View Full Version : Germany V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 14th October 2014 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

13/10/2014, 3:27 PM
Kramer to miss out for Germany with a stomach virus: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2014/1013/651963-kramer-ruled-out-for-germany/
Bellarabi to start

Jovial Rambler
13/10/2014, 3:55 PM
Germany are missing so many key players, and although they may have 'equally talented' replacements, their lack of experience of competitive international football is a big plus for us.
Also, many of these replacements will not have played together, or played in Low's system, too often.
Given our morale after our opening six points, i feel we have an opportunity to take our best game to Germany and come away with a result.
i'll be gutted if we try to shut up shop with 20/30mins to go and concede an injury time goal...again.

13/10/2014, 4:45 PM
i'll be gutted if we try to shut up shop with 20/30mins to go and concede an injury time goal...again.

That goes without saying unless they had got 3 or 4 before that.

We've done ok in our recent visits to Germany without coming away with anything. Even Stan's boys put in a dogged performance. Travel in hope but fear the worst. Players may be out but will new boys not be trying to impress? Nearly all will still be playing for top clubs. Most important absence Schweinsteiger. Delighted he's out. Gives me a smidgen of hope but no more.

In all the away games, not including tournaments, I have been to over the years, I am trying to thinks of wins (Malta and Latvia (under Jack). God, there must be more I was at. I had booked to go to Lithuania but couldn't make it. Lots of excellent draws but wins ? Hmmmm. Haven't been to many of the games in the former Soviet Republics where we've done well of late.

As I say, travel in hope and fear the worst.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 9:51 AM
I'm kind of expecting this to be the team. If he is doesn't go with Hoolahan, I presume Gibson will start instead with Quinn further forward (on paper at least).

----------------Forde----------------

Meyler-----O'Shea----Wilson-----Ward

----------Quinn------Whelan---------

---Walters---Hoolahan----McGeady---

--------------Keane------------------

Duggie
14/10/2014, 10:16 AM
I'm kind of expecting this to be the team. If he is doesn't go with Hoolahan, I presume Gibson will start instead with Quinn further forward (on paper at least).

----------------Forde----------------

Meyler-----O'Shea----Wilson-----Ward

----------Quinn------Whelan---------

---Walters---Hoolahan----McGeady---

--------------Keane------------------

thats exactly the team i'm hoping for except Long for Walters. Surely Long is a better option on the wing than Walters. Why do you think he may go for Walters? I'm not saying he won't by the way!

14/10/2014, 10:22 AM
I've been thinking of some calamity that Germany had in Schalke before, and I've been wracking my brain all week. It was in the Schalke Arena that they bottled automatic qualification for WC2002. They battered Finland but couldn't score, which allowed England to qualify automatically.
I'll take a 0-0 right here, right now.

Philly
14/10/2014, 10:42 AM
Our weak link seems to be right back, I really think Germany will try make that count. Meyler is quite inexperienced there. I'd expect Hoolahan to come on as a sub rather than start. O'Neill seems to have being managing expectations around him and again said he's great at home (as opposed to away games). I think Quinn will get the nod.

Pretty excited now I have to admit. I'm going for a draw. Germany have a lot of injuries and inexperienced players, and we're on something of a high. Fingers crossed :)

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 10:53 AM
thats exactly the team i'm hoping for except Long for Walters. Surely Long is a better option on the wing than Walters. Why do you think he may go for Walters? I'm not saying he won't by the way!

I just think he'll go with the general perception that Walters will offer more from a defensive point of view. If Hoolahan and McGeady both start he might see Walters as a necessary physical presence. I'm not saying that is right or wrong. I think there may be one surprise and, to be honest, that's why I've included Hoolahan.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 10:56 AM
It was in the Schalke Arena that they bottled automatic qualification for WC2002. They battered Finland but couldn't score, which allowed England to qualify automatically.

Not quite as traumatic as our own Gelsenkirchen experience.

