First Division

Friday

Cabinteely FC v Waterford United

Finn Harps v Cobh Ramblers

Shelbourne v Athlone Town

Wexford Youths v UCDAFC

paykanti
27/03/2015, 4:43 PM
The Sligo bandwagon is dead to me if they don't win today.

27/03/2015, 8:51 PM
Can't beat a stoppage time winner. Go on the Don. Pat Flynn picking up his first red card for us too, that it's taken this long is nearly more surprising than his goal on Tuesday.

ger121
27/03/2015, 8:59 PM
Excellent start from us. 10 points from 15 is a great return.

27/03/2015, 9:27 PM
Dundalk were pretty average tonight and walked past Sligo. As bad as they've played in 6/7 years

3 goals for Dundalk and all with awful defending. Dundalk never had to try

27/03/2015, 9:39 PM
Very good performance by Dundalk who were a bit sloppy at the back in the first half.
So much for McMillan being castigated as a type of sub standard player who only managed to score goals late on against tired and beaten teams.
And up yours too, Dodge:)

Ezeikial
27/03/2015, 10:00 PM
So much for McMillan being castigated as a type of sub standard player who only managed to score goals late on against tired and beaten teams.

Ah Geysir - you clearly don't understand how it works.

The prolific poster and renowned tweeter has decreed that David McMillan is a player of "limited talent" . So he must remain irrespective of how many goals he scores or outstanding performances he makes.

Hell has no fury like a dodger who is scorned

27/03/2015, 10:01 PM
Cobh are bloody awful. It's going to be a very long season there.

27/03/2015, 10:03 PM
Took his goal very well. Fair play to him

Still don't think he's a top striker. glad you care enough about my opinion to keep bringing it up

27/03/2015, 10:04 PM
3 goals for Dundalk and all with awful defending. Dundalk never had to try

How did Stephen Folan look?

I thought he was a charlatan of a defender tbh but a lot of Limerick lads defended him to the hilt

Ezeikial
27/03/2015, 10:09 PM
Took his goal very well. Fair play to him

Still don't think he's a top striker. glad you care enough about my opinion to keep bringing it up

Sorry to disappoint you - I care little for your jaundiced opinions, but am occassionally amused by your balderdash and braggadocio

wonder88
27/03/2015, 10:14 PM
Terrible way for Galway to loose, a great effort after going a man down so early in the game. Don't think much of the antics of Flynn, but it is probably a reflection of the league of Ireland. By the way a great job on the programme.

27/03/2015, 10:16 PM
Sorry to disappoint you - I care little for your jaundiced opinions, but am occassionally amused by your balderdash and braggadocio
Thanks for following on Twitter so

27/03/2015, 10:18 PM

I thought he was a charlatan of a defender tbh but a lot of Limerick lads defended him to the hilt
He looked poor, but tbh you wouldn't pick any of them out

Goals can be seen at @loirelandgoals on Twitter

L.T.F.C.
27/03/2015, 10:19 PM
Town made hard work of that. Should have been out of sight but we found it hard to get by the bus. The referee was kept very busy all night and I thought he was fine. Some close calls with handballs when we were loading the pressure but it was a straight red for the tackle on Shaw. I don't know what clown was doing the updates for extratime.ie but he was biased as hell. Made for great reading. I didn't see the last two sendings off as I was busy celebrating!

Olander
27/03/2015, 10:22 PM
Terrible way for Galway to loose, a great effort after going a man down so early in the game. Don't think much of the antics of Flynn, but it is probably a reflection of the league of Ireland. By the way a great job on the programme.
What happened after? I saw Flynn run over on front of Oji who was on the ground and start celebrating in his face but I turned away then. A Longford fan said afterwards that Oji headbutt him but I'm not sure if I'd believe it. Either way out for 3-4 games for reacting to that knack, he should known better. Sickening result

27/03/2015, 10:28 PM
Pat Flynn, Rovers legend. Could have used some of his senseless, uncontrolled aggression out there today. Poor game, Rovers were Crolytastic but still made enough chances to win it. Delaney was on ridiculous form. Bohs look OK - the young lad at the back looks a real talent. Would have to see more of him but playing like that he'll be on a boat in no time.

