View Full Version : YBIG Thread
liamoo11
10/10/2014, 6:39 AM
this story has 6 pages over on ybig! all the playstations round the country must be broken
<MOD EDIT BY tetsujin1979>
These posts were moved from the Cyrus Christie thread
johnnyc
10/10/2014, 12:38 PM
The refined regulars on here must be too busy with water charge related self immolation.
liamoo11
10/10/2014, 12:43 PM
The refined regulars on here must be too busy with water charge related self immolation.
the tread on ybig on this topic is close to incomprehensible
10/10/2014, 1:05 PM
you could apply that to most threads, the entire forum has been hijacked by about four or five users posting the same thing in every thread. I've all but abandoned it.
16/10/2014, 8:57 AM
you could apply that to most threads, the entire forum has been hijacked by about four or five users posting the same thing in every thread. I've all but abandoned it.
I've stopped using it. I'm able to pick out a bargain on flights and accomodation, and I can read maps, so I'm sorted. There are quite a few good lads involved, but its success will be it's downfall, because from what I've seen, the proportion of absolute bell-ends is growing.
This is the site for discussing Irish football, and by a country mile.
18/10/2014, 3:18 PM
Yup. I tried years ago to get into the swing of things but the level of discourse is on such a low pegging given what we have here it made little sense.
It's no surprise that all of us regulars here remain here constantly.
I've stopped using it. I'm able to pick out a bargain on flights and accomodation, and I can read maps, so I'm sorted. There are quite a few good lads involved, but its success will be it's downfall, because from what I've seen, the proportion of absolute bell-ends is growing.
This is the site for discussing Irish football, and by a country mile.
I tried to click on that "the". Damn you.
18/10/2014, 3:54 PM
What maddens me about YBIG is that I know about 5 of the regulars there relatively well, and about 3 of them extremely well, one of whom is my son's godfather. They guys I know well are very very smart fellas who don't get dragged into the whole British game thing, they could hold a decent conversation about world football, yet when they get onto that site, they turn into mongos. It's madness.
Also, Bonnie, mwhahahaha!
Olé Olé
18/10/2014, 5:31 PM
Lads, this whole ybig.ie thing got me interested in checking it out. First thread I clicked into was about Cyrus Christie. One poster posted the following. I'm still in a state of shock:
I've been looking for what the exact Irish connection is. Anyone know ?
I'm guessing Irish Granny, as if it was a parent it would be much more obvious in the reports (like Jack Grealish with his Irish Father)
One thing I have noticed with all the black lads who have played for us is that all seem to be the product of Irish women (mothers/Grandmothers) and black men. Always found that strange that its rarely the other way around. Irish birds seem to love the black lads http://www.ybig.ie/forum/smileys/smiley36.gif
I was expecting widespread condemnation of that. Instead, I see the response by someone is to replace the last word (lads) with the word "c*ck."
I'm still in shock.
18/10/2014, 5:51 PM
Ad that's why we stay here. Unacceptable.
18/10/2014, 6:43 PM
Ad that's why we stay here. Unacceptable.
You mean, you needed a reason to stay here?
That you would have gone,vamoosed, but found out the discussion world grass was not any greener elsewhere?
18/10/2014, 8:28 PM
You mean, you needed a reason to stay here?
That you would have gone,vamoosed, but found out the discussion world grass was not any greener elsewhere?
Of course, but then the Stockholm Syndrome struck and now that's that.
18/10/2014, 8:33 PM
Stockholm Syndrome.is that when a very good away draw against a good team becomes either a bad result or gets exaggeratedly upgraded to a super result to make a point in someone's imagination?
18/10/2014, 9:44 PM
is that when a very good away draw against a good team becomes either a bad result or gets exaggeratedly upgraded to a super result to make a point in someone's imagination?
I would have called that the Stockholm Disease.
18/10/2014, 9:47 PM
Lads, this whole ybig.ie thing got me interested in checking it out. First thread I clicked into was about Cyrus Christie. One poster posted the following. I'm still in a state of shock:
I was expecting widespread condemnation of that. Instead, I see the response by someone is to replace the last word (lads) with the word "c*ck."
I'm still in shock.
Good to see Joe Brolly getting to grips with the internet.
The Fly
19/10/2014, 12:58 AM
I'm still in shock.
You're in a state of shock?
19/10/2014, 11:28 AM
Spinning this discussion out into its own thread
ArdeeBhoy
19/10/2014, 11:35 AM
Nothing wrong with a bit of 'both' IMO.
Junior
20/10/2014, 9:02 AM
Ardeebhoy swings both ways? errr....$hit...what I have done - wrong MB. whoops. Wheres delete post?
20/10/2014, 12:17 PM
I go on YBIG a bit. The 'away' section is useful to an extent for organising travel, getting tips, etc. It's definitely got worse recently though. Get out the Germany away travel thread. A third of the posts are asking what the craic in the Irish pub will be, another third asking how to get from A to B (never heard of a train website, I assume). You get the odd decent post, but it can be tedious trawling through the crap.
Most of the people on there are clueless, as Kingdom said, YBIG's success is their downfall.
ArdeeBhoy
20/10/2014, 10:01 PM
Ardeebhoy swings both ways? errr....$hit...what I have done - wrong MB. whoops. Wheres delete post?
And so you should. You know a few heads from there!
:wink:
Yes, lot of cr*p on there, but given there's only about 20 active posters on this part of foot.ie, we shouldn't get too smug...
27/10/2014, 2:50 AM
Quality over quantity. And Paul counts as at least 5 posters.
ArdeeBhoy
28/10/2014, 10:53 AM
5 posters? On here. Surely not...
28/10/2014, 11:33 AM
This thread smacks of Foot.ie self-effacing ** :rolleyes:..... a bt too self congratulatory.
I don't post on ybig, well I do but its very rare, but i have no interest in saying how great you all are here either or this site is.
28/10/2014, 11:37 AM
This thread smacks of Foot.ie self-effacing ** :rolleyes:..... a big too self congratulatory.
I don't post on ybig, well I do but its very rare, but i have no interest in saying how great you all are here either or this site is.
Well I'm glad you came in here to tell us that. We can all rest easy now. Paul is now aware of our existence people. :)
YBIG is an omnishambles.
29/10/2014, 7:49 PM
This thread smacks of Foot.ie self-effacing ** :rolleyes:..... a bt too self congratulatory.
I don't post on ybig, well I do but its very rare, but i have no interest in saying how great you all are here either or this site is.but what about your friends who agree with you, do they post on YBIG?
29/10/2014, 9:29 PM
No one agrees with me tets....haven't ye noticed ;) at least the ones who post on the Internet anyway ; )
Claret Murph
21/01/2015, 2:29 PM
Hi lads , now been a while i must say so did think i would come on to see what cooking as they say .
:cool: