View Full Version : john delaney sing song

delboyderis
26/11/2014, 10:37 PM
What do ye think of the carry on of john delaney in the bath bar recently singing a rebel song?

26/11/2014, 10:42 PM
Hadn't heard about it tbh. Was he any good?

26/11/2014, 11:03 PM
Was a sing song in a pub. To be honest I couldn't care less what songs he sings. His wages, total lack of respect for his own league, the fact he keeps giving himself new contracts despite the FAI continually finding themselves in trouble and the mess that is Irish football in general are what would worry me a lot more.

26/11/2014, 11:24 PM
His wages, total lack of respect for his own league, the fact he keeps giving himself new contracts despite the FAI continually finding themselves in trouble and the mess that is Irish football in general are what would worry me a lot more.

All of this and his nievety to think that this sort of thing wouldnt happen, the initial denial, legal bullyboy threats to media, the use of his partner as a deflection strategy, and then the apology for something he didnt think he needed to apologise for. An embaressing episode for him and obviously not the shrewd operator i thought he was. He should sack his publiist as he is now disliked far beyond League and National team supporters..St John indeed..:rolleyes:

Pablo Escobar
26/11/2014, 11:27 PM
His denial of the truth, then admitting it happened but blaming the person that posted it on YouTube and then his vote of confidence in himself tonight. He should walk for this. The FAI cannot be seen to be anyway sectarian.

27/11/2014, 12:32 AM
Was a sing song in a pub. To be honest I couldn't care less what songs he sings. His wages, total lack of respect for his own league, the fact he keeps giving himself new contracts despite the FAI continually finding themselves in trouble and the mess that is Irish football in general are what would worry me a lot more.
He doesn't give himself new contracts. The fully-independent 10-man board give him the contracts. There is even a president of the board, he issued a statement and everything. Obviously we all know his name due to him being a high-profile figure in Irish sport so there's no need for me to say it here.

27/11/2014, 1:50 AM
Actually went on checked there out of curiosity:

The Board of Management comprises of ten members: the President (Tony Fitzgerald), Vice President (Donal Conway), Honorary Secretary (Michael Cody), Honorary Treasurer (Eddie Murray), Chief Executive (John Delaney), and the six chairpersons of the Development, International (Milo Corcoran), Domestic (Jim McConnell), League of Ireland (Eamon Naughton), Legal/Corporate (Pariac Treanor) and Underage (Tim Fitzgerald) committees. The Finance committee is represented by the Honorary Treasurer rather than selecting a chairperson.

:bulgy:

It is clear to me now that John only looms so large because he is standing on the shoulders of GIANTS.

On an aside, when was Franco Gavin purged??

27/11/2014, 2:01 AM
Was Gavin ever on the FAI board? He's on the League board alright.

gufcfan
27/11/2014, 3:33 AM
Was Gavin ever on the FAI board? He's on the League board alright.

FAI Competitions Director

delboyderis
27/11/2014, 9:05 AM
Its easy for john delaney to be singing in pubs when he is 360,000 euro which doesnt include his expenses.that kind of money for the head of the fai is a disgrace.he should only be on 100k.god only knows what the head guys in the fai are on?they are a joke when it comes to promoting or making the loi a better league.lining their own pockets i think.

disgruntled
27/11/2014, 9:11 AM

The Board of Management comprises of ten members: the President (Tony Fitzgerald), Vice President (Donal Conway), Honorary Secretary (Michael Cody), Honorary Treasurer (Eddie Murray), Chief Executive (John Delaney), and the six chairpersons of the Development, International (Milo Corcoran), Domestic (Jim McConnell), League of Ireland (Eamon Naughton), Legal/Corporate (Pariac Treanor) and Underage (Tim Fitzgerald) committees. The Finance committee is represented by the Honorary Treasurer rather than selecting a chairperson.

It is clear to me now that John only looms so large because he is standing on the shoulders of GIANTS.

On an aside, when was Franco Gavin purged??

Shoulders of Muppets more like led by the great Gonzo.
No wonder Blatter was laughing at us.
We must look a complete joke.

disgruntled
27/11/2014, 9:17 AM
Statement from Tony Fitzgerald on behalf of FAI Board
Tony Fitzgerald, President of the Football Association of Ireland spoke this evening on behalf of the FAI Board in relation to John Delaney,
26th Nov 2014
“Following recent coverage of the cyber bullying of his partner Emma and the fact that John has publicly apologised if he offended anyone for singing the nationalist song in question, we are happy to bring the matter to a close.
“The Board is more than pleased with the way John Delaney is running the Association. He has done an enormous amount for Irish football. In the past year alone the winning of EURO 2020 bid for Dublin adds to a number of very important developments he has helped oversee during his tenure. We recently awarded him a contract extension to 2020 and he is fully deserving of that.”

