First Division
Friday
Cabinteeley FC v UCDAFC
Finn Harps v Athlone Town 8pm
Shelbourne v Wexford Youths 8pm
Waterford United v Cobh Ramblers
patrickccfc
09/04/2015, 10:36 PM
Looking forward to our game tomorrow it will certainly be a good test for us at a ground that hasn't been kind to us in recent years with the last victory being the 3-0 in '09. Just the four defenders and with the mindset of going for the win is what I want to see.
10/04/2015, 1:01 AM
Is Brennan back from suspension? Ruffle his or Bolgers feathers at all and you could be a man up - are Cork City sticking to the fairest play manner and still not tackling this year? Richmond Park last season was a place of almost criminal scenes for poor Cork!
White Horse
10/04/2015, 8:50 AM
Just the four defenders and with the mindset of going for the win is what I want to see.
That doesn't appear to be in Caulfield's DNA. If Cork go for the jugular they will get the three points. Pats are a jaded outfit, lacking drive and intensity.
patrickccfc
10/04/2015, 8:50 AM
Is Brennan back from suspension? Ruffle his or Bolgers feathers at all and you could be a man up - are Cork City sticking to the fairest play manner and still not tackling this year? Richmond Park last season was a place of almost criminal scenes for poor Cork!
yeah Brennan is back the *anker.. nope not a single tackle this year it's quite an achievement really to keep it up for so long..I expect holohans red against Waterford to be rescinded as the ref was clearly color blind and sent him off instead of the guy wearing blue. I wasn't there for the game last year, last time I was there Greg o'halloran decided to be the goalie and got sent off in a 1-1 draw, but hopefully we can come away with something positive but I'm confident of a win
patrickccfc
10/04/2015, 8:59 AM
That doesn't appear to be in Caulfield's DNA. If Cork go for the jugular they will get the three points. Pats are a jaded outfit, lacking drive and intensity.
at home the emphasis is always on attacking but we seem to crawl into ourselves away from home and that same attacking threat is curbed for a more reclusive approach which can be frustrating as we have the players to do some damage regardless of who the opposition may be. Go on the offensive tonight and the points are there for the taking
El-Pietro
10/04/2015, 9:38 AM
Agree that the game is there to be won if we go for it today. I'd expect we'll start with the same XI as last week as Healy doesn't seem to be ready. They played very well last week, but against the poorest Derry side I have ever seen so I don't know how much we can read into that.
I think you'll see a performance similar to our one in Tallaght, we'll be resolute and very hard to break down, and look to catch you on the break late on. I'd fancy Rob Lehane to score from the bench. Though if we were to win the bulk of our home games, and go undefeated away to the other big sides winning most of the rest we won't be far off the top come the end of the season.
For the Pats fans, enjoy Liam Miller and Alan Bennett tonight lads, its a lot of fun watching them. Gutted I can't make tonights game, first one I've missed in the league this year. I decided to take time off for Drogheda next week instead for some reason.
eitoof
10/04/2015, 10:46 AM
The Connacht "derby" strikes me as a massive game.
Sligo really need a win there. All the pressure is on them.
Olander
10/04/2015, 10:52 AM
The Connacht "derby" strikes me as a massive game.
Sligo really need a win there. All the pressure is on them.
I wouldn't say that. We need to get a positive result also, we've only won 1 game so far. It will be difficult, we are down to the bare bones with six players missing through injury/suspension.
PartySaint
10/04/2015, 11:45 AM
Really looking forward to our game tonight (Looking forward to seeing Liam Miller play, never thought I'd say that). We've had 2 'big' games this season and lost them both (Dundalk and Rovers) so we need a win here. We started poorly in 2013, losing to Rovers and Dundalk also and kick started our season when we beat Sligo 2-0 in Richmond, hopefully something similar tonight. A perfect day for a game as well, sun is shining, hopefully a decent crowd.
10/04/2015, 11:49 AM
Continuing the theme of I'm looking forward to our game on here as we head to Dalymount on a lovely summers day. Nearly expecting us to leave with at least a point as is the confidence at the moment. Cmon de town
DaveyPats
10/04/2015, 1:03 PM
Pats are a jaded outfit, lacking drive and intensity.
That's a lovely sentence and all but has little substance.
