View Full Version : Shorten the winter, raise cash for CCFC
Fair_play_boy
22/11/2004, 5:24 PM
The programme asked for suggestions how the club can raise a few bob to help with the wage bill for the coming months. Here is an idea.
The club to organise 9 nights for supporters, each night screening the home and away fixtures of one opposition club this season, edited down to 30 minutes a match. Each night introduced by a couple of the squad and Dolan, with time for questions and comments from supporters afterwards.
Show the matches on a wide screen format, or as wide as possible given the quality of the film.
Table service, say at the Rochestown Park Hotel which should give the club the use of a big room for cheap.
Throw in a few freebie baskets of sausages and nuggets.
I would say they could fill a big room at €10 a skull per night.
They could even kick things off on alternate Friday nights at 7.45pm. :D
What do you think?
It would be a good idea if there had been decent cameras at Citys games throughout the season, but just having the chorus camera makes it look so cheap.
To be honest, what the club should be doing is a table quiz, a huge raffle like the one that Everton AFC does every year with a car on offer.
Also, despite what some people think, City should try arrange a few Friendlies against big name oppostion. It will at least boost the clubs coffers at a time of the year when there is little or no income (apart from the lotto).
Maybe if the club shop advertised. Surely if they tried, they might get people to buy a City jersey there, rather than in town?
Im sure the Rebel Army Ball, along with the thing on Wednesday night will raise a few quid as well.
Fair_play_boy
22/11/2004, 6:19 PM
Surely if they tried, they might get people to buy a City jersey there, rather than in town?Yeah, seemingly the club gets zilch when you buy the jersey anywhere but at the club shop, which is a real shame. And the price is the same, AFAIK.
22/11/2004, 7:16 PM
Im sure the Rebel Army Ball, along with the thing on Wednesday night will raise a few quid as well.
Sure the club wouldn't make money on that ... they should be losing it either, the fee should cover the cost but couldn't see the club making anything worth talking about ... or at least put a dent in players wages.
city 4 life
22/11/2004, 7:24 PM
sounds like a good idea to me! table quiz wouldnt be a bad idea either anything to do with city will always be well supported i agree with gary though a few high profile friendlies would bring in a bit more money although don't those clubs charge big money for friendlies but it would be worth an enquiry who over gets knocked out of the FA cup in the third round!
stuff like fashion shows as well us female crowd would pay good money for something like that!!!! :p
colblimp
22/11/2004, 8:11 PM
[QUOTE=Gary]Also, despite what some people think, City should try arrange a few Friendlies against big name oppostion. It will at least boost the clubs coffers at a time of the year when there is little or no income (apart from the lotto).QUOTE]
I'm loving this idea. Any team from the U.K., in any division, would be absolutely fantastic. Obviously you wouldn't get a Premiership or Championship side over, but what about a League 1, 2 or even a Conference club to come and play?
Here's another thought to throw in the food mixer. What about one of the teams we played in the Intertoto Cup?
Just a thought....
Any team from the U.K., in any division, would be absolutely fantastic.
...Limavady United...? :p
city 4 life
22/11/2004, 8:25 PM
Any team from the U.K., in any division, would be absolutely fantastic. Obviously you wouldn't get a Premiership or Championship side over, but what about a League 1, 2 or even a Conference club to come and play?
oxford?????the thought is thrilling :p
or maybe east stirling from the scottish 2nd division wuwu!!!
[Obviously you wouldn't get a Premiership or Championship side over
I wouldn't bother with any team lower than that really. Maybe one of the top divison 2 teams, but whats the point otherwise? We want a test. And by the way, why would we "obviously" not get a Premiership or Division One team? :confused:
[ What about one of the teams we played in the Intertoto Cup?
IMO, we should try something along these lines. The best thing to do would be to assess the what countries we are likely to face in the draw for the UEFA cup and try to play a few teams from those countries. Might give us an advantage going into europe?
22/11/2004, 8:27 PM
What about Gretna, Elgin City or perhaps Haverfordwest? :cool:
BeerBaron69
23/11/2004, 10:21 AM
Also, despite what some people think, City should try arrange a few Friendlies against big name oppostion. It will at least boost the clubs coffers at a time of the year when there is little or no income (apart from the lotto).