Ezeikial
27/03/2015, 10:30 PM
Thanks for following on Twitter so

You have a twitter account?

https://media2.giphy.com/media/13RzfyQd2cz6y4/200_s.gif

donnrua
27/03/2015, 11:27 PM

I thought he was a charlatan of a defender tbh but a lot of Limerick lads defended him to t hilhet

Sam Oji spent most of last season making Folan look half-decent. I was really surprised when Sligo signed him tbh!

Town Legend
27/03/2015, 11:39 PM
Olander me auld flower, were you the fella from extratime.ie doing the updates? Whoever it was would give that mad man in North Korea a run for his money with his mad statements :eek: I heard we battered Galway but just couldn't get the winner until injury time when Don Wan smashed it home. Deserved red card in the first half from what I was told. And I was also informed that Flynn got a cut to the head before the goal and had to receive treatment, this after a tussle with Oji. So there was a coming together as they say before the incident which resulted in 2 red cards.

ATFC-1887
28/03/2015, 1:58 AM
First division is where its at. Best Athlone performance in years. Totally dominated the game. 2 outstanding free kicks from Foley and Purdy too.

28/03/2015, 2:23 AM
Purdy is class when he's up for it. Said this on here before but p****ed me off to see him wasting his time with Rovers B last year. I'd have him at LTFC still but he and TC fell out I believe.

WoodquayBoy
28/03/2015, 4:43 AM
Olander me auld flower, were you the fella from extratime.ie doing the updates? Whoever it was would give that mad man in North Korea a run for his money with his mad statements :eek: I heard we battered Galway but just couldn't get the winner until injury time when Don Wan smashed it home. Deserved red card in the first half from what I was told. And I was also informed that Flynn got a cut to the head before the goal and had to receive treatment, this after a tussle with Oji. So there was a coming together as they say before the incident which resulted in 2 red cards.
I heard, I was told, I was informed - great basis for an argument

Town Legend
28/03/2015, 6:35 AM
We're not sour at all Woodquay, are we? :cool: C'mon de Town Yup!

WoodquayBoy
28/03/2015, 7:04 AM
Not a bit sour, just calling you out for a poor basis for an argument!

Town Legend
28/03/2015, 7:18 AM
Calling me out?? :rolleyes: I'm not arguing at all, all I know is my club went down for the 3 points and came away with them! I'm just putting out there what I was told by someone who was at the game! I'm happy out regardless.

28/03/2015, 7:56 AM
We're getting the points but playing bloody awful football. If I were a Cobh player I'd have been gutted at not coming away with a point last night.

UCD away next week, will need to improve 100% by then to keep the run going.

Town Legend
28/03/2015, 8:08 AM
I don't want to be putting the hex on Harps but if they get points off Athlone I'll be putting a few quid on them to get top spot.

Town Legend
28/03/2015, 8:54 AM
Bad quality footage of the Flynn-Oji scuffle resulting in two red cards.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?sts=16510&v=ipmdUaiBaO0&oref=https%3A%2F%2Faccounts.google.com%2FCheckCook ie%3Fhl%3Den%26checkedDomains%3Dyoutube%26checkCon nection%3Dyoutube%253A449%253A1%26pstMsg%3D1%26cht ml%3DLoginDoneHtml%26service%3Dyoutube%26continue% 3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fm.youtube.com%252Fsignin%253 Faction_handle_signin%253Dtrue%2526feature%253Dmob ile%2526app%253Dm%2526hl%253Den%2526next%253D%2525 2Fverify_age%25253Fclient%25253Dmv-google%252526layout%25253Dmobile%252526next%25253D %2525252Fwatch%2525253Fitct%2525253DCDgQpDAYASITCO C29JPjysQCFUSvHAodbhwAOlIWdHdvIG9sZCB3b21lbiBmaWdo dGluZw%252525253D%252525253D%25252526sts%2525253D1 6510%25252526v%2525253DipmdUaiBaO0%252526tsp%25253 D1%26gidl%3DCAA&has_verified=1&client=mv-google&layout=mobile

