View Full Version : Mike Kerley sacked.

24/11/2004, 11:44 AM
Mike Kerley has been sacked by the incoming directors of Limerick FC. These people, who are clearly taking the Charles Koppel/MK Dons approach to taking over a football club (lesson 1: Alienate your fans) initially tried to demote him to taking charge of the clubs underage set-up (I know it doesn't actually exist yet) and Kerley refused which in my opinion he was quite right to do. At this point he was sacked. I think we can all make an educated guess as to who his replacement will be, a man whose terms in charge of Limerick yielded inferior league finishes to Kerley's.

Mike Kerley in my opinion should at least have been allowed to see out his contract. Arsene Wenger could have been our manager last season and we'll still have come last. The ridiculous preperations that the off the field team managed to cobble together meant that we were always aiming to come last. Now in a delightful display of somebody watching out for their friends we see Mike Kerley being shafted. There's a touch of the Ranieri's about the whole thing. Appaling behaviour. :mad:

I'm sure that the powers that be are hoping to pull a Waterford United on this when after kicking Jimmy McGeough they pulled a couple of rabbits out a hat in the shape of Alan Reynolds (local legend) and Paul McGrath (national icon). Our administration however have far more modest appointments in mind...

Apparently our new owner is also in the process of trying to ban our vocal support (one in particular). Why is anybody's guess, it's not like we have 60,000 people clamouring to get into games and can afford to throw anybody out, least of all the few people who actually try to create some kind of buzz and atmosphere during games. No doubt this post will see me black-listed too but to be honest I don't care. This needs to be said and I'll be long gone by the time next season comes around so it's immaterial.

Much like Mike Kerley who I hope goes onto bigger and better things.

galwaygirl
24/11/2004, 11:59 AM
Can't believe it. Thought he was doing as well as could be expected with your Club under ye're circumstances :confused:

As for trying to ban the vocal support, how do they propose in doin that :eek:

the ox
24/11/2004, 12:07 PM
Why will you be gone SLK?

And oh my God, who the hell are the morons taking over us? Unless we get Martin O'Neill in I can't see who could do a better job than Kerley and where the hell is the loyalty in football anymore? Not one (proper) Limerick fan wanted Kerley out and this is coming from someone who pretty much always wants his other club (Oxford)'s manager out. Let's just hope to God we don't get Graham Rix!

AND can we not do something like start a petition to get him re-instated?

24/11/2004, 12:11 PM
Mike Kerley deserved a lot better than that. :(

the ox
24/11/2004, 12:17 PM
Have just written this story: http://www.ireland-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=189732
Is this a fair reflection?

Crambler
24/11/2004, 1:11 PM
cannot belive mike kerley got the sack.some return for his work over the last period.its an appaling decision.i for one wish mike all the best for the future.
lads,ye have put up with alot at lims and stuck with it,i hope everything works out for you the loyal fan,s.

inexile
24/11/2004, 1:14 PM
absolutely scandalous decision, i can see whats going to happen now noel o connor is gonna get the job and we may as well be cork city reserves cos we will have a bunch of lads from cork on loan to get experience etc and there will be no stability on the pitch, any one agree?

JohnD
24/11/2004, 1:30 PM
Hi Lads:

Can't say I was surprised to hear the news myself today. Felt it was on the cards. Any Manager which finishes last with the same budget for Players, albeit poorer ones in some cases, as many teams which did better in the League is always going to be in Trouble.

Lets face it New Owners will have their ideas on who they want to run the club. If we are in the Premier League in 2 years time will many people complain? Mike's a nice guy, prob too nice but was naiive in getting into bed with our old owners without having any Written contract, Yes it's the case.

It's no secret that Training last year was a shambles according to the players themselves. We won 4 games all season so nobody can expect their job to be safe. We have been talen over by Businessmen. We are not a Junior Football club and The investors will want a return for their money. If I was putting in €1m+ into a club then I would want to have the say on who is doing what.

By all accounts all the Current Directors are gone as well!

As regards the Vocal Supporter I think that was said a few months back. I personally said it to the new owner that would be a wrong decision and I like to think he took it on board. I would have NO worries on that one.

We Prob will get players from Cork. I dont care where we get them from once we get the F**k out of Division 1 Lads :)

Looking Forward

JohnD

inexile
24/11/2004, 1:53 PM
i think we should care who and where we get players from lads if the take over is going to improve the club i think we need players from the locality to entice more supporters, i personally take pride in supporting local players who make the step up and i think more people would come to games if there was a local feel to the team

24/11/2004, 2:51 PM
I have to agree with John D on a lot of what his post said. Like it or lump it, Mike inherited a squad two seasons ago that should have got promoted. He was left that squad SLK, by the same "man whose terms in charge of Limerick yielded inferior league finishes to Kerley's." Fact is that nobody had an inferior league finish to Kerleys this season, and that was with him blowing a good budget on over 30 players.He is an inexperienced manager, plain and simple and while I have sympathy for the guy, it's going to be far better for Limerick football in the long term for us to go the way we're going.He has no coaching experience or qualifications, and I believe he spent the last six games laughing and joking around at training and in the dugout at matches because we were a lost cause. Not very becoming of a manager. And while I'm at it, his compensation demands and attempts to sour the players towards the new administration don't sit well with me either. I'll pm you whats been going on if you wish...

inexile
24/11/2004, 2:55 PM
id like to hear a bit of that joe

l.f.c......
24/11/2004, 3:41 PM
SLK are you mad we won about two games all season what do you want them to do hold on to him and next season we might try and win four games. start fresh get rid of the crap and there is alot of crap there try and get some money in and if we cant get money they might aswell pull out of the league and not have another season like that its a disgrace for a city of our size were the laughing stock of the LOI

fc hammer
24/11/2004, 6:39 PM
Super Blues
Sing Up North Bank!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :)

24/11/2004, 6:43 PM
I think he's been harshly treated, but its not entirely unexpected either, when you finish last, you've got to worry, but to be fair who could have done any better?

