View Full Version : Long shot.....
......but a couple of us are planning on staying in bogford for the match on saturday. Set dancing stuff on or something so we cant get a place to stay. We've checked nearly everywhere now!!
Anyone able to help or any ideas??
Doesnt have to be classy or anything - just need a roof over our heads for a couple of hours.
......but a couple of us are planning on staying in bogford for the match on saturday. Set dancing stuff on or something so we cant get a place to stay. We've checked nearly everywhere now!!
Anyone able to help or any ideas??
Doesnt have to be classy or anything - just need a roof over our heads for a couple of hours.
Bring yer Caravans lads! :D
Try the Annaly, the Longford Arms or somewhere. Money's be no obstacle to ye Dwog men!
16/11/2004, 3:55 PM
Try the Anvil pub it has rooms, PVs pub has rooms too, Escabar, and also Peter Clarkes pub does bed and breakfast too..they're all in town..Failing that, Max Power's house!!
16/11/2004, 3:58 PM
no no no....their birds look a little sheepish :D
Right lads, bear in mind ive to look up the phone book for these so could you give me the proper spelling.
got through to the Anvil and Peter Clarkes.
The other 2 i couldnt find...........
16/11/2004, 4:17 PM
Escabar/Annaly Hotel, it's all the one, and P.V's is spelled like that, on Ballymahon Street..
town73
16/11/2004, 5:26 PM
The Anvil Bar (043) 41890
P.V's Bar, Accommodation & Steakhouse (043) 42700
Clarke Peter Dublin st Longford 043 45451
Longford Tourist Office may have some numbers - 043 41124
Right lads, we've rang all them - all booked out.
Looks like we might be staying in Edgewardstown if we dont get sorted out soon and have to get a taxi in and out which im sure will cost a fortune (presume around 40 yoyos??)
Is there anywhere closer to bogford than edgewardstown??
Stupid set dancing!!
17/11/2004, 1:14 PM
It wont cost 40 euro anyway, fifteen or twenty at the very max it's only about six miles out. Try newtownforbes maybe, that's about three miles out of town, im sure there's a b n b somewhere
Aye Frankie Kilbride will look after ye in The Park House in Edgeworthstown alright! No better man.
Either that or try The Shannon Key West Hotel in Rooskey. It's a bit further out but it's a beautiful setting overlooking the Shannon and the grub is top notch.
Ye may aswell make a weekend out of it :p
17/11/2004, 1:21 PM
Aye Frankie Kilbride will look after ye in The Park House in Edgeworthstown alright! No better man.
Either that or try The Shannon Key West Hotel in Rooskey. It's a bit further out but it's a beautiful setting overlooking the Shannon and the grub is top notch.
Ye may aswell make a weekend out of it :p
or pitch a tent at the back of the flansiro and play 5 a side with us on sunday morning :D
town73
17/11/2004, 1:28 PM
Here's a link to the full list on the Longford tourism website:
http://www.longford.ie/tourism/accommodation.asp
Don't think the hostel is still open. Think it may be converted into apartments AKIK.
Richmond Inn in Clondra is a couple of miles out the Strokestown Road, past the ground. Tarmonbarry is just over the Shannon and beside Clondra, further half mile down the road.
It wont cost 40 euro anyway, fifteen or twenty at the very max it's only about six miles out. Try newtownforbes maybe, that's about three miles out of town, im sure there's a b n b somewhere
It's €12 in for me coming in seven miles so shouldn't be more than €15 even allowing for a drogs surcharge....
17/11/2004, 2:56 PM
are sheep extra ????
missfootie
17/11/2004, 3:03 PM
Try McPartlands in Clondra.... Town supporters grate crack and good grud it might be a bit out of town but not as far as Edgewortstown. Worth a try neway....
Booked that hotel in edgewardstown. Cheers lads.
now to more important matters. Pubs/ nightclubs for different moods.
3 matches on the box from saturday midday - wheres the best spot to watch the footie?
Prematch pints - i like the valentine - any other decent spots?
How the f_-k do you lot get back into town after match? Seems like a good walk!!
Postmatch:
- any decent pubs on a saturday night??
Nightclubs:
- presume they're pretty 'relaxed' ie no bull like 'they're not proper shoes' etc.
Depending on our mood we need to know:
- nightclub with nice (and ahem, easy) birds? ;)
- best nightclub in town?
- chilled out nightclub?
