PDA

View Full Version : U2

Roo69
15/11/2004, 9:41 AM
Anyone else hear the track Tom Dunne played on today fm this morning from the new album ? QUALITY !

Can't wait for it to be released

max power
15/11/2004, 10:14 AM
got the aubum last week and quality is the lowest compliment i can give it...

conor i think the drums in U2 are one of their strongest points

Lionel Ritchie
15/11/2004, 10:53 AM
I think one of their strongest points is Larry Mullens drumming - straightforward tub-thumper who holds the line. I say that as a drummer myself -not claiming to be an authority mind you -just that you can pick out LMs drumming a mile away which I say as a compliment to the guy and I'm not even a U2 fan.
Never got them at all to be honest with ye. Think they're very over-rated and are given credit for innovating an awful lot of stuff they copied from other less popular acts who don't have the worlds ear.

ccfcman
15/11/2004, 11:22 AM
Vertigo is a grower alright ;)

Roo69
15/11/2004, 11:45 AM

It was a different song to Vertigo but that is class as well.

Dublin12
15/11/2004, 11:59 AM
I have massive respect for U2.It's very hard for a band to remain on top for that length of time and still come out with the music they are writing now.Bono is a fantastic song writer and a really intelligent guy,anywhere you go in the world they are well known and respected,and they never forget they are Irish either!!,fair play to them.

ccfcman
15/11/2004, 12:02 PM
I'd like to see a return to the edgier [pardon ze pun] of the 80s stuph, it was raw, their newer material doesnt do it for me, that said Vertigo is good, nice video too.

green goblin
15/11/2004, 12:44 PM
Boy George said something like "Bono sings he still doesn't know what he's looking for. Well try looking behind the drumkit, darling". :eek:
Showing my advanced years, but utterly I loved them in 1981 and haven't bothered with them since. 'Numb' was alright, mind.

the 12 th man
15/11/2004, 2:04 PM