Nempton
24/11/2004, 7:24 PM
First, I have not visited this forum in a while but when learning what happened today I wanted to voice my opinion. I must say though how disappointing it is to see the overall response so far to Mike Kerley been sacked. It does not suggest that people are happy with his dismissal, in fact most Limerick FC fans including myself were in favour of Mike staying but it does highlight the lethargy that has crept into the mindset of Limerick FC fans. The reason for this is due to the different crises that have occured, such as today, which has negative connotations for the clubs public image. How many is this now under the stewardship of Michael O'Sullivan and company?

When I learnt of Mike's dismissal this morning I was angry about the manner he was treated in as well as the unprofessionalism and incompetence displayed once more by our officials which inhibits this club to a great extent. In a week where a 77 year old Limerick woman was ready to go to prison over a dog because she stood by her principles and her belief in whats right and wrong, here was the club once more acting like rabid dogs. The more I thought about todays events I soon came to realise that the core issue here is not simply about Mike's sacking but instead the whole moral fabric of the club.

In the past year there have been numerous contentious issues that have arisen and the behaviour of committee members best described as unscrupulous, in particular Michael O'Sullivan. While on a personal level I feel no disdain towards Michael O'Sullivan, however in his capacity as Chairman I feel otherwise. I see in him the root of the problem. Here is a man who went behind supporters backs and registered Limerick FC as a private company. Who issued himself with shares because he apparently invested money into the club for which there are no accounts or receipt to prove such transactions. Who when our new investor showed interest in the club allegedly demanded an incredible sum of money for him to leave (it was said that the other two "shareholders" were willing to step aside for the good of the club). Who could be best described as the 'self proclaimed' Chairman because he actually nominated himself at a committee meeting for which no vote was actually taken by committee members. Michael O'Sullivan may believe he has the clubs best interest at heart but he has not yet demonstrated so. Instead I think he is egotistical, someone who revels in the attention he receives because he is Chairman of the club, I'm sceptical then when John D says "all the Current Directors are gone as well!".
I guarantee that he will still be here next season.

The lack of moral ethics within the club is worrying, to learn that they were considering banning a fan, one who is popular with the players and at times has been supportive towards the committee is disheartening. The thought of a new investor then should bring hope. While the club will secure its future what worries me is the personnel who will remain and those being brought into the club. How will they run the club? In the foreseeable future I cannot see a change in the style of management. The treatment of Mike Kerley is the first action taken by this new group of directors. SLK drew parrallels with Ranieri and Chelsea, unfortunately for Limerick I do not think that Noel O'Connor is in the mould of Jose Mourinho but instead Gerard Houllier. Also it was interesting to note public opinion when Roddy Collins joined Shamrock Rovers, the Kerley incident is the other side of the coin. While it can be argued that both Roddy and Limerick FC are doing what is right for them, you can't help but get a sour taste in your mouth. It should be remembered that Mike Kerley, since we are now a company, is an employee and the treatment dished out to him is unacceptable and would be in any business. He was offered a demotion which no employee has to accept but basically he was shunted out by the club. Mike Kerley has every right to seek compensation for how he was treated and also because he had a year remaining on his contract, a fact which the committee went to great pains to make sure that both supporters and press knew about.

I would totally disregard Joe Soap's comment simply because it is common knowledge that Noel O'Connor and him are friends. His comments are biased. I would see no great difference between Mike and Noel as managers. It is naive to say that if Noel had been in charge of Limerick two years ago then that Limerick would have been promoted. Since he highlighted that season I must point out that Noel abandoned Limerick FC just before the start of the season to join Cork City, should we not question his loyalty then? Or to say that because Mike Kerley was laughing at training and at matches that he was wrong to do so, in the last six matches I think (I may not be accurate) but we only suffered one loss, obviously it worked. I could easily go on and punch holes in Joe Soap's comments, its clear that his thread was not objective but him merely sticking up for a friend. There are two sides to every story and it is important to remember that…

24/11/2004, 8:55 PM
As usual, a very iinformed, intelligent post from Nempton...there are too few of your posts on this forum, and I say that sincerely.

Referring to your post, I agree with you, it is 'common knowledge' that Noel O'Connor and I are friends.The fact that Noel O'Connor and I are friends has had absolutely no bearing on Limerick FC and its performance on and off the pitch for the past two seasons. Noel left Limerick for Cork City primarily for two reasons; 1). The opportunity to work at a near professional club with one of the, if not the best manager in the league, thus learning the ropes in the best way how. 2). He could no longer stomach the lies, ineptitude and lack of ambition of certain individuals at the club...a club where he had been involved at underage, youth, under 21 and senior level for a number of years. When Noel was leaving, he had left the club in a very healthy state, having won the League Cup, and assembling a squad that included bringing Jimmy Fyffe, Brendan Sweeney, Steven O'Flynn, Gareth Cooney and Colin Heffernan into the fray, plus bringing in Mike Kerley as a number 2 and Barry Heffernan as physio.The club hadn't been in as good shape on the field for ages....and it showed, narrowly missing out on promotion. I dare anyone to tell me that Mike Kerley could have assembled such a squad, or that we would have made the play-offs that season were it not for the way the playing side of the club was left by Noel O'Connor.