14/10/2014, 11:16 AM
Schuerrle ruled out with a cold: http://www.dfb.de/en/news/detail/andre-schuerrle-sidelined-108007/

Roberto
14/10/2014, 11:19 AM
Cold :confused:. I regularly played with a cold and a hangover in my day.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 11:36 AM
Sterling tired, Schurrle with his sniffly nose, they don't make them like the used to. Jaysus. We'll take it though, he has the potential to change a game, especially from the bench.

14/10/2014, 11:38 AM
Sterling tired, Schurrle with his sniffly nose, they don't make them like the used to. Jaysus. We'll take it though, he has the potential to change a game, especially from the bench.
Who's left to be taken out?

The Schurrle omission strikes me of German ego.

DannyInvincible
14/10/2014, 11:59 AM
Not sure if it's educated guessing or if they have some inside info, but BBC Sport saying Walters "set/expected to" start: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/29506564

Stoke striker Jon Walters is set to return to the Republic of Ireland team for Tuesday's Euro 2016 qualifier against Germany in Gelsenkirchen.

The 31-year-old is expected to be part of a more combative Republic team following the 7-0 rout of Gibraltar.

Wes Hoolahan, Jeff Hendrick and James McClean could be out of the side while Stephen Quinn and Glenn Whelan could return for the Group D clash.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 12:04 PM
Doubt they know any more than ourselves.

zero
14/10/2014, 12:16 PM
Doubt they know any more than ourselves.

i fear for TOWK if walters gets the nod. i fear for us all, really.

Real ale Madrid
14/10/2014, 12:29 PM
Scotland gave Germany a right chasing for a while last month. Poland beat them a few days ago, we really need to step up now and put in a performance. This is a shadow German side in comparision to thier World Cup team so I'm expecting us to be competitive at least.

I'd go with a similar team to the above with the likes of Long and McClean to come off the bench and have a right go.

14/10/2014, 12:37 PM
expected German lineup: https://twitter.com/Cnyari/statuses/521999127442624512

Expected Germany XI vs Ireland: Neuer - Rüdiger, Boateng, Hummels, Durm - Kroos, Rudy - Bellarabi, Götze, Draxler - Müller

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 12:38 PM
I actually forgot about McClean, he could start him instead of Hoolahan and put McGeady central. Hope not though.

14/10/2014, 12:41 PM
Poland beat them a few days ago, we really need to step up now and put in a performance. This is a shadow German side in comparision to thier World Cup team

didn't germany start with 8 of their WC final team on sat? 8 out of 11 hardly suggests a shadow team.

Poland scored both their chances while Germany missed some great chances with the polish GK having a stormer. I wouldn't read too much into Sats Poland result as germany dominated the game.

14/10/2014, 12:48 PM
..........Forde
Meyler JOSH Wilson Ward
........Whelan Gibson
.........Hoolahan
McGeady...Long...McClean

*although its touch and go between Lond and Keane, given how tuned in Keane and Wes were to each other(

Is what I|d go for. I prefer KW in nets but Forde has to start given he started last weekend.

I think ONeill will pick the same except

........Quinn
Walters..Keane..McGeady

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 1:18 PM
Bail that out u f**kers!!! (http://balls.ie/football/theres-an-incredible-comment-on-the-youtube-page-for-robbie-keanes-goal-v-germany-at-the-02-world-cup/)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIexE4B1GHY

KK77
14/10/2014, 3:21 PM
Germany manager, Joachim Löw, has claimed that his squad are playing too much club football and were not allowed enough rest following their World Cup triumph in July.

Julian Draxler, who is expected to replace Cristoph Kramer for Germany’s game against the Republic of Ireland on Tuesday night, told Löw before Saturday’s game against Poland that he did not feel fit enough to play the entire 90 minutes. He replaced Kramer in the second-half of the 2-0 defeat, while Toni Kroos complained afterwards about the schedule being “clearly too full”.