Sorry for saying it but what a load of old s*i*e.

GypsyBlackCat
27/11/2014, 9:31 AM
We live in a politically correct world now, so a song like Joe McDonnell would be seen as offence ( one man's freedom fighter is another man's terrorist etc.) If he wants to be one of the lads and sing IRA songs that fine. BUT he's the CEO of FAI! His job is to build bridges with other associations and groups around Ireland, Europe and the world. He made himself the face of Irish football btw.

This latest saga is just another big black mark on John the Baptist CV!

27/11/2014, 9:39 AM

On an aside, when was Franco Gavin purged??was it these same ten people who got the benefit of the 5 year extension to the blazer retirement age from 70 to 75?

Nothing like Sepp Blatter's job for life at all like.

delboyderis
27/11/2014, 9:51 AM
Sepp blatter should be sent off to a nursing home.i dont know how he is still head honcho in fifa?a bit like john delaney at the fai i think.they are all rotten to the core im afraid.

GypsyBlackCat
27/11/2014, 10:02 AM
Sepp blatter should be sent off to a nursing home.i dont know how he is still head honcho in fifa?a bit like john delaney at the fai i think.they are all rotten to the core im afraid.

No one will challegne Blatter at FIFA just like no one will challenge Delaney at the FAI. They've got their buddies and ar*elickers around them. Anyone who does try will knocked back into place.

White Horse
27/11/2014, 10:03 AM
We live in a politically correct world now, so a song like Joe McDonnell would be seen as offence ( one man's freedom fighter is another man's terrorist etc.) If he wants to be one of the lads and sing IRA songs that fine. BUT he's the CEO of FAI! His job is to build bridges with other associations and groups around Ireland, Europe and the world. He made himself the face of Irish football btw.

This latest saga is just another big black mark on John the Baptist CV!

What would be the reaction to an IFA official filmed in an East Belbast pub (the press would probably call it a "drinking den") signing a song lauding the Shankhill Butchers?

Would internet posters do an Alf Garnett and say that criticism was "political correctness gone mad"?

GypsyBlackCat
27/11/2014, 10:33 AM
What would be the reaction to an IFA official filmed in an East Belbast pub (the press would probably call it a "drinking den") signing a song lauding the Shankhill Butchers?

Would internet posters do an Alf Garnett and say that criticism was "political correctness gone mad"?

I remember back in 2000 a Rangers CEO was had to resign because he was filmed singing the Sash and Follow Follow at a Rangers SC benefit night. Rangers themselves said he had no other option bit to resign.

BTW, I'm sorry if my post sound like a "political correctness gone mad" rant. What I meant is a song like that isn't acceptable in this day and age and Delaney knew that. Hence all the cover ups, lies and playing the victim.

ger121
27/11/2014, 10:56 AM
Looking at that list,I remember the ghost man Naughton. You know that he might exist but proof of his existence is hard to come by. Bar the odd article in the Ireland programme, what has he actually done?

El-Pietro
27/11/2014, 10:59 AM
Again we are focusing on the wrong issues. John Delaney is the biggest problem in Irish football right now and it is not because of a song.

redobit
27/11/2014, 11:24 AM
Again we are focusing on the wrong issues. John Delaney is the biggest problem in Irish football right now and it is not because of a song.

I know what you're saying El-P. But that's cause you look at it from a football/ LOI standpoint. We know his bull**** but most don't and will focus is on the song. Personally I couldn't care less about an auld RA song. But, and I suppose this will be the main point, hopefully it will be his downfall. Especially considering all the lies and legal threats he has used surrounding it. Probably the best chance of him walking will be cause of the song rather than football issues.

DannyInvincible
27/11/2014, 11:33 AM
I remember back in 2000 a Rangers CEO was had to resign because he was filmed singing the Sash and Follow Follow at a Rangers SC benefit night. Rangers themselves said he had no other option bit to resign.

'The Sash' isn't remotely nasty and I don't think you could say there's anything inherently offensive about it. 'Follow Follow', with insulting references to the Pope and the Vatican included, is in another bracket though.

It's not like Delaney was shouting "f*ck the prods" or "Brits out", but singing a political song in public that has the potential to stir a frenzy of outrage (whether legitimate or exaggerated) is simply ill-judged and reckless. Another example of his lack of fitness for the role amongst many. It's bad publicity, bad for diplomacy and it's embarrassing for the FAI. He can sing what he likes in private, but he should have known not to tread there in a busy public house full of Ireland fans around the corner from Lansdowne Road immediately after an Ireland game. And he can deny it was public all he likes, but it's just a charade and people can see through it. How does the public spotlight feel now, John?