17/11/2004, 4:25 PM
You have two nightclubs to choose from on Saturday, Blazers and Blue, both are fairly easy going, no dress code rubbish, alot of Town fans will be in Blue I'd say as the end of season do is on in that bar/club (PV'S)..Blazers is the biger of the two clubs, that's in the Longford Arms.Decent footie pubs..Valentine's, maybe Eamon Farrells, the Tally Ho is a real soccer pub. big LTFC pub, fairly small though..On weekends pubs are all busy mainly the Market Bar, Eamons PV's and Valentines, also Escabar and John Joe's of course, Section O HQ!..As for geting back in to town, most get lifts as there's always cars heading back in, m sure some of ye're lot will be on buses or have room for ye to get into town
Sinéad
17/11/2004, 4:52 PM
I think it might be worth pointing out that they don't allow runners in Blazers - as far as I know, I stand to be corrected though!
town73
17/11/2004, 5:12 PM
The best places to watch footie in Longford are Eamon Farrell's and Tally Ho. Eamon's will have a crowd and a big screen.
Tally Ho is for those who prefer the quality pint of Guinness in comfort (cracking pint). They'll have the games on and, like Eamons, should have the sound turned up for soccer. I would say it's a bit like Clarke's pub in Drogheda (I think that's the name of it), but without the partitions. You might have competition for horse racing in
There's a bookies in between the two pubs for those that like a punt (Bruce's).
For pre-match pints, there'll be a few Town fans in Tally Ho and Valentines, possibly.
Not advisable to walk. Getting back into town after the match can be tricky. You could try booking a taxi. There are a few usually parked outside picking up people who have booked. Nevins 086 2595690.
Pubs on a Saturday night - Eamons, Valentines and PVs.
Post match PVs will be the place to go. The nightclub Blue is adjoined to PVs, while Blazers is down the town, in behind the Longford Arms Hotel. Gets a younger crowd, AFAIK, haven't been there in a while.
18/11/2004, 12:35 AM
I think it might be worth pointing out that they don't allow runners in Blazers - as far as I know, I stand to be corrected though!
Consider yourself corrected Sinead! :) They allow them since Blue opened, allowing runners, last couple of times I went I wandered down with runners on, no bother.
18/11/2004, 12:38 AM
plus to discriminate ( yeah yeah i spelled it wrong) on such grounds is illegal and wouldn't it be nice if they were pulled up on it :D
18/11/2004, 12:39 AM
No, you actually spelt it right for once!!
18/11/2004, 12:41 AM
ok, post correct spelling celebration drinks on sat night in town :)
Consider yourself corrected Sinead! :) They allow them since Blue opened, allowing runners, last couple of times I went I wandered down with runners on, no bother.
Yeah, there went my "excuse" for not going in.... :(
Right, good stuff lads and cheers for the info!!!
Did drogs fans get sorted last sat or did many just come down anyways?
We thankfully missed the 11 o clock bus, so went for a few pints while waiting for the 1 o clock bus, phone call at around 1210, 'Match off' - suited us as we were getting comfortable in the pub, and just went out on the lash in our drogs gear, scarves and all and stumbled back home at 4 am!!
Couldnt scab a lift for tonights match unfortunately :mad:
Bosco
22/11/2004, 10:02 PM
Was dissapointed to see no drogs fans present tonight.Last game of the season and all that
23/11/2004, 1:24 AM
I saw two or three with Drogs gear on, not much more than that present as far as I could tell by the clapping for their goal although I think some Longford heads appreciated the quality of it nonetheless ..Can we take Myler please we need someone who is an out and out finisher, mind you the Eric Lavine impersonator's been alright lately ;)
mind you the Eric Lavine impersonator's been alright lately ;)
As a matter of interest is Lavines contract up? :rolleyes:
23/11/2004, 12:54 PM
Think he has one more season, but there was something about his contract being suspended and up for review at the end of the season when he was acting up earlier this season..depends how badly they want rid of him or not I suppose, he was very good last night to give him his due
Hmmm, it's all very well him doing well now when it doesn't fookin matter.
23/11/2004, 1:28 PM
True but at least he's showing he can finish again, his second was an excellent goal. Great pass for Keegan's goal too.
23/11/2004, 1:32 PM
True but at least he's showing he can finish again, his second was an excellent goal. Great pass for Keegan's goal too.
i was down on eric earlier in the season but he is a good squad asset, experience alone....he made both goals in the cup final and started the rot against shels.....he works so so hard, he made baker look good with the amount of running he does.
i'd give him another yr, that is unless he wants to leave, which he said he doesn't.