View Full Version : Players coming in ...

Patrick Dunne
18/11/2004, 6:12 PM
Given budgetary constraints and our current position as a midtable first division outfit ...

1. Who would you like to see coming to United ?
2. Who do you actually think will be coming to the club ?

Eric Lavine would be a great addition. He seems to be surplus to requirements at Longford. An entertainer, goalscorer and very popular in Galway. Pushing on a bit, but to be honest, its not that difficult to score 10-15 goals in the First Division. Longford also have Adrian Murphy on their books, he is a proven striker at this level. Basically, any Longford leftovers will suit us fine, as opposed to Athlone/Limerick/Sligo leftovers.

We need a reserve 'keeper with EL experience. Ciaran Kelly and David Forde are two good Western lads presently with Derry. At least one will be available as they also have Pat Jennings jnr. on their books.

I don't think McTiernan will be coming anyway as he is under contract. Cretaro could be an good option, but to be honest, United are no longer seen
as a "big club" and the move might not be that attractive for him, especially for the sake of just a few pounds. But then one of our "stars" made the move for E20 per week. John Jordan is another good ex-Sligo player currently plying his trade at junior level in Mayo. A striker.

Defenders ? Athlone and Limerick have appalling defensive records, no point bringing in a few plodders from there, although Tom Silke has done a good job for us in the past. Long shot : there is a solid Irish pro available across the water at the moment Paul McCarthy (ex Wycombe and Brighton). He has signed for Conference outfit Hornchurch for big money. They are "progressive", but like many progressive clubs, they have gone burst. This lad (man !) would have to be full-time, but would be a great signing. Played U-21 at international level with Roy Keane and Goughie, so there is a possible link. You are better to have one solid full-time pro in the squad than Cabsy, McCarthy and Goldbey, whose wages combined would pay for a full-time player or manager. Almost.

Stephen O'Donnell at Arsenal for a few months on loan ? Again a very long shot, but he will probably be going on loan to someone like Barnet or Dagenham anyway. Hope to be proven incorrect.

Loan deals for Premier players ? Cork have a brilliant U-21 team, with some of them from Limerick, Kerry and Tipperary. Tony could talk to Pat, for it will be Tony who will be doing the talking, methinks.

The best local players are former United lads, Mervue stalwarts, or are complete nutters, not many options there.

What do you think ?

Patrick Dunne
18/11/2004, 8:54 PM
.. as per Sean Connors on-line "chat" tonight, as I suspected.

Has Tony planned for next year ?
Have the board planned for next year ?

Connor seems to be up for it.
Gannon certainly has shown himself ready to make changes.
Kelly has told some of his squad that they are going.
Keely will be at Dublin City.
Hannigan has done well at Kildare this season.
These managers want success.

No plans at United ... but the Christmas party has been organised.

:mad:

18/11/2004, 11:43 PM
Well on thing for sure is that if Galway play their cards right for the next three season, they could become a premier team, one to get up and two to get established !!

Come on Galway !!

24/11/2004, 2:05 PM
ye should sign ramuel miller right back / midfielder just released by us . connor released a load of players and he was the only good one really. williams and straker were decent too.

Patrick Dunne
24/11/2004, 4:56 PM
.. Adrian Carberry, a genial chap, who always has a smile for the fans
.. Luke Byrne, a pocket battleship who has yet to have a maiden voyage
.. Ryan Casey, a fiercely competitive player who will go through the wall for
the club. Never feigns injury, even if it is raining
.. Gary Fitzgerald, an effervescent Bengali tiger in a tracksuit
.. Ronan Frawley, who doesn't have a sibling inferiority complex
.. Nigel Keady, who can pass a ball onto the head of a needle. Could never
be described as "rabbit caught in the headlights"
.. David Goldbey, charismatic free scoring sex-god, who also does a lot of
charity work in his spare time
.. Mike Quirke, painter. Also plays a bit of football
.. Mark Herrick. Can still take out a UCD midfielder at two paces
.. Colin "Swan Lake" Fortune

Hands off the rest, especially the gaffer. :rolleyes:

