View Full Version : Rovers at home

sparkey
13/03/2015, 2:10 PM
God its very quiet on here considering its one day away from our first home game in the top league in 7 years.
Based on what we saw in Dundalk, do people believe that we will start with 5 across midfield again against Rovers and try to contain them or go 4-4-2 and try and attack them from the off.

13/03/2015, 2:48 PM
God its very quiet on here considering its one day away from our first home game in the top league in 7 years.
Based on what we saw in Dundalk, do people believe that we will start with 5 across midfield again against Rovers and try to contain them or go 4-4-2 and try and attack them from the off.

Quiet on here but lots of excitement around the town with people who haven't been out in years heading to this one, if the weather is like it is today we should have well over 2,000 (Going to predict 2,300 for the fun)

Rovers were missing a lot of top players through suspension last week including a certain Mr Fahey so Id defo plump for 5 in the middle again and try frustrate them, who knows Mr Fahey might just repeat some of his old form from 2003 at Flancare Park.

Big worry is the Pat Sullivan situation of course and with Mulhall unlikely to be ready that means starting Rossiter and unless he's gained a huge amount of match fitness since we played waterford I can see us getting battered down that side.

If we want to make an impact we need to start sully. I know TC wanted to have Sullys influence late on in oriel to try and Nick a point and it nearly worked but the difference he made when he came on last week was just too much for him not to start, he's our best player and therefore should start every game.

Mister X
13/03/2015, 4:38 PM
If we want to make an impact we need to start sully. I know TC wanted to have Sullys influence late on in oriel to try and Nick a point and it nearly worked but the difference he made when he came on last week was just too much for him not to start, he's our best player and therefore should start every game.

you cant play sully ahead of shaw if you're setting up with 5 in the middle and one up top as shaw is a big target man to hold up the play and sully isnt! the reason sully did so well in dundalk was the fact shaw was flicking it onto him , he would have been lost on his own.. if were starting with 4-2-3-1 or 4-5-1 again id go with shaw up top and bring sully on later in the game as in dundalk

13/03/2015, 8:36 PM
you cant play sully ahead of shaw if you're setting up with 5 in the middle and one up top as shaw is a big target man to hold up the play and sully isnt! the reason sully did so well in dundalk was the fact shaw was flicking it onto him , he would have been lost on his own.. if were starting with 4-2-3-1 or 4-5-1 again id go with shaw up top and bring sully on later in the game as in dundalk

I don't know if you were in waterford but sullys hold up play that night was brilliant, everything pinged in to him he took down first time and not only chased every ball into the channel but won them and usually a throw in or a free allowing town to push up the back 4 and pin their opponents in and release pressure. That's exactly what we need to do tomorrow night.

In Dundalk Shaw hardly won a single header and when he did it was flicked on to absolutely no one. Sully allows us to play in behind two rovers centre half that aren't exactly bullet fast and he can hold it up and play it into midfield and feed the wingers. If we need to resort to desperate long ball into the box we can bring Shaw on.

hollocaine
13/03/2015, 9:21 PM
Has anyone received their season ticket yet? No chance the club could have posted or hand delivered them out to those who purchased them as a gesture.

14/03/2015, 12:03 AM
Has anyone received their season ticket yet? No chance the club could have posted or hand delivered them out to those who purchased them as a gesture.

Ah stop that's ridiculous man then they give out when no one buys them.

Question: is there a seperate entrance for season ticket holders? Since I work til 7 most Saturday's it would be handy for big games like this but if that entrance isn't been used and I still have to quee I wouldn't bother getting one

Darklordsbane
14/03/2015, 7:27 AM
[QUOTE=outspoken;1808554]I don't know if you were in waterford but sullys hold up play that night was brilliant, everything pinged in to him he took down first time and not only chased every ball into the channel but won them and usually a throw in or a free allowing town to push up the back 4 and pin their opponents in and release pressure. That's exactly what we need to do tomorrow night.

I seem to remember we lost in Waterford

14/03/2015, 8:20 AM
[QUOTE=outspoken;1808554]I don't know if you were in waterford but sullys hold up play that night was brilliant, everything pinged in to him he took down first time and not only chased every ball into the channel but won them and usually a throw in or a free allowing town to push up the back 4 and pin their opponents in and release pressure. That's exactly what we need to do tomorrow night.

