View Full Version : 2015 League Of Ireland preview guides

sheao
02/03/2015, 4:27 PM
Anybody know which papers are doing them this year and when they will be out ?##

harry crumb
02/03/2015, 5:09 PM
The Sunday Times preview by Paul Rowan was the typical the league has problems angle.

Is it so hard to write an actual preview with team by team analysis.

noddy102
02/03/2015, 6:10 PM
I've written a club by club preview on leagueofireland.ie

paykanti
02/03/2015, 6:53 PM
Surprised extratime haven't done them yet, they had all Prem and First Division sides done last year. Maybe to come in the next couple of days.

paykanti
02/03/2015, 7:12 PM

Anyone else having difficulties using this site? It's a ballache for me, not loading half the time. I've tried Chrome and Firefox.

02/03/2015, 7:31 PM
Loads of club by club previews up on BackPageFootball.ie at the moment

02/03/2015, 10:06 PM
Here in Dundalk the Local Dundalk Democrat have a 20-page preview special in tomorrow's edition.Always excellent and gets better every year.

http://40.media.tumblr.com/ea0c71ee4020d5c18a4945dca6780a37/tumblr_nklv33G5iJ1qgdef6o1_400.jpg

See this week’s Dundalk Democrat for our 20-page preview of the new SSE Airtricity League season. Featuring interviews with Stephen Kenny, Stephen O’Donnell, Ronan Finn, Gary Rogers, the O’Connor brothers and more. The nation’s best football journalists give their 2015 predictions while we also have a club by club guide on each Premier Division side and Robbie Rafferty looks back on how Dundalk have fared trying to retain their title in the past. All this plus a free 2015 squad poster, Cian Carroll’s The Beautiful Game column, President’s Cup reaction and lots more.

http://blackandwhitetown.tumblr.com/post/112546230980/see-this-weeks-dundalk-democrat-for-our-20-page

paykanti
02/03/2015, 10:10 PM
Backpagefootball.com seems to be down too :D

Extratime previews are coming thick and fast now.

littlebray
03/03/2015, 12:55 AM

Anyone else having difficulties using this site? It's a ballache for me, not loading half the time. I've tried Chrome and Firefox.
It's OK through Firefox for me.
BTW Noddy, that Carlisle capacity figure looks like a bit of Wiki-vandalism. It's more like 4,000.

paykanti
03/03/2015, 1:55 AM
Ya, it's working now, cheers.

Goal with some of the tastier previews posted so far:

http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3909/airtricity-premier-division?ICID=AR_TN_3_2

03/03/2015, 2:50 AM
Have a listen to Mick Cookes predicion's for the season.BTW the guy he's talking to is ex Drogs director Gerry Kelly.Good listen.
http://utv.vo.llnwd.net/o16/LMFM/2015/03/01/MickCooke.mp3

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/03/2015, 6:48 AM
http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/ ... rt%201.pdf (http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/2015%20Sligo%20Rovers%20Media%20Guide%20part%201.p df)

http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/ ... rt%202.pdf (http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/2015%20Sligo%20Rovers%20Media%20Guide%20part%202.p df)

03/03/2015, 8:07 AM
http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=1564

Overview of the First Division.

gufcfan
03/03/2015, 11:33 AM
http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/ ... rt%201.pdf (http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/2015%20Sligo%20Rovers%20Media%20Guide%20part%201.p df)

http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/ ... rt%202.pdf (http://www.sligorovers.com/files/files/2015%20Sligo%20Rovers%20Media%20Guide%20part%202.p df)

Fairplay to yee for re-releasing the FAI media guide in a brand new, harder to read format.

03/03/2015, 11:42 AM
Very harsh. It's far more than that so fair play to Sligo.

Pats released something similar last year and will be doing so again

The 2014 version
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19130933/St%20Patrick's%20Athletic%20Media%20Guide%202014.p df

gufcfan
03/03/2015, 11:45 AM
I wasn't being serious.

It's not harm for clubs to send it out if they aren't doing anything of that kind themselves already.

pateen
03/03/2015, 1:56 PM

Very nice site, never knew it exisited

Iorfa2MaccaJim
03/03/2015, 9:52 PM
Hi lads.

I was just wondering, does anyone know what newspaper produces the " Official Guide " ? I know it used to be The Star ? And, will both the P.F.A.I and Official Guides be out on Friday ?

Thanks lads.

03/03/2015, 10:04 PM
Mirror done it last two years I think.