DannyInvincible
27/11/2014, 11:35 AM
I know what you're saying El-P. But that's cause you look at it from a football/ LOI standpoint. We know his bull**** but most don't and will focus is on the song. Personally I couldn't care less about an auld RA song. But, and I suppose this will be the main point, hopefully it will be his downfall. Especially considering all the lies and legal threats he has used surrounding it. Probably the best chance of him walking will be cause of the song rather than football issues.

It's a shame that's the case; that he can't be confronted and ousted over the serious issues. If this is his downfall, so be it, although I think he's dodged the bullet. He's utilised the emotional smokescreen to perfection.

Paddyfield
27/11/2014, 11:42 AM
Irish man sings Irish song in Ireland.

Yossarian
27/11/2014, 11:43 AM
It seems to me that the big issue with this particular incident is not the singing of the song, which was ill judged, but the fact that lawyers were threatening numerous media outlets and had stated that it wasn't Delaney in the video only for him to then confirm it was him and blame confusion on "third parties". Surely this is the major concern with the whole story.

27/11/2014, 11:55 AM
Irish man sings Irish song in Ireland.

Irish man sings Republican song in Ireland.

Whether people like it or not, the song is about a Hunger Striker, not about Ireland. An example of an Irish song is Whiskey in the Jar. Republican songs don't represent the population of Ireland, contrary to belief.

What Delaney does in his own spare time is his own business. But standing up in front of a packed pub of strangers singing republican ballads while hammered drunk is moronic for a man in his position. He gets away with this sort of idiotic behaviour time after time and it's mental.

ger121
27/11/2014, 1:32 PM

True but if this is the issue that eventually brings him down, will any of us really care. Many times it is the innocuous incidents that prove to be the fatal one.

delboyderis
27/11/2014, 3:12 PM
Thats true but i cant see him resigning?nobody in positions of power in this country ever resign unless they are pushed.look at the shower of muppets that we have had and still have in the dail.

redobit
27/11/2014, 4:02 PM
'The Sash' isn't remotely nasty and I don't think you could say there's anything inherently offensive about it. 'Follow Follow', with insulting references to the Pope and the Vatican included, is in another bracket though.

It's not like Delaney was shouting "f*ck the prods" or "Brits out", but singing a political song in public that has the potential to stir a frenzy of outrage (whether legitimate or exaggerated) is simply ill-judged and reckless. Another example of his lack of fitness for the role amongst many. It's bad publicity, bad for diplomacy and it's embarrassing for the FAI. He can sing what he likes in private, but he should have known not to tread there in a busy public house full of Ireland fans around the corner from Lansdowne Road immediately after an Ireland game. And he can deny it was public all he likes, but it's just a charade and people can see through it. How does the public spotlight feel now, John?

Exactly. He thinks he's a celebrity. Well, he can deal with the bad side of that coin now.

Ezeikial
27/11/2014, 6:54 PM
Interesting to note that rte.ie did not allow any viewer comments on the article they published entitled
Delaney says legal warnings a 'misunderstanding'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/1125/662571-delany-issues-apology-amid-legal-warnings/

This follows a whopping 225 comments posted on the original article!

Coincidence? Or did the lawyers issue more threats?

27/11/2014, 8:56 PM
I'd say it's at least partly due to the fact that rte.ie are too stingy/lazy to bother getting anyone to moderate that many comments!

27/11/2014, 8:59 PM
Interesting to note that rte.ie did not allow any viewer comments on the article they published entitled
Delaney says legal warnings a 'misunderstanding'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/1125/662571-delany-issues-apology-amid-legal-warnings/

This follows a whopping 225 comments posted on the original article!

Coincidence? Or did the lawyers issue more threats?
I'd say so. It's becoming standard practice for online news to close comments on anything controversial, and it's all driven by legal threats. RTE tend to roll over more easily than most.

disgruntled
01/12/2014, 8:35 AM
Hadn't heard about it tbh. Was he any good?

He sounded like anyone else after a feed of drink :rolleyes-new:
What was even more embarrassing was the statement Blazer Fitzgerald the president of the FAI put out.

delboyderis
01/12/2014, 9:07 AM
Richard Sadlier wrote a good piece about the shennanigans with delaney and the fai in denying it was him.delaney should do the right thing and resign and take his muppets with him.they do nothing for the loi.its a nest egg for these guys.the money that delaney is on is a disgrace even in the celtic tiger era not too mind now.he earns more than the italian and spanish fa presidents put together for a mickey mouse association.

marinobohs
01/12/2014, 12:11 PM
Jeez, guys give it a break. I doubt anyone in the Bath Public House took the slightest offence at Dealneys musical 'efforts', or even noticed ! The faux outrage at this event is truly embarrassing.
Did Billy Bingham resign after 'conducting' the sash at Windsor ? did he hell as like

lots of reasons to dislike John Delaney but his drunken rendition of Joe McDonnell is not one of them.

