View Full Version : Dalymount Double
Mister X
06/04/2015, 10:03 PM
so Bohs twice in four days, thoughts ?
Assume we will be giving lads a run in the EA sports cup so not too pushed
As for the league on friday, hopefully push on and pick up another point as bohs are in great form at the moment!
07/04/2015, 3:48 PM
This forum really does seem to be drying up of late im afraid to say, suppose that's the social media aspect taking its toll. Don't give 2 sh1tes about tonight's game even though I will be driving up. It's all about Friday and as Mister X said a point would be a super result, just keep the tally ticking over and Wel be fine.
07/04/2015, 4:09 PM
Going tonight and will go Friday. Dublin games suit me! Not too worried about tonight but it's nice weather for a game and hopefully we'll get a better look at some of the players that haven't played much. Ben Mohamed for one hopefully as he looks a real talent.
07/04/2015, 4:22 PM
This forum really does seem to be drying up of late im afraid to say, suppose that's the social media aspect taking its toll. Don't give 2 sh1tes about tonight's game even though I will be driving up. It's all about Friday and as Mister X said a point would be a super result, just keep the tally ticking over and Wel be fine.
Most of us chatted about the last matches on the main forum, so I'd imagine that's why it's quieter in the Town section, no need repeating oneself!
Re tonight, I'd love if we got through, we have a lot of subs getting feck all game time, so the longer we stay in cups like this and the LSC the better.
07/04/2015, 11:44 PM
Entertaining game but mainly because both back 4's were carved open with ease every time the opposition went forward. Plenty of positives to take from an attacking sense for us but fck me we are finally seeing the state of our goalkeeping situation with Paul Skinner making an absolute howler for Bohs 2nd and after that it was always going to be hard to win the game. Only other worrying aspect is the amount of chances (and relatively easy ones) that sully and shaw are missing but at least we are creating them. Come July the SOS could really do with a back up striker to take the weight off their shoulders while we really do need to address the keeping situation. Confident with a strong mentality and solid set up we can take a point on Friday and the good news is Don Cowan looks like he won't be out for very long at all. CMON de town.
Forgot to mention Ben Mohamed's amazing strike tonight he looks a player and a half.
L.T.F.C.
08/04/2015, 12:10 AM
Settle down re Bohs second. It took a massive bounce up on that mountain range they call a pitch. I would be happier if Shaw was more clinical but he has scored two important goals as has Sully. We'll be fine.
hollocaine
11/04/2015, 8:54 AM
2-0, and we were lucky to get nil. Embarrassing to watch at times. Defensively shambolic. Big improvement needed for Friday. Flynn and Cowan badly missed
Town Legend
11/04/2015, 9:14 AM
What about Dennis's performance last night? Bohs showed there class when he was enciting the crowd. And when pointed out to the three stewards all they did was laugh at him. Bad form from them, a bad winner is worse than a bad loser and that left a sour taste in a lot of Town fans mouths. Maybe a nice 'return of the favour' shoul be in place for Bohs when they come to Town.
11/04/2015, 9:22 AM
What about Dennis's performance last night? Bohs showed there class when he was enciting the crowd. And when pointed out to the three stewards all they did was laugh at him. Bad form from them, a bad winner is worse than a bad loser and that left a sour taste in a lot of Town fans mouths. Maybe a nice 'return of the favour' shoul be in place for Bohs when they come to Town.
Hahahahahahahahahaha if you're getting wound up by some **** dressed as Dennis The ****ing Menace then it's time to reevaluate your life.
11/04/2015, 9:37 AM
Forget the g1mp in the suit, that was a dreadful performance last night and it leaves us needed massive improvement to even stay in the game against a poor Sligo team. Hunt is spreading nerves and uncertainly throughout the entire team with his refusal to come off the line and clean through a few men for the ball and his kicking is nothing short of laughable.
At the back we are getting turned time after time by aimless long balls which shows something we already knew, we lack pace massively and although Wel have Flynn back next week that won't solve that problem but we should be a lot more solid with Flynn and sully alongside each other. Powell needs to go he's out of position every time and in every game we are being destroyed down that side and teams know he is the weak link, Deady has been poor when he's played this season but that's been on the wing and when he did play LB in the LSC against Drogs he was MOTM, he needs a chance there but don't think Tony will give him one.
In midfield, Kevin O'Connor is been run like a donkey out wide when he should be in the centre and maybe with rice injured and salmo out of form he might get that chance now. Mohamed looks a class act it Must be said.
Up top Sully and Shaw were awful last night and Simon clearly isn't up to this level which shows why we were all calling out for a 3rd choice in the off-season but I've no doubt the SOS will return to their best very very soon.
