View Full Version : Mayo League Premier A 2015

Round Tower
18/03/2015, 11:37 PM
With the season around a month away, how do people think who will be challenging for the title and promotion. What teams will struggle for survival. Expect Westport will be favourites for the title. This will more than likely a quiet thread this year with the Conn Rangers gone into the Super league.

purplemonkeydis
19/03/2015, 2:32 PM
killala surely favourites for the drop??? Only good thing about them is their pitch

Maximus
21/03/2015, 5:28 AM
And their ability to avoid the drop.

Conn hawk
23/03/2015, 1:15 PM
I think Killala might do alright, surely the only club in the league paying big money for an outsider to come in and manage.... See it as the wrong way to go tho cause next thing other clubs will be doing it

Maximus
02/04/2015, 7:57 PM
Fixtures released today. Looking forward to the season kicking off now. Cant wait to see if a team unloads the bench with 5 subs in the last 10 mins of a game with the new rule. Could really turn a game but a bit daft. Pretty sure Killala will never have 5 subs to use in a game. Haha. Claremorris for the title - Castlebar to go down IMO.

Round Tower
03/04/2015, 2:32 PM
Any word where Celtic B are playing this season, on the main pitch or on the astra turf.

gufcfan
04/04/2015, 1:25 PM
What's the story with Pat Quigley getting voted out? Sounds like there's plenty more to it.

Round Tower
09/04/2015, 11:20 AM
With the start of a new season good luck to all players, managers and supporters for the season ahead.
Predictions
Champions - Moy Villa
Runners up - Westport Utd. B
Relegation - Glenhest and Knock/Kiltimagh

This weeks predictions
Claremorris V Swinford----------Home
Glenhest V Moy Villa-------------Away
Fahy Rovers V Westport B-------Away
Castlebar Celtic B V Kilt/Knoc --Home
Killala V Partry--------------------Draw

pinkpowerranger
09/04/2015, 1:48 PM
With the start of a new season good luck to all players, managers and supporters for the season ahead.
Predictions
Champions - Moy Villa

This weeks predictions

you know moy villa lost there whole team from last year

Round Tower
09/04/2015, 2:15 PM
you know moy villa lost there whole team from last year

no i dad not heard that, have not talked to any of them for a couple of months, they have only 1 team this year

Conn hawk
09/04/2015, 9:47 PM
Predictions
Champions - Moy Villa

This weeks predictions

Not a hope will knock or Glenhest go down, they will be upper half of table...Moy villa defo early going down they've got rid of all outsiders and rebuilding club with locals..swinford have lost players too

Maximus
09/04/2015, 10:42 PM
I agree. Villa haven't a hope if winning the division. Glenhest and KK will stay up too. Hard to know who will go down. No obvious candidates like Urlaur were last year. Will be dodgy at the bottom I feel.

Round Tower
13/04/2015, 1:52 PM
Killala 2 - 1 Partry Athletic
The good pre-season continued yesterday, 1st half goals from Terp. and Heffo gave us a 2-0 h.t lead. Both players missed good chances to increase the lead in the 2nd half. Great defending in the second half when we came under severe pressure but they could only pull 1 back. Good start, next up another tough match against against Moy Villa.

Maximus
16/04/2015, 5:03 PM
Here's an interesting one. Only one of the teams that played the 7's won at the weekend - Achill. Albeit Manulla B didn't play and of course Manulla A had a tougher cup match. Thought the teams that played all Winter would have been sharper and a bit fitter and stormed the first game at least.

short_frank
16/04/2015, 5:23 PM
Here's an interesting one. Only one of the teams that played the 7's won at the weekend - Achill. Albeit Manulla B didn't play and of course Manulla A had a tougher cup match. Thought the teams that played all Winter would have been sharper and a bit fitter and stormed the first game at least.

I think Partry maybe played a bit too much astro and it worked against them. After the 7's and all the pre season games being on astro they weren't coping with the bounce of the ball on grass (even though the Killala pitch was in great shape there is still a big difference in the run of the ball). Killala were sharper on the ball in the first half and deserved their win because they scored the goals and defended magnificently in the second half when Partry put them under unbelievable pressure and a lot of other clubs would have crumbled.

Round Tower
16/04/2015, 9:39 PM
I think Partry maybe played a bit too much astro and it worked against them. After the 7's and all the pre season games being on astro they weren't coping with the bounce of the ball on grass (even though the Killala pitch was in great shape there is still a big difference in the run of the ball). Killala were sharper on the ball in the first half and deserved their win because they scored the goals and defended magnificently in the second half when Partry put them under unbelievable pressure and a lot of other clubs would have crumbled.