Brusher
01/12/2014, 12:17 PM
I want JD out,but certainly not over a song ! But, even if he was to bite the bullet and go, does anybody honestly believe that the next guy in charge will treat the League any better ?

GypsyBlackCat
01/12/2014, 1:10 PM
Jeez, guys give it a break. I doubt anyone in the Bath Public House took the slightest offence at Dealneys musical 'efforts', or even noticed ! The faux outrage at this event is truly embarrassing.
Did Billy Bingham resign after 'conducting' the sash at Windsor ? did he hell as like

lots of reasons to dislike John Delaney but his drunken rendition of Joe McDonnell is not one of them.

It's not the song, it's his actions. Delaney and his buddies have made a big deal about the song and how poor John is the victim.

1. A song like Joe McDonnell splits opinion. So for someone in the public eye should stay clear of a song like that. (Even Gerry Adams wouldn't be as daft to see a Republican song in public!)
2. "It's a shame an Irish man can't sing an Irish song in public!" True. But it's a bigger shame to try and gag the press.
3. Denying it was him.
4. Treatening the Guardian, Telegragh, Irish Times and Balls.ie with legal action if they print and/or display the footage.
5. Claiming he was travelling at the time and mix-up with the legal treat was due to that.
6. Claiming he doesn't seek the limelight and this was done in a sly way. Even though JD loves his You Tube videos
7. Crying on the radio that his girlfriend is getting abuse on Twitter. But fails to mention his girlfriend is retweeting abuse about Emmet Malone.
8. That excuse of a letter.
9. Playing the victim. "Due to the cyber bullying......."

I think that's the real reason behind it. It just shows what kind of man he is.

01/12/2014, 1:14 PM

It is an addition to a growing list reasons to dislike him. The issue is his lack of judgement and the lies or attempted coverup after. He tried usual tactics and bully some media circles in to not reporting the incident they werent lying down to him so went in to damage limitation mode and aplogised. I dont give a damn about the song who Joe McDonnell is or those who are so easily outraged by it. I do care about football in this Country both league and international side and both are being held back by the short sighted arrgance of JD!

01/12/2014, 1:16 PM
It's not the song, it's his actions. Delaney and his buddies have made a big deal about the song and how poor John is the victim.

1. A song like Joe McDonnell splits opinion. So for someone in the public eye should stay clear of a song like that. (Even Gerry Adams wouldn't be as daft to see a Republican song in public!)
2. "It's a shame an Irish man can't sing an Irish song in public!" True. But it's a bigger shame to try and gag the press.
3. Denying it was him.
4. Treatening the Guardian, Telegragh, Irish Times and Balls.ie with legal action if they print and/or display the footage.
5. Claiming he was travelling at the time and mix-up with the legal treat was due to that.
6. Claiming he doesn't seek the limelight and this was done in a sly way. Even though JD loves his You Tube videos
7. Crying on the radio that his girlfriend is getting abuse on Twitter. But fails to mention his girlfriend is retweeting abuse about Emmet Malone.
8. That excuse of a letter.
9. Playing the victim. "Due to the cyber bullying......."

I think that's the real reason behind it. It just shows what kind of man he is.

Beat me to it.

01/12/2014, 3:46 PM
http://www.punditarena.com/football/irish-football/league-of-ireland/thepateam/exclusive-snapshot-john-delaneys-league-ireland-acheivements/

Had a nice chuckle at this.

wonder88
01/12/2014, 8:32 PM
The real issue is that the Irish Times put story about an Irish man singing (a rebel song) in a pub on its front page. It was in the 1970's that the boss of the Irish Times Trust reported to the British Embassy that he was worried that his editor was going native and turning into a white n..... Thankfully the standard at the Times have been restored, and we hope there is no more rebel songs heard in rugby pubs in Dublin 4.
However I would reduce dealaney's wages by 2/3 and make public the details of the re-finance deal on the debt on Landsdowne Road before i would have any confidence in him. Maybe the Irish Times could do some digging on this deal?

sullanefc
01/12/2014, 10:05 PM

He was also happy to have the Indo do a big write up on him and his new girlfriend while also appearing on The Saturday Night show with her. Doesn't seek the limelight my eye.