Mike Kerleys record for Limerick is as follows:
Season 1. Great league run, ending in play-off defeat.Obtained by a squad he did not develop, but all credit to him, he did very well in his first season and I genuinely thought he had a future.

Season 2. 4...yes....4 victories in a 33 game season. 30 players on the books, the majority of them crap or too young. He showed no leadership skill in a crisis, thus the mass exodus of players from the club, when he shou;d have concentrated using his €3000 a week, ...yes €3000 a week budget wisely rather than paying muppets to replace them and 'goalkeeping' coaches.

I believe that he had to go, and it is irrespective at this moment in time who replaces him. The new people at the club are businessmen, and sportsmen, and if you combine both, you expect and demand results. Mike is a genuinely nice guy, and I sincerely wish him well, but the club went seriously backwards on the pitch under his tutelage, and any manager thats getting paid good money as he was, has to justify that wage or walk the plank.

In the workplace, ,If you have a seriously unproductive employee, you let them go. If you don't, thats bad business that will put you under. Football is a business these days and Limerick FC is a business that is badly suffering all round. New blood and management is required and there should be no room for sentiment.

Please feel free to punch holes in my threads...I welcome the criticisms. I believe that if you watch how certain people react to this situation in the coming days, then you might get a true indicator of their personalities, and reasons why this ended like it did. The welfare and future of the club is what is important and I believe that is going forward from today.

4tothefloor
24/11/2004, 9:35 PM
The new directors of Limerick FC will be looking at the club essentially as a blank canvas. Therefore it is no surprise to see that Mike Kerley is to be replaced as manager. He didn't do himself any favours with performances on the pitch this season. As much as fans endeared themselves to Kerley, a budget of €3000 per week should not end up with the need for sub goalkeepers to be playing outfield in a bare 11. That kind of stuff is ridiculous, and that is why, in my opinion, he has been let go. You have to look at it like this - If you were investing a lot of hard cash in a club, you would not be sold on Mike Kerley's performance this season. And thats what it boils down to.

On another note, if it is a thing that Noel O'Connor is part of this takeover and is friendly with the new directors, is that not potential for a conflict of interests further down the line? I mean, if he is part of this new group, what happens if his team isn't doing the business on the pitch? Will his buddies be as quick to sack him as they have been to sack Mike? I doubt it somehow. Great, that's all we need, more politics down the line.........

maineman
24/11/2004, 9:45 PM
I must say mike getting sacked does'nt surprise me and i have to agree with joe soap and john.After what has been a bitterly disappointing season i think the new management had no other choice but to sack him.

kevincronin2000
24/11/2004, 9:49 PM
Mike was a very nice guy but I think the club needs a big pr job, a la major ground improvments, nickname a la supersaints, rebel army etc . Limerick is a big city and shouls be in the premier division atracting crowds of 3000. Derby games against city and waterford. The best possible 12 team premier would be,

Cork City
Derry City
Shamrock Rovers
Finn Harps
Sligo Rovers
Galway United
Bohemians
Limerick fc
Waterford United
Shelbourne
St Patricks Ath
Drogheda United

Even tho I have a soft spot for Longford I feel there attendances are small.
If limerick appoint the right manager and have a chairperson who will communicate well with the fans and have a good buisness brain it should see the club get stronger and look to get promoted in two or three years. I feel sometimes that clubs that tend to yo-yo between the two divisions seem to get larger attendances at the top of the first division rather than at the bottom of the premier division.

Any way best of look next season.

24/11/2004, 10:12 PM
Football is a meritocracy the best 12 teams will be in the Premier Division next season let's examine your list of ideal clubs however:

The best possible 12 team premier would be,
Cork City - Almost went bust in 1996
Derry City - have almost gone bust on three occasions since 1985
Shamrock Rovers - No ground
Finn Harps
Sligo Rovers
Galway United
Bohemians - having experimented with full time professionalism may be partially reverting to part-time professionalism next year... remains to be seen.
Limerick fc - No ground and and have fallen quite a distance from the days they moved to Rathbane
Waterford United - Previous board squandered IR£ 400,000 raised from the PLC Share issue
Shelbourne- In spite of their success on the field are rumoured to be €300,000 in debt and cannot draw decent attendances to their splendid venue
St Patricks Ath - Financial problems at the tail end of last season have seen them shed many players and barely stay up this year.
Drogheda United - Almost went bust twice since 1989

AS you can see Kevin from your ideal list are clubs that have in the best been among the most poorly administered in the League.
It is a shame that Limerick have fallen to these levels I wish them luck next season and am sorry that Kerley seems to have been the first victim of the new regime.

25/11/2004, 11:01 AM
Mike Kerley has been sacked so that our new owner can appoint a friend to the job. That is unprofessional especially when the incoming man (and we all know who he is) finished last and third last in the First Division in his two seasons in charge. We're not bringing in a proven, hugely experienced manager by any stretch. In fact I remember us winning two home games in Jackman Park in one of Noel's seasons. Personally I feel that both Mike and Noel have got plenty to bring to the floor but I don't think there's any huge difference between them in terms of managerial ability.

We're going to have a better set-up next season. I'm not trying to deny that for a second. But it does leave a sour taste in the mouth when people are so eager to rush off into the promised land of Premier Division football that they're willing to turn their backs on a man that this time last year they heralded as being able to walk on water. Football is football and managers come and go and I understand that totally, I didn't shed any tears when either of our last two managers WALKED OUT and to be honest I won't cry for Mike either.

But in an age when fans waffle on about demanding loyalty from players it might be nice to see us do the same... The club comes first naturally but I'd JoeSoap's point a step further, a lot of people have already shown their colours in this matter...