“The load on players is too high,” Löw said. “The high demands on teams in national leagues and of course the Champions League – it’s too much. If you look at the players, they need more of a break. Some players only get as little as three weeks after a major tournament and it’s straight back to the grind. Many of the players who are with us now, if you analyse their situation they have too short a break before they are reintegrated into their clubs in pre-season. It’s simply not enough.

“Maybe it doesn’t make a difference over one particular season but it certainly does over several. I agree with Toni Kroos: some of my players play too much.”

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 3:31 PM
Schurrle out now.

If we can't get a result against Germany tonight, or at least give a good account of ourselves, we never will.

We're never going to get a better chance. It's just a crying shame that Coleman, and McCarthy in particular, are out - the latter for little or no reason.

The manager has to make the right decisions now. Walters & Keane shouldn't be starting. The former in particular would be more useful sprung off the bench with 25 minutes to go and trying to close out a result, instead of being so negative and starting him with a view to a damage limitation exercise.

KK77
14/10/2014, 3:41 PM
Schurrle out now.

If we can't get a result against Germany tonight, or at least give a good account of ourselves, we never will.

We're never going to get a better chance. It's just a crying shame that Coleman, and McCarthy in particular, are out - the latter for little or no reason.

The manager has to make the right decisions now. Walters & Keane shouldn't be starting. The former in particular would be more useful sprung off the bench with 25 minutes to go and trying to close out a result, instead of being so negative and starting him with a view to a damage limitation exercise.

Crying shame Coleman is out without a doubt.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 4:47 PM
Suppose the German players have some grounds for being burnt out. All playing with top clubs that have reached the latter stages of the CL the past few years, as well as being involved in the for WC some two weeks after the group eliminations... not to mention the deserved celebrations that probably went with it.

14/10/2014, 5:43 PM
Germany v Ireland Neuer, Rudiger, Hummels, Boateng, Durm, Ginter, Kroos , Bellarabi, Gotze, Draxler, Muller. two changes

14/10/2014, 5:45 PM
Starting XI for tonight: Forde, Meyler, O'Shea, Wilson, Ward, McGeady, Whelan, Quinn, McClean, Keane, Walters

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 5:48 PM
Cue the outrage :mad:

Supreme feet
14/10/2014, 5:48 PM
That doesn't look too promising. McGeady in the middle and Walters on the right? Or a flat 4-4-2? If it's the latter, God help us. If the former, Hoolahan should be playing centrally with McGeady on the right. Not hugely impressed.

14/10/2014, 5:50 PM
Same team as in Georgia, with Meyler in for the injured Coleman.

Hmm.

Supreme feet
14/10/2014, 5:52 PM

Hmm.

Also McClean in for McCarthy.

DannyInvincible
14/10/2014, 5:54 PM

Hmm.

McClean didn't start in Georgia either.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 5:55 PM
A bit deflating to be fair, regardless of how they're set up. McClean is predictable and easily contained by top level opposition. Keane ahead of Long would have been acceptable if he had Hoolahan to feed off, but now he looks pretty isolated. O'Neill must have just looked at Trap's away record and thought 'if it's not broken don't try to fix it'.

14/10/2014, 6:13 PM
I hope Walters proves me wrong tonight but why in God's name would you stick him on the wing?

He puts a shift in but he's slow, predictable and will give away plenty of free kicks.

backstothewall
14/10/2014, 6:20 PM
Lads look again at the way we opened Germany up in '02. A lump forward from the fullback towards Quinner, who got a good flick-on to Robbie, who did the rest.

This 'weak' Germany side have 5 players of a calibre that would make them a once in a generation player for us, right down the spine of the side (Neuer, Hummels, Kroos, Gotze, Muller). We aren't going to get much of the ball tonight. This is a side selected to be dogged and work hard, with a view to McGeady maybe creating a bit of magic on the counter, or a lump forward to Walters to try to get a flick on to Robbie.

We sure as hell aren't going to beat Germany by getting involved in a game of football.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:20 PM
Missed opportunity tonight. Quinn,Walters and Keane shouldn't be in the team and Whelan will be exposed again in this set up. I can't understand the logic behind Keane and particularly Walters starting. More proof that Keane is undroppable.