We would have played during the winter on our astroturf, we played 4 preseason friendlies, one of them was on the astroturf in Celtic. Ye missed a good chance in the second half as well as the 2 we missed, It was a good start keeping up the good pre-season but another tough one on Sunday away to Moy Villa, people has said that they are alot weaker this season.

Round Tower
18/04/2015, 10:16 AM
Weekend Predictions
Westport Utd. B V Partry Athletic - Home
Swinford V Glenhest Rovers - Home
Knock/Kiltimagh V Claremorris - Away
Fahy Rovers V Castlebar Celtic B - Home
Moy Villa V Killala - Draw

Round Tower
20/04/2015, 2:09 PM
Moy Villa 1 - 3 Killala
Continued the good start to the season with good performance, goals in the 1st half from Heffo and Kyle gave a 0-2 lead at ht, could have added 2 or 3 more in the first half. Villa pulled 1 back but Aaron secured the win. Home next week against Swinford, always tough.

pixiehead
20/04/2015, 7:48 PM
Mount Falcon Closed by the Refs and now Attymass Closed. Attymass was supposed to be worse condition than Mount Falcon. If thats true than it was f**ked altogether . Very disrespectful and down right dangerous for these clubs to be so flippant about health and safety let alone respect for the local game

Round Tower
20/04/2015, 8:13 PM
Mount Falcon Closed by the Refs and now Attymass Closed. Attymass was supposed to be worse condition than Mount Falcon. If thats true than it was f**ked altogether . Very disrespectful and down right dangerous for these clubs to be so flippant about health and safety let alone respect for the local game

We played on the Villa pitch yesterday, grass could have been shorter and it was uneven, Con hawk denied that Mount Falcon was closed. I suggested last season for the ML to introduce a competition on pitch quality, they said that they would look at it. I would think that Killeen sports would sponsor it, i know they sponsor already but this would be goodd for every one.

Maximus
20/04/2015, 9:42 PM
Attymass was the worst surface I've seen for years. Showers didn't work either. Your right Pixie. Total lack of respect for the game.

pixiehead
21/04/2015, 12:29 PM
We played on the Villa pitch yesterday, grass could have been shorter and it was uneven, Con hawk denied that Mount Falcon was closed. I suggested last season for the ML to introduce a competition on pitch quality, they said that they would look at it. I would think that Killeen sports would sponsor it, i know they sponsor already but this would be goodd for every one.

Hawk denying something is hardly a new thing. If that lad was Pinocchio he would fall over. The dogs on the street know both pitches have been closed at this stage. Corbetts are another crowd who could sponsor the same. Find them very nice to deal with. Killeen seems a bit busy at times . Its an idea but would it be enough to get clubs to react. The only thing that will get them moving is to close them down as is happening. It is also the leagues responsiblity to visit these grounds and pass them which they havent done in years and even when they did do it they did it too early and the clubs would abate any concerns they may have by claiming they would see to it before the season began and of course it would go undone.

pinkpowerranger
22/04/2015, 10:01 AM
well then pixie can you tell me where the conn rangers v ballyglass game is being played this week, down on the mayo league facebook page as mount falcon, no mention of it being changed, i dont have a dog!

Conn hawk
22/04/2015, 4:47 PM
well then pixie can you tell me where the conn rangers v ballyglass game is being played this week, down on the mayo league facebook page as mount falcon, no mention of it being changed, i dont have a dog!
Someone deleted my last message but Pixie hasn't a clue, no wonder Snugboro are on a downward spiral

pixiehead
22/04/2015, 7:03 PM

I dont know, you tell me . Its you guys who have to find an alternative venue. The fixture list is hardly going to change now is it. Its still yer home game so its up to ye to find a new venue.
Ranger and Hawk I think ye guys would fit right in with Sinn Fein........... Denial , avoiding the subject ect ect ........... yer very good at it. Gerry and Martin the Pair of ye:bomb:

pinkpowerranger
23/04/2015, 9:55 AM
ha right pixie so that must make you the honourable flame-thrower of truth enda kenny!! so when we do play in mount falcon sunday you'll be back tracking as usual.

also if we are sinn fein than hawk is definitly mary lou!!