I seem to remember we lost in Waterford

Thanks for that gem of wisdom

L.T.F.C.
14/03/2015, 1:29 PM
Shaw won **** all last week and I would start Sully or Don ahead of him if we have Don.

14/03/2015, 3:04 PM
Shaw won **** all last week and I would start Sully or Don ahead of him if we have Don.

Exactly. The tactic to keep it tight and then bring sully on last week almost worked to perfection but we're at home tonight and Sully's influence is just too much to ignore. Don extremely doubtful for tonight according to leader.

Town Legend
14/03/2015, 3:41 PM
I believe opening a gate for season ticket holders was brought up at a recent meeting. Don't think it will be open tonight but could be in future games.

Keen2win
16/03/2015, 2:23 PM
Unfortunate to lose by 2 in the end, especially considering we had, by my humble reckoning, a fairly decent shout at a penalty while down by 1! However, the sheer class of Rovers did shine through, probably the best midfield pairing I've seen in the league thus far? Thought they were better than Dundalk, and there was no shame in losing. The hard work starts now though, we need to pick up points in the next two games.

16/03/2015, 3:30 PM
On the face of it, 0-1 and 0-2 results against two title challengers is a very reasonable given we've just come up, a few other clubs have already shown that they are likely to take heavy beatings against the big boys, while we've at least held our own. Limerick are absolutely cat at the minute, so we will win it, likely by a 2 goal margin or more, plenty reason to keep optimistic of our chances of finishing somewhere mid table. Davy and Don in attack would eat the limerick kids alive, they have nothing going forward or in midfield either, so it should be a fun night for any of you who travel down. Jackman is in better shape than it was when we were in the 1st division, the away stand isn't too shabby for what it is, the crowd will be ****e, so you'll be well able to make yourself heard :P

Keen2win
16/03/2015, 4:09 PM
I'm not going back to that dump!!! Pity about the crowd in CCS, a few good results and it should pick up a bit

16/03/2015, 6:16 PM
from chatting to a few of the lads in section o there doenst seem much of an appetite for travelling to Limerick which is a pity as its a Saturday! hopefully Pat sullivan will come back. what did ye think of Mark Rossiter when he came on?

16/03/2015, 6:32 PM
Good numbers for the bus to Linerick so far so usual channels for anyone who wants to book a place. Worst first half ive ever seen us play Saturday Deady was lost on the wing just chasing shadows but everyone seems to think it may have been nerves you have to remember it's his first season at this level too. Just like in Dundalk, second half the introduction of a pacey player made a major impact and the only downside to Don's display was his usual fall downs of first touch and end product. We missed Ben Mohammed greatly and Lorcan Shannon's set pieces have been great of late so he was missed as Conor Powell couldn't put a decent ball in all night.

Next week our strongest back 4 is back and hopefully all our exciting attacking players will start from the off and we can give Linerick a drubbing. We cannot leave Limerick with less than a point to credit and we have to beat Bray at home and again take something from Galway. These are the games that matter.

Town Legend
16/03/2015, 6:41 PM
Rossiter looked very unfit. He was very slow and seemed to be still carrying the Christmas turkey! I don't know why he was brought on ahead of Tom Morris.

17/03/2015, 9:00 PM
[QUOTE=Town Legend;1809010]Rossiter looked very unfit. He was very slow and seemed to be still carrying the Christmas turkey! I don't know why he was brought on ahead of Tom Morris.[/QUOTE

Think TC knew the game was gone and said to himself may as well give Rossiter the game time because fck me he needs it, bad day when a 'fresh' sub is lef eating dust by danny North

DRDoc
18/03/2015, 1:41 AM
Good numbers for the bus to Linerick so far so usual channels for anyone who wants to book a place. Worst first half ive ever seen us play Saturday Deady was lost on the wing just chasing shadows but everyone seems to think it may have been nerves you have to remember it's his first season at this level too. Just like in Dundalk, second half the introduction of a pacey player made a major impact and the only downside to Don's display was his usual fall downs of first touch and end product. We missed Ben Mohammed greatly and Lorcan Shannon's set pieces have been great of late so he was missed as Conor Powell couldn't put a decent ball in all night.

