First Division:
Friday
Athlone Town v Cobh Ramblers
Finn Harps v Cabinteely- 8pm
UCD v Shelbourne
Wexford Youths v Waterford United- 8pm
paykanti
12/03/2015, 6:57 PM
The Sligo hype wagon will begin rolling this week.
Rover'n'out
12/03/2015, 8:19 PM
The Sligo hype wagon will begin rolling this week.
Good man.
patrickccfc
12/03/2015, 9:15 PM
Our game has been promoted very well around the city so should get around 4000 tomorrow hopefully
12/03/2015, 10:39 PM
Looking forward to the massive crowd we are set to host, the atmosphere should be electric but on the pitch im expecting a heavy beating.
13/03/2015, 1:24 AM
I expect to lose but I don't know if it'll be a heavy beating. Nutsy's teams away from home generally settle for winning first and foremost, 0-2 is my prediction. Also forecasting every Garda unit in Longford and Roscommon to be in attendance, plus dogs. The club have been guilty of over reacting in the past but they'll have little or no say on Saturday. The FAI will have their stewards down too probably.
Nice little earner for the nGardai alright.
CityRebel
13/03/2015, 8:10 AM
Great advertising around Cork ahead of tonight's game, billboards, bus stop posters, and a massive jersey hanging outside SoHo on Grand Parade.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5SohdH-yv4
@davealton91:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B_qc9LAWQAAqcAg.jpg
@sohobarcork:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B_z5JdWWIAATG-Y.jpg
White Horse
13/03/2015, 8:14 AM
Just make sure there are plenty of crisps and minerals.
13/03/2015, 9:10 AM
Just make sure there are plenty of crisps and minerals.
We have one of the best club houses in the league shouldn't be a problem.
13/03/2015, 9:11 AM
That Colin Healy goal is the gift that just keeps on giving for cork city's PR people
Ezeikial
13/03/2015, 4:29 PM
We have one of the best club houses in the league shouldn't be a problem.
Are away fans allowed in?
Spudulika
13/03/2015, 4:38 PM
You guys would not believe the buzz online in Russia for the LOI. Last week more than 50 people (and 2 wimmin, though apparently they're people too) sat in 3 pubs in Voronezh to watch the live game! I was well chuffed. Had a hard time explaining to people that we don't broadcast live games (or delayed broadcast) each week. Lots of comments about how well the League is presenting itself. Very proud of our product and supporters!
Town Legend
13/03/2015, 5:29 PM
We learned a lot from our trip to Oriel.....so no, away fans are not allowed in from now on.
NeverFeltBetter
13/03/2015, 6:50 PM
Limerick down one within four minutes...
gufc2000
13/03/2015, 6:55 PM
St. Pats 2-0 up on Bray
Bohs & Sligo both 1 up now too
We learned a lot from our trip to Oriel.....so no away fans are not allowed in from now on.
Not ye anyway :)
NeverFeltBetter
13/03/2015, 7:07 PM
2-0 Cork, a penalty. A tanking could be in the offing.
gufc2000
13/03/2015, 7:10 PM
Drogheda and Sligo are level, Daryl Kavanagh.
Wexford and Athlone both ahead in the First Division.
NeverFeltBetter
13/03/2015, 7:21 PM
Annnnnd Shane Duggan sent off after half an hour.
13/03/2015, 7:23 PM
Peers puts Rovers 2-1 up on his 300th appearance.
NeverFeltBetter
13/03/2015, 7:34 PM
3-0 at HT in Turner's Cross. Bad, bad half for Limerick.
Battery Rover
13/03/2015, 7:35 PM
Athlone 3 up at HT
culloty82
13/03/2015, 8:56 PM
3-0 at HT in Turner's Cross. Bad, bad half for Limerick.
5-0 FT, seems to have been an exceptional game for the Dennehys, with both Darren and Billy notching braces.