Plenty of experts on team psychology up in dundalk I see...
gufcfan
10/04/2015, 2:43 PM
It will be difficult, we are down to the bare bones with six players missing through injury/suspension.
Not for the first time, Galway bench won't be full, because the numbers aren't there.
Dunne's selection choices are fairly limited.
10/04/2015, 3:59 PM
Big game in Finn Park tonight. Potentially a chance for Harps to open up an early gap at the top and Athlone will be looking to bounce back from their first defeat last week to Wexford. Should be a big crowd and a decent atmosphere too, and a perfect evening for football on a pitch that's seen a lot of work this week.
Also, with Wexford playing Shelbourne, all top four are playing each other which should really open up some sort of breathing space somewhere at the top.
All set for a big night in the First Division.
Ezeikial
10/04/2015, 4:17 PM
That's a lovely sentence and all but has little substance.
Plenty of experts on team psychology up in dundalk I see...
Nice retort, but do you have a different opinion to White Horse then?
I have seen Pats twice in Oriel Park and once on TV against Rovers - I certainly saw no real intensity and drive. Tells us how you see this Pats team so far.
SPXcyan
10/04/2015, 4:20 PM
Quite a big night indeed, Waterford need a win to keep up our we're out of it already, UCD likewise must win to keep up, I think Harps will win tonight along with Shelbourne, come nights end we'll have many happy supporters with dreams of promotion, and the rest of us.. to die in the graveyard for another year.
Only Bohs (v Longford) and Sligo (v Galway) score in the first half.
First Div doesn't count.
10/04/2015, 8:31 PM
Was there a delay in Tolka? Only starting the second half now per livescore
atfconline
10/04/2015, 8:36 PM
Floodlight failure early in first half.
10/04/2015, 8:50 PM
Good win for Dundalk, the crown lies a bit lighter tonight.
From extra time
Dundalk 1 - 0 Drogheda United
88' - Goal - Richard Towell scores for Dundalk. Superb forward play from McMillan to hold up and bring Massey into play and he weights a perfect cross to the back post where Towell slams home!
Massive win for Harps. Sounds like Athlone were a bit unlucky, but didn't take their chances. Also heard they should have had a man sent off quite early on.
10/04/2015, 9:27 PM
Top of the league.
jinxy lilywhite
10/04/2015, 10:01 PM
Good win for us and even better results elsewhere. A poor performance though. If we were playing any team with ambition they would of probably won
White Horse
10/04/2015, 10:05 PM
I thought Drogheda put some effort into their defensive performance. There were three players around Daryl Horgan every time he got the ball. Eventually, Drogheda tired and Dundalk got more two on one's in wide areas. The goal came from one of those but we should have scored earlier.
I wasn't disappointed with the performance. Drogheda deserve a lot of credit for making it very difficult for Dundalk.
10/04/2015, 10:11 PM
Thought we would only get a point out of that. Johnny mac had them well set up marking wise. Good crowd, 3pts and we march on.
wonder88
10/04/2015, 11:34 PM
After a terrible start Galway were unlucky not to have got a draw against Sligo tonight. Happy for Bohs, seen them twice so far and they seem to be doing ok without Heary. Is he a little over-rated perhaps as a manager?
paykanti
10/04/2015, 11:48 PM
Not now that the Sligo bandwagon is revived :cool:
11/04/2015, 12:23 AM
Couple of mystery refereeing performances in the First Division again tonight.
Athlone miraculously escaped Finn Park without a red card. Some of the tackles going in at times would have had raised eyebrows at rugby matches.
Waterford denied a goal for some absolutely ludicrous reason by the referee there who instead awarded them a penalty despite them already scoring.
Some craic.
11/04/2015, 12:45 AM
Went to see Pats-Cork as Rovers were out of town. Half-expected a good match based on last year's battle royale. Really poor game, ref rode Pats raw and sent off their left back for nothing while Cork were steaming into tackles all over the shop and only got the one yellow. Both keepers made the one good save each.
gufcfan
11/04/2015, 3:02 AM
Top of the league.
Best plot in the graveyard!
Next 4 games will tell us more about what this Bohs team should aspire to. Long was a very astute appointment and Heary was never rated by the Bohs masses. Stunning first 7 games from this Bohs team. Loving it.
Now...where did I leave those title goggles...?
Ezeikial
11/04/2015, 7:06 AM
Went to see Pats-Cork as Rovers were out of town. Half-expected a good match based on last year's battle royale. Really poor game, ref rode Pats raw and sent off their left back for nothing while Cork were steaming into tackles all over the shop and only got the one yellow. Both keepers made the one good save each.
You must have been at a different match - Cork just don't do "tackle steaming".
I await the more measured match report from City Rebel
Ezeikial
11/04/2015, 7:17 AM
Next 4 games will tell us more about what this Bohs team should aspire to. Long was a very astute appointment and Heary was never rated by the Bohs masses. Stunning first 7 games from this Bohs team. Loving it.
Bohs have made a smashing start and are clearly a decent side. Next weeks match with St Pats is the litmus test as to whether a Euro challenge is possible
Dalymountrower
11/04/2015, 7:44 AM
Interesting to compare and contrast what should be two sides of a similar standard I Dalymount last night.
Boh's play as a unit and all work extremely hard with and without the ball. .Longford looked like semi-interested journeymen in comparison.
Sad to hear Powell being booed and sad to see how poor he was 2nd half.
Hope Rice is okay, looked like concussion?
Plucky win for the bit' o' Bohs in Galway.!
11/04/2015, 8:41 AM
Interesting to compare and contrast what should be two sides of a similar standard I Dalymount last night.
Boh's play as a unit and all work extremely hard with and without the ball. .Longford looked like semi-interested journeymen in comparison.
Sad to hear Powell being booed and sad to see how poor he was 2nd half.
Hope Rice is okay, looked like concussion?
Plucky win for the bit' o' Bohs in Galway.!
Awful performance from us tonight the worst in many a season to be honest we never strung 2 passes together all night and our long balls were totally aimless. We missed don and Flynn massively and even with Flynn back against Sligo next week i couldn't see us winning it off the back of that performance tonight. Powell needs to be dropped and as soon as mid season comes we need 2 new goalkeepers.
Town Legend
11/04/2015, 9:08 AM
Seen the stats from last nights game and we had 58% possession but I think we only had 2 shots on target. The penalty call that Grant didn't give was a big turning point. From where I was it looked a penalty but will have to see it on TV Monday night, but when a Bohs supporter beside you says it was a penalty then it sounds like Grant got it wrong. His Lino didn't help himself either when he flagged Davy for offside when straight through on goal even though he was 2 yards onside. As for the two goals, bad defending let a free man run in and head in the corner. For the second I thought Hunt should of come and claimed that. Definitely a starting keeper need in mid break unless Hunty steps it up. Rice's injury sounded bad. I was told after the game he was rushed to hospital after throwing up in the dressing room. Hope it was just precautionary but it looked like severe concussion.
11/04/2015, 9:29 AM
Seen the stats from last nights game and we had 58% possession but I think we only had 2 shots on target. The penalty call that Grant didn't give was a big turning point. From where I was it looked a penalty but will have to see it on TV Monday night, but when a Bohs supporter beside you says it was a penalty then it sounds like Grant got it wrong. His Lino didn't help himself either when he flagged Davy for offside when straight through on goal even though he was 2 yards onside. As for the two goals, bad defending let a free man run in and head in the corner. For the second I thought Hunt should of come and claimed that. Definitely a starting keeper need in mid break unless Hunty steps it up. Rice's injury sounded bad. I was told after the game he was rushed to hospital after throwing up in the dressing room. Hope it was just precautionary but it looked like severe concussion.
Could see his eyes were closed on the stretcher and that he was mumbling to the medical people it looked like a severe case of concussion alright
Keen2win
11/04/2015, 10:26 AM
I thought Davy was offside tbh! Shame about the state of the pitch as I've said elsewhere, we have a very small squad and missing Flynn at CB is a big deal! But yeah, not an inspiring performance
11/04/2015, 10:26 AM
I thought Heary was liked at Bohs SkStu why was he not rated?
El-Pietro
11/04/2015, 10:36 AM
After a terrible start Galway were unlucky not to have got a draw against Sligo tonight. Happy for Bohs, seen them twice so far and they seem to be doing ok without Heary. Is he a little over-rated perhaps as a manager?
By who? Does anyone rate him?