JohnD
25/11/2004, 12:51 PM
Hi there:

Agree with my Friend Joe on this one. The Dogs in the street knew that Mike was not going to be manager this year. Leaving aside the dire performances on the pitch, a team that did not seem to care in the majority and treated the fans with disrespect at times, poor Training habits etc It was obvious that a "new Broom Sweeps clean". It was always going to be the Mangaer thats the fall guy.

I wish People on this forum would awaken to the fact that Limerick Fc will be now run as a business that demands in itself success. We have to get out of this Division first. There will be new players coming in this year with experience to assist this goal.

Also just beacuse you are friendly with someone does not mean that your opinion is less valid, the opposite I feel could be argued.

As regards Mike, All I will say is Keep an eye on the Sports Pages over the next few weeks and come back with the same arguements then.
All the best

John

Who for one has looked forward to the Rebirth of Limerick FC for a long time.

25/11/2004, 1:22 PM
If Mike Kerley was being replaced by a proven high-quality manager I would agree with you. He is not. No room for discussion there. Surely a business that demands success in itself would look a little further afield than somebody who's already managed to lead us to re-election? Lay out the league record of the incoming man and tell me how it reads? 5-0 home defeats against Sligo Rovers anybody? If we're aiming for the big time why are we replacing like with like? All the complaints that are only now being lain at Mike Kerley's feet were previously thrown at his predecessor. Poor training? Rude to fans??? Alienates players left, right and centre (anybody remember that Derek McCarthy only chose Limerick over Kilkenny when Mike was appointed?) Nobody wants to see the birth of Limerick FC more than me. I just can't understand how the sacking of Mike Kerley and appointment of another proven re-election boss is a pre-requisite of this.

Stand up and be counted lads for Christ's sake. I realise that we're all expected to fall into line and throw ourselves at the feet on the incoming saviour but right now if he's expecting a line of psychopants it's looking like he's in the right place. :rolleyes:

While we're at it John, I don't care how long ago he sounded out the possibility of barring certain fans from the ground, it's the fact that he looked at the idea at all that disgusts me. If there was racial abuse I'd say by all means toss the culprit out and never let them back but I sense a bit of a power trip coming on here. I just remember when this was about :ball:. If Limerick go up next season I'll be the first to hold up my hands and say 'Well done to the owner/manager etc.' But I will still reserve the right to say that sh1tting on people shouldn't be encouraged in any walk of life.

Well I am amazed!!...Why would Pat Dolan want to bring him to Cork ???..It's a bit short notice but it could be the fresh change we need. I never rated him tatically anyway..Who could take over though?

And now all of a sudden you're heralding the man's return??? I'm actually mystified... :confused:

BTW John, we're still buds, let's prove to everybody else that online disagreements don't have to spill over into real life! :D

25/11/2004, 1:39 PM
Lads i honest to god couldnt believe this thread wasnt a wind up. This is an absolute disgrace Mike desrved the chance with a proper set up after the miracle play off season. An awful lot is now being made of the fact that he had a €3000 budget to work with this season and i wouldn claim to be as well up on the inner workings of the club as some other people on this forum but it was my under standing that this money came too late to have a meaningful effect on the season otherwise we surely wouldn have had our mass exodus in pre season? :confused: Also just what exactly was Mike supposed to offer potential quality signings to Limerick a club which remember was unsure of its very existence just a week before the seasons kick off the man could have had a budget of €3 million in those circumstances and it wouldn have mattered a jot. Mike deserved great credit for not walking away and this point and above all he deserved a bit of loyalty something which the new owners obviously dont hold in high regard particularly when u consider the slimy fcuk who looks like taking his place :mad: A slimy fcuk with a very pooor record of getting results by the way

Mike Kerley a victim of circumstance i wish him well

Still Lim till i die.....but rightly ****ed off right now :mad:

JohnD
25/11/2004, 1:43 PM
Hi SlK

I am not heralding anyones return all I am saying is The Manager is ALWAYS the first to go when a new guy takes over. You know this is true.

I am simply stting the realities on the ground as I see it. Lets all face them lads. If a new Guy pumps money in He will want a return on his investment.
All of what I and Maineman, 4 to floor and Joe still stands up. We did not do it on the Pitch QED.(I think!)

Remember What i said about the Papers, from what I was Told MK looked for confimation re his position when it was not on the agenda. Maybe he has something lined up ?? :p

Watch this space. We have not heard the full story boys

all the best SLK and lots of Hugs and Kissses :p

JohnD....You dont want success, cant handle success :) etc !!!

25/11/2004, 2:09 PM
something which the new owners obviously dont hold in high regard particularly when u consider the slimy fcuk who looks like taking his place :mad: A slimy fcuk with a very pooor record of getting results by the way

Mike Kerley a victim of circumstance i wish him well

Very tasteful, high class posting indeed.

This would be the slim fcuk that brought the club its only piece of National success for a decade, who assembled Kerleys squad of players for the successful one season we had, and the one partly responsible for Cork City being runners up in the Premier Division, and having a long successful(by Irish Standards) run in Europe. You are an idiot, and an ignoramus, and you have just proven that.

As for Mike Kerley being a victim of circumstance, maybe so, and I too wish him well but it doesn't disguise the simple fact that he largely failed as a manager, largely due to inexperience, something that the 'slimy fcuk' seems to have gone and gotten lots of.

25/11/2004, 4:08 PM
You are an idiot, and an ignoramus, and you have just proven that.