11/04/2015, 10:19 AM
I wasnt impressed with what was on show last nite.. I am extremely disillusioned so am not goin to go into details only that I agree with what the lads say!
Town Legend
11/04/2015, 11:29 AM
Hahahahahahahahahaha if you're getting wound up by some **** dressed as Dennis The ****ing Menace then it's time to reevaluate your life.
All I'm saying is that could of caused a lot of bother for them and for the Town if one of our supporters had to of reacted. No need for you to question my life, un called for. You don't even know me to spout crap like that.
11/04/2015, 12:46 PM
Yeah, not much to say after that really. I wouldn't be too hard on Sully and Shaw though they never got a decent ball all night. Bohs are a good side though it must be said. Better than I would have thought at the start of the season, Long is doing a good job with them so far. Cowan should be back in two weeks apparently, he was badly missed.
11/04/2015, 6:42 PM
Yeah, not much to say after that really. I wouldn't be too hard on Sully and Shaw though they never got a decent ball all night. Bohs are a good side though it must be said. Better than I would have thought at the start of the season, Long is doing a good job with them so far. Cowan should be back in two weeks apparently, he was badly missed.
Was impressed with how defensively organised Bohs were, very physically strong side.
Town Legend
12/04/2015, 8:58 AM
Outspoken, I think you're been a bit harsh on Kaleem Simon. He impressed me when he came on against Pats and set up Ben Mohammed for his shot that smacked the crossbar and won quite a few flick ons as well. From reports on the League Cup game he was our best player. And in all fairness, who actually had a good game on Friday? He's only 19 I think so his best years are ahead of him. But I do agree we do need another experienced striker because it's unfair on a 19 year old to be thrown in to get an equaliser or winner.
12/04/2015, 10:20 AM
Outspoken, I think you're been a bit harsh on Kaleem Simon. He impressed me when he came on against Pats and set up Ben Mohammed for his shot that smacked the crossbar and won quite a few flick ons as well. From reports on the League Cup game he was our best player. And in all fairness, who actually had a good game on Friday? He's only 19 I think so his best years are ahead of him. But I do agree we do need another experienced striker because it's unfair on a 19 year old to be thrown in to get an equaliser or winner.
He tries hard fair play to him but he tries things he's just not able to do. There's way too much pressure on the SOS to win us games they need a proven back up
Town Legend
12/04/2015, 10:55 AM
Yeah but to say he's not cut out for this level of football is ridiculous. He's only 19 and starting out in his career. Sure if you looked at it your way, jamie mulhall was ripped to pieces the other night. So is he not good enough either? I don't know if Simon played premier ball with UCD but to write him off after roughly 35 mins of premier ball for us is a bit mad!
Darklordsbane
12/04/2015, 12:17 PM
Well said
12/04/2015, 7:52 PM
I'm basing it off what I've seen in pre season in the cup games and in the league, he doesn't look up to it, I hope he proves me wrong.
Town Legend
12/04/2015, 8:15 PM
How many pre season half games did he play in 2, maybe 3 max. He only played in around 35 mins of league football for us. He was an unused sub in the one Leinster cup game we've played. And in the one league cup game we played an extratime quote 'consistently excellent Kaleem Simon'! Maybe you rate him on how he warms up and on what seat he takes on the bench! But for me, he hasn't had much game time to impress and as I said he's only 19. Even Pat Flynn said he along with Ben Mohammed are the two most skilful players in the squad. And I'm sure Flynner knows a lot more than both you and I.
Darklordsbane
12/04/2015, 8:23 PM
I thought Flynn was joking with every answer he gave in that interview, I don't think it's our young players that are the problem, they should adapt and get better as the season goes on
Town Legend
12/04/2015, 8:34 PM
He was but I'm sure he was serious with that answer. From seeing Ben Mohammed play there's a bit of class about him and both he and Simon came to us with people within UCD saying they both had talent. I'm sure if Flynner was joking with that question he would of said himself or Conor Powell!!
Didn't maker Dayler due to other commitments, but it's ridiculous to be writing anyone (including the manager) off this soon into the season imo. We've had a decent start, with some decent performances from what I have seen. Even this whole Kevin O'Connor/ Set up debate is a bit OTT for me - he was my Town man of the match against Pats (not for the goal particularly), in that set up. He wasn't the weak link in the midfield anyway.
I'd have more concerns (and only concerns at this stage for the fact players are only adjusting to the higher level) about much more established players than teenagers with a few minutes under their belts for us. Give them a feckin chance!
