no idea of how many Bohs/Shels etc go to Cork/Longford etc. (Thought it was disgaceful that when Shels won the league in Richmond they had less than 1,500 fans at it though)
Good to hear that most people rate us highly though, even if we're down in numbers (and enthuasiasm) but really these arguments are stupid and the likes of Colm saying "no one arguing we're the best" is ridiculous and does nothing for anybody
I'd lower your figures a touch and raise our figure for the first game to about 150.
That's fair enough, could have been 150 and in fairness as I said ye were one of the better crowds that came to Cork this season.
I notice you said you'd only lower them a touch though, nice to see I was about right! ;)
29/11/2004, 1:57 PM
Fcuk all away fans in Div 1.
Dundalk seemed to bring a decent few judging by white scarves on the way in but no noise at all.
Bray brought a good few and some noise but not much out of them after we took the lead.
Sligo similar to Dundalk, seemed to be a decent few of them but no noise.
Kildare brought a good crowd on a horrible night and made a good bit of noise but please get a new chant, County drum drum drum gets quite annoying the 200th time!
Drogheda brought loads with them, about 1000 I'd guess but there weren't that many singing.
The best away fans in Belfield were Harps though. Brought a big crowd on a 4 hour drive and were the loudest away fans we had.
29/11/2004, 2:12 PM
Incidentally from the premier/cup games I was at Cork in Tolka 4th time around were the best followed by Derry in Tolka in the cup. Drogheda brought a good crowd to Longford in the cup but I couldn't hear them over the Longford fans so I can't judge.
29/11/2004, 3:17 PM
Didnt hear much when we walloped them 3-0 though........
In all fairness we made plenty of noise that day, our singing went uninterupted as Rovers got their third too.
ConfusedBlue
29/11/2004, 3:19 PM
Largest away support in the RSC this season had to be Corks for their 4-1 win.Wouldnt rank em as the best though just because of the antics of some of their adolescent "hardcore" fans!!!It seems they feel the world and the universe is against them and they have to let everyone know it!!!!
The best would have to be the Derry City fans,having made the trip to Derry twice in 3 weeks(abandoned league game and the FAI Cup semi).The people are just amazing,couldnt find nicer people and they are dignified and gracious in both victory and defeat!!!
Hoping Harps give them a run for their money this season!!!
On the point of our own support,it hasnt seemed to of increased at all since our promotion 2 seasons back.Their is a general apathy towards the EL football in the city and county.Over recent seasons there's been a lack of support for the team and the success of the hurling team has'nt helped in attracting people to the RSC.
The RSC also does'nt help matters,the facilities there were'nt built for football and don't help in trying to generate noise.The stand holds 1,300 at most and any sound created is just lost because of its openness.There's only so many people willing to go out and stand in the open,leaning on a fence(if they're lucky) for 90 minutes to watch what could best of been described as tripe for a good portion of this season!!!
In terms of all those knocking us for our support,its very easy to follow a team when they're successful or 30 minutes across the city from you.In the EL premier we must clock up most mileage travelling around the country.To get to the likes of Longford,Derry and Drogheda on a friday means taking a whole day off work,you can only do that so many times a season and it does'nt exactly help the finances!!!
sonofstan
29/11/2004, 3:27 PM
In terms of all those knocking us for our support,its very easy to follow a team when they're successful or 30 minutes across the city from you.!
Try getting from Phibsboro' to Inchicore in 30 minutes by public transport at rush hour - I've gotten to Longford quicker!
Largest away support in the RSC this season had to be Corks for their 4-1 win.Wouldnt rank em as the best though just because of the antics of some of their adolescent "hardcore" fans!!!It seems they feel the world and the universe is against them and they have to let everyone know it!!!!!
Shut up ya fool.
Ye're just not used to seeing a crowd.
ConfusedBlue
29/11/2004, 3:38 PM
Shut up ya fool.Ye're just not used to seeing a crowd.
Typical Cork response!!