13/03/2015, 9:10 PM
Good win for Dundalk but somehow I feel the spectre of Cork will linger long in the shadows, just as doggedly as they did last season.
peterpan
13/03/2015, 9:22 PM
Cork very impressive tonight, Karl Sheppard was excellent up top, limerick are very poor, potential wiping boys this season
peterpan
13/03/2015, 9:23 PM
Attendance of over 4800 also, great turn out.
13/03/2015, 10:20 PM
Cabinteely are absolutely bloody terrible. There was only one team in the game in Finn Park. Ruairi Keating is head an shoulders above every striker in the division too and a mystery how he was let back to Harps but, we are most certainly not complaining.
Confidence in Harps chances of pushing for the league grew tonight greatly. Despite an incredibly horrible playing surface, we still played some lovely football and really look positive and attacking, which I didn't think I'd ever say about an Ollie Horgan side.
13/03/2015, 10:29 PM
Cork very impressive tonight, Karl Sheppard was excellent up top, limerick are very poor, potential wiping boys this season
5 goals and he couldn't even get 1 of them... not impressed (had Cork to win and Karl anytime goalscorer at 9/5)
Also, Sligo let down a 5 team accum the bawbags.
oriel
13/03/2015, 10:59 PM
Good win for Dundalk but somehow I feel the spectre of Cork will linger long in the shadows, just as doggedly as they did last season.
Maybe so, but early days for most sides. However, it will be April until we can see the real strengths of most sides, and a key game amongst others will be at the cross, where I am making my debut! Can't wait.
13/03/2015, 11:20 PM
a key game amongst others will be at the cross, where I am making my debut! Can't wait.
Are you a striker? :o
White Horse
13/03/2015, 11:43 PM
Better performance by Dundalk tonight. The midfield were in control of the game and Derry offered very little up front. McMillan is struggling up front though, he can't seem to hold the ball up, it keeps bouncing back off him.
Finn is a joy to watch. It was never expected that he would play with Towell, but they are linking up very well.
14/03/2015, 12:03 AM
Cheers Derry.We wont be back.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CAAvmHmWgAEjpfF.jpg
White Horse
14/03/2015, 12:09 AM
There were about 50-60 youths waiting outside the ground to stone the buses. I doubt they were at the game. There was a good atmosphere in the ground and fans were getting on well together.
Where were the police? We can't have a big game in Oriel Park, without the Guards insisting on the horses, dogs, and the riot squad in attendance.
14/03/2015, 12:39 AM
There's fortunes to be made backing big against Limerick this year. Cork -2 was like walking into the bookies with a sawn off and a balaclava.
Worse squad than that six point Galway team, I will be astonished if we score a league goal this season.
14/03/2015, 12:45 AM
There were about 50-60 youths waiting outside the ground to stone the buses. I doubt they were at the game. There was a good atmosphere in the ground and fans were getting on well together.
Where were the police? We can't have a big game in Oriel Park, without the Guards insisting on the horses, dogs, and the riot squad in attendance.
Derry and the PSNI have an understanding that the latter can vacate their responsibility to policing around the ground in case it upsets the locals. Clearly it's working out very well.
Sorry to be a bore, too, but anytime Rovers buses get attacked up there people say we deserve it. Sad to see the same treatment dished out to other teams.
bluewhitearmy
14/03/2015, 1:08 AM
5 goals and he couldn't even get 1 of them... not impressed (had Cork to win and Karl anytime goalscorer at 9/5)
Also, Sligo let down a 5 team accum the bawbags.
I had better luck. ( Kind of)
Pablo Escobar
14/03/2015, 6:34 AM
I had better luck. ( Kind of)
Any chance of the lotto numbers for next week??
On the game, it was sad to see such an inept Limerick side. We were dominating from the start and never really got out of 2nd gear. We won 5-0 but there's no point in getting too exited about it. Having said that, I'm surprised it wasn't more. Unfortunately, this will be an extremely tough year for Limerick and as alluded to above, it does remind me Galway a few seasons ago.