It's been a satisfactory start to the season for me anyway. If you think back to how virtually the same starting 11 was totally outclassed away to Rovers in the cup last season, I'm impressed with how we've adjusted. Given the way Bray have picked up, it could be a dog fight yet, but we're hardly doing an Athlone on it. It's too early for this head wrecking negativity already.
L.T.F.C.
13/04/2015, 8:20 PM
Forget the g1mp in the suit, that was a dreadful performance last night and it leaves us needed massive improvement to even stay in the game against a poor Sligo team. Hunt is spreading nerves and uncertainly throughout the entire team with his refusal to come off the line and clean through a few men for the ball and his kicking is nothing short of laughable.
At the back we are getting turned time after time by aimless long balls which shows something we already knew, we lack pace massively and although Wel have Flynn back next week that won't solve that problem but we should be a lot more solid with Flynn and sully alongside each other. Powell needs to go he's out of position every time and in every game we are being destroyed down that side and teams know he is the weak link, Deady has been poor when he's played this season but that's been on the wing and when he did play LB in the LSC against Drogs he was MOTM, he needs a chance there but don't think Tony will give him one.
In midfield, Kevin O'Connor is been run like a donkey out wide when he should be in the centre and maybe with rice injured and salmo out of form he might get that chance now. Mohamed looks a class act it Must be said.
Up top Sully and Shaw were awful last night and Simon clearly isn't up to this level which shows why we were all calling out for a 3rd choice in the off-season but I've no doubt the SOS will return to their best very very soon.
Hunt isn't an issue. He was fine the other night. Yes he may have come for the second but it was fifty fifty.
Powell wasn't as bad as you like to believe and if you want someone to look at it would be Willie Tyrrell. He was shocking on Friday night and he'd want to take a good look at himself.
It is completely clear that Ben Mohammed and Simon were fantastic signings. Ben Mohammed is a class act and Simon is getting there. It was Simon that created Sully's chance in the second half. The lad he came on for was at **** all anyway.
For me, it has been a very long time since I left a game as disgusted as I was on Friday. A lot of passengers in that game. Very few can hold their heads up. Ben Mohammed was the man of the match on Friday last and will be a big player for us. I watched him a couple of times last year for UCD and he has improved a lot since.
13/04/2015, 8:23 PM
Hunt isn't an issue. He was fine the other night. Yes he may have come for the second but it was fifty fifty.
Powell wasn't as bad as you like to believe and if you want someone to look at it would be Willie Tyrrell. He was shocking on Friday night and he'd want to take a good look at himself.
It is completely clear that Ben Mohammed and Simon were fantastic signings. Ben Mohammed is a class act and Simon is getting there. It was Simon that created Sully's chance in the second half. The lad he came on for was at **** all anyway.
For me, it has been a very long time since I left a game as disgusted as I was on Friday. A lot of passengers in that game. Very few can hold their heads up. Ben Mohammed was the man of the match on Friday last and will be a big player for us. I watched him a couple of times last year for UCD and he has improved a lot since.
Agree with you on Tyrell, his performance against pats was a total contrast to Friday night just like the rest of the team. I think the negativity on here is as a result of like you said Friday night being such a flat and disappointing performance and all we can hope is that there isn't too many more displays like that this season becuase up until then we have done well.
Keen2win
14/04/2015, 2:29 PM
Penalty!!
Mister X
16/04/2015, 9:47 PM
Kalem Simon isnt up to this level at all! the only reason hes getting a go atall is due to the fact pender left!
Too early to tell, and there's no evidence Pender is up to it anyway.
17/04/2015, 8:32 AM
Too early to tell, and there's no evidence Pender is up to it anyway.
Pender was having a decent pre season and seems to be very highly regarded By both cousins himself and his new Cabo team mates
Cabinteely isn't Premier Division level. I'm not saying Pender is or isn't up to it, just that their pretty comparable in having proved it (or not) imo.
whitehall
17/04/2015, 11:30 AM
I think it's still a case of teams underestimating Bohs. Their direct approach is tough to play against and they have the required experience to see out results.
Ben Mohammed is a great signing for ye and I expect bigger and better things from him this year btw.
L.T.F.C.
17/04/2015, 6:40 PM
The people that are saying that Kaleem Simon isn't up to this level are clowns. He hasn't played a full PD game for us yet. And he is 19. Get a grip.
Mister X
20/04/2015, 1:30 AM
The people that are saying that Kaleem Simon isn't up to this level are clowns. He hasn't played a full PD game for us yet. And he is 19. Get a grip.
We need a third choice striker now, not one in two or three seasons... but I suppose the fact TC played our top goal scorer on the wing against sligo whats the point...