Well Joe i measure the amount of offence i take to a personal insult by the quality of the man who delivers it. In this case you will be pleased to find i take no offence whatsoever

Back on topic i admit that maybe slimy fcuk was a bit to harsh on the great man who will no doubt lead us back to the promised land of League cup glory regular hammerings at home and re-election :rolleyes: I just cant understand why Mike was let go to make room for a man with such a staggeringly mediocre record. I am willing to forget his jumping ship to Cork on the eve of a season and give him a (small) chance as im sure most Lims fans will (by the way feel free to educate me on the "real" circumstances behind his departure which led to my "slimy fcuk" description :rolleyes: ) however its difficult to accept hes any better than Mike going by his record. Heres hopin your right and im wrong eh?

25/11/2004, 5:49 PM
We did not do it on the Pitch QED.(I think!)

I couldn't agree more. But then surely the new appointment should be somebody whose league record (last and third last in two seasons I'll repeat again) bears looking at? I personally think that NOC will do reasonably well this time out. I presume that he's received assurances about structures etc to drag him back from Cork. But I still fail to see what makes him such a superior appointment. If the new owners were looking for somebody with a proven track record and experience then somebody like John Gill, Jimmy McGeough or Harry McCue. I'm not saying that any of these men were attainable targets but they've all achieved in the First Division. With all due respect to Noel he's still unproven and could go either way. Nothing that he showed in her first two seasons with us suggest that the First Division title is a formality next season. That said, I want to stress that I don't view Noel as a bad appointment, just fail to see exactly what seperates him from Kerley.

Remember What i said about the Papers, from what I was Told MK looked for confimation re his position when it was not on the agenda. Maybe he has something lined up ?? :p

Watch this space. We have not heard the full story boys

Well then tell us John. Don't keep us in suspense. What I do remember reading very recently is Mike Kerley saying that he wanted to still be in charge of Limerick next year. And to be honest with all the speculation surrounding his job one could hardly blame Mike if he went out sniffing around other posts. I personally hope that Mike goes on to better things now.

25/11/2004, 6:21 PM
[QUOTE=sadloserkid] That said, I want to stress that I don't view Noel as a bad appointment, just fail to see exactly what seperates him from Kerley.
[QUOTE]

I believe his coaching skills, knowledge of te EL scene, and two years experience at one of the biggest clubs in the country gives him a huge advantage as a manager, none of which Kerley has. I also believe that he would not have blown a decent budget on 30 players like Kerley did, and he also has more strength of character and not be a lackey for the likes of O'Sullivan, McMahon and Purcell.They were the reason he 'deserted' the club the last time,and you have to admit he is taking a big risk, giving up a well paid, cushy number,with uefa cup football guaranteed to take this job.

I think he should be judged by his signings, training, and performances on the pitch...not on what happened three seasons ago. He has learned a hell of a lot, and after all he has given to the club in the past, he deserves the chance to prove himself.

25/11/2004, 6:31 PM
I believe his coaching skills, knowledge of te EL scene, and two years experience at one of the biggest clubs in the country gives him a huge advantage as a manager, none of which Kerley has.

The only one of those I'd give him over Kerley is the two years with Cork City and I wouldn't set a huge amount in that (though obviously I'd set something). Obviously it will only have been beneficial but I don't think it will have transformed him so totally that the club are making the right decision in not even opening the postition up to other applicants.

I don't agree that Kerley has no coaching skills or eL knowledge at all and I think it's very unfair of you to imply that he is lacking massively in this regard. Similarly Noel O'Connor had plenty of awful players in his Limerick team, Anton Mannering just being the first who came to mind. And if Mike Kerley is as god awful as everybody now seems to be suggesting it's hardly indicative of any great professionalism that he was going to be trusted with Limerick's U-21 set up.

I think he should be judged by his signings, training, and performances on the pitch...not on what happened three seasons ago. He has learned a hell of a lot, and after all he has given to the club in the past, he deserves the chance to prove himself.

I couldn't agree more with you on this. If he's coming in let's give him a chance to see how he's developed. Hopefully he'll be a resounding success and we'll waltz through the First Division this season and everybody will be able to tell me 'I told you so'.

25/11/2004, 6:42 PM
Similarly Noel O'Connor had plenty of awful players in his Limerick team, Anton Mannering just being the first who came to mind. .

:D :D ...agreed. Lets not forget John Paul Stokes, Gareth Ryan and David Dunphy.....

25/11/2004, 9:30 PM
dont forget Barry Ryan (2nd edition) While im sorry to see Mick go (and i hope he stays as underage manager) i for one welcome the new ants! all hail the ants! :D

exile
25/11/2004, 9:38 PM
does anyone know exactly who the new invstors are? evryone knows there has been lot of money for sports in limerick recently e.g rugby gaa why is the soccer not getting it

4tothefloor
25/11/2004, 10:02 PM
:D :D ...agreed. Lets not forget John Paul Stokes.....

'The Cheetah' is what I called him :rolleyes: :D

Nempton
26/11/2004, 2:38 PM
This has just simply boiled over to being a case of mud slinging and seeing what sticks. Its too easy to hypotheses 'what ifs' between Noel and Mike, you cannot make arguments based on that.