CityRebel
14/03/2015, 7:27 AM
I've never had any problems in Derry, great city, great people.
Derry and the PSNI have an understanding that the latter can vacate their responsibility to policing around the ground in case it upsets the locals. Clearly it's working out very well.
Sorry to be a bore, too, but anytime Rovers buses get attacked up there people say we deserve it. Sad to see the same treatment dished out to other teams.
Happened at least 4/5 times with Pats buses too
14/03/2015, 9:53 AM
I've never had any problems in Derry, great city, great people.
Aye sure the Peoples republic and free Derry should unite.
Ive never had any problems in Derry either, love the city and their fans are among the the friendliest there is but ive not been on supporters buses leaving after the match! Doesnt take away from the ridiculous arrangement that the PSNI steer clear of the Branywell, Is it the Bogside as a whole? I though these no go areas are a thing of the past. CD is spot on in saying that if Rovers fans had been stoned theyed have been scoffed at. Yet there is a persistant problem with little scumbags, unattached to Derry City that go out to emulate a bygone era in the North. With McGuinness on the policing bord or whatever why the hell are there still no police at Derry home games. At this stage I wouldnt be surprised if it wasnt a convenient cost saving with the excuse of, we cant ask for policing as too many people would be ****ed off...
http://talkofthetown.ie/2015/03/14/youth-injured-as-three-dundalk-buses-are-stoned-in-derry/
A concern is now for the visit of Derry to Oriel as it takes little to get our own little dirtbags riled up for what they will claim is retribution. They too will unlikely to be in Oriel for the game but hanging around in wait.
oriel
14/03/2015, 10:09 AM
Are you a striker? :o
Ha, give you that one Charlie, god knows we need one.
White Horse
14/03/2015, 10:16 AM
The provision of adequate policing should be a licensing condition.
It is unacceptable that away fans are unprotected once they leave the stadium.
Derry's stewards were very helpful. I drove to the game last night with my young sons. I told a steward where I was parked and he opened a side gate and let us out. He pointed out where the 50-60 hooligans were waiting to ambush the buses and advised us of a safe route back to the car.
The violence was planned and predictable. Sporting events should be policed. Policing is part of a civilised society.
Candystripe
14/03/2015, 1:17 PM
Absolutely disgusting behaviour from the wee scumbags. Something has to be done about them.
14/03/2015, 4:47 PM
Ruairi Keating is head an shoulders above every striker in the division too and a mystery how he was let back to Harps but, we are most certainly not complaining.Because at the moment he's not good enough for regular Premier Division football, not convinced he ever will be either. Donelon on the other hand shouldn't have been loaned out as we lack cover in that area, did he play? How'd he do?
14/03/2015, 5:32 PM
Because at the moment he's not good enough for regular Premier Division football, not convinced he ever will be either. Donelon on the other hand shouldn't have been loaned out as we lack cover in that area, did he play? How'd he do?
Reckon Keating has all the makings of a top striker really in my opinion.
Donelon played against Shels and looked very decent. Think he's a bit light yet, but in time could prove a quality player.
Town Legend
14/03/2015, 11:41 PM
Shams were 2-0 winners in CCS tonight. They completely tore us apart in first half although we did have 2 good chances and a penalty not given. Second half we played a lot better when we played 2 up front. I think Tony needs to cut out this one up front as it is not working for us. Was really impressed with Shams, they were a good bit better than the Dundalk team we played last week. But if Dundalk are still in touch by mid season and get a striker in it'll be another exciting finish to the league again.
oriel
15/03/2015, 12:00 AM
Would agree from what I saw from Longford last week, that when you had a go upfront you looked such a better side.
Heard Rovers played very well ok in the first half, so that's a fair comparison between the two, overall we were just ok v Longford. Early days for all clubs still. Well it's possibly already going to be a long season for Limerick, but I don't think it changes things much, they knew they were in for a very challenging year before a ball was kicked.