BEST AWAY support for me has been waterford - always sing - win lose or draw - amazing they're so quiet at home.
harps are always a good crowd too - the rest are all much of a muchness really
i think we have a good noisey away support. no onew ants to admit it though we might get a big head right lads? ;)
29/11/2004, 6:01 PM
.......we might get a big head...........
Already have one. ;)
and there was me thinking a subtle icon pointed that out
Rovers,Bohs and Pats used always bring decent support to Cork..Shels would be a lot less than these clubs..Rovers are always the most vocal and Bohs would be 2nd to them...
Waterford brought maybe between 100-200 each time and created a good atmosphere but they really could do a lot better..
Longford,Drogs...what can i say?..do these clubs have fans that ever travel?I can honestly say i have never seen a Longford fan in Cork..i spotted two Drog fans in Cork this season.. :D
Dublin City...0
Derry City..up and down...its a long trip and in fairness only Cork City,Derry City and Harps know the feeling...Welcome back Harps also... :)
From what i have seen Cork City's away support is growing by the season..it should be even bigger next season... :)
Partizan
29/11/2004, 6:24 PM
Nice to see all the Carkies having another pathetic dig at our Club and the lack of support. Easy to be ignorant lads but lets face the facts.
1. The vast majority of our fans are factory workers since alot of the urban working class workforce work in factories in the industrial estates where shift work is a common trait. It is far more difficult for alot of our guys to get time off work to travel to games in particular when away games are on a Friday night. The reson that some Clubs like Cork have big away support in general is that the vast majority of their fans are either students (second & third level), blue or white collar workers (9 to 5 working hours) who can take time off and follow the team. We're the proletariat ffs.
2. The RSC just wasnt built for football. We dont own it so therefor we cant do anything with it. The athletics track around the pitch mitigates against creating a meaningful atmosphere and the crap facilities on offer make it a turnoff in attracting new fans. All clubs are suffering the same fate in getting the barstoolers through the gate.
3. Our crap attendance at the Cup Final was due to ManUre - Arsenal game and Compromise bogball on the telly leaving many Waterfordians to elect to planting their arses on the barstool in the pub.
4. The recent success of the hurling team. Waterford people are a fickle lot and crave success. The high profile of the stick fighters make it easy to attract people especially for the novelty of the annual big day out in THurles or Croke Park in comparison to traveling to the X, Tolka, Dalymount, RSC etc which doesnt have the same resonance as Croker. Sad but true.
harpskid
29/11/2004, 6:32 PM
honourable mention to Harps, who I'm looking forward to seeing again next year
Good man tiktok. :) We're looking forward to our premier trips once again. Can't wait to see what our travelling support will be like next season. This season we've managed a bus load to nearly every game. Always have the few that travel by car as well.
Partizan..of all your narrow minded sarcasm aimed at Cork City FC this is by far the worse of all..to say that its easier for Cork City fans to get time off work than Waterford fans is going to make a few people laugh at there computers tonight...why do you take it as every City fan is against you?..i would love to see Waterford or any club bring 500 fans to Turners Cross because it would be a great atmosphere..Lastly stop being paronoid..i aint throwing digs at your club..i am an eircom league supporter and this thread should not be about squabbling but just fans telling what each club bring to away matches...FFS grow up lad.. :rolleyes:
Growing up is the privilege of the rich who can afford fresh fruit and vegetables, you know...
:D :D ..i think i might take two weeks off the next time we travel to the RSC..week before and after..oh the thoughts of working through the night with the peasants in those factorys makes me ill... :D :D
Partizan
29/11/2004, 6:44 PM
Ignorance is bliss guys.
Cork has a bigger catchment population than Waterford. If you look at our fans you will see the vast majority of them are urban working class guys (where we traditionally draw our support) who do the shift work in the factories, have families and other commitments. Our age profile of our fan base is getting older with fewer young people botehring to make teh trip to the RSC
If you look at the ****ies, what you see is pubescent acne faced, angst ridden, sexually frustrated teenagers who are either still in school, UCC heads or white collar workers who make up a significant profile of the fans who attend the X.