11/04/2015, 10:45 AM
Interesting to compare and contrast what should be two sides of a similar standard
I'd imagine the players are similar, but when it comes to managers, we lose out to most in the PD I'd wager, I wasn't at the game, but we've had TC for long enough to know that he's never been much of a man for having game plans and setting the team up with any sort of system in mind that they could carry out. Sure we've been playing a very slow center mid on the wing for two seasons now and he's not tried to remedy it yet :D Connor Powell is cat altogether, whatever has happened to him.
Long has been nightly impressive the past two seasons, very Long season to go, but I'd imagine Bohs could sneak 4th if they keep this up, maybe more, with Town, I'd say most will be happy enough with 8th, any lower and I'd not be impressed.
Comic Book Guy
11/04/2015, 10:59 AM
Couple of mystery refereeing performances in the First Division again tonight.
Athlone miraculously escaped Finn Park without a red card. Some of the tackles going in at times would have had raised eyebrows at rugby matches.
Waterford denied a goal for some absolutely ludicrous reason by the referee there who instead awarded them a penalty despite them already scoring.
Some craic.
I understand that the ref had already blown the whistle for the penalty when the Waterford player scored. To be honest if he'd allowed the advantage nobody from Ramblers would have had any complaints. That said the usual kamikaze defending nearly cost us.
Dalymountrower
11/04/2015, 11:59 AM
....., with Town, I'd say most will be happy enough with 8th, any lower and I'd not be impressed.
From what I've seen so far, LG are better than Limerick and Galway , as good as Bray and not as good as Drogs.Haven't seen Sligo or Derry yet.I think that you will do very well to finish eighth with TC in charge.
11/04/2015, 2:43 PM
Fair enough assessment probably. We could do with strengthening in July, and I would imagine we will. Hopefully in defence in particular.
11/04/2015, 4:48 PM
Long was a very astute appointment and Heary was never rated by the Bohs masses.Basically the reverse of what happened with Sean Connor leaving us so.
redobit
11/04/2015, 5:49 PM
Long was a very astute appointment and Heary was never rated by the Bohs masses.
One was an assistant manager at Bray and a first team manager that got relegated with Athlone. The other was an assistant and first team manager of a half decent Bohs side.
Hardly astute in fairness.
Town Legend
11/04/2015, 6:33 PM
Well in fairness to Long, Athlone were as good as relegated when he took over. To get them to the last game of the season with a chance of staying up was remarkable. And to see what he's doing at Bohs now compared to what Heary did and what he's doing at Sligo at the moment is proving Bohs are moving forward whereas Sligo are been left behind.
I thought Heary was liked at Bohs SkStu why was he not rated?
He was never universally liked as a Bohs player Marty - rightly or wrongly a lot couldn't get past the Shels years -but he definitely won over many when he stayed on post-collapse. However, when Callaghan started doing poorly there were rumours that this was exacerbated by Heary who undermined him constantly and then Aaron eventually lost the dressing room completely which allowed **** pants to sweep in and assume what he clearly felt should be his. In fairness, he did lead Callaghans team to safety that season. However his first proper season with HIS signings he was poison. His results were atrocious, his selections were haphazard and lacked continuity and the style of play - which I can't comment on from my own perspective - was supposedly awful. He was detested by the time he left by most of the fans and he just wasn't a very inspiring or good manager.
One was an assistant manager at Bray and a first team manager that got relegated with Athlone. The other was an assistant and first team manager of a half decent Bohs side.
Hardly astute in fairness.
What Town Legend said.
11/04/2015, 6:45 PM
He was never universally liked as a Bohs player Marty - rightly or wrongly a lot couldn't get past the Shels years -but he definitely won over many when he stayed on post-collapse. However, when Callaghan started doing poorly there were rumours that this was exacerbated by Heary who undermined him constantly and then Aaron eventually lost the dressing room completely which allowed **** pants to sweep in and assume what he clearly felt should be his. In fairness, he did lead Callaghans team to safety that season. However his first proper season with HIS signings he was poison. His results were atrocious, his selections were haphazard and lacked continuity and the style of play - which I can't comment on from my own perspective - was supposedly awful. He was detested by the time he left by most of the fans and he just wasn't a very inspiring or good manager.
Yeah I remember when we played ye in the LC last season even at 2-0 up the Bohs fans were giving Heary awful stick from the stands