View Full Version : Favourite sport?

20/11/2004, 6:18 PM
Obviously you all like football or else ye would'nt be here, but other than that what is your favourite?

Gaelic Football,
Rugby,
Snooker,
Pool,
Volleyball,
Fencing,
Swimming,
Horse Racing,
Show Jumping,
Basketball,
Cricket,
Baseball,
Handball,
American Football,
Car Racing,
Darts,
Golf,
Wrestling,
Boxing,
Tennis,
Aussie Rules,
Fox Hunting,(well some people seem to think it's a sport)
Bowls,
Bowling,
Hurling,
Camogie.

If I missed your favourite sport, please tell me.
Mines rugby and snooker

20/11/2004, 7:10 PM
I dont mind a bit of Rugby, Snooker, Pool, Horse Racing, Car Racing and Golf when there is no footie on!

yur man
20/11/2004, 7:12 PM
hurling :)

20/11/2004, 9:48 PM
Gaelic football

20/11/2004, 10:32 PM
to watch...ice hockey

to play....well has to be gaelic football

Dillo
20/11/2004, 11:17 PM
Think I'd tolerate any of them apart from Eggchasing to be honest!
Soccer and GAA on top of my list though.

20/11/2004, 11:23 PM
hurling :)

I love to watch a good game of hurling alright :cool:

21/11/2004, 10:33 AM
horse racing
golf/ ryder cup

Partizan
21/11/2004, 12:25 PM
Myself,

I have played soccer, boggerball, stickfighting, rugger and cricket at a competetive level in Waterford in the youth & junior leagues and played Munster Junior League 2 & 3 Rugby for Waterford City RFC.

I'd say besides soccer I'd have to plump for stick fighting and the rugger in joint second followed by cricket in a very close third.

I couldnt bat for sh1t but wasnt a bad right arm medium spin bowler.

dortie
21/11/2004, 2:00 PM
and cricket at a competetive level in Waterford in the youth & junior leagues
followed by cricket in a very close third.

Didnt think the British had that much Influence in Waterford.

Did you go pints of Scrumpy Jack and Pork pies afterwards ;)

21/11/2004, 2:23 PM
Swimming & Basketball for slk.

Ruairi
21/11/2004, 2:28 PM
snooker, golf, and american football (6 hours on a sunday night on sky sports! mad)

aberharp
21/11/2004, 2:38 PM
gaelic football

eoinh
21/11/2004, 2:45 PM
Motor sport and most winter sports especially downhill, cross country skiing and the biathlon

Partizan
21/11/2004, 3:12 PM
Didnt think the British had that much Influence in Waterford.

Did you go pints of Scrumpy Jack and Pork pies afterwards ;)

Sure, dont we all subscribe to foreign alien British ideology, i.e. socialism and vote for either Sinn Fein or dare I say it.......... The Workers' Party

May I, a godless communist be struck down and cast into the fires of hell.

21/11/2004, 4:37 PM
Footie
Gah
American Football
Nascar(US stock car racing)

dortie
21/11/2004, 8:47 PM
Sure, dont we all subscribe to foreign alien British ideology, i.e. socialism and vote for either Sinn Fein or dare I say it.......... The Workers' Party

May I, a godless communist be struck down and cast into the fires of hell.

Nope.....'we all dont vote for SF or the Workers Party', some of us dont even vote anymore..... :D

As for you being a godless communist......could be right there ;)

liam88
21/11/2004, 9:06 PM
Cricket....... :o
Shock! Horror! No :eek: ;) (though I have to admit to playing a couple of games for ma primary school's B-team but that's another story!)

Aye a good game of Hurling is top of ma list along with football! Like the Gaelic football but being a Munster lad with all ma relatives from Cork or Tipp I dannae see much sucess in that!

What the local ice hockey side at every home game as well! (though have missed the last to due to college work :rolleyes: ) tis' good craic......Belfast ocassionally come to town to (dependent on cup draws)!

colblimp
21/11/2004, 9:12 PM
Table-tennis, running, cricket, subbuteo :D

I like to watch: aerobics oz style, female synchronized swimming, womens beach volleyball, any american female cheerleaders, etc...

Get the picture? ;) :D

21/11/2004, 10:32 PM
whys it ok to like soccer and rugby but not cricket? arent they both essentially foreign sports > :confused:

harry crumb
21/11/2004, 10:40 PM
Hurling & National Hunt Horse Racing

21/11/2004, 10:47 PM
after football, its gotta be rugby. I like watching hurling as well, and partizan, you've found an unlikely ally ;) I watch the odd bit of cricket too-played it in school and still have an interest.

22/11/2004, 10:18 AM
Rugby
occasionally basketball.

Ruairi
22/11/2004, 10:23 AM
I watch the odd bit of cricket too-played it in school and still have an interest.

AAAAAHHHHH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

Dublin12
22/11/2004, 1:29 PM
Fishing and cricket

22/11/2004, 1:56 PM
Main ones would be snooker, golf, tennis, Gaelic and hurling. Don't know if you want to count chess as a sport? (Playing, obviously, less so than watching!). Often stop by the bowler for a couple of games on the way out to UCD games of an evening.

Always enjoy watching olympic handball, volleyball and darts when they're on, even the occasional bit of show jumping.

Have a particular dislike for rugby, cricket and most American sports (bar ice hockey) - find them far too tedious!

Pat O' Banton
22/11/2004, 2:07 PM
Only ones that I would actively go out of my way to watch would be either of the two main GAA, cricket, ice hockey or Rugby League but apart from the GAA wouldn't take more than a passing interest in them. I would include darts in the list but according to Radio 5 last night its not even classified as a sport!