I'm sure if you conduct a sociological survey it will confirm what I'm saying.
Oh wait I'm waiting for the usual stupid crass smart ass comments coming from the Fat Pack.
Ignorance is bliss guys.
Cork has a bigger catchment population than Waterford. If you look at our fans you will see the vast majority of them are urban working class guys (where we traditionally draw our support) who do the shift work in the factories, have families and other commitments. Our age profile of our fan base is getting older with fewer young people botehring to make teh trip to the RSC
If you look at the ****ies, what you see is pubescent acne faced, angst ridden, sexually frustrated teenagers who are either still in school, UCC heads or white collar workers who make up a significant profile of the fans who attend the X.
I'm sure if you conduct a sociological survey it will confirm what I'm saying.
Oh wait I'm waiting for the usual stupid crass smart ass comments coming from the Fat Pack.
i've heard it all now. It appears waterford has become some kind of coal mining town from the 19th century :) And turners cross is just off Wall Street!
Those crazy waterfordians!
harpskid
29/11/2004, 7:02 PM
i've heard it all now. It appears waterford has become some kind of coal mining town from the 19th century :) And thurners cross is just off Wall Street!
LOL :D
Have to say that i would rate Cork as the best travelling fans (aside from ourselves ;) )- they brought a good crowd up to Ballybofey for the cup game a couple of years ago and made plenty of noise.
Homourable mention to the 3 UCD fans who sang the whole way through their game with us in Finn Park. Think them and Bray were the only teams to bring supporters up here this season :rolleyes:
LOL :D
Have to say that i would rate Cork as the best travelling fans (aside from ourselves ;) )- they brought a good crowd up to Ballybofey for the cup game a couple of years ago and made plenty of noise.
Homourable mention to the 3 UCD fans who sang the whole way through their game with us in Finn Park. Think them and Bray were the only teams to bring supporters up here this season :rolleyes:
yeah was at that game. its much more organised now though. planning on making a weekend out of the trip to harps nest season. i hope ye keep the saturdays!
29/11/2004, 7:09 PM
Harpskid how could you possibly rate Cork as the best away fans? You've played them once in how many years? LMFAO :D
oh here we go! ladies draw your hand bags!
harpskid
29/11/2004, 7:20 PM
Would say we'll keep the Saturdays alright Pablo - can't see us switching to Fridays again
Because that once they probably brought more than the total number we've seen this last few years, apart from yourselves at the play-off
friseal
29/11/2004, 7:40 PM
absolutely fascinating thread people.
cannot WAIT!
Longford,Drogs...what can i say?..do these clubs have fans that ever travel?I can honestly say i have never seen a Longford fan in Cork..i spotted two Drog fans in Cork this season.. :D
bit of an extreme statement here....either that or u didnt go to the games!! always 5 or 10 of us knockin around!!
boc123
29/11/2004, 8:03 PM
1. The vast majority of our fans are factory workers since alot of the urban working class workforce work in factories in the industrial estates where shift work is a common trait. It is far more difficult for alot of our guys to get time off work to travel to games in particular when away games are on a Friday night. The reson that some Clubs like Cork have big away support in general is that the vast majority of their fans are either students (second & third level), blue or white collar workers (9 to 5 working hours) who can take time off and follow the team. We're the proletariat ffs.
3. Our crap attendance at the Cup Final was due to ManUre - Arsenal game and Compromise bogball on the telly leaving many Waterfordians to elect to planting their arses on the barstool in the pub.
4. The recent success of the hurling team. Waterford people are a fickle lot and crave success. The high profile of the stick fighters make it easy to attract people especially for the novelty of the annual big day out in THurles or Croke Park in comparison to traveling to the X, Tolka, Dalymount, RSC etc which doesnt have the same resonance as Croker. Sad but true.
1. You are unreal, moan, moan, moan. When did you carry out this brilliant scientific study of the "Rich" Cork fans. I've never seen such drivel.