03/03/2015, 10:45 PM
Not strictly a guide (because Roddy is involved) but the Off The Ball League of Ireland preview show, also with Stuey Byrne, here: http://www.newstalk.ie/player/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Off_the_Balls_League_of_Ireland_Podcast/80564/2/2015_sse_airtricity_league_preview

PartySaint
04/03/2015, 8:38 AM
Not strictly a guide (because Roddy is involved) but the Off The Ball League of Ireland preview show, also with Stuey Byrne, here: http://www.newstalk.ie/player/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Off_the_Balls_League_of_Ireland_Podcast/80564/2/2015_sse_airtricity_league_preview

Impressive that it only took Stuey Byrne 7 minutes into the new season to have a pop at Pats

Also it took one guy from Cork 17 minutes to text in and complain about Dublin bias which is about 16 minutes later than expected.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
04/03/2015, 10:02 AM
Hi lads.

The Irish Daily Mail have advertised that The Official League of Ireland Magazine will be free in Friday's edition.

JosephMcSweeney
04/03/2015, 12:06 PM
Also it took one guy from Cork 17 minutes to text in and complain about Dublin bias which is about 16 minutes later than expected.

Said with typical Dublin bias :D

adamd164
04/03/2015, 3:31 PM
There's a pullout in today's Sun. I've not seen it though so dunno about the quality.

cobhlad
04/03/2015, 4:13 PM
Possibly the only League of Ireland preview in Irish (It is Seachtain na Gaeilge). http://t.co/RaQjfaaxk5

04/03/2015, 4:34 PM
Comprehensive coverage of the First Division there, good to see.

gufcfan
04/03/2015, 6:19 PM
Possibly the only League of Ireland preview in Irish (It is Seachtain na Gaeilge). http://t.co/RaQjfaaxk5

Are the LOI Blog lads still at the same craic over at Pundit Arena or have they copped on?

04/03/2015, 11:01 PM
Hi lads.

I was just wondering, does anyone know what newspaper produces the " Official Guide " ? I know it used to be The Star ? And, will both the P.F.A.I and Official Guides be out on Friday ?

Thanks lads.

Iorfa the Irish Mail will have the Official Guide on Friday!

04/03/2015, 11:09 PM
I assume that's to do with the Cup sponsorship. The Star had the official guide when they sponsored MNS, then the Mirror when they sponsored it, now the Mail. Makes sense I suppose. I wonder if they'll sponsor Soccer Republic too.

McNasara
05/03/2015, 9:02 AM
http://backpagefootball.com/category/league-of-ireland-2/

05/03/2015, 11:22 AM
http://backpagefootball.com/category/league-of-ireland-2/
For the most unbiased, neutral coverage in the league of ireland..

Iorfa2MaccaJim
05/03/2015, 11:24 AM
Iorfa the Irish Mail will have the Official Guide on Friday!

Thanks Martinho. I'm looking forward to seeing the Guides tomorrow ! Thank you for the information butty.

eitoof
06/03/2015, 2:19 PM
That thing in The Mail today wasn't worth the €1 the paper cost. Very average at best.

07/03/2015, 11:43 PM
That thing in The Mail today wasn't worth the €1 the paper cost. Very average at best.

Mirror and the Suns effort beat them hands down!

08/03/2015, 9:27 AM
Mirrors was terrible the star was 16 pages but some gargle in there too. Best part of the previews was Pat Dolan describing Sean Hoare as the best young centre half in European football

08/03/2015, 1:39 PM
Dolan exaggerating? Surely not?

08/03/2015, 8:37 PM
Mirrors was terrible the star was 16 pages but some gargle in there too. Best part of the previews was Pat Dolan describing Sean Hoare as the best young centre half in European football

disagree with the Mirror. It took me ages to read it which is always a good sign with me.Suns was fairly good on Wednesday last. Star was ok and the Mail had a lot of advertising in it and its not a patch of the first league of ireland season preview in 05 which was double in size!

08/03/2015, 9:06 PM
Mirror had an impressively poor amount of First Division coverage. Even as far as First Division coverage usually goes, this was desperate.

08/03/2015, 10:16 PM
disagree with the Mirror. It took me ages to read it which is always a good sign with me.Suns was fairly good on Wednesday last. Star was ok and the Mail had a lot of advertising in it and its not a patch of the first league of ireland season preview in 05 which was double in size!

Took ages to read doesn't mean it was good content.