I agree we could get a premership team in Jan if one gets knocked out of the cup early
23/11/2004, 12:06 PM
Bohz are getting Spurs, Leeds and another high profile club (I forget which one) after they get knocked out of the Cup, cant see why we dont have some for our preseason.
just a few ideas
why not avail of the scottish winter break(or do they still have it) and bring over celtic or rangers or 1 of the premier division sides?
or maybe ask leicester to come over since they never did when city hooked up with them a few years ago.
why don't city let some company sponsor 1 of the stands or at least get advertising hoardings up on the derrynane side stand like shels have done or would the mfa have a say in it?
23/11/2004, 2:01 PM
celtic would be the biggest earner attendance wise (i probably wouldnt even go though, the last time the cross was full of celtic 'fans' it made me sick) but they charge a fee to play
i think something along the lines of derry's barcelona game would be unreal, but maybe the dolan brother's connections could get arsenal? :cool:
Bringing over a Premiership club may result in a big gate but if we were to be beaten it would do more damage to the club's image than the gate would be worth. It'd give barstoolers an excuse to say 'ah sure I knew City were sh!t' etc. and even if we won they'd just say that the English team put out a bad side or wasn't trying! :rolleyes:
Also unless it's a really top club people won't be interested. Remember the Bolton game 2 years ago? There were less than 4000 at it.
Keep these kind of stupid friendlies away from the Cross.
The point of them is to make money, something that City arent going to make much of until mid march.
Even if it were 4000 people there, Im sure the money made would be very welcome to the coffers, and would be a damn sight more to the coffers than doing nothing.
Barstool peoples money is as good as any. Who cares about their attitudes. Their mind is made up regardless.
If city have friendlies in january they would have to come back training early & possibly feck up their 2005 season.
Hows about a city fans 5-aside competition with 1 city squad player per team or managing each team or something?
adamd164
23/11/2004, 5:42 PM
I'm loving this idea. Any team from the U.K., in any division, would be absolutely fantastic. Obviously you wouldn't get a Premiership or Championship side over, but what about a League 1, 2 or even a Conference club to come and play?
But we'd have no attendance then and would make barely anything when security ...etc.... are taken into consideration. It would be utterly pointless!
colblimp
23/11/2004, 6:41 PM
But we'd have no attendance then and would make barely anything when security ...etc.... are taken into consideration. It would be utterly pointless!
It all depends which team comes over. I'm sure given the right night and the right team then you would also get non City fans at The Cross.
As for security........those monkeys that do it at the moment wouldn't take much to replace. :p As most of us know, someone fainted in The Shed on Friday night and what did 'security' do? Nothing. They just stood there like gormless idiots. The gards were the ones that sorted it in the end. The only thing that this security firm do is to protect the referee, and on Friday I don't think he deserved protecting, do you?
In my original post I put that we wouldn't be able to get a Premiership or Championship team over here. I would love to be proved wrong. Bring it on!!
just trying to think of the cross channel teams who have played city in friendlies in the last 10 years or so.
Swansea and Wolves one season.
Southampton (going back a bit, souness was in charge!)
celtic
anyone think of any others........
24/11/2004, 12:14 AM
just trying to think of the cross channel teams who have played city in friendlies in the last 10 years or so.
Swansea and Wolves one season.
Southampton (going back a bit, souness was in charge!)
celtic
anyone think of any others........
Wexham Town !! :eek:
Bolton ... i dunno, thought there were moer .. cant really remember. If it aint a big club then it wont attract anyone.
For all the cráp that some people go on about Sell-Thick ... they couldn't even fill the cross ... Pathetic !! What a crap atmosphere too ... Obviously all barstoolers, hadn't a clue what to do when there was not screen to look at.
No more of that cráp anyway.
24/11/2004, 12:35 AM
man city, did we get leeds aswell?
bring back Galatasaray
BeerBaron69
24/11/2004, 9:40 AM
Chelsea,Leeds,Manchester City to name but a few Eanna
I think we should try for bayern to "recreate " the game -surely its ten years this season?
24/11/2004, 9:41 AM
The club to organise 9 nights for supporters, each night screening the home and away fixtures of one opposition club this season, edited down to 30 minutes a match. Each night introduced by a couple of the squad and Dolan, with time for questions and comments from supporters afterwards.