14/10/2014, 6:21 PM
Also McClean in for McCarthy.
True. Another enforced change though.

Just not sure the performance in Georgia really justifies a repeat against the world champions, however weakened.

DeLorean
14/10/2014, 6:22 PM
Giles reckons it has to be a 4-4-2 with the players selected. I doubt he's even heard of a 4-2-3-1 but he might be right by default. I suppose if these inexperienced German full backs can be got at it might make some sense to have two wingers, and maybe Walters will help Keane up top. I'd still prefer Hoolahan in there though and this way we'll be outnumbered in midfield, granted they're missing some seriously heavy hitters in there.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:33 PM
What's so maddening about tonight is Germany are weakened. With Coleman and McCarthy out, we can't afford to make same pattern of mistakes. But Long is still being ignored, Walters is still the jack of all trades and good in none and we are still indentured to Keane.

mark12345
14/10/2014, 6:38 PM
What's so maddening about tonight is Germany are weakened. With Coleman and McCarthy out, we can't afford to make same pattern of mistakes. But Long is still being ignored, Walters is still the jack of all trades and good in none and we are still indentured to Keane.

Any live stream that anyone knows of?

14/10/2014, 6:44 PM
Any live stream that anyone knows of?
SOCCEREMBED - Browser (http://streamfifamatches.tv/ch3ustream.php)
TUTTOSPORTWEB - Browser (http://tuttosportweb.com/tsw)
TODOFUTBOL - Browser (http://todo-futbo.blogspot.com.es/p/canal-2.html)
CRICFREE - Browser (http://cricfree.sx/sky-sports-5-live-stream.php)
SOCCERJUMBO - Browser (http://www.soccerjumbotv.me/ch-2.html)
STADIUM LIVE - Browser (http://www.stadium-live.biz/Channel1.html)
VIP BOX - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/256149/1/germany-vs-ireland-live-stream-online.html)
FEED2ALL - Browser (http://ifeed2all.eu/watch/289944/1/watch-germany-vs-ireland.html)
STOPSTREAM - Browser (http://www.bestsportgo.tv/20140930/vv-907122-football-542afd527d23c2.90376631.html)
SPORTLEMON - Browser (http://sportlemontv.eu/?watch=Y52imJmsY6KZq2OdmKqdmJmjY2hsbWVnY6itpJljqKO Yla0)
FIRST ROW - Browser (http://firstrows.biz/soccer/germany-ireland-frsg092e)
ATDHE - Browser (http://goatd.net/91254/watch-germany-vs-ireland)

14/10/2014, 6:44 PM
Missed opportunity tonight. Quinn,Walters and Keane shouldn't be in the team and Whelan will be exposed again in this set up. I can't understand the logic behind Keane and particularly Walters starting. More proof that Keane is undroppable.

Def agree with Quinn, wtf!!!

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:51 PM
4-4-2 with strikers with a combined age of 65 and a player who gets outpaced by 37 yr old Swedish league players and a 5 ft 6 perennial squad player in midfield.

14/10/2014, 6:52 PM
So yeah, TOWK you're optimistic.

colonelwest
14/10/2014, 6:53 PM
Quinn hasn't a clue who to go with of the German runners, he's all over the shop

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 6:56 PM
If playing like we did in Russia is our strategy then would it not make sense to play Long up front on his own at the least? If we aren't realistically going to create chances than what is the point of Keane?

backstothewall
14/10/2014, 6:59 PM
If playing like we did in Russia is our strategy then would it not make sense to play Long up front on his own at the least? If we aren't realistically going to create chances than what is the point of Keane?

I guess the thinking is that we might get 1 chance in the game. If we do Robbie is the guy we would want it to fall to

SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 7:00 PM
Our tackling and pressing so far has been decent. But we're are chaotic in the extreme at the back and look very panicky.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 7:00 PM
I don't understand though. He will be completely knackered after 60 mins.