22/11/2004, 2:55 PM
I'd watch nearly anything bar GAA and animal racing. Baseball is quite tedious as well.

JoeSemi
22/11/2004, 10:47 PM
Partial to the odd slice of any sport bar Eggchasing. :cool:
Preferences would have to be hurling, football and tennis. Been known to take days off school for the cricket world cup also (as another member has previously alluded to with some amusement)!!

boc123
22/11/2004, 11:09 PM
Hurling, Darts, Poker ;)

23/11/2004, 10:51 AM
To watch: Rugby, Cycling, F1, Golf, Cricket are ones I'd try and get a look at, but ultimately I'd watch any sport on tele if there was nothing else on. Was watching the indoor bowls the other week, and the Darts is coming up.

To Participate: Golf is the only other one these days, and then only occasionally. Would like to get back into the coarse fishing as well, but it all seems to be fluff chucking and sea fishing in Wickla. Used to play rugby at school until injury forced me out (still reckon I'd scrumage better than Marcus Horan anyway).

green goblin
23/11/2004, 10:58 AM
I spent most of last summer watching paint dry, and I have to say that it's far better than watching cricket. To break the tedium I spent a morning watching grass grow, and in fairness, that has the edge on cricket too. :( Don't get me wrong, i like the pointlessness and snobbishness of it all, it's just that it's so deathly dull to watch.

It's hardly ever on, but I can never get enough of 4 man bobsleigh on TV. No idea why...

sylvo
23/11/2004, 11:17 AM
Hurling, which I love watching,
Gealic football,
Basketball,
Baseball.
Rugby league.
Used to be into watching boxing but can't be bothered anymore.

noby
23/11/2004, 11:50 AM
Used to watch a lot of cricket, but find it harder these days to devote 5 days (or nights for the tours) to watching tv. Seemed to coincide with me leaving college and becoming a 'normal' member of society.

After footie would by hurling, or pretty much anything on tv.

$Leon$
23/11/2004, 11:56 AM
1 association football
2 rugby football
3 gaelic football

TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 11:58 AM
1 association football
2 rugby football
3 gaelic football

Fair play to ya $Leon$. Never a truer word spoken.

Pat O' Banton
23/11/2004, 5:42 PM
It's hardly ever on, but I can never get enough of 4 man bobsleigh on TV. No idea why...

Oh yeah I forgot Luge, going downhill on ice at 100mph on a baking tray how can you not watch it. :D

sylvo
23/11/2004, 9:56 PM
Oh yeah I forgot Luge, going downhill on ice at 100mph on a baking tray how can you not watch it. :D

Don't tell me you also used to go up to Alexandra Palace at the first bit of snow and ice and try see if you could get from the front door of the Palace and end up in Crouch End. :eek:

carrickharp
24/11/2004, 9:39 AM
Darts :D :D
Baceball :D
GAA :D
Ludo :eek:

24/11/2004, 9:50 AM
Played all of these to a decent level when I was younger, fitter and not carrying so much natural 'padding'

Rugby - Winger/Centre used to be small and fast
Hurling - full forward/back line. Played in Dublin for the school. Jackeens cant hurl for crap so a Cork Lánger looked a decent player up there
Gaelic Football - full forward line
Badminton
Baseball - catcher (the guy who stands behind the plate who the pitcher throws to)

Now it's only ever football and the odd game of Gaelic when the team is short a few players (Junior B!!).

IMO the best to play was Hurling.

24/11/2004, 10:14 AM
IMO the best to play was Hurling.

never seen the allure. i like my shins.

green goblin
24/11/2004, 10:50 AM
never seen the allure. i like my shins.

Shins? I've always worried more about teeth and long term memory loss.

24/11/2004, 1:42 PM
Cricket is deffo my number 2 sport.
Played it through college and beyond.
Great Laugh.

Closed Account 2
04/02/2005, 1:11 AM
Playing + Watching:- Rugby, Darts, Cricket

Just Playing:- Basketball

Just Watching:- Womens Tennis (slower, more skillfull game unless the Williamses are playing), Ice Hockey, Heavyweight Boxing

04/02/2005, 9:15 AM
I have the unusual family claim that my great grand pappy was the first professional cricketer in Ireland, so always had an interest. Fair nuff, the test matches can be unbelievably boring, but the limited over matches are the stuff of legend. Particularily in the World Cup in England a couple of years ago ( one match (poss semi-final) between Aus and Sth Africa) there were a few classics!!

Love the GAA , the Rugger although I never played and only found out the proper rules(are there any?) a couple of years ago due to a yr long sojurn in Cahirciveen!!
Hurling is a fabulous game , but unfortunately the Gah was the only "home" sport in my school.
Golf and P+P are daycent too.

Hibs4Ever
04/02/2005, 9:21 AM
Rugby
Tennis
Ice Hockey
Greyhound Racing

04/02/2005, 5:59 PM
In order

To play & watch:
Hurling

To play:
Volleyball
Basketball
Rounders (no baseball when I were young)

To Watch:
Baseball (no rounders likely to be on Setanta yet for a spell)
Cricket

05/02/2005, 10:06 PM
Playing: Darts, B-ball.

Watching: Iomaint, Rugby (played them both for a while but I prefer to be able to be able to walk 7 days a week rather than 4),Datrs, Peil Gaeilach (would still play but none of my friends are into it), and pretty much everything else besides Tennis, but i've have to be pretty bored to watch cricket.

05/02/2005, 10:27 PM
Ok favourite other sports to watch
1/ Hurling
2/ Ice Hockey
3/ Rugby Union
4/ Women's basketball
5/ American Football
6/ Men's basketball
7/ Paint drying
8/ Cricket
9/ Bogball