Round Tower
23/04/2015, 1:13 PM
Lads politics should be kept out of sport.

purplemonkeydis
23/04/2015, 2:17 PM
Conn rangers v ballyglass changed to snugboro Uniteds home pitch, snugboro have offered there pitch up, the reason they gave the press was that it's been such a long time since good football was played there that it would be a pleasure to host it

Maximus
23/04/2015, 9:21 PM
Moral of the story - sort the pitch out. It's terrible.

pixiehead
23/04/2015, 11:14 PM
Conn rangers v ballyglass changed to snugboro Uniteds home pitch, snugboro have offered there pitch up, the reason they gave the press was that it's been such a long time since good football was played there that it would be a pleasure to host it

If we did host it , it would be to have the pleasure of seeing ye losing 3 in a row ......... Here have a lucky clover you will need it at the weekend :clover:

purplemonkeydis
24/04/2015, 11:58 AM
I'm predicting a 3 in a row for snugboro too, 3 relegations in a row, 1 down two to go lads

Round Tower
24/04/2015, 1:59 PM
After all the bickering on here for the last week mainly from clubs who are not playing in Premier A this year.

Partry Athletic V Moy Villa - Home
Glenhest Rvrs. V Kilt./Knock - Home
Claremorris V Fahy Rvrs. - Away
Castlebar Clt. B V Westport Utd. B - Away
Killala V Swinford - Home

Maximus
24/04/2015, 3:39 PM
Finally Round Tower, you've backed us for a win. I thought you were being fairly miserable with your first two predictions of draws.

pixiehead
24/04/2015, 6:20 PM
I'm predicting a 3 in a row for snugboro too, 3 relegations in a row, 1 down two to go lads

Eh..... I think you need a abacus their :shut:

Round Tower
24/04/2015, 6:24 PM
[QUOTE=Maximus;1815684]Finally Round Tower, you've backed us for a win. I thought you were being fairly miserable with your first two predictions of draws.[/QUOTE)

Lets hope i don't put the curse on us on Sunday.

Round Tower
26/04/2015, 2:38 PM
Killala 3 - 0 Swinford
Kept up the great start to the season with probably the best display so far, aa goal from Terp in the first half with 2 goals disallowed, could have 1 or 2 more in that half. Good work by Heffo earned us a penalty which was superbly put away by the ever consistent DC and a goal by Giggs. It could have been 5 0r 6. Great to see Giggs back fro injury. The match was played at 12.
As for the pitch closures the ref. recomend that the pitches be closed for safety reason then it depended on the ML,

Round Tower
10/05/2015, 11:20 AM
Knock/Kiltimagh 0 - 1 Killala
Kept up the winning start to the season, despite missing a couple off regulars, a spectacular O.G when a cross was headed into there own net settled the match.

Round Tower
18/05/2015, 2:48 PM
Moy Villa 1 - 1 Killala - Killala win 3-4 on penalties.
A lot closer and more competitive than the earlier league tie between the teams, both teams had chances in the 1st half, it was 0-0 at h.t. Villa took the lead early in the 2nd half when the shot was put away after hitting the post. Giggs equalised nearly immediately. Killala had a number of chances to grab the lead including hitting the crossbar. It 1-1 at the end of NT and ET. In the shoot out DC converted the first, then the 2 keepers saved a penalty each, Jamsie put us ahead again while they hit the crossbar with their 3rd. Our last 2 penalties was converted by 2 of our younger players, the 4 th by 17 year old Higgie and the last one by 16 year old Aaron. It showed the great spirit and determination by the 2 young lads to volunter to take the penalties.

Round Tower
24/05/2015, 1:37 PM
Killala 1 - 3 Fahy Rovers
Our great start of the season came to abrupt end last night against a rock solid defence, had a lot of possession but their CD held everything we threw at them. they took the lead, one of their defenders diverted a Hefo free kick into his own net. 1- 1 at HT. They took their 2 goals in the SH on the break. 2 weeks break till we meet Castlebar Celtic b

Ranger
25/06/2015, 9:11 AM
It's gone very quiet here ..........Where's Round Tower gone?

Round Tower
25/06/2015, 2:10 PM
It's gone very quiet here ..........Where's Round Tower gone?