GuisaSaigon
28/03/2015, 8:54 AM
Thought we were well on top before the first red, could have had 3 goals at that stage. Red card changed everything. We had to sit deep and try to catch Longford on the break. Sickening to concede the goals in the final minute of both halves. First red seemed a little harsh, Longford player went down very easily. Haven't a clue what happened at the end with the double red cards. Good crowd down from Longford, made a lot of noise. Ref was terrible didn't seem to know what was going on half the time.

L.T.F.C.
28/03/2015, 9:20 AM
First red seemed a little harsh, Longford player went down very easily. Haven't a clue what happened at the end with the double red cards. Good crowd down from Longford, made a lot of noise. Ref was terrible didn't seem to know what was going on half the time.
Ah come out! We'll get the verdict on Monday for sure, but trying to run through on goal and he was clipped. What you should be more concerned with was how all of that came about. Idiotic fluting around the back and we made you pay. That's where my annoyance would lie - not Shaw and certainly not the ref who was given an easy decision to make.

GuisaSaigon
28/03/2015, 9:55 AM
Ah come out! We'll get the verdict on Monday for sure, but trying to run through on goal and he was clipped. What you should be more concerned with was how all of that came about. Idiotic fluting around the back and we made you pay. That's where my annoyance would lie - not Shaw and certainly not the ref who was given an easy decision to make.

Would have to see it again to be sure, but from where I was standing it seemed like Walsh hardly touched him. Definitely should have cleared the ball earlier instead of "fluting around".

28/03/2015, 10:23 AM
Early day's but Longford are looking secure enough for the season anyway, every game's been tight but we're certainly not out of our depth, even with master Cousins tactical wizardry. If we finish 8th or so I'll be a happy man.

SwanVsDalton
28/03/2015, 11:25 AM
Barry McNamee tried to outdo Greg Bolger last night with an absolute peach - poor clearence by the Drogheda defence with Schlingermann miles out of position, drops to McNamee 25 yards out, he pings a half-volley into the top corner. Absolute class.

Decent Derry performance, you could see the confidence growing as the game went on. Drogheda were very poor though. Elding completely demoralised their centre backs in the air, if he could run he'd be some player.

The Brandywell surface remains fundamentally awful. Bring on the 3G I say.

28/03/2015, 11:56 AM
Early day's but Longford are looking secure enough for the season anyway, every game's been tight but we're certainly not out of our depth, even with master Cousins tactical wizardry. If we finish 8th or so I'll be a happy man.

Longford have plenty of premier experience in the squad. Always thought it would be a fight out between Limerick and Galway but luckily enough for us Bray seem to very poor also.

Olander
28/03/2015, 12:07 PM
http://i.imgur.com/r8qtS4z.png

Who does that after scoring a winning goal in injury time? Go celebrate with your teammates and supporters like a normal person. Scumbag.

28/03/2015, 12:22 PM
I think he wasn't too happy with however he got the bandage on his head. He's a bit of a lunatic anyway in fairness. Oji butted him just after that photo apparently.

Olander
28/03/2015, 12:26 PM
I think he wasn't too happy with however he got the bandage on his head. He's a bit of a lunatic anyway in fairness. Oji butted him just after that photo apparently.
If he headbutted him, he's an idiot too and he should get fined for reacting to Flynn.

28/03/2015, 12:48 PM
Can't beat a stoppage time winner. Go on the Don. Pat Flynn picking up his first red card for us too, that it's taken this long is nearly more surprising than his goal on Tuesday.

Flynn got sent off last year away to Rovers B.

Deserved win for us last night, Galway worked their balls off in fairness but didn't show enough to deserve anything. I know it's tough to play with 10 men, but I don't remember seeing a team offer so little going forward with 10 men. Even when it was 1-1, there seemed to be absolutely no intention to even try get a winner from the home team, they just hoofed the ball to our centre halves time after time. I didn't think the goal was going to arrive either, and it seemed to take Don about an hour to eventually hit it.