Tell Connor that if we have a vacany for an assistant press officer, we'll keep him in mind :p

galwaygirl
24/11/2004, 5:06 PM
.. Adrian Carberry, a genial chap, who always has a smile for the fans
.. Luke Byrne, a pocket battleship who has yet to have a maiden voyage
.. Ryan Casey, a fiercely competitive player who will go through the wall for
the club. Never feigns injury, even if it is raining
.. Gary Fitzgerald, an effervescent Bengali tiger in a tracksuit
.. Nigel Keady, who can pass a ball onto the head of a needle. Could never
be described as "rabbit caught in the headlights"
.. David Goldbey, charismatic free scoring sex-god, who also does a lot of
charity work in his spare time
.. Mike Quirke, painter. Also plays a bit of football
.. Mark Herrick. Can still take out a UCD midfielder at two paces
.. Colin "Swan Lake" Fortune

Hands off the rest, especially the gaffer. :rolleyes:

Tell Connor that if we have a vacany for an assistant press officer, we'll keep him in mind :p

You dont seriously want to get rid of ALL those players do you PD :eek:

Patrick Dunne
24/11/2004, 5:12 PM
Yes :D

dublinred
24/11/2004, 5:16 PM
Tell Connor that if we have a vacany for an assistant press officer, we'll keep him in mind :p[/QUOTE]

You better tell him next season as we won't be seeing you guys for a long while after that that is unless you come up with us.

PS: We have a long list of released players yourselfs and harps are usually good for a few of our rejects.

Patrick Dunne
24/11/2004, 5:23 PM
.. SRFC have about as much chance as GUFC have of getting promoted this year ... absolutely none.

Our manager has dug himself in deeper than a battalion of Brits in Flanders.
Our board intend to slash cuts and "consolidate" :mad:

We can't compete with the big clubs like the mighty Longford, apparently :mad: :mad:

And you have Gareth Gorman and a manager who is handy at doing a bit of
photocopying and making coffee ;)

1 9 2 8
24/11/2004, 7:12 PM
.. SRFC have about as much chance as GUFC have of getting promoted this year ... absolutely none.
Speak for your self’s we're going back home to the premier league next season

Patrick Dunne
24/11/2004, 8:35 PM
.. doesn't think so.

One of the biggest problems Sligo have is your "We are massive" complex.
Sorry, you are not.

Longford have won more in the last two years than both Western "giants" have won in the last eight years, combined.

Western football is at an all time low. We recognise this - you still cling to the blanket of massiveness. If you were a UK club, you would be Man City.
We would be Spurs.

But we'll always be bigger than you ;)

Redzer
25/11/2004, 2:22 PM

Western football is at an all time low.

If you look at the history of the two clubs, I dont see how you can say Galway will always be bigger than Rovers. But that's not important, what's important to us is that we have a plan in place for us to be in the Premier Div in the space of the next two seasons. We believe we have a manager with ambition, who is preparing to put together a team which will match his ambition. And we have a committee which is backing the manager all the way.
There is no future for western football in the 1st Division. There is also no reason why either Galway or ourselves cannot be bigger than Longford. They play their home games AWAY in Longford, for God's sake. But we must get out of this wasteland.

1 9 2 8
25/11/2004, 6:35 PM
One of the biggest problems Sligo have is your "We are massive" complex.
Sorry, you are not.
Longford have won more in the last two years than both Western "giants" have won in the last eight years, combined.
Rovers have always been bigger, and we well always be bigger then Galway. We have a more successful and longer History which speck’s for it's self, we have a Bigger and better stadium then Galway. We're just going through a few bad years but the good times are coming back to The Showgrounds again.

Galway United forever in our shadow

Patrick Dunne
25/11/2004, 7:43 PM
"longer History which speck’s for it's self" :rolleyes:

You may be one of the biggest clubs in the world, but Galway United
can match you for punctuation and grammar anyday. As an ex-assistant
press officer, your manager would be appalled. WB Yeats is buried in Drumcliffe, apparently against his wishes. He should be in
Thoor Ballylee, Galway. Give it back thieves ! He is no doubt turning in his grave
at your attack on the English language.

Connor could supplement his income by giving literacy courses in the Showgrounds. A community programme. A bit like yourselves, a long term
project with little chance of success.

Your history is littered with examples of what we in Galway are well accustomed to, but outsiders find barbaric and simian, and, well, embarrassing.