2. The reason Waterford brought so little to the cup final is cause ye are a small club going nowhere with no ambition.
3. Cork hurling success doesn't stop City having some of the best support in the league.
GET OVER IT :rolleyes:
bit of an extreme statement here....either that or u didnt go to the games!! always 5 or 10 of us knockin around!!
Sorry Maz...did'nt see you there.. :D :D :D
Longford,Drogs...what can i say?..do these clubs have fans that ever travel?I can honestly say i have never seen a Longford fan in Cork..
How long exactly have you being going to city games?
Havnt been in cork this season but i've been there 2 or 3 times before.This season one of the games was midweek and the other on a friday.When the games were on a sat,we always brought atleast 50 or so down
ConfusedBlue
29/11/2004, 10:10 PM
Partizan for f**k sake that is probably 1 of the most stupid posts I have seen on any message board let alone this 1!!!!!!!!!!!
Our age profile of our fan base is getting older with fewer young people botehring to make teh trip to the RSC
I think you'll its actually the opposite Partizan,there's more young kids going to the games than ever before but the age profile is disproportionate.There's more young kids and older men with very few in the age brackets in between!!
3. Cork hurling success doesn't stop City having some of the best support in the league.
The hurling argument is a valid one up until recently,Waterford were the whipping boys of Munster hurling championship games involving Waterford were lucky to have an attendance of 5-10000.A little success has brought the crowds flocking back to hurling and the sport has never been so popular in the city and county.There is a general disinterest and apathy towards WUFC because of the success of the hurlers!!
BEST AWAY support for me has been waterford - always sing - win lose or draw - amazing they're so quiet at home.
At least we know someone cares!!! :D
How long exactly have you being going to city games?
Havnt been in cork this season but i've been there 2 or 3 times before.This season one of the games was midweek and the other on a friday.When the games were on a sat,we always brought atleast 50 or so down
To answer your question Bosco i have been going to Cork City games since 1984..the year they formed.. ;)
...not being sarcastic but i have never seen Longford fans in Cork.. :confused:
Confused Blue..when i posted about Waterford support i said that you had between 100-200 in the X for each game..which is true...i also said you created a good atmosphere which is right..but you know that being so close to Cork that more fans could have travelled..thats being honest and not throwing digs..also may i add i have seen some comments on the Waterford Forum this season from Cork City fans,especially after the cup final and i thought they were well out of order...
30/11/2004, 12:54 AM
The last time the games against us were on Saturday night 50 or 60 stayed overnight in Cork, there's always at least 20 people at every single away match,no matter when it's on, usually the same people! I've been in Turners Cross twice myself this season..next time we'll bring big banners.."Yoohoo.. RedX we're here..cooee..!"
30/11/2004, 9:22 AM
LOL :D :D :D
Redx, we never bring anyone to cork and never will but again you made an extreme statement. Theres always around 20 of us there (only a couple of us young lads though, the rest usually comprising of golden oldies).
Fact is our supporters are lazy and we never bring a crowd anywhere bar dublin and longford.
30/11/2004, 10:01 AM
Derry and Harps by a mile
30/11/2004, 10:48 AM
I can honestly say i have never seen a Longford fan in Cork..i spotted two Drog fans in Cork this season.. :D
Don't agree with that. FFS I saw LTFC jerseys at one of our European home games :)
dortie
30/11/2004, 11:16 AM
Sssshhh sure their up with the big boys again for another year !!!
30/11/2004, 11:21 AM
If you look at the ****ies, what you see is pubescent acne faced, angst ridden, sexually frustrated teenagers who are either still in school, UCC heads or white collar workers who make up a significant profile of the fans who attend the X.If you look at Scum fans, what you see are the 40 year old, has-been, beer-bellied, wannabe soccer hooligans in their Celtic tops, who go to games just to get away from the whinging, nagging, chain-smoking beanpole they got pregnant when she was 15, and the 9 snot-nosed, track-suited, little gurriers they ended up with after too many nights of drinking cheap cider by the bonfire.....:p