View Full Version : Player's salaries

kingcolers
16/11/2004, 12:56 PM
it's probably rude of me to ask, but does anybody know how much the players get paid and/or how much the yearly wage bill is? does th eclub publish details about turnover and all that sort of thing?

i've heard that george and a few others are getting close to 2K a week. is it true? fair play to them if it is. the quality is so much better than it used to be. but i wonder if it is sustainable....

16/11/2004, 12:59 PM
I don 't think its published and I think that there are a lot of rumours flying around most of which are groundless.

Fair_play_boy
16/11/2004, 5:20 PM
One of the Dublin papers (Times or Indo) stated that Fenn, Georgie and Danny are each on €1,900 a week plus car. Uh-oh, that means we just blew the guts of €300,000 on two bench warmers and a whinger! :eek:

Only messin. :D

harry crumb
16/11/2004, 5:24 PM
Lets not start a page guessing what the players are earning. It stinks of Bohs fans and their singling out players that are getting high wages.

Bottom line is that these people are pro sportsmen and have short careers so they are different to the normal joe.

16/11/2004, 5:35 PM
so they are different to the normal joe.

what do you think of that joe?
normal eh.. i dont think so :)

Fair_play_boy
16/11/2004, 5:40 PM
I donno Harry.
We (the supporters) pay a lot of their wages, so we are stake holders.
Also, can't we discuss their wages in a positive way? I think the wages quoted above are about right. I support the club paying the players well, not just for the reason you say, but because I want to see quality games for my €10.
Anyway, it is not like they are comparable with other types of employment. The more a player earns, the more it is in the public domain, whether that is a good thing or not.

17/11/2004, 7:26 AM
NOBODY here knows what any player earns. Anything said is idle speculation and pointless.

17/11/2004, 7:53 AM
Bottom line is that these people are pro sportsmen and have short careers so they are different to the normal joe.

Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe.

17/11/2004, 7:58 AM
it's probably rude of me to ask, but does anybody know how much the players get paid and/or how much the yearly wage bill is? does th eclub publish details about turnover and all that sort of thing?

i've heard that george and a few others are getting close to 2K a week. is it true? fair play to them if it is. the quality is so much better than it used to be. but i wonder if it is sustainable....

would tell somebody that u dont know, what ur wage packet was?. whatever the players earn is their own business and i wouldnt begrudge them one cent of it

kingcolers
17/11/2004, 8:08 AM
i've no problem with the players earning good money. as i said, fair play to them. the more money they earn, the better the quality, etc. it's great that we can afford to keep decent players and offer a viable alternative to going to england.

i'm just curious: with 16 full-time professionals, 3 of which are on supposedly 1900 a week, the wage bill could be pushing 1million a year. brian must be selling a lot of chips...long may it last.

jimhacker
17/11/2004, 8:10 AM
What is it with Joe.........he's either ordinary, normal, or rejoices in the surname of Soap!

observer
17/11/2004, 9:41 AM
Comparing the wages of a footballer with an ordinary "Joe" you have to take into account that Joe is usually in a job/career which will in most cases last until he retires. Many footballers have either no other job or part time work which leaves them in a dodgy situation once they reach 30 years of age and the legs start to go. Looking for a fulltime job at that stage is not easy.
The best of luck to them in the meantime.

BeerBaron69
17/11/2004, 10:00 AM
would tell somebody that u dont know, what ur wage packet was?. whatever the players earn is their own business and i wouldnt begrudge them one cent of it

Here Here. Its a private matter and I think we should be more concerned with Friday night cos if the lads win the league then they'll be after proving they are worth every last cent

17/11/2004, 10:03 AM
Comparing the wages of a footballer with ordinary Joe you have to take into account that Joe is usually in a job/career which will in most cases last until he retires.Now, now, now, Joe is in a quality job, and does quality work. A worker of the highest quality is our Joe, in fact......:D

Btw, Joe seems to be a very popular topic of converstion these days...
It must be great to be a Trend-setter, Joe......

kevincronin2000
17/11/2004, 10:20 AM
Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe.

and casinos $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ ;)

yan
17/11/2004, 11:24 AM
Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe

Razor,

dont let your cousin hear you say that!! :D

Yoda01
17/11/2004, 11:31 AM
fact, those 3 players aren't earning any where near €1900.

17/11/2004, 12:12 PM
One of the Dublin papers (Times or Indo) stated that Fenn, Georgie and Danny are each on €1,900 a week plus car.

I'll tell you now that the fact of the matter is that nobody in the City squad earns anything like 1900 a week.
As for the car, don't make me laugh!

Lads don't post that players are earning x amount unless you know for sure. By saying they are earning such excessive amounts, you're only giving the begrudgers an excuse to abuse them if things ever start to go wrong.

17/11/2004, 12:21 PM
Anything said is idle speculation and pointless.

Isn't that what Internet message boards are for? :confused: :)

17/11/2004, 12:27 PM
Razor,

dont let your cousin hear you say that!! :D
And don't u be tellin her either. ;)

kingcolers
17/11/2004, 12:32 PM
I'll tell you now that the fact of the matter is that nobody in the City squad earns anything like 1900 a week.
As for the car, don't make me laugh!

Lads don't post that players are earning x amount unless you know for sure. By saying they are earning such excessive amounts, you're only giving the begrudgers an excuse to abuse them if things ever start to go wrong.

i never meant to be fuelling the begrudgers. in fact i HOPE the players earn good money, cuz they deserve it and it would ensure they'd stay here. but i was surprised when somebody mentioned the 1900 figure.

still, i think it's a fair question to ask. the club seems to be very well run. how much it spends on salaries, how much it earns on gate receipts, etc are just basic indicators of how it's doing financially. supporters have an interest in knowing this, right?

17/11/2004, 12:59 PM
Isn't that what Internet message boards are for? :confused: :)Exactly....so everything said is completely untrue....:D

citycity
17/11/2004, 4:03 PM
whats the problem with knowing players wages???

17/11/2004, 4:21 PM
whats the problem with knowing players wages???
would you want everyone knowing your wages and you private life?

18/11/2004, 10:56 AM
would you want everyone knowing your wages and you private life?

While I don't necessarily agree that players wages should be made public at the request of anybody I don't players can hide behind privacy either - theirs' is not a private job really so that doesn't really wash with me though I agree with your basic point.

I would like to see clubs release annual total wage bills though, pure nosiness on my part I'll cheerfully admit, but won't be holding my breath. :D