The theft of Dixie Deans cup medal.
Changing a game so Mike Small could go to a wedding.
Giving Westlife their big break, only to be rewarded by the b**tards
playing their homecoming concert at a bogball pitch. :D

We indeed, are in your shadow. The shadow of the enormous floodlights
at your huge club. :p

25/11/2004, 10:35 PM

press officer, your manager would be appalled. WB Yeats is buried in Drumcliffe, apparently against his wishes. He should be in
Thoor Ballylee, Galway. Give it back thieves ! He is no doubt turning in his grave

Connor could supplement his income by giving literacy courses in the Showgrounds. A community programme. A bit like yourselves, a long term

Your history is littered with examples of what we in Galway are well accustomed to, but outsiders find barbaric and simian, and, well, embarrassing.

Whatever the merits of the two clubs one thing remains true.
Sligo's ground was never a sh1thole like Terryland was pre 1993 !

26/11/2004, 7:58 AM
Getting back to the subject of players coming in, I don't expect to hear anything till after Xmas.

Of the players you named Pat, Quirkey, Keady, R. Frawley and Casey all signed 2 year contracts last season that I know of so far.

You'll be also delighted to hear that Folan is been consider for a return due to his form with Hibs?

galwaygirl
26/11/2004, 9:18 AM
You'll be also delighted to hear that Folan is been consider for a return due to his form with Hibs?

tell me you're messing :eek:

26/11/2004, 9:26 AM
tell me you're messing :eek:

no :o

26/11/2004, 9:46 AM

There was talk of Ronan coming back to play for us as he didnt
like the way Mannion was playing him, but he's just started a new
job in Galway so as far as I know he's staying.

Also heard rumours of 2 of our players heading yer way. Dont wanna
name names yet cos its still very much a rumour

observer
26/11/2004, 10:26 AM
P.D. With reference to Eric Lavine, I am told he still turns up for games at Terryland and is a big favourite with the crowd. I can't understand how ye let him go originally but it was one of the best things to happen Longford Town. As regards Adrian Murphy he is not on the books of Longford Town , or anyone else for that matter, as he was on a one year contract with Athlone which is now expired. By the way his mother is from Galway so you would never know ;)

26/11/2004, 10:33 AM
P.D. With reference to Eric Lavine, I am told he still turns up for games at Terryland and is a big favourite with the crowd. I can't understand how ye let him go originally but it was one of the best things to happen Longford Town. As regards Adrian Murphy he is not on the books of Longford Town , or anyone else for that matter, as he was on a one year contract with Athlone which is now expired. By the way his mother is from Galway so you would never know ;)

ya eric goes to as many matches as he can since he still lives in the city and his son is here too, so he has no plans in leaving either. He quit the club after a big fight with Don "gobshlte"O'Riordan.

I would like to see Adrian arrive, only thing is isn't he a bit injury prone?

observer
26/11/2004, 11:45 AM
According to the Athlone Town website he played in 34 League and FAI cup games out of a possible 37. Nothing to indicate injury prone in those stats.
As regards Eric I believe he is on big money with Longford which is why he will not move until next year when his contract is up. Still he would be a good capture for Galway taking all the factors into consideration.

Redzer
26/11/2004, 1:44 PM

If ye are such a big club, how come ye are now being ran by a junior league football club? It may not be long before ye are in the shadows of DUNNE,S STORES shopping complex!!!

Patrick Dunne
26/11/2004, 2:46 PM
.. think that they are taking over. It is a cunning plan. We have structures in place to ensure our status as a mid-table mediocre outfit can be preserved.

26/11/2004, 2:54 PM
.. think that they are taking over. It is a cunning plan. We have structures in place to ensure our status as a mid-table mediocre outfit can be preserved.

have you been taking your medication Pat? :D

Patrick Dunne
27/11/2004, 4:41 PM
.. in my head tell me that the future of our great club is secure under the stewardship of Tony Mannion and those genuine, open and honest people
from Salthill Devon.

Here come the good times !

27/11/2004, 4:53 PM

If as they should, Salthill Devon retain the name Galway United for the EL part of the operation, it will be what is known in business as a reverse takeover.

JoeSemi
28/11/2004, 1:33 PM
I believe Galway have got one of Boh's best u-21s for next season in Kevin Williamson. As far as I know he has played in the League Cup and Longford were tracking him at the beginning of last season. He's plays left full and is excellent going forward and not afraid to dish out a tackle.