View Full Version : Favourite sport?
finlma
06/02/2005, 7:57 PM
Cricket is deffo my number 2 sport.
There's something wrong with a sport where a game can be played for 5 days and still end in a draw.
I love a bit of rugby union, hurling and golf.
I've no time for bogball - see it is a bit of a skill-less sport but I am from Kilkenny and we don't even play it.
Kicko
07/02/2005, 10:11 AM
To play: Darts......
To watch: Soccer,Golf.. Thats about it, not too keen on the GAA and EGG scene.
07/02/2005, 10:37 AM
swimming :o........
is there not a risk of ......er.........electrocution :D
07/02/2005, 12:09 PM
Played and Watch - Rugby (both codes), Hockey, Tennis, Golf, GAA, Snooker, Field (Javlin + Shot)
Rugby (both codes)
Played League one day in school. This a shocking game to play IMO. The stop start of it drove me mad. Just when you'd get a good move going you have to stop and give the defending time to reorganise after the tackle.
Unconstested scrums are for girls
Union any day
ollie
07/02/2005, 12:56 PM
I've no time for bogball - see it is a bit of a skill-less sport but I am from Kilkenny and we don't even play it.
how can you tell it is a skill less sport if you haven't played it. :confused: :confused:are you telling me maurice fitsgerald, seamus moynihan graham canty and anthony lynch have no skill?
Played League one day in school. This a shocking game to play IMO. The stop start of it drove me mad. Just when you'd get a good move going you have to stop and give the defending time to reorganise after the tackle.
Union any day
Totally agree, and yet League heads claim it's a faster more skillfull game! I'd watch it if it's on, but if it was a choice between the two no contest. I have played both, but frankly league is for girls (or fat backs) - no proper scrums, no rucks and mauls....
Union any day
played league in football training a few weeks back.really enjoyed it.good craic.i suppose with my frame rucking and mauling wouldn't be for me.
Kerry Blue
07/02/2005, 6:53 PM
Played a good few sports when I used to be fit. Apart from Football (soccer), my favourite was rugby. It was great fun. Delighted the 6 nations has started. Now I'm just about fit enough to manage darts and the odd round of golf.
Aswell as these sports, I like to watch a good game of hurling. Nothing like it. (Mostly on TV. Not much chance of a great game down my way! :D )
I like American Football too. Was disappointed the Pats won last night.
Is anyone else interested in 9-ball pool? Don't think anyone's mentioned it.
Pat O' Banton
07/02/2005, 7:02 PM
Union any day
Always thought union was a very stop start start sport with the ball being in rucks and mauls and other exotically named things and also fouls are award for bizzare things in union.
finlma
07/02/2005, 7:02 PM
how can you tell it is a skill less sport if you haven't played it. :confused: :confused:are you telling me maurice fitsgerald, seamus moynihan graham canty and anthony lynch have no skill?
I have played it plenty of times but in comparison to hurling in skill level.......well, there is no comparison.
Whenever they made us play bogball in school we used turn it into a game of soccer.
liam88
07/02/2005, 7:24 PM
Is anyone else interested in 9-ball pool? Don't think anyone's mentioned it.
Aye love to play whenver I get the chance-with ma borthers, mates, dad grandad etc. Snooker is good raic to-ma mate got a (half size) table recently and I learned the rules! Great fun cannae stop! :D
finlma
07/02/2005, 7:43 PM
I spent manys a school day in the local snooker hall. I still suck at it though.
I'm not a huge fan of 9-ball. You can pot all the balls except the 9 and then the other guy, who's potted nothing comes along and pots the 9 to win. I prefer normal pool.
Whenever they made us play bogball in school we used turn it into a game of soccer.
doesn't this tell its own story. :rolleyes: i'll agree with you that hurling is an ultra skillfull game but football is still a skillfull game.if you put any game up against hurling it wont compare favourably.i'm a big fan of hurling BTW.
a "skillless" game wouldn't attract the biggest crowds year after year!
finlma
07/02/2005, 8:23 PM
a "skillless" game wouldn't attract the biggest crowds year after year!
Fair point. As I said though I'm from Kilkenny where there is zero interest and therefore zero appreciation of the sport.
eL Bettor
03/03/2005, 2:22 PM
Favourites To Play:
Darts :)
Kayaking :) :) :)
and handball when I was in school
To Watch:
Soccer
Darts
Hurling
Womens Tennis
and snooker depending on who's playing
deecay
03/02/2008, 9:18 PM
Darts,table tennis,mixed martial arts
03/02/2008, 9:22 PM
What possessed you to resurrest a 3 year old thread???