Next week our strongest back 4 is back and hopefully all our exciting attacking players will start from the off and we can give Linerick a drubbing. We cannot leave Limerick with less than a point to credit and we have to beat Bray at home and again take something from Galway. These are the games that matter.

First half was awful alright.

Deady seemed to pick up an injury in the warm up - left early and went back to the dressing room with the physio. May be a factor.

Rovers certainly targeted the Longford left hand side at the back - Tyrell and Powell - and you can understand why. Tyrell is going to cost us without doubt and while Powell has plenty of experience, he is better going forward than he is defending - he will cost us too.

Was Ben Mohammed injured do you know? And is Pat Sullivan back this weekend?

Its all very well trying to keep things tight against the top sides and hoping to nick something on the break or from a set piece or having a go later in the game, but the truth is we are not going to be capable of keeping enough clean sheets against the top sides. Rovers could have easily scored another few last weekend. I was not in Dundalk but by all accounts they could have scored three or four more very easily also?

Darklordsbane
18/03/2015, 11:50 AM
I'm really hopeing to see Gorman back in the midfield, he imo is our most creative player and best passer of the ball either from open play or dead ball situations, I can't understand why he is left out after the havock he caused for the opposition at the end of last season
ah well that's TC for ye

DRDoc
18/03/2015, 12:36 PM
I'm really hopeing to see Gorman back in the midfield, he imo is our most creative player and best passer of the ball either from open play or dead ball situations, I can't understand why he is left out after the havock he caused for the opposition at the end of last season
ah well that's TC for ye

Hopefully now that we have the two games against title contenders out of the way Cousins will set the side up a little different. Although I would be surprised to see Gorman start in midfield if we play 2 up top

18/03/2015, 2:45 PM
To be fair Rhys is a great talent but I'm sure he's not expecting to get in ahead of Rice Salmo or Kev O'Connor who was our best player against rovers until he faded away, that's his only downfall he has no legs for a 29 year old. A lot of people have said Tyrell didn't play well but I didn't see him so much wrong while Powell defended ok but didn't do great going forward but against the likes of Limerick im expecting him to shine he does have a bit About him you can see it. I really would like to see Tom Morris get more game time he was our best player in pre-season.

Saturday once again proved Shaw is wasted on the wing if he's not going to play up top with sully he shouldn't start simple as that.

Ben Mohammed has only been here a short while yet he seems to be missing a lot of games it's very worrying. Pat sully will be back Saturday so epxect himself and Flynn to return to normal services at centre half with Deady/Powell/Tiddler battling for a left back berth.

18/03/2015, 4:39 PM
I'm not sure TC will go with Pat Sull and Flynn actually. Did they play together at centre back in pre season? I could be wrong but I wonder if the two of them as a pair are a bit small? It could be exposed more at Premier Division level. Just a theory I don't have any info to suggest it's the case other than Sully playing right back a lot in pre season. That could have been because Jamie wasn't available too I guess.

Darklordsbane
18/03/2015, 4:51 PM
Can't believe I'm agreeing with 3 different things you wrote there Outspoken (Gorman, Tyrell, and Morris) is it just a coincidense or are you finally starting to watch the players instead of the ball

18/03/2015, 4:57 PM
Can't believe I'm agreeing with 3 different things you wrote there Outspoken (Gorman, Tyrell, and Morris) is it just a coincidense or are you finally starting to watch the players instead of the ball

Only had 2 pints before the game is the only answer I can give. @longfordian I think he knew Jamie would be out so that's why he played Sully there so much, but then again for Saturday he might not want to Rush Jamie back so maybe sully will start rb again?

Town Legend
18/03/2015, 5:23 PM
Rush Jamie back? Would I be right in saying Jamie played the full 90 against Rovers or was that his evil twin?!!

18/03/2015, 5:54 PM
Rush Jamie back? Would I be right in saying Jamie played the full 90 against Rovers or was that his evil twin?!!

2 games in a week might be too much