View Full Version : Longford Person of the Year
Well done to all involved in the clubs players management etc on winning the award last night!
22/11/2004, 4:28 PM
was listenin to shannonside earlier today a lot of people unhappy about our club geting the award! lady caller called whinging that our players were only playing for the money and ltfc has never donated anything to charity!
well excuse me what about the countless volunteers who spend their spare hours to advance the club! that is charity you know!
to lady caller! what a load of bullsh%t :p
oh she wasnt the only one! alot of texts in also! but infairness alot of people rang in to put her in her place!
Begrudgers you get them everywhere, its alive and well
22/11/2004, 5:05 PM
She was probably singing the praises of the GAAH lads getting no money im guessing.... the Town players have put this town and county on the map and have gained many new followers and have proved that small town teams can win things and are an inspiration to us all. We have proved we're not just some team from the backarse of nowhere, we're proved that yes it can be possible to beat the Dublin clubs and the traditional big clubs. To us they are sporting heroes, and the award is well deserved!
22/11/2004, 5:06 PM
Plenty of donations to GOAL have come from LTFC, the players especially Kirby and Prunty give up time for numerous local causes, Kirby is a hero to the organisers of the Aisling festival, besides it was the club that won it not the team, the hard work of those involved lifted the whole community of Longford according to the judges so fluck the begrudgers and well done to LTFC.. I hate the people of this town and county sometimes, they only go to cup finals and wont give any credit for what has been achieved in the past few years, how many other good things have come out of Longford recently, not too feckin many..
I did an interview with Sean Prunty it will be on onefinlongford.com soon but he mentions the sunshiners etc! so it does get to them also!
One person rang to say that if longford gaa won anything it wouldn be an award twud be an f***in miracle!! brilliant!
Many rang to acknowledge the work the lads do after the game ends on the field such as the fundraising for GOAL etc
She was probably singing the praises of the GAAH lads getting no money im guessing.... the Town players have put this town and county on the map and have gained many new followers and have proved that small town teams can win things and are an inspiration to us all. We have proved we're not just some team from the backarse of nowhere, we're proved that yes it can be possible to beat the Dublin clubs and the traditional big clubs. To us they are sporting heroes, and the award is well deserved!
Well said Pauro. We've been long enough waiting for the GAAH lads to deliver and they never have and probably never will. Whether Luke Dempsey and co can turn things around on the playing pitch remains to be seen but I doubt it very much. Anyway, whether we like it or not it's plain and simple- we don't have the pool of players or resources within County Longford to mount a challenge for any kind of silverware. A population of 30,000 including 5,000 refugees speaks for itself :rolleyes: . LTFC have put Longford Town and County on the map and have given us a sporting and cultural identity. They are the pride of the midlands and Matthews and his red and black army are fully entitled to this award.
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/11/2004, 6:50 PM
LTFC got Longford person of the year? Is somebody extracting the urine here?
While I'm a big fan of the club, I'm not sure if the award is merited. For starters, I can't think of too many of the team who actually come from Longford. I was listening to Shannonside a few weeks ago. They announced that they had an interview with "local man" Sean Prunty. Now I don't live in Longford anymore but I didn't realise that Longford has recently become part of the Greater Dublin Area and that people in my home county now talk like Jackeens. I thought that the reprter had made a mistake when he said there was an interview with Sean Prunty because the fella I heard had a true Dublin accent. I know this is a contentious issue but if Sean Prunty is the closest thing we have to a Longford man in the starting team, then I don't think we should be giving them a Longford person of the year award. Now I know the competition isn't great but surely it would have made more sense to give the award to Jim Hanley or Donal Keogh, men who deserve to be recognised and men who will never leave Longford Town FC.
BTW, this is not intended as a personal attack on any LTFC player, as I feel they have done the club and county proud this season.
It's only a Micky Mouse award anyway! :D
Longford Person of The Year how are ya! :rolleyes:
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/11/2004, 6:54 PM
Another piece of silverware I suppose. :D :p
$Leon$
22/11/2004, 6:54 PM
the thing is theres probably more longford in mickey mouse than the entire ltfc team put together.
Lads, that's beside the point entirely. Do all Bohemians players hail from the Greater Phibsboro area?! How many members of the current Chelsea team come from Stamford and the Greater London area?? It's totally irrelevant. That's the beauty of the Beautiful Game. Imagine Robbie Keane still in the colours of Tallaght Town or Belvedere or whoever. Doubt he'd have met in with Claudine if that were still the case! :p
$Leon$
22/11/2004, 7:07 PM
Lads, that's beside the point entirely. Do all Bohemians players hail from the Greater Phibsboro area?! How many members of the current Chelsea team come from Stamford and the Greater London area?? It's totally irrelevant. That's the beauty of the Beautiful Game. Imagine Robbie Keane still in the colours of Tallaght Town or Belvedere or whoever. Doubt he'd have met in with Claudine if that were still the case! :p
very good point dillo have to agree with you on that one.
makes the game better but also causes small clubs with low budgets to die out.
imagine if all the bohs team were locals.
u'd have 11 antos takin to the field every week with a few more sittin on the bench wait for their name sake to get injured.
TheJamaicanP.M.
22/11/2004, 7:07 PM
That's a good point Dillo. Don't think Robbie will be too upset if Ken Livinston beats him in the competition for London Person of the Year. I am an esteemed resident in Blackrock but I wouldn't be expecting to get Blackrock Person of the Year. In a similar way, Max Power wouldn't expect to get Inchicore person of the year. Actuallly, you never know...