To edit all that footage would be expencive and time consuming. Maybe if they just ran the full 90 of each of the European games each week though, with Dolan and a few players like you said.
That would give us 6 weeks and would be pretty easy to organise as there would be no editing involved. Was the Nantes away match ever seen for the full 90 for those who never made it?
24/11/2004, 9:46 AM
Did City play Everton just after Italia 90? I seem to remember an unnamed poster here saying that he cheered when kevin Shedy scored a penalty against City! Judas!
24/11/2004, 12:26 PM
What we need to do is wait until late Jan early Feb and see who is out of the FA Cup and then target them for some friendlies.
Isn't there some sort of City of Culture Cup planned? I presume thats gonan be in pre-season as with UEFA & Setanta Cups will already have a fairly busy 2005 season.
kevincronin2000
24/11/2004, 5:26 PM
Chester City
Spurs
Manchester United
Everton
Swindon town
University of san diego
Huddersfield Town ( i think )
Southampton
Manchester City
Chelsea
Glasgow Celtic
Wolves
Glenavon or glentoran
Swansea
city 4 life
24/11/2004, 7:30 PM
don't forget coventry city when ron atkinson was in charget they beat us 2 nil in bishopstown i think dion dublin got both goals!
colblimp
24/11/2004, 7:42 PM
don't forget coventry city when ron atkinson was in charget they beat us 2 nil in bishopstown i think dion dublin got both goals!
Ahhhhhh, Dion Dublin playing for the Sky Blues.
Those were the days......
shedite
24/11/2004, 7:46 PM
Chester City
Spurs
Manchester United
Everton
Swindon town
University of san diego
Huddersfield Town ( i think )
Southampton
Manchester City
Chelsea
Glasgow Celtic
Wolves
Glenavon or glentoran
Swansea
We definately played a fairly full strength Leeds team too. Gary Speed, Gary Kelly, GaryMcAllister, Brian Deane...
24/11/2004, 10:20 PM
We definately played a fairly full strength Leeds team too. Gary Speed, Gary Kelly, GaryMcAllister, Brian Deane...
yeah, that was the season after leeds won the league- would have been july/august 1992 i think. Brian Deane made his debut for leeds that day. finished 3-1 to leeds
yeah, remember that one. steve ogrizovic in goal- what a legend. also remember gordon strachan having a kickabout with the ball boys at half time, and going mental when loads of young fellas ran on to join in :D
BeerBaron69
25/11/2004, 10:20 AM
I remember Chelsea playing a full team in those pre-Abromovich days when the only Russian on the books was Dimitri Kharine(ukranian I know)
25/11/2004, 11:05 AM
Definitely played Huddersfield Town. First match i ever went to.
I think that and the Leeds match were both on in Musgrave Park.
25/11/2004, 11:08 AM
Lads, is there any site out there that has a complete list of every game City ever played. Statto's ?
I've been going since 88 but i'm f*cked if i can remember every game, especially pre season firendlies.
25/11/2004, 11:46 AM
Lads, is there any site out there that has a complete list of every game City ever played. Statto's ?
I've been going since 88 but i'm f*cked if i can remember every game, especially pre season firendlies.
it was in a programme i have. i'll try to get it on the site tonight. alternatively if anyone does know and wants to post it on the site, work away.
yur man
26/11/2004, 1:23 AM
citynet had a pretty good history section too
a good guide to quite a few seasons. it was a handy read. i wonder would he pass it on to Shedend
daveh
26/11/2004, 10:21 AM
Didnt we used to play wrexham and swansea on a fairly regular basis a few seasons back?Whatever happened to that?I remember brian carey playin for wrexham,he was a class player in his younger days,he was the type of player city needed to win the league.
27/11/2004, 9:41 AM
citynet had a pretty good history section too
a good guide to quite a few seasons. it was a handy read. i wonder would he pass it on to Shedend
i'll have a word :)
Fair_play_boy
27/11/2004, 12:23 PM
especially pre season firendlies.hah, a new name for flares! :D
Shedender
28/11/2004, 12:02 AM
what a great idea, il be well up for that , fair play bot :D