When looking at the facts its important to take into account all factors. Yes, Mike did not do the business this season but then again neither did Noel in his time of charge of Limerick in the league. I think the daggers have come out too easily for Mike's blood just because there is a new investor with money. We all knew this season was going to be a disaster, have we all forgotten why players left? The committee failed in its job to provide Mike with the resources and were lucky to succeed in getting a club licence. Mike had almost no time to gather a group of players together as well as us having no pre-season. At the start of the campaign he had a budget $1000, which John Purcell told to everyone. As for him signing 30 players, how many of them were retained as the season went on. I don't think its fair to hang Mike just because we have new personnel coming in. In regards to Noel, yes he is entitled to have time to prove himself before we start making judgements but you cannot ignore his past record. When he took over the rein's that was also his chance to prove himself. Noel should consider himself fortunate to be getting a second chance, he wasn't sacked like Mike, he walked out on the club regardless of what was going on at the time. When you think about it, Mike stuck it out when things got bad, especially when we were in danger of been kicked out of the league. I think hypocrisy has crept into this debate and we should be careful of that.

Ultimately what concerns me is the style of management, there might be new money in the club but its how the club is handled that is worrying. Nothing seems to have changed in that respect. I'm afraid the club could be compared to the present state of the health system...new minister throwing plenty of money at it but unfortunately the same old mismanagement.

26/11/2004, 2:48 PM
The committee failed in its job to provide Mike with the resources..... At the start of the campaign he had a budget $1000, which John Purcell told to everyone.

Ultimately what concerns me is the style of management, there might be new money in the club but its how the club is handled that is worrying. Nothing seems to have changed in that respect. I'm afraid the club could be compared to the present state of the health system...new minister throwing plenty of money at it but unfortunately the same old mismanagement.

Does mismanagement involve the obtaining of a ground a club can call home? With proper training facilities, a proper structure, guarantees that players will get paid? Does mismanagement involve the putting together of a plan which assures re-election, a new squad of decent players? I for one don't think so.

The committee failed to provide Mike with resources?? €3000 a week is one hell of a budget, especially for a pauperised football club. The main mismanagement I can see came from the handling of this budget, and subsequent weekly payments to the likes of CP OBrien, Alan Barry, a goalkeeping coach, and several others that clearly weren't up to the standards required. There were players there getting 4 times what one loyal player who played in nearly every game got, bt all he wanted to do was play football...more fool him.

27/11/2004, 2:31 PM
Well this thread went very off point, pretty much degenerated into a who's manager is bigger argument. Back to the priginal thread from SLK on the way Kerley departed Limerick, and on to the pint that has been pretty much left untouched, that of the new owner contemplating banning one of our own from the matches.

Personally I feel Limerick FC as a club owed Mike a bit more respect, not just for what he did for us last year, but just for the way he handled himself. He always struck me as a very straight shooting kinda guy, so if reports of him having to call the chairman and asking what he's postion was is true, well I don't think thats anyway to treat a man who did a lot for our club.

And what about the possible banning of one Limerick's fans guys? No-one seems to be touching on that point, which if true, should at least prompt some sort of outcry from Limerick FC fans on this board. Sadly most seem to be happy to bury their collective heads in the sand for fear of rocking the new owner boat....

willie john
27/11/2004, 2:54 PM

Personally I feel Limerick FC as a club owed Mike a bit more respect, not just for what he did for us last year, but just for the way he handled himself. He always struck me as a very straight shooting kinda guy, so if reports of him having to call the chairman and asking what he's postion was is true, well I don't think thats anyway to treat a man who did a lot for our club.

And what about the possible banning of one Limerick's fans guys? No-one seems to be touching on that point, which if true, should at least prompt some sort of outcry from Limerick FC fans on this board. Sadly most seem to be happy to bury their collective heads in the sand for fear of rocking the new owner boat....
can somebody explain this about banning a fan i never heard this one before did anybody read pat dolans page in the star this week he thinks very highly of noc so think noc wanted by cork but avable to lims i think we should count ourselfs very lucky maybe the new people are wrong but give them a chance it not like there trying to make sh i t of the club they are trying to sort it out now stop moaning and think of next season and OUR OWN HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YES OUR OWN HOME!!!!!!!!!!!YES OUR OWN HOME ;) ;)

27/11/2004, 3:31 PM
can somebody explain this about banning a fan i never heard this one before did anybody read pat dolans page in the star this week he thinks very highly of noc so think noc wanted by cork but avable to lims i think we should count ourselfs very lucky maybe the new people are wrong but give them a chance it not like there trying to make sh i t of the club they are trying to sort it out now stop moaning and think of next season and OUR OWN HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YES OUR OWN HOME!!!!!!!!!!!YES OUR OWN HOME ;) ;)

Last point very valid, it would make you automatically on a sounder footing than Shamrock Rovers, who their fans always remind us are the most successful LOI club ever blah blah blah blah ;)

4tothefloor
27/11/2004, 7:51 PM
I don't know anything about this fan-ban thing either, so i'm not in a position to comment about it. I could probably guess who it is though, and if i'm right in who I think it is, it would be a shame if a dedicated fan like that was banned. That kind of thing is not on.