Anyway, I enjoy watching ice hockey, gaelic football, hurling, motorsports and darts.
deecay
03/02/2008, 9:29 PM
Never seen it before:eek:
Torn-Ado
04/02/2008, 11:26 AM
GAA, Rugby, Boxing, Darts.
04/02/2008, 1:53 PM
add table-tennis to that list will ye sligoman?!
04/02/2008, 2:14 PM
Pitch and putt also please!
04/02/2008, 3:13 PM
It might be easier to make a list of sports I don't like. But I can't think of any!
Will play or watch pretty much anything.
If pushed for favourites I'd have to say hurling and darts. With Gaelic football not far behind, oh and golf.
04/02/2008, 3:20 PM
add table-tennis to that list will ye sligoman?!
Pitch and putt also please!I posted that in 2004 so edit time is up at this stage:D. Doesn't need to be on the list anyway sure.
04/02/2008, 10:37 PM
To watch:
Badminton
Spanish football
Rugby
To play:
Badminton/football
06/02/2008, 12:45 PM
Played most sports but would watch on TV:
Cricket
International rugby and Heineken rugby (if Irish involvement)
Hurling (if Waterford playing)
Snooker (if Doherty involved or a Final)
Poker on Sky (great viewing)
Grand National Horse race (only one I'd watch)
Athletics if Olympics or Irish involvement
06/02/2008, 3:47 PM
Good oul GridIorn for me, partial to a bit of Baseball too
KevB76
06/02/2008, 6:19 PM
Rallying, particularly the tarmac variety :)
Rovers fan
06/02/2008, 10:29 PM
to watch:
golf
rugby(good games!)
hurling
soccer
gaelic
darts
snooker
horse racing(when i have money on)
boxing(big fights/irish person except bernard dunne)
tennis(grand slams)
basketball
athletics
american football
poker
bowls(its not that bad!)
motor sports
To play:
darts(at the moment but im starting to get p1ssed of with it)
hurling
gaelic
table tennis
soccer
golf
badminton
poker(is it a sport?)
go karting
tennis
athletics
to support:
soccer
08/02/2008, 11:14 PM
Playing: Darts, B-ball.
Watching: Iomaint, Rugby (played them both for a while but I prefer to be able to be able to walk 7 days a week rather than 4),Datrs, Peil Gaeilach (would still play but none of my friends are into it), and pretty much everything else besides Tennis, but i've have to be pretty bored to watch cricket.
What the hell:confused: That post is a lie! I never voluntarily played Hurling, Rugby or Gaelic??!
Did I really post that? 2005 wasn't that long ago and this just aint true:confused: And I never got the point in lying.
Time to type Schizophrenia into Wikipedia :D
Anyhow the truth in 2008:
Favourite to play:
1. Tennis
2. Pool
3. Darts
4. Football
Favourite to watch:
1. Tennis
2. Football
3. Darts
=. Ice-Hockey
08/02/2008, 11:52 PM
(Ice) Hockey
Canadian Football
Baseball
Rugby League
(Used to play the union game and loved it but can't watch it for some reason).
09/02/2008, 12:17 AM
Will watch pretty much anything. I'm addicted to the Olympics and am seriously considerng taking the two weeks off...
Its easier for me to list the sports I've no real interest in; Gaelic Games, any form of motorsport.
The sports that are behind football in interest levels are tennis, american football, cycling, athletics and boxing
09/02/2008, 1:00 AM
I've done some thinking about this thread and realised that I only like sports in which the winner is decided based on points scored (football, rugby, boxing, cricket), rather than being the first to reach a certain distance (cycling, motorsports), or the being the person who did something most stylishly (skating, synchronised swimming).
That said, I don't like ALL sports that fit into the first category, by any means. I just can't think of any sports I'm interested in from either of the other 2 categories.
Is darts a sport?
09/02/2008, 10:48 AM
I've done some thinking about this thread and realised that I only like sports in which the winner is decided based on points scored (football, rugby, boxing, cricket), rather than being the first to reach a certain distance (cycling, motorsports), or the being the person who did sonmething most stylishly (skating, synchronised swimming).
Boxing fits into the first and third categories though (at least at professional level). Its the only sport I like that a person is judged. Sports that are judged too open to curruption
09/02/2008, 10:58 AM
Boxing fits into the first and third categories though (at least at professional level). Its the only sport I like that a person is judged. Sports that are judged too open to curruption
Actually, that is a good point about boxing, especially as the judgment is quite often a controversial one.
I guess I just like seeing people being punched in the head!