Have not gone but seemed that everyone in Mayo has deserted Foot.ie, even the Conn Rangers lads.
Since i was on here last we have played 2 league games and 1 cup game. In the league we lost to Castlebar Celtic B on the Astraturf pitch disgrace having to play them on that pitch in the middle of summer and the A team just after coming off it. Then we played Fahy Rovers in the cup semifinal which we won 2-1, goals by Maximus and Iano and great defensive display seen us through to the final against Westport B.
Then we lost 0-2 to Claremorris last weekend no complaints best team won.
We have chance of revenge this weekend away to Celtic B in the Premier cup, hopefully it will be on the main pitch.
I asked a question on the laws of the game must be 6 weeks ago but still no answer, its to do with one of our referee's who are supposed to be going through the FAI referee school of excellence.
Heard a disturbing news last week that it is alleged that one of the ML referee's was caught smoking dope at a college match he was reffing, it will be interesting will the Mayo referee society take any action.

Ranger
26/06/2015, 9:21 AM
Good to see you back Roundy!!
On the pitch, things are not great around Mount Falcon alright:) but that's expected with the step up to super league. Apart from that all other teams are competing well.
The debate about Celtic's astro pitch goes on and on - don't think anything will change though. They seem to have turned a corner and will be stronger for the rest of the season.
That was a good result against Fahy as I've always thought they were a decent side. Don't know too much about Claremorris but they must be okay to be up at the top of the table.
Interesting to see your comments about our referees as I heard the same jist of a story about referee at a local match, it may well be the same instance.
As regards Mayo referee society taking any action, don't think so as that is a closed shop.

purplemonkeydis
29/06/2015, 7:40 PM
conn rangers alive and kicking boys... and looking forward to securing our super league status for consecutive years for the first time in our history. Be nice to prove a few people wrong both inside and outside the area. Conn rangers to survive, you heard it here first

Round Tower
30/06/2015, 11:45 AM
conn rangers alive and kicking boys... and looking forward to securing our super league status for consecutive years for the first time in our history. Be nice to prove a few people wrong both inside and outside the area. Conn rangers to survive, you heard it here first

Welcome back P.M. Are you lost this is Premier A thread not the Super league thread.
We had a good win in the Connacht Premier cup away to Castlebar Celtic B on Sat. evening, 1-2 on there main pitch. Hesitation in the Celtic defence led to Terp to disposes the defender to score, had a number of other chances to increase the lead. Celtic equalised when a good cross put away, had a couple of good chances to score, with the game looking set to be going to ET, a shot by Sandji rebounded off the post for Giggs to put away the rebound. A good win with 3 first team players and 5 other regulars all missing. Tough match away to unbeaten Glenhest on Sunday.

purplemonkeydis
01/07/2015, 8:41 PM
Not lost, just felt you were calling me out so i said id better let you know that the KING is back

achillrover
16/07/2015, 9:21 AM
Obv not Premier A news (not yet anyway) but just a quick shout out to our boys and their performances so far. 1 point of top in the "B", meanest attack in our league so far and tightest defence, a cup final against the Haunis Sunday week, and into the last 8 for FAI/AVIVA club of the year.

That and the Glenhest stopper is one of ours and only conceded 2 goals all season...... the ***** (love ya really hoy!):)

Round Tower
11/08/2015, 4:59 PM
Mayo Premier Cup QF
Conn Rangers B 3 - 2 Killala after ET
This game was decided by 2 shocking decisions by the referee, first when he awarded a penalty when our full back clearly got the ball, the shot hit the post then our keeper saved the first shot but the second was scored. Giggs scored 2 good goals, with the game destined for penalties the ref. from 20 or 30 yards out deemed a the ball crossed the line. A Charlestown player and a ex-CR manager both said that the ball had not been over the line. Probably CR was the best team but when it came to penos anything could have happen. Good luck to them in the SF.
it was a disappointing end to a great weekend of celebrating our 40th birthday of the club. Great to see players from the past and the future with 7 players from the 70's playing.
Next weekend hopefully we will have a better performance and better luck against Westport Utd. B.

Conn hawk
11/08/2015, 9:25 PM
I don't talk about refs decisions because Anyting is possible from Amateur refs in my opinion.... Was disappointed with Killala had the strongest killala team I've seen out on a pitch but didn't seem to gel properly or else weren't up for match...hopefully ye get it together sunday and win the cup we lost on penos last summer... Best of luck Killala

Maximus
23/11/2015, 10:30 AM
killala surely favourites for the drop??? Only good thing about them is their pitch

Wrong again.

Round Tower
23/11/2015, 1:43 PM
Wrong again.

Yes well done the lads, winning yesterday, save another season,