28/11/2004, 7:43 PM
So overall it’s like this and this is only my opinion ok! We needed to be taken over as the people in charge didn’t know how to advance the club further and didn’t have the finance or ways of attracting said finance so now the takeover is being done or has been done. The incoming group have decided long ago to make one of themselves (Noel O’Connor) the first team manager but as Noel in his last season with us before he walked, led Limerick to last place and some less then attractive dull football, where his commitment to some players long past their sell by date had to be questioned. Noel is one of the most qualified coaches in the country and this is why Cork City made him an offer two years ago. He has we hope gained much needed higher level experience while at City. While most supporters welcomed the incoming group long ago its fair to say that there wasn’t much excitement among any that Noel would be a good appointment. A good, no great coach yes, but manager? As I said before I wanted John Gill. Noel isn’t the best communicator with the public and the club will need to appoint a good PRO (not looking at the PRO from the SC ;) to perform the clubs duties in this regard.
Mick Kerley in his first year did a great job in steering a team (built mainly by Noel) to the first division play offs, only poor club structure i.e. no under 21’s or any quality subs let us down in Derry a tie we should have won. With the exodus of quality players before last season (not Micks fault, club fault only) he was left with two weeks to assemble a squad. “Shur it’s easy to get 11 players,” said our chairman but quality players released by other teams? A very tall order indeed so players were brought in as stop gaps like William Delaney, Stephan Jeuny, Ollie Keogh, Jon Mernagh and more! He also had to cope with a massive long term injury problem during the season which saw our better and more experienced players get crocked like James Sugrue, Timmy Lynch after two games, John White as well as Alan Barry. We were useless down the left and had to thank our sponsor for bringing in a left full from Holland in Jalmard Kulsten. Some players had “problems.” Cant Pass anyone? And don’t anyone give me this “ah he needed to be ‘MANAGED better s*%it! He couldn’t be ‘managed’ by cork either so stop laying that one on Mike. Mike it would seem did have football qualifications some as well as Noel, how else did we get a license? Ok don’t answer that lol! But one thing is true Mike did have a two year contract but shocking as it may seem, he never signed it so is up the swany on that one and tech doesn’t have a leg to stand on but one thing is for sure he did want to try and promote Limerick as manager with something he hadn’t had before, money at a time when it was possible to get quality players! I feel that any “lacking” by Mike that are being thrown at him are totally overboard and unwarranted apart from his (like Noel) lack of communication skills and his amm sort of comb-over J I hope Mike stays on within the club, joint manager anyone? Yes Willie John I have noted that your saying that we own our own ground and this is fantastic news in fact this is the main thing that I love about this takeover. But a Turners X style stands or seated terraces are OUT with regard to our new ground. Leave that crap to the GAA with their ‘ram them all in, cant see the pitch cos of this person in front of me’ policy on stadiums. As I said when the plans for the Pike field came out a year ago, two words, comfort and viewing are the main items when building a stand or terrace when your trying to entice people to come out and see outdoor entertainment. Ok that’s me done, the last of the jerseys in blue M/L (10) XL (2) and white M/L (3) are available at only €25 that’s cost price so PM me if you want one. Ideal for Christmas presents and ill throw in a FREE pin badge…Harvey Norman couldn’t come up with that 1

LFC in Exile
01/12/2004, 1:54 PM
This is my take.

I think Mike has been treated very badly by the incoming administration and I think the fans owe Mike a huge amount. He could have moved to another club after the fine run to the play-offs and avoided the hassle of last season but he stuck with it. I do not think the results of last season can be laid at his door at all. Usually if a team finishes bottom of the league he is fair game for the chop because he picked the team, the style of play etc. However, we had a manager in name only. When you travel to matches with 11 fit players (2 keepers) a manager is pointless. And this feeds back into training etc. What do you tell a guy that doesn't train - "you'll be dropped next week" - when that means you will only have 10 players.

NO'C assembled a fine group of players - however that is not the same as getting them to the play-offs. When MK had the opportunity to manage he did so very effectively.

MK has been very loyal to the club and now the club has not reciprocated.

In contrast, NO'C left the club two weeks before the start of a new season. The club won the League Cup. That made NO'C look good and he took an offer that arose. Nobody begrudged him - but now it suits him to come back here he is. He did the opposite of MK when each had some success. If a better offer comes along again will NO'C jump at that one too?

I welcome the new adminsitration of course. With open arms. This is not ingratitude from fans who are glad their club has been saved. I hope NO'C brings loads of success and I will be roaring on lads and Noel next season. I think everyone should acknowledge how much we owe MK and the loyalty he has shown.

01/12/2004, 2:18 PM
I can see your point on a lot of the above, but what sticks out among all of this for me is the fact that practically nobody but John D and myself seem to feel that his record is not particularly one to be proud of, considering the fact that he used over 30 players, had a pretty decent budget to spend for most of the season, and yet managed to sign quite a lot of deadwood that was very very poor. We also only won 4 games out of 33, and any manager would and should lose their job for such results.

I agree with you that he was loyal to the club, but the club paid him well, and in a lot of ways he was in the comfort zone; If we won and did well he was performing miracles, yet when we lost and were a disgrace, he could hold his hands up and say, "Well, thats not my fault".

I really believe he could be a very good manager in the coming years, just like I think Noel O'Connor will be. His 2 years experience working with the best manager in Irish football (imo) will stand great stead to him, and maybe now its time for Mike to go and learn the ropes somewhere like Noel did.

01/12/2004, 3:22 PM
This is my take.

I think Mike has been treated very badly by the incoming administration and I think the fans owe Mike a huge amount. He could have moved to another club after the fine run to the play-offs and avoided the hassle of last season but he stuck with it. I do not think the results of last season can be laid at his door at all. Usually if a team finishes bottom of the league he is fair game for the chop because he picked the team, the style of play etc. However, we had a manager in name only. When you travel to matches with 11 fit players (2 keepers) a manager is pointless. And this feeds back into training etc. What do you tell a guy that doesn't train - "you'll be dropped next week" - when that means you will only have 10 players.

NO'C assembled a fine group of players - however that is not the same as getting them to the play-offs. When MK had the opportunity to manage he did so very effectively.

MK has been very loyal to the club and now the club has not reciprocated.

In contrast, NO'C left the club two weeks before the start of a new season. The club won the League Cup. That made NO'C look good and he took an offer that arose. Nobody begrudged him - but now it suits him to come back here he is. He did the opposite of MK when each had some success. If a better offer comes along again will NO'C jump at that one too?