With regards the red cards, I don't see why Gary Shaw would go down if he wasn't caught by Walsh. Yes he could take a dive to get Walsh sent off but he's through 1 on 1, no striker is going to go down in that situation.

Didn't really see what happened at the end, all I remember was celebrating the winner and then seeing Flynn lying on the deck holding his head. By the sounds of things he just roared in Oji's face and Oji retaliated with a headbutt. They had been chipping away at each other for a lot of the game though, and Flynn took a stray elbow off Oji a few minutes previous apparently, leading to the Terry Butcher headband.

wonder88
28/03/2015, 12:48 PM
No excuse for that type of carry-on from Flynn; bit of character, lunatic etc, simply poor form. Not sure why people would blame Oji for reacting.

28/03/2015, 1:08 PM
No excuse for that type of carry-on from Flynn; bit of character, lunatic etc, simply poor form. Not sure why people would blame Oji for reacting.

I don't think a headbutt is ever really a defensible action

wonder88
28/03/2015, 1:21 PM
If he headbutted him, he shouldn't have done it. Flynn got up quickly after the card was shown and ran back to half way line so not knocked out anyway. Mostly people would react to taunting like Flynn engaged in. Flynn seems to be a bit of character in LoI circles, that behavior not for me anyway, glad he got red for it. Could have got further out of hand near the dressing room.

28/03/2015, 2:12 PM
Flynn got sent off last year away to Rovers B.

I'd forgotten that, I was thinking it was Sullivan that got sent off in that game for some reason.

Town Legend
28/03/2015, 3:20 PM
I think initially it was reported as Sullivan but later confirmed as Flynn. I remember a bit of confusion about it at the time.

IsMiseSean
28/03/2015, 3:55 PM
My thoughts on Flynn's antics are probably best kept to myself.... :mad:

28/03/2015, 6:21 PM
If he headbutted him, he shouldn't have done it. Flynn got up quickly after the card was shown and ran back to half way line so not knocked out anyway. Mostly people would react to taunting like Flynn engaged in. Flynn seems to be a bit of character in LoI circles, that behavior not for me anyway, glad he got red for it. Could have got further out of hand near the dressing room.

It was the Galway player that made a move at Flynn going for the tunnel. Flynn obviously didn't decide to just roar in his face for the craic there had been a battle going on all game between them and this was Flynns way of getting pay back for the elbow, it's unsporting but it's not violent so it should have been a yellow not a red. A headbutt on the other hand straight red.

I'm not going to come on here and say we're a better team than Galway and gloat. We could have been 3 down inside 15 had Galway taken their chances but we used our wingers well at the end of the half and the goal and the red just played it straight into our hands and after that there was only 1 winner. It was a fantastic game of football and the atmosphere was unreal. Look forward to our next trip.

patrickccfc
28/03/2015, 6:42 PM
City win 1 nil in bray.. djilali with the goals in the 83rd minute. Seemed we had the majority of the ball but couldn't score until the end.

White Horse
28/03/2015, 7:05 PM
City win 1 nil in bray.. djilali with the goals in the 83rd minute. Seemed we had the majority of the ball but couldn't score until the end.

Cork don't appar to have improved. Still desperately scraping wins against sides at the bottom of the table.

Caulfield has spent a lot of money and for what?

patrickccfc
28/03/2015, 7:19 PM
Cork don't appar to have improved. Still desperately scraping wins against sides at the bottom of the table.

Caulfield has spend a lot of money and for what?
we certainly have a team that is capable of ripping teams apart and it happens sometimes but for the most part we seem to struggle a bit. But still we are second, unbeaten and only conceded once

Pablo Escobar
28/03/2015, 8:35 PM
We didn't play well, but still had 2 good goals ruled out plus numerous other chances even before the sending off. The wind and rain were awful again though. Caulfields joke shop selection also didn't help matters.