We all accept that footballers can play for any club and show commitment. That doesn't bother us when we support LTFC. However, if you ask the players where they're from, I doubt too many of them will say Longford, possibly with the exception of Eric Lavine. :D :p
town73
22/11/2004, 10:07 PM
The award was for Longford Town FC Club. It was not exclusively for the players - the entire club. The award was in recognition of what the club have brought to the Co Longford community as a whole and was an acknowledgement of the voluntary effort that goes on behind the scenes at the club to make it such a success.
Sean Prunty's family live in Ballinalee. I believe that he grew up in Dublin, hence the accent.
23/11/2004, 1:19 AM
Right enough town73 it was an award to the club as I said abovenot the team, these people have given up more than you will ever know to keep LTFC on the go and are duly enjoying some success, dont begrudge it to them. As for Sean Prunty he's longer in Ballinalee than he ever was in Dublin so that makes him local in my book, do you have a Longford accent PM? Or even knowing you a D4 accent, I doubt it..Having gone to school with the chap Longford is home so don't knock him for his accent of all things
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 11:16 AM
Right enough town73 it was an award to the club as I said abovenot the team, these people have given up more than you will ever know to keep LTFC on the go and are duly enjoying some success, dont begrudge it to them. As for Sean Prunty he's longer in Ballinalee than he ever was in Dublin so that makes him local in my book, do you have a Longford accent PM? Or even knowing you a D4 accent, I doubt it..Having gone to school with the chap Longford is home so don't knock him for his accent of all things
Yes, I do have somewhat of a D4 accent. That means that I moved away from Longford and lost some of my native accent. However, Sean Prunty has more of a hard Dublin accent. This is certainly not a desirable accent. Why hasn't he changed it for a Longford one?
lego79
23/11/2004, 2:30 PM
Firstly I think you should leave Mr Prunty alone, im sure he has done more for Longford Town than you have. Secondly i assume you must be embarrassed of where you come from if you have felt the need to change your accent...D4!!!
TheJamaicanP.M.
23/11/2004, 8:16 PM
Firstly I think you should leave Mr Prunty alone, im sure he has done more for Longford Town than you have. Secondly i assume you must be embarrassed of where you come from if you have felt the need to change your accent...D4!!!
Embarrassed would be alightly overstating it. I think everyone changes their accent to suit their surroundings. At the cup final I even heard one regular LTFC fan singing with what seemed to be an Inchicore accent.
gheewhizz
26/11/2004, 12:15 AM
The Prunty's did live in Dublin for a couple of years & then moved down to Longford about 15 years ago, so to me they are locals.
TheJamaicanP.M.
26/11/2004, 6:37 PM
The Prunty's did live in Dublin for a couple of years & then moved down to Longford about 15 years ago, so to me they are locals.
Fair point. Some people think that some of the Nigerians in Longford are locals too.
True! :D Longford is an example of a multi-cultural society if ever there was one!
Sure it's gas looking at all these coloured folk coming out of shops with the Longford Leader under their arm! :p
I heard RUMOURS that Longford person of the year is to be no more!!!
Primarily due to the fact there was alot of unwanted and negative coverage after this years ceremony and alot of people with a bee in their....
anyone hear this?
27/11/2004, 8:58 AM
Well do they support the Town? On a more serious note the CLub deserves the award. Think of all the tourists that pass through the town on the way to the Flansiro every two weeks ! ;)
Those crowd are rarely if ever seen in the Flansiro. At least if they started supporting the town they might be of some addition. Instead they just come in and take all our jobs while working for peanuts.
TheJamaicanP.M.
27/11/2004, 1:02 PM
Those crowd are rarely if ever seen in the Flansiro. At least if they started supporting the town they might be of some addition. Instead they just come in and take all our jobs while working for peanuts.
Since when did they work? Most of them seem to get free hand-outs. The only ones I heard of working were the ones in McDonalds. We all know what they did to the burgers there. Fcukin filthy. :mad:
27/11/2004, 3:16 PM
Well it is local employers that are paying them peanuts and that is a whole other kettle of fish. There was a case not far from Longford of Brazilians being exposed to low pay and appalling conditions but as I say not for here.
27/11/2004, 4:04 PM
ever hear of integration ? :)
28/11/2004, 2:54 PM
Since when did they work? Most of them seem to get free hand-outs. The only ones I heard of working were the ones in McDonalds. We all know what they did to the burgers there. Fcukin filthy. :mad:
WHat did they do to the burgers???? :confused:
Use your imagination. If I was to take the chant 'Come on the town' and leave off the 'on the town' thereby adding itto the word burger the result is ... anyways it was a load of crap that somebody I know whos a racist made up. There was some story in Dublin like that and then it was said that the Nigerian people working in McDonalds were doing the same. Trust some peeps to believe it! :rolleyes: :p
30/11/2004, 8:20 AM
They're not ALLOWED to work you SPOON. Our enlightened government refuses to grant them work permits !
it depends if they are on their status in the country, not everyone here is a refugee :rolleyes:
fosterdollar
30/11/2004, 8:32 AM
This thread needs some serious splitting with at least one half going into rubbish :rolleyes:
Bondvillain
04/12/2004, 1:01 AM
This thread needs some serious splitting with at least one half going into rubbish :rolleyes:
Only Half? Magoo, you are being WAY too generous there.
If a thread on an actual white power website had as many halfarsed rumours and regurgitated horse**** in it, it'd be shut down.
It's becoming easier and easier to stay away from this site because of the so called ''enlightened'' ones among us vomiting forth ill thought out opinions at an astounding velocity.
If having different coloured people walking down Ballymahon street makes 'em that apoplectic, they should publish a damn pamphlet like the rest of the nutters do & keep this area for matters related to football.
If having different coloured people walking down Ballymahon street makes 'em that apoplectic, they should publish a damn pamphlet like the rest of the nutters do & keep this area for matters related to football.[/QUOTE]