I welcome the new adminsitration of course. With open arms. This is not ingratitude from fans who are glad their club has been saved. I hope NO'C brings loads of success and I will be roaring on lads and Noel next season. I think everyone should acknowledge how much we owe MK and the loyalty he has shown.

100% agree with all of this. Best post in the whole thread.

willie john
01/12/2004, 4:24 PM
Did He Sign His Contrat???????? No .would He Sign It With The New People??????????done A Good Job??????????not Bad.did He Get Paid??????????yes He Did.do The New People Have A Choice Who They Want .yes They Do They Are Paying The Bills .is Noc A Good Choice ?????????? Yes The Best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Clones Road Cas
01/12/2004, 4:51 PM
Do I like Punctuation??????????????????????????????????????? ?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.................... .................::::::::::::::::::::Awh kinda. :rolleyes:

Nempton
01/12/2004, 5:35 PM
Joe Soap said,
what sticks out among all of this for me is the fact that practically nobody but John D and myself seem to feel that his record is not particularly one to be proud of, considering the fact that he used over 30 players, had a pretty decent budget to spend for most of the season, and yet managed to sign quite a lot of deadwood that was very very poor. We also only won 4 games out of 33, and any manager would and should lose their job for such results.

I understand that frustration when you say that you feel that people are not acknowledging what you are saying. SLK and myself have felt like that in this thread that people are ignoring certain points that we have made. To respond to what you said I'm just going to quote what I said earlier in this thread and add on another point after that...

When looking at the facts its important to take into account all factors. Yes, Mike did not do the business this season but then again neither did Noel in his time of charge of Limerick in the league. I think the daggers have come out too easily for Mike's blood just because there is a new investor with money. We all knew this season was going to be a disaster, have we all forgotten why players left? The committee failed in its job to provide Mike with the resources and were lucky to succeed in getting a club licence. Mike had almost no time to gather a group of players together as well as us having no pre-season. At the start of the campaign he had a budget $1000, which John Purcell told to everyone. As for him signing 30 players, how many of them were retained as the season went on

Now I'm curious to know when the extra cash was provided to him for his budget, you said some time during the season. You might clarify when and from whom the money came from, I'm genuinely curious. I do know for a fact that at the start of the season that Mike had very little cash to work with. One player, whom many here would consider a very good player was offered €100, a considerable drop in what he was already getting and even at that Mike could not guarantee him that he could give him a €100. Now how was Mike suppose to sign decent players on such a budget and let us not forget the shortage of time he had also. No one is defending last seasons record, of course it was poor we finished last. But it seems to be a case of selective memory for some, let's not forget the overall picture when it comes to last season. In this incident what is the sore point for some of us is the treatment of Mike, I know he is the victim of football circumstances but here's one simple point, why was he not informed before the end of the season that he was not been retained as manager of the senior team? This whole thing could have been handled a lot better than what it was and I don't think anyone coukd disagree with that.

Does mismanagement involve the obtaining of a ground a club can call home? With proper training facilities, a proper structure, guarantees that players will get paid? Does mismanagement involve the putting together of a plan which assures re-election, a new squad of decent players? I for one don't think so.

Just to reply back to this point. All that you say in the above quote is of course fantastic for the club. I think you missed the point that I was making though especially when using the example of Fianna Fail and the health system. But after been recently informed about what is happening and seeing the bigger picture with the club I think I can understand why you did because its clear you knew more about what was going on than I did. As the man who knows everything that goes on would say, "Say nothing 'til you hear more". I was worried about certain personnel and their style of management, but apparently I believe now I should be more confident about the forth coming season and those involved within the club. The next few months will be interesting to watch how things develop for Limerick FC and I for one will be watching quite closely.

JohnD
01/12/2004, 6:10 PM
God We certainly would be top of the League if we were Talking for Points rather than scoring goals!!.

Lads Face realities:
1. New Ground ..Who would have thought this a few months back.
2. Cash Injection.
3. New Players... to Replace some of the Muppets we had last year
4..Hope for the Future as against plodding along

We won 4 matches with a €4000 per week budget how in God's name can a man expect to be re-emplyed with stats like that. Some of the contributers need to get out into the big bad world a bit and leave the Hallowed/Sheltered halls of College Life behind :) to see what Real Life is Like.

At Work You:
1.Sign A Contract (always a Good Idea ...Forget that one Mike did ya???)
2.Perform in a job
3.Get Paid for doing it
4.Hope for a bonus if you do well ,

or face the consequences if not.

Mike did get paid, was offered a new, albeit not the one he wanted, role. Turned it down ..thats it It's over ..GET OVER IT ... :confused: ....How long more can we debate these obvious facts.

JohnD

01/12/2004, 6:49 PM
Well said John...well said.

LFC in Exile
01/12/2004, 7:03 PM
Some of the contributers need to get out into the big bad world a bit and leave the Hallowed/Sheltered halls of College Life behind :) to see what Real Life is Like.

Oh dear. Lets park that one.

One thing straight - give me the choice between the new administration, a new old home, a future etc and going on the way we were with MK then you know what I'd pick and a blind dog with a mallet up his ar se would make the right decision. This is not ingratitude. But it is still possible to make the point that MK was treated badly and served the club well and to have reservations about the new boss. I don't think anyone - even welcoming NO'C - would deny that opinions ina football club are vital and good.

Taking your analogy about the workplace - it is not a good one because yes MK was paid, yes the results didn't materialise. But if you turned up for work tomorrow (I don't know what you do) and were told you might not get paid. The people you need to do thework aren't available and the company is rapidly going down the tubes would you stay or would you get straight down the recruitment agency. Well, MK stayed.